HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

300-Year Old Olive Mill with Heated Pool Near Town and the Sea

People14
Bedrooms 7
Bathrooms6
Space 500 sq. ft.
Property type chateau / country house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, walled garden, 7 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 6 Baths, (Sleeps 12-14)

Masseria Il Trappeto is an 18th century beautifully restored olive mill with views of Ostuni and the sea. Fifty yards from the house is our own limonetto, which is an open air walled garden with lemon trees, an outdoor kitchen and a table which seats 18 people.

The Evening Standard described it as 'the perfect place to come for a week with a group of friends.' Please check out our own website www.olivemill.co.uk

It is a large stone building of 5,500 square ft and comfortably accommodates 13 people with its huge terraces, pergola and 40 ft sitting room.

Warm in the winter due to the under floor heating and cool in the summer due to the thick walls and added air-conditioning, Il Trappeto is ideal for all seasons. We spend most of our time outside, taking lunch and dinner under the olive tree by the heated pool which is rare in Italy.

The first floor has terraces on which you can sunbathe and see the sea and sunset. Perfect for sundowners.

As well as the limonetto, there is also a sheltered pergola, an outside covered sitting room, with table football and table tennis. Perfect for people wanting to escape the sun.

Il Trappeto is set in 200 acres of ancient olive groves. So, although you are 1 mile from the lovely town of Ostuni which is full of restaurants and shops, tranquility is thrust upon you.

Keywords: House

More Details

Owner
Josephine Pembroke
Member since: 2009
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
9 October, 2017

About Josephine Pembroke

James and Josephine Pembroke have had a long love affair with Italy but Apulia has it all: a great climate, great people, great food and lots to see.

Josephine Pembroke purchased this chateau / country house in 2006

Why Josephine Pembroke chose Brindisi area

We have loved Italy all our lives and Puglia is the real Italy: great food, great people and lots to see. Il Trappeto is just five miles from Trulli country. The trulli are unique to this tiny area and are round houses with conical roofs. We found a derelict olive mill and lovingly restored it into a luxury villa.

What makes this chateau / country house unique

Apart from the brilliant food, you can visit amazing towns like Alberobello, Lecce and Matera but also have a great game of golf and great cocktails in Ostuni's bars.

Location

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Brindisi
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Ostuni
Nearest Ferry
20 Miles
Brindisi
Nearest Golf
15 Miles
Savalletri
Nearest Train
1 Miles
Ostuni
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Autostrada
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Ostuni
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Monticelli
Car: recommended

We are 5 minutes drive from the Ancient Town of Ostuni. We are 10 minutes drive from the beach. You can visit many historic towns and if you like seafood this is the best food in Italy. The wine and produce is superb and the restaurants are first class. The Puglians love sharing their enthusiasm for food and wine with you with personal service. This a historical and gastronomic holiday in a relaxed fun and interesting area of Italy.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday chateau / country house in Ostuni in Province of Brindisi

Property Type:
  • chateau / country house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • smoking allowed ...
Location Type:
  • Monument View ...
  • near the sea
  • Ocean View ...
  • rural ...
  • village ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
Bathrooms:
  • 6 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
    Bathroom 5 -
    Bathroom 6 -
Bedrooms:
  • 7 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • King size beds (1) We have 5 UK size king beds at the property. 3 upstairs and 1 downstairs. UK size is 60' x 78', Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1) We have 1 UK double bed at the property upstairs. UK size is 54' x 74', Twin or Single Beds (1) Our twin room has extra large singles 45' x 74', Baby Cribs (1) Please bring your own bedding for the crib, Murphy Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Table Football
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Gazebo ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Barbecue
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • golf
  • mountain biking
  • Parasailing
  • sailing
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
We have a table tennis table and there are hard tennis courts in Ostuni. Bicycles are easy to rent and they man arrives with them in a van for you. Savalletri world famous golf course is 20 minutes away. You can hire boats/yachts in Villanova (10 mins away).

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(6 traveller reviews)

83% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
300-Year Old Olive Mill with Heated Pool Near Town and the Sea
average rating of 4.5 based on 6 reviews
2

Disappointing

  • 2 of 5

The villa was well located (though the noise from the main railway could be disturbing at times) and a good size for our family party of eleven but sadly the facilities were a big disappointment. The property is priced at the upper end of the range for which one would expect good quality equipment and that it was all well maintained. Little investment or refurbishment seems to have been carried out over the last decade and it clearly shows in the poor quality and/or broken facilities that were often encountered. Guests also need to be aware that the mains water is saline and huge amounts of bottled water are required. We would suggest significant reinvestment of rental income or a re-pricing of the property is appropriate.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 22, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The guests made requests on their second day (a Sunday), all of which we completed within 24 hours. These included that we refilled a gas canister in our outside kitchen that had been replaced the week before. There were no substantial complaints. We do advise all guests that the water is salty; this is very typical of countryside properties in Puglia. We offered them a four-course dinner for all eleven of them, but they said that unless we gave them half their money back (over £3,000), they would write a bad review of the property. They confirmed that if we did repay the money, they would not post the review. We declined because we and our house manager felt they were being unreasonable. Mentioning the trains is quite clearly spiteful. Guests might hear four trains a day but the line is half a mile away. Our property was fully renovated ten years ago; every winter we spend money on decoration. We have never had a complaint before; the property is not priced at the top end of the market because we are not greedy. The other reviews speak for themselves. The previous review was posted two weeks before they camera and it is highly favourable.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great trip, fantastic villa

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our trip to Il Trappeto, its a great villa and has been beautifully restored. Despite there being a few initial hiccups Ottavio fixed everything straight away plus also helped organise taxis and for a chef to come to the property for us twice, he was a huge help throughout our stay.

We would really recommend getting the chef in, we had the Puglian feast one evening and then a seafood lunch another day- both were some of the best meals we had on the holiday and very reasonable. The pool area is also great for large groups and is in a nice quiet area. The only drawback for us was that it was a little further from Ostuni than we had accounted for (you definitely need a car) its fine during the day but the road is too difficult to walk along once its dark plus there are dogs at the next property along that are left to roam which was a little scary!

Ostuni is a great town full of some incredible restaurants and nice little local shops selling pottery, olive oil etc and there are plenty of other similar pretty towns nearby.

Great trip, thanks Josephine and Ottavio.

  • Review Submitted: May 17, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Il Trappetto second to none - look know further!

  • 5 of 5

Il trappetto is everything and more than its description. A fantastic place to holiday and unwind offering a true taste of unspoilt Italy. The property is immaculate and spacious, comfortable beds,amazing heated pool, well equipped kitchen, and great outdoor areas for eating,bbq's or just chilling in the pergola. I would thoroughly recommend this place as it ticks all the boxes as the ideal destination for a fantastic holiday.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 17, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Pennsylvania
5

Fantastic property!

  • 5 of 5

You would be crazy not to rent this house. My family and I have recently returned from our week here and we loved every minute. . We have rented houses all over Europe and this was one of the best ever. Otavio (the manager) was ready to great us and show us everything about the house. He guided us to the grocery store on our first afternoon so we could stock up on food and wine. Ostuni is a fascinating town in it's own right but there are many other places to visit within a 1 1/2 hour drive so you will never be without new sights to see. And there are local olive oil mills and wineries just down the road waiting to show you their products. It was almost perfect!

  • Review Submitted: May 7, 2012
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much we do all we can to make sure you have a fabulous time x
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Philadelphia, PA
5

Fantastic Time At A Place With Character

  • 5 of 5

Nine of us recently stayed at this beautifully restored olive mill just outside the great town of Ostuni. The pictures accurately depict what you can expect from this property and it really is a first class restoration. The property manager Ottavio is very friendly and helpful. The road leading to the property is nothing more than an unpaved rock road so make sure you have suitable transportation. The bedrooms were very accommodating and the common areas were fantastic. Only downsides where some of the drains did not work great and if you wanted to walk around several of the local dirt roads through the olive tree fields be ready for the not so friendly dogs! Overall our stay was fantastic and I would recommend this house to anyone thinking about traveling to Apullia. Well equipped all around and made for a relaxing stay in southern Italy.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 30, 2012
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much, we do take great care of our customers!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
New York, NY, USA
5

Amazing place!

  • 5 of 5

My wife rent the villa for a week to host our wedding. It was truly amazing experience. The place is beautiful and extremely comfortable. The caretaker was very nice, he showed us around and even helped us plan and cater our wedding. It's the perfect accomodation in the perfect setting, near the perfect city (Ostuni). We couldn't have been happier.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 26, 2010
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2010
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday chateau / country house in Ostuni, Puglia

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
October 2017
30 Sep 2017 - 27 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,264
for 3 nights
£2,950
 
 
November/December 2017
28 Oct 2017 - 22 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,500
for 3 nights
From
£500
 
 
Xmas
23 Dec 2017 - 5 Jan 2018
5 night minimum stay
£2,500
for 5 nights
From
£500
£2,750
 
 
Jan/Feb 2018
6 Jan 2018 - 2 Mar 2018
3 night minimum stay
£1,200
for 3 nights
From
£400
£1,950
 
 
March 2018
10 Mar 2018 - 26 Mar 2018
3 night minimum stay
£1,800
for 3 nights
From
£600
£2,450
 
 
April 2018
14 Apr 2018 - 27 Apr 2018
3 night minimum stay
£1,800
for 3 nights
From
£600
£2,950
 
 
June 2018
16 Jun 2018 - 23 Jun 2018
7 night minimum stay
£3,450
for 7 nights
£3,450
 
 
Late June/July
24 Jun 2018 - 6 Jul 2018
7 night minimum stay
£3,950
for 7 nights
£3,950
 
 
July 2018
7 Jul 2018 - 3 Aug 2018
7 night minimum stay
£4,950
for 7 nights
£4,950
 
 
August 2018
4 Aug 2018 - 31 Aug 2018
7 night minimum stay
£6,500
for 7 nights
£6,500
 
 
September/Oct 2018
1 Sep 2018 - 19 Oct 2018
7 night minimum stay
£2,950
for 7 nights
£2,950
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£1,500
for 3 nights
From
£500
£1,950
 

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable