This was the first home situated on this secluded stretch of White Sound beach, built in 1981. The home and its grounds have been maintained and updated constantly and, since its construction, has been fit with all the modern amenities such as A/C, Wifi Internet and satellite television. Over the years, time and storms have pushed the shoreline closer and closer to the property, offering uniquely spectacular views from the front porch. The property is situated perfectly between the charming village of Hopetown and the serene white sands of Tahiti beach, with bars, restaurants, and shopping in between. Although this is a walker's paradise, the island is dominated by golfcarts, which can be rented through our caretaker. The 2nd level of St. Somewhere is a surrounded by windows, offering a 360 degree views of the island and its beauty. The expansive front deck is excellent for spreading out and relaxing with a drink and good book, or for enjoying meals 'with a view' on the picnic table, partially shaded by an arbor outside the dining room.
3 bedrooms, 2 full bath, sleeps 6 comfortably
- english, spanish
- Calendar last updated:
- 21 Jan 2019
100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Stunning Views - Great Location
My Family and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at St Somewhere. My Daughters were able to explore for hermit crabs around the deck and lost treasures on the beach. The location was fantastic, easy golf cart ride to restaurants and shops. Jeff was very helpful and prompt with communication. A wonderful Family vacation spot!
Charming house with beautiful views
We absolutely loved the house. Everything was so nice and the owner was very accommodating.
Beautiful house for a romantic private beach escape!
Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful oceanfront home. We celebrate our anniversary with a trip every year to nice beach location, but usually we only have 5 days and so it's a resort type place. We've been to the Bahamas 15 times, Abacos 5. Half the time we stay at Compass Point in Nassau, in an over water bungalow, which is wonderful.The daily flights from Ft. Lauderdale and having your house available for less than a week was a HUGE bonus! We have not been back to Elbow cay since our first out island trip 20 years ago. We stayed at Abaco Inn back then, and loved going back to have a favorite meals (the cook is the same :).
The house is absolutely perfect. The views from the living area and kitchen are spectacular, beats all the ocean views we've had before, anywhere, and all the glass sliders were sparkling clean. The house is freshly painted, there is a new large comfortable white couch (you are very brave, but it looks beautiful against the ocean), tons of seating. We spent our days between the island's beautiful beaches swimming and snorkeling, and then relaxing on the huge oceanfront deck . No view beats the beauty of the Atlantic Ocean in the Bahamas. Why would we ever go to a resort when we could have our own private beach and house? The house is supplied with nice linens and towels, including beach towels. We aren't normally VRBO users, but I've been in several upscale ski houses recently that were not as well equipped. We cooked half the meals and had everything we needed. We also own a beach rental house in North Carolina, maintenance is hard on a busy island, I can't imagine what it must be like here. There was a king size bed, which my very tall husband requires, not many in the Bahamas. The house exudes old Bahamian charm.
Do not make the mistake we did and forget to rent a cart! You really need one. Fortunately the folks who own Hope Town Carts down the street took pity on us.
Bahamas internet is very unsatisfying, there is a chromecast and we brought a Roku but gave up. The beach is coral, must bring beach shoes. Swimming and snorkeling beaches are a short walk either way, but we loved the town beach for swimming and snorkeling. When it was windy, which it is a lot in March, we went to Tahiti beach, so beautiful.
We loved going to Abaco Inn for our anniversary dinner, and had a good dinner at Firefly. We brought food in a Yeti cooler, and picked up the rest at the HUGE Maxwell's grocery on Marsh Harbor, the cab waited
The most fantastic view and charming home!
We were so so happy that we found this house! This house really has one of the most fantastic views in the area. We woke up every day to find gorgeous shells steps away from the house. The caretaker met us late at the marina due to our heavily delayed flight. He was so kind and met us with our golf cart and helped us find the house in the dark! The house is conveniently located near both Abaco Inn, Firefly Resort and Hope Town. Nothing is very far away.
We loved the chic beach decor...all white and simple decorative touches. Our boys loved staying in the "Elbow Room" which is the crow's nest of the house. Waking up to the waves and the crystal blue ocean outside was a true delight. We saw sea turtles, fish, and gorgeous coral and shells. The beaches are beautiful and we highly recommend visiting nearby Tahiti Beach for its clear water and sand bars. Favorite restaurants include: Cracker P's, Hope Town Lodge, Harbour's Edge and Firefly Resort. We certainly hope to return to St. Somewhere in the future!!!!
This house and island are absolutely wonderful. My family and I spent a week here and absolutely loved it. I can't wait to go back!!
Amazing views, average property
Views are incredible, as advertised. A/C and coffee maker worked great. Rest of property was average to below average. Latches on several sliding doors and one window didn't work; couldn't lock window and had to insert/remove bar on sliding door track to use them. Only found two soup/cereal bowls. Expected periodic power outages, but most flashlights didn't work and there were no extra batteries. Moreover, there were virtually no usable candles and no matches or lighter. We bought candles and matches so we had some light at night. Kitchenware is just okay, not all that great for anyone who likes to cook. I don't mind rustic but this went further - it feels like the owner hasn't updated thee home in years and doesn't pay attention to details that allow the renters to truly relax and feel like they're are on vacation. Overall, a nice visit but not a "do over".
We're sorry to hear that you were underwhelmed with the property. I was made aware after your departure about the issue with the sliding door and window which had broken from a previous group. Unfortunately you were the very last group of the rental season, and the sliding-door/window lock issues were deferred maintenance. The replacement parts had to be shipped in from the states and had not arrived yet, and the "bar" was an improvised solution to keep the sliding door secure. They have since arrived and will be working properly for future renters.
We also were sorry to hear that you were without batteries for the flashlights or candles during your stay. You should have been told at check-in that we keep these items in bulk in the (locked) supply closet, and although there should have been plenty already out for your use, we urge guests to contact the caretaker in the event that they need something so that they can respond and assist.
Lastly, we are sorry that the kitchenware did not meet your expectations. There certainly should have been plenty of bowls for your use, including an entire spare set of dishes, but it is common that plates/bowls/glasses get broken during the season is often broken new sets must be brought from the US as well. The caretaker should have been able to respond to this issue as well, but we regret you had to deal with it.
We can assure you the issues you experienced are not typical among guest visits, and if you were to consider St. Somewhere for a "re-do", we would certainly love another opportunity to exceed your expectations! Thank you for your feedback.
TO FUTURE GUESTS: Do not worry! All cookware, dishes, and flatware have now been replaced, and door/window currently being fixed as part of a round of improvements addressing any/all needed repairs following minor cosmetic damage during Hurricane Irma. The house will be freshly stocked and updated for Fall 2017!
Other Activities: Art galleries, Island hopping, lighthouse climbing, lobster gigging, maximum relaxation
Additional pricing information
Please enquire for any more detail on rates or availability. Thanks!