HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Charming Log Home at the Door to Lassen National Park.

People10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 7-10)

Charming 'Real Log Home' at the door to Lassen National Park. Welcome to 'Peaceful Pines'.

Home is situated at the end of a quiet cul de sac on almost one private acre. 12 acres of pines boarder property to the east for exploring/walking.

Surrounded by Ponderosa Pines--just 5 miles east of Shingletown and 35 mile east of Redding, CA. Perfect for that weekend 'get away' or weeks vacation.

BEDROOMS:

Master Suite: Upstairs (for privacy). Queen bed, 2 large closets, full bath with shower over tub. Large vanity.

Guest Rooms:

'Wild life room': Double bed

'Bird House': Double bed

Guest rooms share full bath with tub over shower.

KITCHEN:

Country flair with genuine (ORNAMENTAL) wood stove, center butcher block island. Equipped for the cook with large oven, microwave, toaster oven, coffee pot, ample dishes and cooking utensils.

Guest house on property with permanent tenant.

Keywords: Log Home, woods, pines, explore, Lassen Park, wine tasting, secluded, peaceful

More Details

Owner
Mary Williamson
Member since: 2009
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
22 August, 2017

About Mary Williamson

A native of Redding. I enjoy family time, gardening and travel. I purchased this home as a weekend retreat. To enjoy the cooler summer weather, to rest and relax. I work as a Nurse Practitioner at Planned Parenthood in Redding.

Mary Williamson purchased this house in 2008

Why Mary Williamson chose Shasta Cascade

At the door to Lassen National Park. This is a great area to explore or just relax. Fishing, wine tasting, hiking, snowmobiling and Eskimo Hill are a few of the local activities.

What makes this house unique

This Charming Log Home is surrounded by lots of tall pine trees. Situated at the end of a quiet cul de sac this home offers privacy and seclusion. Rock BBQ, children's play area. Enjoy the cool nights during the summer and the possibility of snow in the winter. The area abounds with recreation. Hike to the top of Mt. Lassen, go wine tasting at the nearby wineries, fish at Hat Creek.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Good Morning…



I am trying to get back into the swing of life after such a wonderful stay… I am trying to open this to give my remarks but it will not let me so hoping you get this..



Your cabin was absolutely awesome… What a beautiful place… So quiet and it had everything we needed to prepare meals/cook outs for the family. The kids enjoyed exploring your yard alone, not to mention Lassen having snow in July! The setting was awesome so quiet and homey…. We could have just moved right in and never looked back…. Thank you for having such a wonderful place an sharing it..



Thanks!
Jun 2016
  • 1 of 6

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Shingletown in Shasta County

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Queen size bed (1), Double Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (1), Sleep Sofas: Double sofa bed and one twin sofa bed. Sofa beds are located in the living room.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • churches
  • library
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • Snowmobiling
Notes:
True log home with unique old style stove as focal point of kitchen.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(35 traveller reviews)

65% Complete
20% Complete
8% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
Charming Log Home at the Door to Lassen National Park.
average rating of 4.457143 based on 41 reviews
3

Good location, nice looking cabin but not clean

  • 3 of 5

We stayed here for three nights while we were visiting Lassen Volcanic. We arrived early and the cleaning people were still there. I think they rushed so we could get in because it was not clean at all. There were no towels of any kind but luckily the padlock on the closet was left undone so we could help ourselves. There were coffee spills on the kitchen counter, hair on the bathroom floor and lots of cobwebs. We did speak to the owner about this and she apologized but when you pay $95 for a cleaning fee you expect the place to be clean when you arrive. It didn't even smell like any cleaning products were used. On the plus side the cabin itself is nice looking and you can't beat the location if you're visiting the park.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 10, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: The guest did arrive early without prior notice. I have shared this review with the cleaners and she has stated that it will not happen again. FYI the cleaning fee is included in the nightly rate, not in addition to.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cozy house

  • 5 of 5

The house is cozy and has lots of open space around for privacy. Due to crazy hot weather this week, the little swamp cooler had a learning curve. It works more like a fan, drawing in cooler night air...don't leave it on in the heat of the day. (Our mistake!) I'm sure in normal weather (not in the 100's), the evenings in the cabin are wonderful. The cabin is in a great location to explore Lassen! Have fun!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 5, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

A very cozy and convenient place to stay if you're exploring Lassen Volcanic Park and its vicinity

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at this house for two nights and absolutely loved it. The owner put a lot of effort to make it feel like an ancestral rural home in the woods you never had while comfortably housing two families of three. The location is just a few miles away from the Lake Manzanita entrance to Lassen Volcanic Park so it was very easy for us to move around and explore. Thank you Mary for having us at our place!

  • Review Submitted: May 30, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Home - Easy Access to Lassen

  • 5 of 5

The house is really beautiful and the photos don't do it full justice. Authentic log cabin with rustic charm! Everything was clean and decorated perfectly. Full kitchen set up as well. Wood stove in the living room was our favorite room to gather as a group and play games by the fire. Note: There is minimal to no phone access or wi-fi on the property, as listed, so be committed to truly zero phone access while there. You do get service in town though, a five minute drive away. Lassen is a short drive away and the sledding hill (Eskimo Hill) is a great place to sled in the winter! We really enjoyed our time.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 21, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Convenient and quiet place, just the way we like

  • 5 of 5

We arrived late in the day and found the place very cosy and welcoming. Plenty of couches and sitting areas, great kitchen area with open space. The feeling of being in a log cabin was very pleasing.

Showers, bathrooms, and other amenities, and the rest of the cabin were clean and pleasing.

We recommend the cabin near Shingletown.

Don

  • Review Submitted: Oct 14, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

pleasant but could have been better

  • 4 of 5

overall stay was good. home was in good condition, with good kitchen and all that. quiet and as advertised, my only complain is with the maintenance of the unit. lights in the front porch by the main door entrance werent working, lights in the parking space werent working, lights at the back porch were very dim at best. there are lights installed but they just don't work; we visited this home when there was a bear and mountain lion alert in lassen national park, this place is around 12 miles or so away from it; we were traveling with small dogs and it gets very dark after sunset; not having adequate lighting was a disappointment. Also, unfortunately, we were traveling during hot days, we only found 1 small table fan, just one; in the entire house.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We did communicate prior to your arrival and you were informed that there have NOT been any bear or lion sightings here, they have NEVER been in the garbage, which would be a sign of their presents. There are actually 2 movable fans in the closets or storage areas, in addition to a swamp cooler. Also, night time temperatures are 45-55, you can open the windows to cool the home down and close them in the morning and the log walls are great insulation to keep the home cool. I was not aware of the outside light being inoperable and will rectify this. I hearing your real concern as being the wildlife. Perhaps you were worried that they may enter through the windows at night, therefore not feeling comfortable to open them and let the night temperature cool the home. Yes, this home is in the "pines" therefore no street lights, and it is dark at night. Sorry for your disappointment. Did you see any lions or bears?
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Redding, Ca.
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Pioneer Pizza
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Pioneer Pizza or Reeds Deli
Car: necessary

Lassen National Park, Subway Caves, Burney Falls

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Shingletown, California

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£333
for 2 nights
From
£166
£896
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £17 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Additional Guest Fee £15.51 per person per night
Pet Fee £38.77
Damage Deposit £155.1

Rates are subject to change until confirmed. Rates are based on parties of 7.
Holiday rate is $225.00 per night, all other fees apply.
Cleaning fee of $95.00 per booking.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals