HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

5 Star Rental! Historic Estate/ Sleeps 12 / Water Views & Cental Air Condition

People14
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms4
Separate WC's1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
People
14
Bedrooms
6
Bathrooms
4
Minimum Stay
4 - 7 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 6 bedroom holiday home in Branford Center

House, 6 Bedrooms + Library, 4.5 Baths, (Sleeps 12)

If you appreciate a historic property, you will love this recently restored house. In fact, it is so unique that we are just the third family ownership since 1834.

This house is ideal for Family Reunions, Corporate Retreats, and Leadership Meetings.

Originally the home of Sylvester Pond, a well known sea captain, the house sits on one acre, and is nestled next to thirty acres of tidal marsh land. It is just three short blocks to the quaint town beach and park. The house sits across the street from the Branford River (ocean inlet) so most views from the house are either of boats and water, or stunning marshland views.

We are located on Historic Harbor Street, where a trolley used to run leading down to the fantastic Brandford Point, a manicured park, playground and well groomed beach with a lifeguard are part of park area.

We just recently completed an extensive restoration/renovation to return the house back to its original grandeur while making it very comfortable, livable and modern. There is central zoned heat and central zoned air conditioning. This house is ideal for family gatherings, small groups or reunions. The House has six bedrooms.

*On the ground floor is a long hallway leading to two private bedrooms and a full bath.

One bedroom has a king bed and the other bedroom has a queen.

*On the second floor are three bedrooms and three bathrooms. The master bedroom has a king bed and walk in closet. The Master bathroom is quite spacious with a double vanity and deep porcelain soaking tub and shower. Bedroom four has two twin beds and en suite bath. Bedroom five a trundle bed (two twins) and a baby crib, with its bath across the hall.

*The third floor (Bedroom 6) is a large and bright finished attic with a queen bed.

The Eastern Connecticut Shore is quite possibly the quaintest area in America. The houses are historic with American Flags flying in abundance. Branford is the place where Yale University was founded. Walk (or use some of our bikes) to town and try the famous ice cream shop, antique stores and boutiques. Branford has some of the best restaurants on the Connecticut shoreline. The town square has a European feel or something from a Norman Rockwell sketch. The house is 8 miles from New Haven, 50 miles from Mystic, 70 miles from NYC, and 95 miles from Newport, RI.

Keywords: House

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2007
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
29 November, 2016
Call Owner

About The Owner

We are a couple live full time in NYC with four kids. We restored this home to be a place to get away from the city. We are both originally from Utah, we met while working in New York City 15 years ago. We both have a love affair with renovating historic properties. I graduated from Columbia University and worked at a large consulting firm. Now I run the rental units ( our other vrbo id is 138897) and enjoy staying home with my children. Bill works in business development for a software company.

The Owner purchased this house in 2005

Why The Owner chose Branford

We had rented vacation properties in the area for three years. Branford can't be beat for its charm, historic character, well kept beach, park and children's playground. We think it is the best of all the Connecticut Shoreline towns. We always loved this house and our heart skipped a beat when we saw the for sale sign. We made an offer 24 hour later. There is a reason why we are just the third family to have owned this estate in 200 years.

What makes this house unique

The house is like living in a comfortable historic museum. The fireplaces, hardware, beams, original floors...etc. The beach, boats and scenic walks. The grounds are spectacular. It will remind you of the Cotswolds in England. Our bedding and linens are 1st quality. We stay in high end hotels and promise that you will have equal comforts here.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Email sent from a former guest:

I just wanted to thank you for the wonderful stay at your house. We have rented quite a few vacation properities and have never stayed in anything as nice as yours. To be honest, if I owned that house I doubt I would rent it to strangers. You did an amazing job with the restoration and it was such a treat to stay in such a special and unique place. Our family has not been together in eight years and this was the perfect place to celebrate Thanksgiving. Everything was perfect and it could not have been a nicer experience. We especially appreciated your new and well stocked kitchen since we did so much cooking. We just loved the farmer's markets and the guy in town who sells lobsters for $6!!WOW

Thank you again. We will certinally tell our friends about your rental.

best wishes
Feb 2010
  • 1 of 2

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(17 traveller reviews)

5 Star Rental! Historic Estate/ Sleeps 12 / Water Views & Cental Air Condition
average rating of 4.7058825 based on 19 reviews
5

Wonderful Setting

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful and large house. We loved playing in the back yard as a family. It was exactly what summer is supposed to be like. Big lawns, eating outdoors and a beautiful sunset over the water. House is huge, clean and has lots of charm. We loved our stay!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Lovely family time

  • 4 of 5

Despite some confusion over our arrival time all was fixed or compensated for. We had 5 children under the age of 8 including an infant and 7 adults...plenty of space. Two more children and another 2 adults came to just spend the day...it was lovely. The grill was not working but we loved the kitchen setup and dining areas. The hot tub was a big success and the shower in the master bathroom was wanted by everyone. Easy access to beach and park and local eateries as well as huge market. Property manager and owner very responsive to needs. Thank you for a wonderful family time.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Probably would not stay there again.

  • 2 of 5

When we arrived, the air conditioner was not working. The house upstairs was 88 degrees!!! The coolest we could get was the downstairs to 80 degrees. All 6 of us had to sleep downstairs, on the floor and on the couch to be cool.

The property managers were incredible! Prompt and very friendly. However, it was inconvenient for them and for us to have them coming and going in and out of the house.

A few days later, the upstairs bathroom flooded due to issues with the bathtub. Again, the poor property managers had to come out. Also the downstairs shower/bath drain was clogged.

Probably wouldn't stay there again.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 20, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were disappointed to see this poor review. We were told by the tenants that they had a wonderful time and that they really appreciated how fast we got the air conditioning working again. Plus the compensation for them being inconvienced. I contacted the tenant to see if she might reconsider this poor review and she never responded back. We are also disappointed that they mentioned the water leaking. This was a direct cause of their children over filling the free standing bathtub and splashing huge amounts of water. This resulted in the water leaking into the kitchen. We had to have repairs done and still refunded their full deposit. Regardless, future tenants can be assured that the air conditioning is fixed and we have not had any water issue since.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect Family Spot

  • 5 of 5

Our family needed a place to stay for Yale's graduation. The area hotels were over-priced, and we were going to have a very large group. Not only did this home provide the space we needed for our group, but we were able to host a graduation party in the large backyard (complete with games of tag and kick the can!). The owners were extremely accommodating and worked with our schedule. The kitchen was perfect and suited our needs. Overall, this was a wonderful place to stay, whether for a coastal vacation, or for visiting Yale.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Boston, MA
5

NYC family

  • 5 of 5

Very comfortable family house. Kitchen well stocked and nice to have things like bikes, wagons, board games, kids toys and books.

Bedroom are all private and well insulated. Sheets and bedding are high quality.

The beach is a 2 minute wak and you can bike and wak to town and the many restaurants.

One of our most favorite rentals.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Parent of graduate

  • 5 of 5

We very much enjoyed the Branford house for a family gathering during the 2014 Yale commencement. We had 12 people coming from Colorado for it, and it was perfect. Plenty of room, and the backyard, with deck, bar-b-q, was great to have our daughter's friends and their parents over to celebrate. We were extremely happy with the manager who kept in touch with us, even though we made the reservation very early. Highly recommend it!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 8, 2015
  • Date of Stay: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Branford Center, Connecticut Shore

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Christmas
19 Dec 2016 - 31 Dec 2016
7 night minimum stay
£3,863
for 7 nights
From
£552
 
 
Yale Graduation
15 May 2017 - 26 May 2017
7 night minimum stay
£4,001
for 7 nights
From
£572
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
£2,050
for 4 nights
From
£512
 

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Branford Center in Connecticut Shore

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Water View
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (1), Baby Cribs (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • Miniature golf
  • Shelling
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness centre
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • Kayaking
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties