HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Taos Ski Valley Mountain Retreat

People5
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 2 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 1-5)

This rustic A-frame features large picture windows, wood-burning stove and bamboo flooring (carpet in bedrooms). Surround yourself with crisp mountain air, the gentle sounds of the Arroyo Hondo stream and magnificent starry nights.

A mountain cabin that is a perfect place to escape and enjoy staying in the forest surrounded by aspens, pines, and a wide variety of wild flowers.

If birding is of interest to you, there are bird feeders on the property that will invite wildlife for your viewing right out the front window.

Keywords: Cabin

More Details

Owner
Mindy Jones
Member since: 2009
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
2 March, 2017

About Mindy Jones

This property has been in my family since I was a baby. I've enjoyed many holidays in it over the years. It's one of my favorite places on the planet because of how peaceful it is.

Mindy Jones purchased this cabin in 1969

Guestbook comments from the owner

I wanted to drop you a note to let you know how much we enjoyed the cabin and our stay in Taos. Everything was just perfect for us. What a wonderful little treasure of a cabin to have in the family! Thank you for the well equipped kitchen … everything you could want to cook a meal, and then some! We only wished we could have stayed longer. The neighbors where very kind and we enjoyed meeting them too.



Thanks so much and we hope to come back again.
Jun 2012
  • 1 of 1

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in Taos Ski Valley in Taos County

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy 5
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Free Long Distance
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • The bathroom has a shower/tub.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Queen size Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • sledding
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(18 traveller reviews)

Taos Ski Valley Mountain Retreat
average rating of 4.5555553 based on 19 reviews
5

Cozy cabin just minutes from the slopes

  • 5 of 5

Our family thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. When we arrived the place was very clean. We came prepared with a lot of our own supplies but found that the cabin was well stocked. We did have an issue with the water pressure but after a call to Mindy she had the repairman on-site in less then 30 minutes (on a Sunday). She was also very responsive to the few other calls we placed with other questions. The wood burning stove really added to the "cabin" experience. We would definitely stay here again if we return to TSV!

  • Review Submitted: Mar 23, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Needs some work.

  • 1 of 5

It was a nice setting, but it seriously needs upgrade and cleaning. Dead flies everywhere. The TV did not work the 4 days we were there. Can't get a hold of the owner to fix the problem. Now can't get a hold of the owner for a refund on our deposit. Left the place cleaner than when we checked in.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 15, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I have called this renter several times and refunded deposit upon their leaving despite the fact that they left trash spread all over the front porch outside as well as the house and furniture was covered in dog hair. They informed me of the TV and scheduled a person to come fix it which they did not inform me they would not be present for until shortly before the appointment. If I had known they would not be present for the appointment they scheduled I would have hired someone to be there. This resulted in charges to the account due to their missing the appointment. This renter seems to want to find things wrong but is uncooperative in finding resolutions be wary.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

It was relaxing!

  • 5 of 5

Really peaceful and really great. Had a nice time.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 8, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

great mountain stay

  • 4 of 5

This is a great little cabin. All the essentials are here, greatly equipped kitchen. We thoroughly enjoyed sleeping with the downstairs window open in order to hear the stream. Would have slept upstairs but the window did not open and was a bit warm with mountain sunshine. Another perk was the nice TV and speaker system for movies, and music, not what we usually do in the mountains but enjoyed it.

Would definitely stay here again. Will bring a portable picnic table to put out back by the stream and under the tree.

We enjoyed the hike to Williams Lake above Taos ski area. Several other hiking trails nearby for a moderate hike. Stopped in Arroyo Seco, for breakfast burritos, ice cream and a couple of cute shops.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Rustic and charming, immersed in nature

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed staying here. From the moment we drove up to the cabin, we knew that it would be a great experience. The backyard has a great campfire area and a creek that was soothing to listen to. The cabin itself is cozy but had plenty of space for the four of us. The kitchen was well equipped with cooking ware and utensils. It was a short drive up to Ski Valley as well as to Taos. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderfully quiet and well located cabin

  • 5 of 5

We loved this cabin. It is located far enough from the road that one does not hear the traffic. It is close enough to Arroyo Seco but isolated from other cabins to have a quiet time. It was perfect for a couple with a kid. I would work nicely for a family of 4 as well.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 11, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Ski
3 Miles
Taos Ski Valley
Car: necessary

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cabin in Taos Ski Valley, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Spring Skiing
2 Jan 2017 - 29 Apr 2017
3 night minimum stay
£477
for 3 nights
From
£159
£795
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £397
Pet Fee £20

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot