HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Waterfront, on peninsula w/ 4 sided water views, private beach, central AC,

Bedrooms 4
Space 2,053 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

4 BR, 2 BA sleep 8, Eleven room house on a double waterfront lot with central AC

Located in Newport county, this house has most spectacular water views of any beach house because this house sits on a peninsula. Every window in this 2080 SF house has a water view. For RATES, click on the Rates button up above the photo, then on the 2nd page click on the "View all rental rates " button. Yes, it can be confusing! Click "AVAILABILITY" on the button above the photo to see calendar.

Perfect place to enjoy all the fun of Newport, with out all the noise and traffic! Relax in one of two living rooms, or sun room and and watch the waves or walk to your own private beach from the back door. KITCHEN UPDATED June 2014, with all white cabinets and quartz countertops. CENTRAL AIR CONDITIONING, which is not the norm in RI. Spacious eleven room house, NEW RUGS AND FURNITURE ADDED 2014, built in 1938 with all the character of New England, with careful restoration. SEE FLOOR PLAN AT END OF PHOTOS. It has real pegged hardwood floors, walls of knotty pine, gas insert fireplace, Persian rug and custom sea grass rug. Casually decorated with Heywood Wakefield antiques, which are American antiques from this region from the 1930's and 40's. FAQ's are inside, click "more details."

It was a once in a lifetime chance for me to buy a house on a peninsula such that there are water views from every room plus a private beach. This is my summer house and I rent it when I am not using it. House has been described as bigger than it looks in the pictures from our former guests. Looking at the house from the front, it is deceiving how large the house really is. It has 2080 SF (200 mm) of living space. Our Newport county home is in Portsmouth; seven miles away is the city of Newport for shopping, and clubs. Maximum occupancy is eight people.

The beach is private, a narrow ( about 15 feet wide) sandy beach up to the water's edge, then smooth, fist sized rocks extending horizontally about 20 feet, and then a sandy bottom. We recommend aqua sox or fisherman sandals for swimming. The tide is gentle, and there are sea shells. You can also fish or launch your kayak from behind the house.

Change over day from end of July to early September is Saturday. This is detailed on rates page. Any other time of the year, change over date anytime.

Central air conditioning, with 2 zones, upstairs and downstairs

Has cable tv and wifi from Cox

Lounge around looking at the water from the hammock outside.

Full size front loading LG washer and dryer

HDTV, and DVD player

Very experienced property manager near by, always available.

Outdoor granite fireplace, original to the property.

25 minute drive from Providence, RI airport, and 60 minute drive from Boston airport.:


The original Flo's Clam Shak on Island Park is less than one mile, the best since 1938! The seagulls are quite bold about eating your crumbs!

International Tennis Hall of Fame, 194 Bellvue Ave. Built in 1880 with a brand new tennis museum, remodeled a year ago.

The Newport Jazz Festival is August 4,5,6 2017

Newport Great Chowder Festival is June 18, 2017

Newport Folk Festival is July 28,29, 20, 2017

Newport Wine and Food Festival is Sept. 23,24,25, 2017.

Sponsored by Food and Wine magazine.

The Newport Flower show is June 23, 24, 2017 and is always at the Rosecliff Mansion. ( The original "Great Gatsby" with Robert Redford and Mia Farrow was filmed here as well as "27 Dresses" with Kathryn Heigle.)

St. Mary's Church in Newport, where Jaqueline and Jack Kennedy were married

Newport Mansions, the mansions of the "Guilded Age" which are a MUST SEE: The Vanderbilt's "The Breakers." Spielberg's "Amistaad" was filmed at" Marble House." They are run by the Newport Preservation Society.

Doris Duke's Mansion in Newport called "Rough Point" She kept a camel there!

What to do on a rainy day? Take a drive by SUNNY VON BULOW's mansion, Clarendon Court, at 626 Bellevue Ave. It is privately owned by a new buyer, but you can drive by. Another drive by is LARRY ELLISON of ORACLE, located at 580 Bellevue Avenue. You can drive by JAQUELINE BOUVIER KENNEDY ONASISS' childhood home, Hammersmith Farm at 225 Harrison Ave. It used to be a museum, but now is privately owned. Another former museum, Belcourt Castle, now privately owned by the founder of Alex and Annie jewelry. Or pop over to Westerly and see if TAYLOR SWIFT or CONAN O'BRIEN are out!

Petting zoo at Simmons Farm.

Bannisters Wharf in Newport, a walk about near the marina with cute shops. The Newport Preservation Society has an interesting shop there.

For you althletes, a breathtaking 3+ hour walk between the grand mansions and the sea is known as "Cliffwalk, which is a National Recreational Trail. It began as a fishermans walk. For the less althletic there is a shorter section from Narragansett to Ruggles. Vebsite: cliffwalk. you-know-what

Blithewold Mansion and Arboretum, 10 minutes or 4 miles from the house. Tours daily and a lovely venue for weddings and events.

For you golfers, we are almost walking distance from Montaup Country Club, which takes non members. A course with an ocean view. Greens fees for non members are $47, $37 for military and $40 for the cart

Take a near sunset drive from downtown Newport on Ocean Drive all the way west to Castle Hill Inn. Have drinks at sunset on the lawn and watch the boats. An unforgettable experience.

National Museum of American Illustration: Rockwell, Parrish, Wyeth housed in Vernon Court, a guilded age museum (1898). On the National Register of Historic Places and interiors inspired by Versailles.

Berry farms where you pick them: take 114 or 138 south and looks for signs. fun with the kids, especially the blueberries.

Once you have reserved this property, our hospitality manager will automatically send you emails of information such as driving directions, access and local venues such as restaurant suggestions!

One house trained dog is OK.

Frequently asked questions (FAQ's)

1. Are linens included?


2. Is there a cleaning fee?

No, normal cleaning is included in the price of a 7 day rental. But if the

place is trashed, a weeks worth of dirty dishes about

the house, and other behavior, expect an additional


3. Do you have a grill?

Yes, a charcoal grill and normally I stock charcoal

briquettes and lighter fluid

4. Does the beach have shells?

Yes, it's a great place to collect shells

5. Do you store logs on the property for the outside

granite fireplace?

Sorry, no. You can bring or buy some.

6. Are the waves safe for children?

Yes, very gentle. I bought this house when my son

was 6 so that was one of my considerations.

7. Where are the supermarkets?

Two, one at 2 miles and the other at 5 miles.

8. May I have my wedding or reception on the property?

No, out of consideration for the neighbors in this quiet

residential area we do not allow weddings or

receptions on the property. There is not enough

parking for an event either.

9. Can I shove off my kayak off the back yard?

Yes, it is perfect for kayaking. We do not supply


10. Do you have bikes on the property?


11. How do you boil a lobster?

Stick it headfirst into a boiling pot of water with no salt. In about 5 mins, when

the green body turns bright red, it's done ......" Cover yourself in butter and

carry lemons just in case!"

12. Do you have a play pen, high chair or crib for babies?


13. Is there a lobster pot?

Yes of course!

14. Is there a washer/dryer?

Yes, a front loading high efficiency LG. It takes only

laundry soap marked "HE" Otherwise your washing

will look like a SNL comedy sketch, and it will ruin the


15. Can I come back next year?

Yes, we offer a discount for return guests!

16. Why do you rent your personal summer home?

To pay the flood insurance, property taxes, homeowner's insurance. If I have

anything left, I use it to make improvements next year. :-)

More Details

Helen S.
Member since: 2005
Speaks English, Lobster
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
15 October, 2017

About Helen S.

These " babies" are 2 1/2 pounds each, just before hitting the pot.

I love the sound of the waves and the smell of salt air.

Helen S. purchased this house in 2005

Why Helen S. chose Portsmouth

I always wanted a big house right on the water. Just walking in the house is the ultimate 'aaahh' moment for me. I could just hang out all day looking at the water, enjoying the peace, sound of the birds, waves and smell of the salt air. When I want to swim, just go out the back door. No packing, loading the car, searching for a place to park, etc :-) My son enjoys kayaking and fishing off the beach.

What makes this house unique

This home is on a peninsula so water views are on both sides of the house. Private beach 200 ft from back door. Has central air. Beach towels included. The ultimate place to chill! Great for kids and family.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thanks! We've really fallen for RI and your beach house. We will miss the views, the sunsets, the wonderful seafood and the fab beaches. Whale watching in Point Judith (Francis Fleet) was excellent. We hope to come back to these parts before too long.
Jun 2010
  • 1 of 2


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Portsmouth in United States

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2053 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • beach
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront
  • waterfront
  • Waterfront
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer ...
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 12 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • You can see the sailboats from the bathrooms, too!
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • All bedrooms have a water view. One is quite large and consists of two rooms to make up that one bedroom. ( Look at the floor plans which are posted as the last two "photographs") 2 beds are queens and 2 are doubles. All bed linens are included, bath towels, kitchen towels. Please bring your swim towels or beach blanket.
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Barbecue ...
  • Terrace
  • veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
This house has central air conditioning. When comparing houses, ask if they have window unit a/c (most common in RI) or central a/c. You will enjoy the difference it makes. One of the bedrooms has a bonus room so it is actually 2 rooms that make up that one bedroom. Living room has a gas insert fireplace that turns on instantly for cool mornings or cool evenings. If you have your own kayak, you can just push it off the beach into the water, or you can rent kayaks at Island Sports. A large formal children's park is just down the street. Private beach has small sandy beach with smooth fist sized tocks staring at the water's edge and extends horizontally about 25 ft, then a sandy bottom. Recommend aqua socks or fisherman sandals.Great place to swim, sun collect shells or just walk on the beach. Maid service for normal cleaning is provided on checkout and is included in the price. However if you trash the place, expect an additional charge. Additional maid service can be arranged.


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(15 traveller reviews)

80% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
13% Complete
0% Complete
Waterfront, on peninsula w/ 4 sided water views, private beach, central AC,
average rating of 4.5333333 based on 17 reviews

Perfect location, perfect family home

  • 5 of 5

Comfortable house with lots of room to spread out, play games, have quiet conversation, nap in a hammock. Owner is delightful to work with. Location is on quiet street but so close to the best of Rhode Island's sights. Every piece of furniture is comfortable, clean, nicely taken care of.

  • Review Submitted: 30-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so happy our efforts to make it nice have been noticed. We hope to see you back!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Okay house, disgusting beach, owner won't return the security deposit.

  • 2 of 5

The house was very nice and accommodating. We had one major criteria for the rental, the backyard beach. The beach was full of seaweed, dead fish and shellfish and trash. Unfortunately not conducive for a family beach outing.

There was trash left in the trash barrel in her garage and when I opened it up flies and everything came out and there was a disgusting smell which made me want to retch.

We were very respectful of the property and kept the house clean. However, we are having issues getting our deposit back now that we are home. Based on this I would stay away. Making up things to keep the deposit and a very restrictive contract make this a difficult house to rent.

I have never had this bad of an experience renting, I would be very cautious.

  • Review Submitted: 07-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The URINE SOAKED QUEEN MATTRESS that had to be immediately replaced was the reason he was not eligible for a refund. I sent one email asking if he knew anything about it. In less than 60 minutes, his multiple responses ended with a written threat to sue me! My opinions are the following: his bad review was motivated by anger; his anger probably resulted from the fact that his efforts to conceal the damage did not work, and he knew this was expensive damage. The "restrictions" are house rules to not smoke, avoid aggravating the neighbors by not permitting parties, loud disturbances, not inviting unknown persons from staying overnight without notifying us in advance of the stay (think inviting 40 people over to party and stay overnight), put out the trash on Monday night, and not to throw trash and cigarette butts around the yard. I think my neighbors appreciate these common sense requests. This is a first for us! Read the other reviews on this site ( I have been on it for more than 10 years) and I think you will see. This person and his group would not be eligible to rent from us again.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 1

Beautiful location. Loved private beach and water views! Loved being able to have our dog with us!!

  • 5 of 5

Only small downside was limited parking because we have adult age kids who needed to bring their own cars but we worked it out

  • Review Submitted: 11-Aug-2016
  • Date of Stay: July 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have parking for three cars on the property
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Views were amazing from everywhere

  • 5 of 5

My family of 7 adults came from far and wide to attend a wedding in Newport, RI. I needed a place where I could bring my dog, have enough space for our group and be affordable. I picked this place because it was exactly what I was looking for. The views were amazing from everywhere in the house. It is a beach house with vintage character. There are three sitting rooms, large table and pathway to the beach. The drive into Newport was easy. The owner is easy to work with and all information is provided along with a bottle of champagne. I do recommend this house; it has the charm of a beach house,you can enjoy quiet beautiful views, and if you are looking to enjoy the beaches, restaurants, shops, and mansions of Newport

  • Review Submitted: 14-Jun-2016
  • Date of Stay: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Newport Marathon Weekend Getaway

  • 5 of 5

We rented this fabulous property with another family. Total of 4 adults and 4 children ages 2, 7, 10 and 12. Plenty of room to unwind and relax for all! Children enjoyed "camping out" in sunroom overnight and the only entertainment they needed was the hammock! We were able to make pasta the night before the race and enjoyed a glass or two of wine every night! Good value for money, quiet neighborhood, beautiful sunset views and easy access to Newport and restaurants, shops and mansions! Easy check in and great communication with owner Helen and accountant Lori! Would come back and book next time we come to Newport!

  • Review Submitted: 10-Oct-2015
  • Date of Stay: October 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Wonderful 2 weeks

  • 4 of 5

The house had everything we could need. It was clean and perfect for us!. I am missing the views, especially the sunsets and shooting stars.

I want to reply to one of the reviews below that had said the beds were bad.They were soft, but if you stayed at my house they would be hard and you might not like that. Not a valid complaint. They complained the internet was slow, it was slower, but it's vacation, get off the internet! Again, not a valid complaint.

All in all, a wonderful place. Helen was honest and quick to reply and the handyman was awesome. We all even learned of a RI holiday! Thank you for the memories!

  • Review Submitted: 19-Aug-2015
  • Date of Stay: August 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0


Nearest Golf
0.05 Miles
Montaup Coutry Club, almost walking distance
Nearest Motorway
0.05 Miles
Rt. 24, 114 and 138.
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
The original Flo's Clam Shack (yum!)
Car: necessary

Located on a peninsula, so there are water views in 360 degrees. Quiet and pleasant. Private Beach. Eight miles from downtown Newport, so all the fun fun of Newport with peace and quiet at night, no bar noise.

Other Activities: Kayaking. Rental kayaks are available at Island Surf and Sports, 401 846 4421. 2012 charges are $20 per hour and includes life jackets.

Newport 'Guilded Age Mansions', 401-849-9900 or newportmansions.org. Best time to avoid crowds are Mon-Thursday mornings.

Golf: Montaup Country Club is almost within walking distance. 401-683-0995. New England Golf monthly listed in the top 25 courses in their May 2011 issue. $47 green fees and $36 for the cart.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Portsmouth, Rhode Island

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
WINTER 17-18
29 Oct 2017 - 27 Apr 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
28 Apr 2018 - 15 Jun 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
16 Jun 2018 - 7 Sep 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Fourth of July week
30 Jun 2018 - 6 Jul 2018
7 night minimum stay
8 Sep 2018 - 26 Oct 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights

Additional pricing information

cleaning, 7 days or more £0
per dog £18.76
Refundable Damage Deposit £600.4
Pet Fee £26.27
5 days or less, cleaning £93.81

Fourth of July week, 7 nights = $3100 We go on a first come, first served basis. We do not use the "book now" feature because we would like to know a bit about to whom we are renting our summer home.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Ask Owner a Question

You might like these similar holiday rentals