HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Charming Log Home at the Door to Lassen National Park.

People10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 7-10)

Charming 'Real Log Home' at the door to Lassen National Park. Welcome to 'Peaceful Pines'.

Home is situated at the end of a quiet cul de sac on almost one private acre. 12 acres of pines boarder property to the east for exploring/walking.

Surrounded by Ponderosa Pines--just 5 miles east of Shingletown and 35 mile east of Redding, CA. Perfect for that weekend 'get away' or weeks vacation.

BEDROOMS:

Master Suite: Upstairs (for privacy). Queen bed, 2 large closets, full bath with shower over tub. Large vanity.

Guest Rooms:

'Wild life room': Double bed

'Bird House': Double bed

Guest rooms share full bath with tub over shower.

KITCHEN:

Country flair with genuine (ORNAMENTAL) wood stove, center butcher block island. Equipped for the cook with large oven, microwave, toaster oven, coffee pot, ample dishes and cooking utensils.

Guest house on property with permanent tenant.

Keywords: Log Home, woods, pines, explore, Lassen Park, wine tasting, secluded, peaceful

More Details

Owner
Mary Williamson
Member since: 2009
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
27 May, 2017

About Mary Williamson

A native of Redding. I enjoy family time, gardening and travel. I purchased this home as a weekend retreat. To enjoy the cooler summer weather, to rest and relax. I work as a Nurse Practitioner at Planned Parenthood in Redding.

Mary Williamson purchased this house in 2008

Why Mary Williamson chose Shasta Cascade

At the door to Lassen National Park. This is a great area to explore or just relax. Fishing, wine tasting, hiking, snowmobiling and Eskimo Hill are a few of the local activities.

What makes this house unique

This Charming Log Home is surrounded by lots of tall pine trees. Situated at the end of a quiet cul de sac this home offers privacy and seclusion. Rock BBQ, children's play area. Enjoy the cool nights during the summer and the possibility of snow in the winter. The area abounds with recreation. Hike to the top of Mt. Lassen, go wine tasting at the nearby wineries, fish at Hat Creek.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Good Morning…



I am trying to get back into the swing of life after such a wonderful stay… I am trying to open this to give my remarks but it will not let me so hoping you get this..



Your cabin was absolutely awesome… What a beautiful place… So quiet and it had everything we needed to prepare meals/cook outs for the family. The kids enjoyed exploring your yard alone, not to mention Lassen having snow in July! The setting was awesome so quiet and homey…. We could have just moved right in and never looked back…. Thank you for having such a wonderful place an sharing it..



Thanks!
Jun 2016
  • 1 of 6

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Shingletown in Shasta County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Queen size bed (1), Double Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (1), Sleep Sofas: Double sofa bed and one twin sofa bed. Sofa beds are located in the living room.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • Snowmobiling
Notes:
True log home with unique old style stove as focal point of kitchen.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(32 traveller reviews)

Charming Log Home at the Door to Lassen National Park.
average rating of 4.46875 based on 38 reviews
5

Beautiful Home - Easy Access to Lassen

  • 5 of 5

The house is really beautiful and the photos don't do it full justice. Authentic log cabin with rustic charm! Everything was clean and decorated perfectly. Full kitchen set up as well. Wood stove in the living room was our favorite room to gather as a group and play games by the fire. Note: There is minimal to no phone access or wi-fi on the property, as listed, so be committed to truly zero phone access while there. You do get service in town though, a five minute drive away. Lassen is a short drive away and the sledding hill (Eskimo Hill) is a great place to sled in the winter! We really enjoyed our time.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 21, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Convenient and quiet place, just the way we like

  • 5 of 5

We arrived late in the day and found the place very cosy and welcoming. Plenty of couches and sitting areas, great kitchen area with open space. The feeling of being in a log cabin was very pleasing.

Showers, bathrooms, and other amenities, and the rest of the cabin were clean and pleasing.

We recommend the cabin near Shingletown.

Don

  • Review Submitted: Oct 14, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

pleasant but could have been better

  • 4 of 5

overall stay was good. home was in good condition, with good kitchen and all that. quiet and as advertised, my only complain is with the maintenance of the unit. lights in the front porch by the main door entrance werent working, lights in the parking space werent working, lights at the back porch were very dim at best. there are lights installed but they just don't work; we visited this home when there was a bear and mountain lion alert in lassen national park, this place is around 12 miles or so away from it; we were traveling with small dogs and it gets very dark after sunset; not having adequate lighting was a disappointment. Also, unfortunately, we were traveling during hot days, we only found 1 small table fan, just one; in the entire house.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We did communicate prior to your arrival and you were informed that there have NOT been any bear or lion sightings here, they have NEVER been in the garbage, which would be a sign of their presents. There are actually 2 movable fans in the closets or storage areas, in addition to a swamp cooler. Also, night time temperatures are 45-55, you can open the windows to cool the home down and close them in the morning and the log walls are great insulation to keep the home cool. I was not aware of the outside light being inoperable and will rectify this. I hearing your real concern as being the wildlife. Perhaps you were worried that they may enter through the windows at night, therefore not feeling comfortable to open them and let the night temperature cool the home. Yes, this home is in the "pines" therefore no street lights, and it is dark at night. Sorry for your disappointment. Did you see any lions or bears?
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

very comfortable home

  • 4 of 5

I stayed at this home will working in the area. The home was comfortable and well furnished. The only problem I encountered was not being able to get the dvd player to work on the tv. I don't know if someone moved some wire or what happened , but I could not get it working. No bid deal since I did not have much down time. I would recommend this to anyone needing a reasonably priced comfortable place to stay.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 28, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Nice experience, but could have been even better

  • 3 of 5

I found it is spacious, has nice kitchen and dining area. It has good parking area, woods around. This is my first stay at a log home & hence found it interesting. There were no big surprises.

Some things we didn't like:

- We spent a lot of time getting the propane based heaters work, but were no successful. We had a figure out that an electric heater was kept inside a bedroom closet in ground floor.

- There was an attached home just behind this home, which caught me by surprise. I was expecting just this home in a big lot. May be it is written somewhere in the VRBO property webpage I might have overlooked.

- Wifi password was not found in the instruction booklet. There was no cell phone service at the home for us to call the owner for help. It could have been helpful for us to research about local places.

- The TV stopped worked after we pressed some button & we couldn't get it working again because it seemed like a very old model (probably from 1990s). So, we didn't have the TV for kids for entire stay even though there was some DVD collection in the home.

- We couldn't find soaps in bathrooms.

Hope this helps.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your comments, they are extremely helpful for me to know what to address at the home. In response to the your comments the following issues are listed in VRBO:(important to read ALL of the listing amenities) long term tenant in guest home; wi fi password (also listed on information sheet on the frig). Baseboard electric heaters are located in the living room, dinning room, master bedroom, both bathrooms and 1 of the downstairs bedrooms. The 1 downstairs bedroom has the portable heater in the closet. TV is older, I plan to update it. However, all remotes work the same, so even with a later model TV the programming for the DVD would work the same. I agree an updated home book is needed and is in progress. Some cell providers do work on site, see note in listing. If you EVER need to reach me- just go 2 blocks out the highway and call. Mary
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Diego, CA
2

Charming cabin but I would not stay here again

  • 2 of 5

We enjoyed the proximity to Lassen Volcanic National Park that this cabin offered. We found the kitchen to be well equipped and we enjoyed barbecuing in the evenings. We were, however, disappointed in several "amenities" that were not actually provided or available.

The listing states that a washing machine, clothes dryer, and internet are provided. We found none of these. The property owner offered the use of her long term tenant's wifi, but the signal is only strong enough to receive email in the farthest back bedroom of the house. There is no wifi in the remainder of the house. The closest wifi is 5 miles away in the town of Shingletown at the library.

I will also note for future renters that there is no cell phone signal in the house (cellular or data), nor is there a landline in case of emergencies. If you are in need of keeping in touch with business colleagues or friends and family members while on your vacation, this is not the house for you.

The two downstairs bedrooms with the double beds are very small, suitable for children or perhaps a single small adult. I would not advise these rooms for adult couples.

I did not see previous reviewers mention the lack of broadcast TV, so I will mention it for the benefit of future renters. While I understand the benefits of being able to completely get away from it all, we were disappointed that we were not able to watch the Olympic games during our visit. If you are renting this property you should bring your own DVD's or VHS tapes.

The property would be greatly improved by upgrading the mattresses, providing an actual internet wifi connection, and providing at least basic broadcast TV.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Please consult the listing. As the listing states, there is no washer, dryer, satellite tv, cable TV, etc. There is a variety of DVD's on site, and you are welcome to bring your own. As for the beds, the listing DOES state the sizes. Future guests PLEASE carefully read what amenities are and which amenities aren't provide. Also, see all the POSITIVE reviews. Thanks, Mary
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Redding, Ca.
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Pioneer Pizza
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Pioneer Pizza or Reeds Deli
Car: necessary

Lassen National Park, Subway Caves, Burney Falls

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Shingletown, California

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£332
for 2 nights
From
£166
£893
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £17 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £154.61
Pet Fee £38.65
Tax Rate 10.0%

Rates are subject to change until confirmed. Rates are based on parties of 7.
Holiday rate is $225.00 per night, all other fees apply.
Cleaning fee of $95.00 per booking.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

Special Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar holiday rentals