HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

5 Star Rental! Historic Estate/ Sleeps 10 / Water Views & Cental Air Condition

People10
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms4
Separate WC's1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 6 Bedrooms + Library, 4.5 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

If you appreciate a historic property, you will love this recently restored house. In fact, it is so unique that we are just the third family ownership since 1834.

This house is ideal for Family Reunions, Corporate Retreats, and Leadership Meetings.

Originally the home of Sylvester Pond, a well known sea captain, the house sits on one acre, and is nestled next to thirty acres of tidal marsh land. It is just three short blocks to the quaint town beach and park. The house sits across the street from the Branford River (ocean inlet) so most views from the house are either of boats and water, or stunning marshland views.

We are located on Historic Harbor Street, where a trolley used to run leading down to the fantastic Brandford Point, a manicured park, playground and well groomed beach with a lifeguard are part of park area.

We just recently completed an extensive restoration/renovation to return the house back to its original grandeur while making it very comfortable, livable and modern. There is central zoned heat and central zoned air conditioning. This house is ideal for family gatherings, small groups or reunions. The House has six bedrooms.

*On the ground floor is a long hallway leading to two private bedrooms and a full bath.

One bedroom has a king bed and the other bedroom has a queen.

*On the second floor are three bedrooms and three bathrooms. The master bedroom has a king bed and walk in closet. The Master bathroom is quite spacious with a double vanity and deep porcelain soaking tub and shower. Bedroom four has two twin beds and en suite bath. Bedroom five a trundle bed (two twins) and a baby crib, with its bath across the hall.

*The third floor (Bedroom 6) is a large and bright finished attic with a queen bed.

The Eastern Connecticut Shore is quite possibly the quaintest area in America. The houses are historic with American Flags flying in abundance. Branford is the place where Yale University was founded. Walk (or use some of our bikes) to town and try the famous ice cream shop, antique stores and boutiques. Branford has some of the best restaurants on the Connecticut shoreline. The town square has a European feel or something from a Norman Rockwell sketch. The house is 8 miles from New Haven, 50 miles from Mystic, 70 miles from NYC, and 95 miles from Newport, RI.

Keywords: House

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2007
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
20 October, 2017

About The Owner

We are a couple live full time in NYC with four kids. We restored this home to be a place to get away from the city. We are both originally from Utah, we met while working in New York City 15 years ago. We both have a love affair with renovating historic properties. I graduated from Columbia University and worked at a large consulting firm. Now I run the rental units ( our other vrbo id is 138897) and enjoy staying home with my children. Bill works in business development for a software company.

The Owner purchased this house in 2005

Why The Owner chose Branford

We had rented vacation properties in the area for three years. Branford can't be beat for its charm, historic character, well kept beach, park and children's playground. We think it is the best of all the Connecticut Shoreline towns. We always loved this house and our heart skipped a beat when we saw the for sale sign. We made an offer 24 hour later. There is a reason why we are just the third family to have owned this estate in 200 years.

What makes this house unique

The house is like living in a comfortable historic museum. The fireplaces, hardware, beams, original floors...etc. The beach, boats and scenic walks. The grounds are spectacular. It will remind you of the Cotswolds in England. Our bedding and linens are 1st quality. We stay in high end hotels and promise that you will have equal comforts here.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Email sent from a former guest:

I just wanted to thank you for the wonderful stay at your house. We have rented quite a few vacation properities and have never stayed in anything as nice as yours. To be honest, if I owned that house I doubt I would rent it to strangers. You did an amazing job with the restoration and it was such a treat to stay in such a special and unique place. Our family has not been together in eight years and this was the perfect place to celebrate Thanksgiving. Everything was perfect and it could not have been a nicer experience. We especially appreciated your new and well stocked kitchen since we did so much cooking. We just loved the farmer's markets and the guy in town who sells lobsters for $6!!WOW

Thank you again. We will certinally tell our friends about your rental.

best wishes
Feb 2010
  • 1 of 2

Location

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Branford Center in Branford

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Water View
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 2 Single Bed , 1 Cot
    Bedroom 5 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 6 - 2 Single Bed
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Baby Cribs (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Barbecue
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • Miniature golf
  • Shelling
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness centre
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • Kayaking
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(20 traveller reviews)

85% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
5 Star Rental! Historic Estate/ Sleeps 10 / Water Views & Cental Air Condition
average rating of 4.75 based on 22 reviews
5

Exceeded Expectations!

  • 5 of 5

Such a beautiful and spacious home! It was absolutely perfect for my family. The finishes are stunning. It is very spacious and has impeccable views! Branford is such a darling town as well! Everything you can think of is about a mile away, yet in the home you feel total privacy. We couldn't have asked for a better home to share our memories in! Thank you a million!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 17, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Relaxing Beautiful with Wonderful back yard

  • 5 of 5

My family stayed for my sons wedding , so nice to have a HOME base for all of our children and family. What a wonderful place. House is an older home but well kept with many new amenities. The kitchen is awesome with everything you could need. House was clean and beds comfy. In the middle of wedding Bliss we needed a place for calm this was definitely it. So happy we chose this home.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 11, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cozy family Christmas

  • 5 of 5

We chose this house because of location in CT. We had easy access to some very lovely New England towns while we were there. We had a great time visiting New Haven (walked the Yale campus) and drove over to Mystic CT one day and had lunch at the famous Mystic Pizza! This was delightful! The house is within walking distance to the seashore and also the charming downtown area with its delightful assortment of restaurants, shops, etc. We had a very large party at the house...6 adults and 4 small children and we had plenty of room to spread out. We enjoyed the cozy family room and warm fires every day! The big dining room was perfect for our Christmas dinner. We enjoyed the hot tub outside every evening as well. The owner and property manager are very nice. As we came across some issues, they were responsive and fair in handling these. They even allowed us to "rumage" through the basement to find decorations for the Christmas tree we wanted to have. There are lots of toys and games and books on hand for all ages. The house is part of a very old (150+ years) historic district. So, even though it has been nicely modernized, it is a very old house. The kitchens and baths are all updated and the heating system worked very well. I would recommend this house for any group for any group or family that would like to enjoy a real New England setting!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 11, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful Setting

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful and large house. We loved playing in the back yard as a family. It was exactly what summer is supposed to be like. Big lawns, eating outdoors and a beautiful sunset over the water. House is huge, clean and has lots of charm. We loved our stay!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Lovely family time

  • 4 of 5

Despite some confusion over our arrival time all was fixed or compensated for. We had 5 children under the age of 8 including an infant and 7 adults...plenty of space. Two more children and another 2 adults came to just spend the day...it was lovely. The grill was not working but we loved the kitchen setup and dining areas. The hot tub was a big success and the shower in the master bathroom was wanted by everyone. Easy access to beach and park and local eateries as well as huge market. Property manager and owner very responsive to needs. Thank you for a wonderful family time.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Probably would not stay there again.

  • 2 of 5

When we arrived, the air conditioner was not working. The house upstairs was 88 degrees!!! The coolest we could get was the downstairs to 80 degrees. All 6 of us had to sleep downstairs, on the floor and on the couch to be cool.

The property managers were incredible! Prompt and very friendly. However, it was inconvenient for them and for us to have them coming and going in and out of the house.

A few days later, the upstairs bathroom flooded due to issues with the bathtub. Again, the poor property managers had to come out. Also the downstairs shower/bath drain was clogged.

Probably wouldn't stay there again.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 20, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were disappointed to see this poor review. We were told by the tenants that they had a wonderful time and that they really appreciated how fast we got the air conditioning working again. Plus the compensation for them being inconvienced. I contacted the tenant to see if she might reconsider this poor review and she never responded back. We are also disappointed that they mentioned the water leaking. This was a direct cause of their children over filling the free standing bathtub and splashing huge amounts of water. This resulted in the water leaking into the kitchen. We had to have repairs done and still refunded their full deposit. Regardless, future tenants can be assured that the air conditioning is fixed and we have not had any water issue since.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Branford Center, Connecticut Shore

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Thanksgiving
21 Nov 2017 - 28 Nov 2017
7 night minimum stay
£3,877
for 7 nights
From
£532
 
 
Christmas
20 Dec 2017 - 27 Dec 2017
7 night minimum stay
£3,877
for 7 nights
From
£532
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£1,178
for 3 nights
From
£342
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £19 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £152.02
Refundable Damage Deposit £380.05

Tenant may cancel with full refund 45 days prior to stay. Refunds beyond 45 days will only occur if the unit is rented for the exact time.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals