HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Best Ski-in/Ski-Out Luxury Chalet at Khmr - 4 BR,3 Ba, Hot Tub, Heated Flrs

People11
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
People
11
Bedrooms
4
Bathrooms
3
Minimum Stay
2 - 5 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 4 bedroom holiday home in Columbia-Shuswap A - Grizzly Chalet

4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8-11

Contact me for mid-week discounts, last minute discounts, small party size discounts, long stay discounts, filling in a calendar gap discount - basically any if you want a reasonable discount, contact me.

2800 square foot 'True' ski-in/ski-out Luxury ski home - We've rented places that called themselves ski-in/ski-out and find ourselves disappointed when the owners took liberty with the term. This home is a 'TRUE' ski-in/ski-out home. You can ski down 'Bail Out' trail, look to the left and see the back of the home. Turn your skis off the trail, ski down 40 feet and you are at the back door. And when you want to get back on the slopes, put the skis back on and ski out the neighborhood down to the gondola on a trail next to the road. You NEVER have to take a step except to cross the back door threshold going into the home. You don't have to ski the trees, you don't have to sit down or side step and you don't have to be an expert skier. Our home is the closest house on the mountain to a ski trail.

Heated floors, slate floors, wood floors, granite countertops, granite window sills, TV's in bedrooms, dryer with drying center, ski to gondola, ski right to the hot tub and back door, 5 minute walk (or ski) to 5 restaurants, 3 bars, gondola, day lodge, rental shop, lift ticket office, general store, mountain bike trails and horseback riding outfit. Just a short gondola ride to world class Eagles Eye Restaurant. Short chairlift ride to Grizzly Bear refuge. 20 km of groomed Dawn Mountain cross country ski trails are 100 yards from home. 'Bail Out' ski trail is right behind home, no home is closer to the trail than this one. As the highest home in the neighborhood, the home commands the best views of the Columbia and Kicking Horse rivers and the Purcell and Dogtooth mountain ranges.

Kicking Horse Mountain : We love to ski and we love this mountain. The only mountain with better terrain (in our opinion) is Jackson Hole. The only mountain with better snow is Alta. The only place with a better view is Lake Louise. This mountain is the total package. It's huge and always has soft powder somewhere (even in spring). It has bumps, chutes, bowls, trees, glades, cornices, cliffs, terrain parks, back country and even bunny slopes, magic carpets, long meandering blues ('It's a 10' - 10 km long). We take several ski trips a year all over the US and Canada and chose Kicking Horse because it is the total package. Come try it (again) and we think you'll agree.

Golden Golf and Country Club: The Golden Golf Club is just 7 km away from the home on the main road to the house. It offers one of the most enjoyable golfing experiences you will find in Canada. The natural beauty of the Columbia Valley, makes the golf course an instant classic. Architects Bill Newis and Les Furber have done some of their best work in sculpting this fun, but challenging layout. The stunning Rocky, and Purcell mountains are uniquely framed, and each hole tells a great story.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered

Property Manager
Gabriel Higham
Member since: 2006
Speaks English, Spanish, Mandarin
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
2 December, 2016
Call Manager

About Gabriel Higham

We are two avid skiers who bought our house for ski trips with family and friends and eventual retirement. To help pay the bills we rent it out when we aren't using it. We first skied at Kicking Horse in 2004 as part of our yearly ski trip with friends - that year trying out the eastern side of the Canadian Rockies. We had skied Whistler a couple of times and knew we loved Canadians. They are so nice, cheerful and friendly people. Our day at Kicking Horse was the favorite of everyone on the trip. We couldn't believe how great the snow was, how big the mountain was and how few people there were. My wife and I actually got engaged at the top of Lake Louise. She asked me to marry her and I said yes and she presented me with candy lollipop rings (we later upgraded them). Anyway, we looked at buying at the time but weren't in a financial position to do so. But in 2009 we were in a much better position and so we decided to come back to double check if everything we remembered about it was true. It was and we happened to stumble upon a great deal on this home and jumped at the opportunity. With any life changing event there is always a little voice that wonders if you are doing the right thing. That voice went away and never came back after we had to stop for a black wolf in the middle of the road between Banff and Golden. We knew this was the place for us. We hope that you will consider experiencing our wonderful home and get as much enjoyment out of it as we do.

Gabriel Higham purchased this house in 2009

Why Gabriel Higham chose British Columbia

We love to ski and Kicking Horse has some of the best skiing in North America. We absolutely love the snow and varied terrain of Kicking Horse. And the views are to die for.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Thanks Gabriel:

Beautiful home...wonderfull setting, unbelievable ski-hill!! We had 5 kids and 4 adults, lots of space, wonderfull time.



Bob





Bob, Calgary AB.
Mar 2010
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(31 traveller reviews)

Best Ski-in/Ski-Out Luxury Chalet at Khmr - 4 BR,3 Ba, Hot Tub, Heated Flrs
average rating of 4.903226 based on 32 reviews
5

Beautiful place with a mountain view

  • 5 of 5

The property is even nicer than the pictures. The chalet is well stocked with kitchen equipment. The communication with Gabriel was fantastic. I would recommend this property for a large family or large group. The hot tub was private and a great place to unwind. We had a great time at this beautiful property. I would definitely consider returning to this mountain get away.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 15, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Lauren, We are thrilled that the home delighted your group. Would be a pleasure to have you come back again. Gabriel
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Comfortable, well equipped home

  • 5 of 5

This property exceeded expectations! The home is well equipped with everything that you could possibly need and more. We really appreciated the instructions and details that were placed around the property as well. Gabriel was a pleasure to deal with and I would recommend this property to any families or larger groups that are thinking of visiting this resort!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the kind words about our home and my service. We take pride in giving great guest experiences and a super excited to hear we exceeded your expectations. Gabriel Higham
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location in a quiet mountain neighbourhood

  • 5 of 5

Thanks Gabe for providing such a thoughtfully prepared and equipped house for us - we had a great weekend in Kicking Horse. The instructions around the house were very helpful, and the beds comfortable. The room-by-room in floor heat is effective and would be great for a winter ski trip, as would the custom gear dryer in the basement. The hot tub is surprisingly private, and a great place to relax in the evening. The rec room in the lower level is great for ping pong tournaments.

Regarding beds, it appears as though the office off of the main room may have a bed that folds down into a king, however there are 3 true king size beds in the house. I would say that the house comfortably accommodates 4 couples. There is plenty of parking.

Overall, a great property. We will certainly consider coming back in the winter for a ski trip.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 9, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the detailed review. Yes, the bed in the office area is a day bed that can convert to a king bed. Hope to have you back again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Home is very beautiful!

  • 3 of 5

We arrived late (1130 PM) after driving for 2 1/2 days, we found the house had not been cleaned from the previous occupants. All beds were dirty as well as the towels. We were exhausted and just wanted to go to bed. Owner got housekeeper there and beds were changed (no clean towels). We also discovered that the house had mice. We finally got to bed around 200 AM, we washed towels so we could shower the next morning. Housekeeper came back the next day and cleaned while we were out. Drawers in kitchen had mouse droppings, we had to wash all dished before we used them. The website says Air hockey, table tennis and pool table available in game room, there was table tennis (ping pong) but not air hockey and pool. Only equipment we found was 2 ping pong rackets and 2 ping pong balls. The home is beautiful and in a nice area but could have been cleaner with no mice we trapped and disposed of 5. Owner did give us a refund.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We always try to provide the best possible guest experience and we fell very short with your group. There was a mix-up with the cleaning and so the housekeeper did not realize the home was getting guests after the previous guests checked out that morning. We tried to address it as quickly as possible by having the housekeeper come up immediately and at least get it so you could get to sleep after such a long day but we totally understand that couldn't address the disappointment. When you reported mice we immediately got traps over - thank you for being so gracious as to let them be placed in the home during your stay. Immediately after you left we got Orkin Canada out to do an extermination and monthly treatments and we have not had anymore mice sightings. Regarding the pool table, I wish we would have been aware of this issue during your stay as we could have addressed it. The table is a 2-in-1 table and the air hockey table is below the ping pong table top. And we have extra paddles, balls, strikers and pucks we could have put out. We have put out a set of instructions downstairs in addition to the house instructions to help future guests. I am truly sorry that the experience we provided was not to your or our standards. Hopefully the refund helped somewhat with that. Again - we do appreciate your business and apologize we didn't deliver. Gabriel Higham
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect Place

  • 5 of 5

Fantastic location right up on the ski hill and close to the golf course. Couldn't ask for better service from Gabe first class all the way.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 1, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks Matthew, Really appreciate the kind words. I do my best to address all my guests questions, requests and inquiries in a timely professional manner and it's great to know it is noticed and appreciated. The home is a great base for golfing as the golf course is just a short 7 minute drive from the home. Please come again next year. Gabriel Higham
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place

  • 5 of 5

Great place; I stayed here with 9 other people for a little getaway. The ski hill is right out the backyard and the cabin was well maintained and had everything you need for cooking and what not.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you had a great stay at the Black Wolf Chalet. We try to supply everything so all you have to bring is food, clothes and toiletries. Hope to have you back again next winter. Gabriel Higham
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
290 Kilometres
Calgary International
Nearest Barpub
150 Metres
Local Hero Pub and Restaurant
Nearest Golf
8 Kilometres
Golden Golf and Country Club
Nearest Train
13 Kilometres
Golden
Nearest Motorway
13 Kilometres
Trans Canadian Hwy 1 and BC 95
Nearest Restaurant
150 Metres
Corks Restaurant
Nearest Ski
200 Metres
Kicking Horse Resort
Car: recommended

Kicking Horse Resort - 10 minutes from Golden, British Columbia - 3 hours from Calgary, Alberta Airport. Ski-in/Ski-out home. Downhill skiing at your front door. Cross Country ski trails are only 100 ft away. Moutain bike right from home to mountain trails. 5 minute walk to base area, bars, restaurants, shops, horseback riding. Take a Gondola to the world famous Eagle's Eye Restaurant. Take a chairlift to see 'Boo' the grizzly in the Grizzly habitat area located on the mountain. Golf, hang glide, paraglide, raft, fish, hike, climb, canoe, kayak all within 30 minutes of the home. Lake Louis is 1 hour away, Banf is 1.5 hours, Lake Invermere is 1.5 hours, Revelstoke is 2 hours away. Easy drive to Lake Louis Ski Resort, Norquay Ski Resort, Sunshine Ski Resort and Revelstoke Resort. Take a 'wolf walk', hiking with wolves in their natural environment at the Northern Lights Wolf Center.

Other Activities: Boating, snowboarding, wildlife viewing, basketball, parasailing, snowmobiling, rock climbing, kayaking, health/beauty spa

Golf: The Golden Golf Club is just 7 km away from the home on the main road to the house. It offers one of the most enjoyable golfing experiences you will find in Canada. The natural beauty of the Columbia Valley, makes the golf course an instant classic. Architects Bill Newis and Les Furber have done some of their best work in sculpting this fun, but challenging layout. The stunning Rocky, and Purcell mountains are uniquely framed, and each hole tells a great story.

Ski: Kicking Horse Mountain - We love to ski and we love this mountain. The only mountain with better terrain (in our opinion) is Jackson Hole. The only mountain with better snow is Alta. The only place with a better view is Lake Louise. This mountain is the total package. It's huge and always has soft powder somewhere (even in spring). It has bumps, chutes, bowls, trees, glades, cornices, cliffs, terrain parks, back country and even bunny slopes, magic carpets, long meandering blues ('It's a 10' - 10 km long). We take several ski trips a year all over the US and Canada and chose Kicking Horse because it is the total package. Come try it (again) and we think you'll agree.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Columbia-Shuswap A, British Columbia Mountains

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
CAD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Early Season
2 Dec 2016 - 22 Dec 2016
2 night minimum stay
£843
for 2 nights
From
£357
£2,301
 
 
Christmas
23 Dec 2016 - 26 Dec 2016
4 night minimum stay
£2,982
for 4 nights
From
£713
 
 
New Years
27 Dec 2016 - 31 Dec 2016
5 night minimum stay
£4,343
for 5 nights
From
£843
 
 
Powder Days
1 Jan 2017 - 9 Feb 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,394
for 3 nights
From
£421
£2,593
 
 
Peak Season
10 Feb 2017 - 16 Feb 2017
4 night minimum stay
£2,722
for 4 nights
From
£648
£4,473
 
 
Family Day
17 Feb 2017 - 21 Feb 2017
4 night minimum stay
£2,982
for 4 nights
From
£713
 
 
Peak Season
22 Feb 2017 - 25 Feb 2017
4 night minimum stay
£2,722
for 4 nights
From
£648
 
 
Regular Season 2015
26 Feb 2017 - 25 Mar 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,783
for 3 nights
From
£551
£3,500
 
 
Spring Skiing
26 Mar 2017 - 22 Apr 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,296
for 3 nights
From
£389
£2,593
 
 
Victoria Day
19 May 2017 - 21 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,199
for 3 nights
From
£357
 
 
Early Summer
22 May 2017 - 29 Jun 2017
2 night minimum stay
£778
for 2 nights
From
£324
£1,847
 
 
Peak Summer
30 Jun 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
2 night minimum stay
£843
for 2 nights
From
£357
£2,301
 
 
Labor Day
1 Sep 2017 - 3 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,296
for 3 nights
From
£389
 
 
Late Summer
4 Sep 2017 - 23 Sep 2017
2 night minimum stay
£713
for 2 nights
From
£292
£1,847
 
 
Thanksgiving
6 Oct 2017 - 8 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
£1,102
for 3 nights
From
£324
 
 
Early Season
1 Dec 2017 - 21 Dec 2017
2 night minimum stay
£843
for 2 nights
From
£357
£2,366
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£583
for 2 nights
From
£227
£1,394
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £599
Cleaning £120 + Tax
Pet Fee £120 + Tax
Tax Rate 8.25%

Minimum Age Limit for Renters - 25 Years
****GET $100 OFF FOR EACH ADDITIONAL NIGHT OVER THE MINIMUM****
Damage deposit of $1000 required.
Pet Fee is $100 per night plus an additional $1000 pet deposit.
Saturday to Saturday stays are not accepted during the ski season.
Save 3% for cash payments

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Columbia-Shuswap A in Canada

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • resort ...
  • Ski-In ...
  • Ski-Out ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Computer Available ...
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Garage ...
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 11
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 2 Single Bed , King or Double
    Loft - 1 Double Bed
    Game Room - 1 Sofa bed/Futon
  • Beds, Beds, Beds - We have lots of beds. Not pullout couches or air mattresses but actual beds. And what beds they are. Three beautiful, huge King beds (poster and sleigh), a double trundle that can convert to a King, a double and if you still don't have enough, a futon that folds down to a twin. You'll have a great night's sleep and awake refreshed for a day on the mountain. We also have a child's crib for the wee one.
Entertainment:
  • Air Hockey
  • Books
  • Books - Fiction / Non-fiction
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Player
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Terrace ...
  • Barbecue
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Wood Decking
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Jacuzzi
Onsite Services:
  • Housekeeper
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • museums
  • pond
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • Parasailing
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
The View - The front dining area, balcony and Master bedroom window seat all have panoramic views of the Columbia river valley and the Canadian Rockies. Watch the sun rise up through the huge front windows while having your morning coffee. The home sits at the top of a circular road, at the highest point in the neighborhood so you command the best view. - Heated wood and slate floors. Wake up, step off the edge of the bed to a warm, comfortable floor. No more freezing your feet running to the bathroom in the morning. No more putting on socks or shoes to go get breakfast. - Entertainment. Air hockey, table tennis and pool table await you down in the den. Start a nice wood fire in the stove and everyone hang out and play games. We have lots of board games, cards and puzzles for your use. We also have a collection of movies and three TV's throughout the house all with sattelite TV service. Maybe go sledding with the whole family. You won't be bored.

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot