HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

' KNOCKIN' ON HEAVEN'S DOOR, LAST MINT $149 PER Nt/4PEOPLE

People10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Separate WC's1
Space 2,300 sq. ft.
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

4 bedrooms, 2.5 baths, sleeps 10

THIS IS NOT YOUR AVERAGE CABIN!!! Perched high on a hillside, with endless mountaintop views, you’ll wonder if you’ve climbed a stairway to Heaven or has Heaven come down to meet you. Perhaps the answer, my friend, is blowin’ in the wind. Located just 10 minutes from town, the lavishly appointed, cedar sided, lodge style home is convenient to shopping, dining, churches, medical facilities and entertainment, but if it’s privacy you seek, you’ll be on your own like a rolling stone.

It’s the perfect place to experience cool autumn nights, crisp sunny days and all the splendor of fall colors. You’ll enjoy brisk evenings out on the covered porch, sipping a warm beverage, snuggled up in comfy rockers by the huge outdoor wood-burning fireplace, where you’ll be making precious memories to last a lifetime. It’s hurricane season in the south anyway, so don’t be a sad-eyed lady of the lowlands, come on up and let us give you shelter from the storm.

A Family Friendly Floor Plan!: This luxury 4 bedroom, 2½ bath home comfortably sleeps up to 10 with a King sized master suite on the main level as well as a smaller bedroom with a twin bed and full bath. The great room has cathedral ceilings with windows all around to enjoy the view and an inviting seating area centered around a massive stone gas log fireplace, flanked by a 42” flat screen HD/TV. The dining area with antique farm table seats eight and the enviable, fully equipped kitchen is offset by a large stone island which seats another 2 or 3 guests. Upstairs, there’s an open loft area with game table, seating and plenty of games, perfect for rainy day people of all ages. Down the hall is another Queen sized bedroom, full bath and a huge “Bunk room” with two traditional bunk beds and a Queen sized bed as well. This bedroom sleeps up to 6 comfortably.

Kick Back & Relax or Get Out & Have Some Fun!: Professionally decorated and embellished throughout with tasteful rustic antiques, folk art, furnishings and memorabilia, you’ll find the home lacking nothing in comfort and convenience. All too soon, however, you’ll have to hit that endless highway and be on the road again, but don’t think twice; it’s alright – we’ll be here for you when you return, so never say goodbye.

Just 10 minutes from pristine Lake Chatuge, it's just a short drive to either of 3 local marinas where you can rent boats, canoes, kayaks, Pontoons or jet skis for a day of fun on the water. Families with small children will love the little white sandy beach area with playground, tennis courts, boat launch and picnic area. And of course, there's the Georgia Mountain Fall Festival at the fairgrounds, located just minutes from town and your cabin. Check out their website to see which of your favorite performers will be appearing in concert while you're here as well.

Places To Go - Things To See & Lots To Do!: Within a relatively short driving distance you'll find all kinds of activities and attractions with something for everyone. There are hiking trails and at least 5 waterfalls that are well worth going out of your way to see. There's Horseback Riding at the new Brasstown Stables, Fishing, White Water Rafting, 'Grubbing for Gems' & Panning for Gold in nearby Dahlonega, and if you have little ones, be sure to visit the Birthplace of the Cabbage Patch Dolls, just outside of Cleveland. Of course you wouldn't want to miss a visit to the Alpine village of Helen, just 25 minutes away, where 'Octoberfest' will be in full swing this time of year. There are street performers, dancing, fun and activities for the whole family, along with an interesting array of little shops and great restaurants. Go tubing on the river that goes right through the heart of town or take a ride in one of the horse drawn carriages for a truly unique tour of the village.

More Details

Owner
Carol Jordan
Member since: 2009
Speaks English, Spanish by email only
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
22 August, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we really enjoy

people enjoying our place. We worked really hard to give a

beautiful yet comfortable & warm feeling to our place.

Hiawassee is a beautiful area to visit and there is no better

place to stay than our cabin.



Please come again!!



Carol
Oct 2011
  • 1 of 1

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday chalet in Hiawassee in Towns County

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2300 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • mountain
  • rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Single Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Large Double Bed , 4 Single Bed , 2 bunk beds
  • All bedrooms are very spacious with ample closets and a view from every room. Beds are new and comfortable. Huge master bath with jacuzzi tub and walk-in shower. Travertine tile. 2 Separate vanities for guests. Full bath upstairs with tub and shower.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books - Fiction / Non-fiction
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Pool Table ...
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Player
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Garden
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Veranda
  • Terrace
  • veranda
  • Wood Decking
Pool / Spa:
  • Whirlpool
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • bay
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • caving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(36 traveller reviews)

91% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
' KNOCKIN' ON HEAVEN'S DOOR, LAST MINT $149 PER Nt/4PEOPLE
average rating of 4.8055553 based on 37 reviews
5

Only 5 stars?

  • 5 of 5

I don't know how it could have been nicer! Amazing comfort and views! I don't know how you get people to leave! Want an investment partner?! We drove a 1929 Model A Ford and 1932 Plymouth and toured straight up the roads and driveway. It's all paved!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 16, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much! I was so glad to hear the antique cars were so easy to drive up the driveway. Our place is a wonderful place. There are few places that have the ambience of the mountains as this house does. We love to hear that our guests enjoy it as much as we do.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Nice View, Smelly Room

  • 2 of 5

I would like to start off with some positive points. First, the view was nice and the floor plan was pretty cool. I really liked the outside fireplace and deck area. The location was nice as well. There are a lot of things close to the cabin which gave the family lots of things to do.

Now for the things that were not so nice. The upstairs bedroom that had the bunkbeds in it smelled like a dog had repeatedly pissed in there. We told the owner’s about it and they told us to change the blankets on the bed. We did, and it did not help one bit. We searched high and low and could not find the source of the smell. The first night it was so bad that we had to remove the mattresses and had the children sleep in other rooms. We contacted the owner’s again because a circuit tripped in one of the rooms and they do not provide access to the circuit breaker (waited 7 hours for someone to show up), and we mentioned the smell again. The owner’s claimed that the room does not smell. It is weird that there was a giant air freshener sitting on the table between the two bunkbeds, I wonder why that could be??? I did notice that there was a small leash hanging from the coat rack right when you enter the front door… Next, they claim that the cabin was professionally decorated. We found the book on how to decorate a log cabin located on one of the book shelves. I’m being nitpicky when it comes to the décor, but I did want to state that the use of medieval light fixtures were interesting, particularly because they came with authentic cobwebs and all. Not only did the light fixtures need a good cleaning, my water bottle fell off the nightstand and rolled behind the headboard and when I picked it up, it was covered in cobwebs as well. Also, under amenities, for the part labeled pool/spa, they list whirlpool. My wife mistook this for a hot tub, but what it really means is that one of the bathrooms has a tub with jets in it.

I would not recommend this place, nor would I stay here again. My family and I stay in a cabin every year, and this was one of the worst experiences we have had over the last 10 years.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 28, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry, you seemed "unhappy" with our beautiful well appointed home. We followed through immediately. We do rent to pet owners, floors are mopped after guests leave the same or next day. Have had same cleaners for 9 years with no complaints. We have had nothing but really positive comments both written and oral. I sent my cleaner within one hour after you called, as I was out of town and I asked him to check the room for any smells of any kind, he called me back that he did not smell anything and turned the breaker back on as you were not present when he was there. I came back in town on Friday, the day you departed to check for the smell and found nothing. I just received a text from my new renter who arrived yesterday, these are her words "Everything is wonderful! Your home is stunning!!! We are having great fun. I have to let my home, the pictures and 9 years of customers speak for themselves as some people will be unhappy, no matter where they are.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Best

  • 5 of 5

I've stayed in a lot of cabins over the years but this was the best one I've ever stayed in!

  • Review Submitted: May 28, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Cabin for Families

  • 5 of 5

We rented this cabin for two families - four adults and four kids. We fit very comfortably in the house! The kitchen is beautiful and functional (fully stocked with cooking items and dishes/utensils/cups), the half-bathroom off the main living room area was helpful with all the kids, and the multiple places to sit gave us a number of spots to converse/watch tv/hang out. The outside fireplace was so cozy with the rocking chairs, and we loved the big kitchen table! The driveway up to the cabin is very steep but manageable with our small-SUV and minivan. The location is convenient, with an Ingles is within 10 minutes of the cabin and the city of Helen is about 30 minutes away. The city of Hiawassee also had a really fun playground for the kids and a few neat little shops to visit - and if it had been in the summer, it'd be easy to visit the lake for swimming. We highly recommend this cabin and hope to be back someday!

  • Review Submitted: Mar 25, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful, Serene, Secluded Property - Sitting on top of the world!

  • 5 of 5

We visited "Knockin' on Heaven's Door" in May for a girls weekend getaway. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. It was spacious with enough rooms and bed to accommodate us all, AMAZING views, and a huge kitchen. The owners were wonderful to work with and we felt right at home in this cabin. One of our favorite moments was sitting in the big rocking chairs in the evening talking into the wee hours of the morning. Can't say enough good things about this place. My husband and I will definitely be making a trip there together in the future.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review! Everyone loves our porch, it is so spacious and can accomdate a lot of people. The fireplace is so relaxing and seems to stay up late talking. Please come again and tell all your family and friends!
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Atlanta, Georgia
5

Best Cabin Ever...

  • 5 of 5

This cabin was beyond what we had hoped for--it is mountain luxury at every turn! To say that it is esthetically pleasing is an understatement. The inside space is full of designer touches--from the soaring stone fireplace to the copper sinks and casement windows. And the outside porch? It's not to be outdone, it rivals the inside space with the outdoor fireplace of your dreams. Knockin On Heaven's Door lives up to its name. The furnishings are a mix of old and new--with so many beautiful pieces of furniture and artwork to enjoy--add that to the mountain views seen from the windows and porches and you have found your Shangri-la. This cabin has everything you need--plenty of dishes, flatware, pots & pans, towels, pillows and blankets. We were lacking for absolutely nothing! We have stayed in many rental cabins in the north Georgia mountains but this will be our "go to" cabin from now on--it just has that wonderful welcoming feel to it. It's a special place for sure. I would also like to brag on Carol, she was very accommodating to work with and was available anytime I had a question--so much so that I popped into the local antique mall hoping to meet her before we left town! That tells you how enamored we were with the whole experience! We will definitely be back again. 💕

  • Review Submitted: Nov 18, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Location

Nearest Airport
120 Miles
Hartsfield Jackson - ATL
Car: necessary

Located just minutes from the town of Hiawassee yet close to the Georgia Mountain Fairgrounds, you'll want to check out the calendar of events online at the chamber to see what festivals, concerts and shows are coming up & plan accordingly. There are free concerts on the square, weather permitting, each Saturday night during the season. Local artists display their wares in many of the quaint little shops along the way & antiquers will have fun mulling over the booths there as well. You'll enjoy a wide variety of restaurants with cuisines ranging from Sushi to Barbecue & everything in between. Bring your boat & dock it at a nearby marina or rent a pontoon, jet skis or kayaks & spend the day on pristine Lake Chatuge, the jewel of Hiawassee! Families with small children will want to visit the Cabbage Patch Museum or trout farm & everyone loves a picnic at one of the nearby waterfalls. Don't miss the Alpine village of Helen just 30 minutes away, and plan to go tubing on the river!

Other Activities: boating, fairs, festivals, concerts, kayaking, canoeing, panning for gold, Octoberfest, shopping, fairgrounds,

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday chalet in Hiawassee, Georgia

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£362
for 2 nights
From
£152
 

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £96.94

50% when booked. Balance due 30 days before arrival.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals