HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand

Tom Hardwick

Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks English

Lake Front Cabin, Mt. Denali @ South End of Denali Nat. Park

48 Reviews
Bedrooms 2
Separate WC's1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more


Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday home in Alaska - Amber Lake Rentals

Cabin, 2 Bedrooms, 1.5 Baths, (Sleeps up to 8)

New Lake Front Cabin: Fully equipped for your Ultimate Alaskan Experience -

This outstanding property is located near the Southern Edge of Denali National Park, which is 114 miles North of Anchorage. The area boasts some of the best scenery in the interior of Alaska, as well as arguably, the best snow machining in the world. This beautiful cabin is fully furnished with everything you will need for your lakeside vacation, including linens, kitchen appliances, dishes, range/oven, gas BBQ, microwave, flat screen TV with DVD... So reserve your getaway today!

-A large deck overlooks the lake with view of Mt. McKinley.

-Two bedrooms - one with two queen beds, the other with one queen bed overlooking the lake.

-In the summer, there is a dock with canoe, kayak and paddle boat. (Six adult life vests), Some boating skill necessary for kayak and canoe use.

-A wide, gently sloping path for snow machines leads directly from the large multi-car, RV parking area down to the lake.

-Wooded areas surround the property.

-Large birch and evergreen trees enhance the enjoyment of this peaceful setting.

-A huge steel outdoor fire-pit near the waters edge allows a large or small group to spend a warm evening outdoors.

NOTE: For an additional fee there is a first floor family room with an additional kitchen and a larger flat panel TV/surround sound theater area, along with a full bathroom with shower. The rental of the family room increases the occupancy capacity by two, for a total of eight, 8 guests.

Keywords: Alaskan Experience, Lake Front, Snow machine, Snow mobile, Snow shoe, Ski, road access, Views, Swimming, House, cabin, villa, chalet, lakefront, Alaska, adventure, wilderness, recreation, fishing, lake view, Lake front, Willow, special discount, canoe, paddleboat, fish, Dock Talkeetna, Denali, Mount Denali, wildlife, Mt. Denali

More Details
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible
Tom Hardwick (Owner)
Member since: 2009
Call Owner
Speaks English

About Tom Hardwick

Our family's moved to Alaska in the early 70's. We moved here for the Alaskan Experience. During our pursuit of that experience the family became involved in staking out Alaskan Open-Entry land and taking advantage of public land auctions. The land this cabin sets on was purchased at auction. Our family grew up on this property and the 5 acres next door. Our children were raised here on weekends and summers at the cabin. We have built and re-built generator systems and installed off-grid electrical systems that now allow the cabins to be enjoyed year round. We have fished the lake extensively in winter and summer... we really know where to catch the Pike that dominate Amber Lake. We've explored the surrounding area in summer and winter for the past 20 years and can tell you where to go for a great experience all year round. We even found the submerged island in the middle of the lake. Let us show you where it is the next time you come to Amber Cove Cabin.

Tom Hardwick purchased this house in 2009

Why Tom Hardwick chose Alaska

My mother purchased this property at a Alaska State Land Auction, site unseen in 1973 when Amber Lake was a fly-in only lake property. Ten years later the road was pushed back to Amber Lake. We then made our first ATV adventure to Amber Lake. This property took our breath away and soon we began building our first cabin. After almost 15 years of week-ends and summers at the cabin and 100's of repeat guests we finished our second cabin on the adjacent lot. We are very proud of our NEW cabin, because it boasts all the things we did correctly when building and furnishing the first cabin. We think Amber Cove Cabin will give our guests the best cabin experience ever.

What makes this house unique

Amber Lake is a semi-remote recreation area with fantastic Pike fishing-- nearby streams and lakes offer some of Alaska's finest Salmon, Trout, & Pike fishing. It is less than 20 minutes from Petersville road recreation area. Petersville recreation area is located near the south end of Denali National Park with extensive ATV and snow machine trails. There are also 100's of miles of trails directly from the cabin. Amber Lake is a 2 mile long lake and is perfect for a full spectrum of water sports and winter sports. Float planes often fly in to Amber Lake from Anchorage. Air taxi service can be arranged.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you for providing such a lovely cabin, stocked with so many amenities. We so enjoyed the cozy indoor activities during the soggy weather and ALL the lake fun and outdoor activities during the sunshine! Sadly, no fish or bear sightings, but the crystal clear view of Denali, a real treat!

We could not have asked for a nicer getaway as a family... just perfect!

God Bless,
Aug 2010
  • 1 of 5


based on 48 holidaymaker reviews

Lake Front Cabin, Mt. Denali @ South End of Denali Nat. Park
average rating of 4.7916665 based on 53 reviews

Luxurious lake front cabin which felt like my second home.

  • 5 of 5

I was impressed when Tom called me within a few minutes of making our reservation. Tom was very helpful on the phone and advised me of where to buy groceries and how to find the cabin. Tom also gave me tips on what to expect in Alaska during our stay.

Having Nancy (the cabin's care taker) meet and greet us was a wonderful personal touch. Nancy met us with the kindness of a family member, answered any questions we had and gave us great ideas of places to eat and visit.

The lake was beautiful in the morning, fun to paddle around on in the afternoon and pleasant to gaze at from around the fire pit. The included kayak, paddle boards, and paddle boat were perfect for enjoying the lake. We saw a loon and several Buffle Headed ducks on the lake as well. Salmon were in one of the streams which we crossed to get to the cabin and moose crossed the road in front of us on three occasions.

If you want the experience of what it would be like to live in Alaska for a week this is it. I wouldn’t change a thing on the property. It was the perfect vacation home.

Warren Street From Shenandoah County Virginia

  • Review Submitted: Jul 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Oregon USA

Enjoyed most everything except the 2:30am fireworks

  • 3 of 5

Here we are at a remote, pristine lake in Alaska sleeping peacefully when the next door neighbors start shooting mortars for the 4th at 2:30 am. They did that two nights in a row. At one point, they ran out of rockets so someone fired up his ATV to go back home to get more. While the cabin was nice, the noise of guns, fireworks and 4- wheelers took a lot out of the experience.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 15, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Very pretty and relaxing.

  • 5 of 5

Very nice get away. It is definitely isolated, but there is satellite tv and a little bit of Internet. Kayak and paddle boards are nice.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful accommodations in a beautiful setting

  • 5 of 5

The Cabin was cozy and comfortable. We rented the "upstairs" and had more than enough room for our party of four, and the amenities (inside and outside) are generous. We did not lack for anything. Comfortable beds, clean home, soft towels! Tom is very fast with communications, and the directions to the home are quite clear and accurate. The only "issue" we had was the inability to connect our computers to the internet, but; my phone was able to connect so we had a backup communication plan in case of emergency at home - cell service was nonexistent (as expected) for phone service, but texts did come through. :) To be clear, we had no true need for internet other than for potential emergencies at home ... the surroundings are wonderful for walking/hiking, boating, etc., and there is always plenty to do ... who goes to Alaska to use the internet anyway?!? ;)

We spent three nights here. Our first morning rewarded us with a view of the top of Denali over the cabin across the lake, and a short ride down Petersville Road gave us a spectacular full view. One day we spent driving up to Denali National Park, through the State Park and along countless lakes and amazing views. Wildlife and photo ops abound all along the way. Another day we went to Talkeetna, though we felt disappointed with the mega-tourist feel of the town, and more than a bit sympathetic for its year-round residents. The Kahiltna Birchworks (birch syrup and products) was worth the trip, and a quick stop at the Flying Squirrel bakery made everything better! If you are seeking an experience which combines all the comforts of home AWAY from the maddening crowds and off the grid, THIS is your place. Except for bird calls, you can hear a pin drop in the mornings and evenings. Some nearby home construction sounds during the day, but nothing bothersome. Nancy is a fantastic caretaker and is very friendly and attentive, and has a beautiful property of her own nearby - we are envious! We can't say enough about this place - just go stay there!!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 1, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Secluded and Quiet

  • 3 of 5

This property was beautiful, secluded and very quiet. It had all of the amenities and more than you could ask for in a rental. It had 2 large bedrooms and 21/2 baths, beautiful views overlooking a peaceful lake, Bar-B-Que equipment, a paddle boat, etc. etc. The kitchen was well stocked, with lots of spices and basic baking and grilling supplies, plenty of paper products, etc. A wall-mounted large screen TV supplied cable, and the room was stocked with plenty of movies. Unfortunately, we couldn't figure out how to view them, and could find no instructions. Alas, we also felt cheated as it was advertised as being at the South end of Denali Park, while in actuality, it was 3 hours away. As the park was our reason for visiting here, we couldn't possibly do what we had planned there, and return each day to our rental. Although very disappointed, we discovered nearby Trapper Creek, a birch-sap factory and store, and the very charming town of Telkeetna. I do wish we had received more information on this place, both at the time of booking, and before our vacation began. We were unable to reach the owner by phone, and needed better instructions for finding our rental, and were very unsure of what we were going into. To be fair, they had tried to reach us by phone a few days prior to our arrival, but the phone service was too poor for a successful connection, until a few hours prior to our arrival. If I had wished for a very relaxing vacation at a secluded cabin, this would've hit the mark. Unfortunately, the poor communication problems led me give it a much lower rating.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 5, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so sorry you had difficulty with the TV. Hal and Nancy were available via phone and were expecting your call earlier that never came, we emailed and with instructions that required you to call at least 24 hours in advance, you did not. As you can see we put a lot of effort to make your stay comfortable. Had we been contacted the TV issue would have been resolved quickly. As far as location we are on the south side of the Park but not in the park had there been any emails or phone calls we would have been more than happy to clarify that issue. There is a phone in the unit with the caretakers number and they would come and instruct you on the Dish TV and Movie usage.The size of Alaska is difficult for many people to grasp the drive to the Denali Park entrance is 2.5 to 3 hours away. Our waterfront remote property is what guests want that book with us. It sounds like you you would have preferred to stay with the hordes of people at the Park entrance (glitter gulch)for the convenience. Missing the beauty and grandeur of our secluded lake front private property.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect winter getaway!

  • 5 of 5

This cabin had everything we needed, even in winter! It was in a perfect secluded location and had plenty of space for 4 adults. We definitely needed a 4WD to get in and out as there had been quite a bit of snow the day we arrived, but the road had been cleared just before we got there which was great. Hal and Nancy were very helpful which made the stay even easier. We would definitely come back!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad you had a great time at our remote fully equipped cabin
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
46 Miles
Talkeetna, Alaska
Nearest Train
47 Miles
Talkeetna, Alaska
Nearest Motorway
18 Miles
George Parks Hwy
Nearest Restaurant
18 Miles
Trapper Creek
Car: recommended

A fleet of Mountain Bikes are available for your use during your stay helmet's are encouraged on the gravel road there is no fee for their use. Fire wood is also provided.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Trapper Creek, Alaska

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
Off Peak Season
30 Sep 2016 - 30 Apr 2017
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £20 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £20 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £153
Cleaning Check in-out £57 + Tax
Tax Rate 5.0%

Rates are subject to change until confirmed and paid. There is a $75.00 Cleaning & Check in-out fee plus 5% bed tax.The downstairs is never rented separately only for additional space for primary Rental guest space.

We have a Sister property in Haines, Ak that can be viewed at : www.paradisewestalaska.com
If you are planning travels in that area.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates to see total
Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Alaska, USA

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1120 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • rural ...
  • Ski-Out ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1.5
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Queen size Beds (3)
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • 6 bicycles
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • Wildlife Viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
A large fire pit at the edge of the lake, makes evenings warm and enjoyable. The beauty and solitude of being off the beaten path away from the crowds is breathtaking and rejuvenating our wish is that you can enjoy the facility as much as we have over the years. Blessings to you and your family as you travel Alaska.

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties