HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Chesapeake Bay Luxury Beachfront Retreat

32 Reviews
Bedrooms 4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
3 - 7 nights


Photos and Description of this 4 bedroom holiday home in Windmill Point - White Stone

4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Convertible bed, Sleeps 12

Get away from it all on Henry's Island offering alluring privacy and breathtaking views on the Chesapeake Bay. Enjoy the 5 acre Bay-front home whose private sandy beach includes unique Northern Neck sand dunes. Swim, crab, fish or use provided canoe, kayak, or paddle board to explore the water. Relax on lounge chairs with a frosty drink (margarita machine included). Take in the Bay breeze while reading a book or sleeping on the beach. The open floor plan and 9 ft. ceilings provide a spectacular view to watch bald eagles, osprey and heron without leaving the beautifully furnished house. Dine inside overlooking the Bay or eat outside on the patio set after using the gas grill. Three king bedrooms (including two master suites), a bunk room and a separate play room make it comfortable and fun for adults and kids alike.

Something for Everyone: Tour one of historic Northern Neck's 19 museums, golf several excellent courses just minutes away including the award-winning King Carter Club (Golf Digest's 2006 best affordable public course in America) or sip Virginia's finest wines on the Chesapeake Bay Wine Trail. Sail, shop or dine in award-winning restaurants nearby. An easy drive to historic Williamsburg, Busch Gardens and Water Country USA.

More Details
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Diane Boyle
Member since: 2009
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
5 October, 2016
Call Owner

About Diane Boyle

We love the relaxed atmosphere of being right on the Chesapeake Bay where going to beach doesn't require leaving the property.

Diane Boyle purchased this house in 2009

Why Diane Boyle chose Virginia

Just a short distance from DC, this private location provides a soft sandy beach to relax. However relaxing doesn't mean boring. The historic Northern Neck of Virginia has award winning golf, hiking, biking, fishing, boating, history (birthplace of three US presidents), art, antiques, and vineyards.

What makes this house unique

The private beach and endless Bay views makes it perfect for relaxing and playing.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We had a wonderful time. Fantastic view! It's a great retreat so close to home.
Oct 2009
  • 1 of 3


based on 32 holidaymaker reviews

Chesapeake Bay Luxury Beachfront Retreat
average rating of 4.71875 based on 35 reviews
Pittsburgh, PA

Total Relaxation!

  • 5 of 5

Ideal setting to get away from it all for a few days. Property was well maintained - Enjoyed the private beach as advertised. Only a short drive to get excellent oysters, crab rolls and shrimp!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Mapleton, IL

Relaxing, private, and clean!

  • 4 of 5

My husband, our four children, and I had a very relaxing time in this home. Unfortunately, it rained (and was unusually chilly) all but one of the days we were there. If the fireplace had been connected, it would have made the cold weather a little less disappointing, so that was unfortunate, but overall, it was still a lovely time.

The owner was accommodating and very attentive/responsive to any questions we had. The kitchen/bathrooms/towels were well-stocked.

The home is very quiet and secluded, which was exactly what we were looking for. The waterfront is exclusive, which means you won't have people walking by your house while you're enjoying the view. The water is nice and shallow - perfect for little ones to play and splash. But be careful of the coral on the rocks out front - it is sharp! Two of our kids cut themselves by trying to climb on the rocks. Pool/water shoes are definitely recommended!

We look forward to visiting again when the weather is warmer and we can enjoy the beach more!

  • Review Submitted: May 23, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were disappointed the weather stayed cool for so long. Hopefully, next time will lend itself to more outdoor time.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Very unique beachfront home on the Bay

  • 5 of 5

Henry's Island is a very secluded and unusual location for the mostly developed Rivah/Bay area due to its privacy and beautiful sand beach. With uninterrupted views across the bay and the lovely turquoise water (due to the large sand bar in front of the house) one would be excused for thinking this house sits on a Caribbean island. The house is well appointed and great for family rentals with lots of space and all the amenities a renter needs. Highly recommended. Thanks!

  • Review Submitted: May 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Chilly Spring Break

  • 4 of 5

Nice waterfront property. The beach is very pretty. The house is a nice size, perhaps a bit dated and would be even better with some beach friendly colors. We had a few issues, but the owner was very responsive and accountable so that is a plus. The weather was quite chilly so we didn't get to swim much. There is not a lot to do outside of the beach if you are looking for dining or shopping options. We would like to check it out during the summer months as we love to swim and fish and crab and we didn't get to do that this time around due to the cold weather.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Warmer weather does allow for more water activities, but the view is calming even in chilly weather especially if you get a glimpse of the sea and wild life. It is a place to get away from hectic activities, but limited shopping is available in Kilmarnock and Irvington. We continually seek input on how to improve our guests' experiences and appreciate the tip to add more color. However, our family has four boys so soft beach colors are unlikley.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Property was as advertised . A very exclusive, private location. Excellent amenities and view

  • 4 of 5

This is one of the best Chesapeake beach locations you will ever find on the Virginia shore, and we are very partial to the Northern Neck area of Virginia because of it's unspoiled beauty and solitude. This property is in a great location. Very private, yet a quick drive to excellent resources in the towns of White Stone and Kilmarnock for restaurants and shopping. The house is in very nice condition, and clean. Modern utilities/appliances, all in good shape. Satellite TV and Internet worked well. The owner was very responsive to our questions and communications. Reasonably priced too. Plenty of bedroom space and bathroom space.

We actually like Chesapeake beach locations like this one in the winter time because all the crowds are gone and all the summer bugs and critters are gone too, so you actually can use the beach. Very nice public beach preserve nearby at Houghlet Point were you can do a very long beach walk. The beach front with this house is actually better than most in the area, in terms of size and beauty and privacy.

For any review to be valid, one must also include any negatives, even if minor ones. For our rental, only a few minor concerns ---- All the front porch lights were out, so a little dicey trying to climb the front porch stairs at night. Likely easily correctible. Upstairs Master showerhead very low water pressure. This only bothered my wife, not me. Was very nice to have three king size beds in the house, but the mattresses on those three beds were not all that comfortable, my wife thought too firm. Poor cell coverage way out there on the point ( some people actually like no cell service ), but owner provides a land-line and good Wi-Fi.

I definitely would recommend this rental, especially if you love the beauty and solitude and history of Virginia's Northern Neck, and beautiful views of the widest part of the Chesapeake Bay.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 27, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're glad you had a good stay. Sorry about the porch lights. We'll definitely get the bulbs changed. Had you mentioned it, we would have let you know extra bulbs are above the fridge for instances when the bulbs go out without our notice. The cell service is indeed poor, but as you note that's why we have both free Wifi and a landline. Unfortunately the mattress firmness is a matter of personal preference. I'm not sure what we can do to address that one. However, all suggestions for improvement are appreciated so we'll continue to think on it.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1


  • 4 of 5

Fantastic. Every thing was very comfortable and spacious and the location was fabulous. Diane, the owner, was great and prompt with answering questions. We hope to return.

Many thanks,

The Hoopers and friends

  • Review Submitted: Nov 13, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We look forward to welcoming you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Swank's on Main -- CLOSED
Sandpiper Reef Restaurant -- CLOSED
Reedville Fishermen's Museum
Food Lion
Nate's Trick Dog Cafe
Smokin' Joe's
Lee's Restaurant
Walmart Supercenter
Nearest Airport
60 Miles
Newport News (PHF)
Nearest Golf
12 Miles
King Carter
Nearest Beach
Beachfront Property
Car: recommended

From Windmill Point Rd

Turn left on Island Pines Drive (private road)

Turn left on Windfall Lane

Other Activities: rafting, boating, kayaking


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Windmill Point, Chesapeake Bay - Northern Neck

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
11 Sep 2016 - 30 Nov 2016
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Off Peak
1 Dec 2016 - 31 Mar 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
1 Apr 2017 - 23 Jun 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Peak 2016
24 Jun 2017 - 15 Sep 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £123
Property Damage Protection £49
Tax Rate 5.3%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Windmill Point, USA

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 3100 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • beach
  • Beachfront ...
  • waterfront
  • Waterfront ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Free Long Distance
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 13 people
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Full 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Full 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Full 3 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Full 4 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 5 - Outdoor Shower
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 2 Double Bed , 2 Single Bed , 2 single over full bunk beds
  • Bunk Bed (2) : Bunk Room with two bunk beds. Each has a twin bed above a full bed. Crib.
  • Books
  • Books for Kids
  • Table Football
  • Game Room
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Deck Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Binoculars
  • Canoe
  • Terrace
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Barbecue
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Veranda
  • Wood Decking
  • 8 garden chairs
  • 10 deck chairs
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • bay
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • bay fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Margarita machine, high chair, movie projector, hair dryers

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties