HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Amazing Beach House-Step off the porch into the sand!! Great Getaway

People8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 30 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
People
8
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
2 - 30 nights

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 9)

“Undisturbed, quiet, and peaceful” describes the setting of this beautiful gulf front retreat. The home is delightfully relaxing and beautifully furnished. Whether you bring your golf clubs, a fishing pole, or a good book, you are sure to enjoy your stay!!

The lapping waves of the Gulf of Mexico are ten steps from your balcony where the only sounds you will hear are from the seagulls. You may even witness two crabs playing on the beach, but for sure you will be enchanted by the natural beauty of this property. This beach is in it's natural state, therefore we strongly recommend that you wear some type of foot wear on the beach.

Although located seemingly miles away from civilization, this gulf front home in Ocean Springs is only 20 minutes from the casinos of the Mississippi Gulf Coast. For the shopper, there is a substantial commercial area (shops, restaurants, movie theatre, etc.) within a 10-15 minute drive. If golf is your game, you will be delighted to find the St. Andrews Golf Course two miles down the road.

The home has just been completed and is furnished in sleek, polished décor. You may entertain friends and relax in the comfortable family room with plenty of seating. There is a 37” flat screen television in the family room which is equipped with Direct TV service (no network channels). Take in an unsurpassed view of the gulf on our balcony with outdoor furnishings just off the family room.

Enjoy cooking a meal for your family in the gourmet kitchen with stainless steel appliances. You will find all the kitchen gadgets and dinnerware needed in our fully stocked kitchen. There is table seating for six in the sunny breakfast area. The water is provided by a well resulting in occasional low water pressure.

The master suite is elegantly decorated and has a comfortable queen size bed outfitted with luxurious linens. There is an outdoor balcony off the master bedroom and a master closet with ample space. The master bathroom is oversized and designed in contemporary Caribbean style. You will enjoy double vanities with granite countertops, a bathtub/shower, and plenty of space to dress.

There are two guest bedrooms. One is playfully decorated with youngsters in mind. It has one twin bed ( with a trundle bed underneath) and a bunk bed with trundle. The room sleeps 5. The other guest bedroom has a queen bed and could serve as a second master bedroom. Both guest bedrooms have brand new, comfortable mattresses and fine linens. There is a tastefully decorated shared bathroom with tub/shower. An additional television for DVD use only is located in the second bedroom.

Keywords: Beach House

More Details

Property Manager
Michelle Garner
Member since: 2009
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
20 February, 2017

About Michelle Garner

We are a large family that loves to travel. We have been to several places around the world, but always seem to find Ocean Springs is one of our favorite resting spots.

Michelle Garner purchased this house in 2009

Why Michelle Garner chose Mississippi

Our family of 5 purchased this property because of the seclusion it offered and the getaway that we were searching for. Its right outside the city and located on a natural beach so we don't have to deal with sunbathers and beach combers, just hermit crabs and pelicans! We originally purchased this property in March of 2005. Then Katrina blew in and totally wiped the original house and its foundation out to sea. We had to use navigation map with land plot to even find the site! So we rebuilt in 2009 and have our perfect beach home.

What makes this house unique

This beach house is located on an isolated part of Belle Fontaine Beach in Ocean Springs. There are only about 20-25 houses located up and down the street. We do not have any direct neighbors on either side of the home and it sits about 10 STEPS to the water. The beach is perfect for sunning and relaxing with some tunes. I enjoy getting up in the morning and taking my coffee onto the porch and watching the pelicans fly overhead and sometimes am lucky enough to see dolphins playing right off the shore. Its ideal for the family or person who really want to break from the commercial vacation and relax in quiet. Its like your own island but within 15-20 minutes to Ocean Springs historical downtown square and the casinos. Its also great because New Orleans and Mobile are both only an hour and a half away, great for day escapes. We love this place and are confidant you will too!

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(49 traveller reviews)

Amazing Beach House-Step off the porch into the sand!! Great Getaway
average rating of 4.6938777 based on 49 reviews
4

Ocean Springs Month Long Stay

  • 4 of 5
Verified Stay

The house was very spacious and easy to make yourself at home with the surroundings. We were disappointed that the gulf was very silty and dirty and that there was no beach We were able to get out most days and walk the paved road for our exercise. We loved the Walter Anderson Museum, National Seashore where we saw an adult alligator and a small one. We visited Mobile and loved the older big houses, Springhill College Campus and the awesome living oaks. Walked the walk way on Front Beach Street, in Ocean Springs and enjoyed seeing all the huge houses. Overall, it was a great month.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 4, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great Place to Stay!

  • 4 of 5
Verified Stay

We really enjoyed our stay at this house! The house itself was beautiful and the kitchen was fabulously-stocked! We stayed for a month and had a very relaxing time. My husband fished from the lot next door. He caught a good-sized red drum on his first day out. Unfortunately, the water level is pretty low, so he didn't get any bites during his other many attempts. We were able to walk out about 200 yards and the water was still at our ankles, so it is definitely a beautiful gulf view, but not a good fishing/swimming spot.

The beach from the pictures is pretty much gone, as the water/shore line has changed drastically. It is pretty neat that the water comes up and it seems as though you are sitting on the ocean when you look out, but it is unfortunate that so much of the beach is gone now.

Walking the road/beach daily was fabulous and the sunsets were gorgeous! There was no bayou access along the road, so we didn't get a chance to try fishing/crabbing on the bayou.

The dvd and board game selection at the house was pretty good, which was a good thing for an extended stay, as the high-speed internet is capped. We had hoped to watch Netflix, etc on the trip, but with a data cap, that wasn't possible, unfortunately. Once you hit the cap, the internet speed crawled.

The restaurants in the area were great and pretty reasonably-priced. We also enjoyed the fact that there was a Walmart close by (10-15 minute drive, or so), so grocery trips were easy.

Overall, we had a wonderful time and are glad we visited Ocean Springs, MS! We loved most everything about our trip, but would have changed a few things, had we been able to: The fishing/crabbing was not what we were expecting, the pictures of the beach beach from the ad is not representative of how it actually is, the internet speed was very slow once the data cap was reached, and we did not like the tap water for drinking so we purchased tons of bottled water instead. The things that we loved: the house was well-stocked (lovely sheets, towels, and nice kitchen amenities), the beds were amazingly comfortable, the washer/dryer worked nicely, there were beautiful sunsets most nights, we saw dolphins a few times in the gulf, restaurants in the area were good, the road was very private and everything in the house bred relaxation.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 22, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review! We are so glad you had a relaxing escape from the cold. Ocean Springs is definitely the place to come and get away from it all. I am sorry you had a few negatives regarding the stay, but when you have a home in a quiet remote place, getting WiFi is a luxury as we don't even have cable (Directv only) or sewer. The water, I agree, is less than preferable as it is well water, but again, we are away from it all, so we are "away from it all". Ha! We hope you enjoyed your stay enough to return and hope you have wonderful memories of your vacation.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Indiana
5

Perfect getaway

  • 5 of 5
Verified Stay

My husband & I was looking for a quiet, private and relaxing place that allowed pets. This place was perfect. I loved waking up every morning going out on the deck to watch the dolphins, boats and all the birds. It was so nice being that close to the water. The home was fully equipped with everything. This is our #1 vacation spot now. It will be an every year trip.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Simply Paradise

  • 5 of 5
Verified Stay

I miss the beach house so much! Everything there was perfect. It was like waking up in paradise every morning. I loved the window by the water and left it open every night to hear the ocean waves. I wouldn't have changed a thing!

  • Review Submitted: Mar 31, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your review. I am so glad that you had a wonderful time enjoying the nature and simplicity of Ocean Springs! We would love to have you return again in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Quiet Family Getaway

  • 5 of 5
Verified Stay

This property is right on the gulf. During high tide the water is lapping at the deck posts. The weather was chilly so we can't tell you much about the swimming but the water seems shallow. The house was immaculate and well stocked. We enjoyed just sitting on the deck enjoying the sunsets and the beautiful sea breeze. We also took long walks on the beach. I've heard people have seen a lot of wild life but we mostly only saw sea birds. The owner is very helpful and I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 28, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Joe, we hope that this vacation was what you had imagined. We try to keep the home as ready for guests as we can so that all they need to do is relax. It was a bit chilly which is not unusual for our area the last of March, that last cold snap, so that's probably why you didn't get the chance to see as much wildlife. Please return again as the Spring and early Fall are wonderful for sitting and enjoying the scene. Thanks for your kind review!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful roomy home with gorgeous views!

  • 5 of 5
Verified Stay

My husband and I rented this home for the month of December. Our daughter and son in law(military) live close by. What a surprise when we walked in the door, it is much larger inside than it looks in the pictures! The views are gorgeous! We never got tired of sitting on the deck just enjoying the gulf views, sunrise and sunset should not be missed! The house had everything we needed to have a great stay, we wouldn't hesitate to rent again!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words about our home. We are so glad that you and your family were able to be close during the holidays and that we could help provide a home that was comfortable enough to feel like "home away from home". We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
GPT

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Ocean Springs, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Spring
1 Mar 2017 - 18 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
£439
for 2 nights
From
£169
£1,227
 
 
Nightly Rate
19 May 2017 - 19 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
£439
for 2 nights
From
£169
£1,227
 
 
Spring
20 May 2017 - 21 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
£439
for 2 nights
From
£169
£1,227
 
 
Summer
22 May 2017 - 31 Aug 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,227
for 7 nights
£1,227
 
 
Fall
1 Sep 2017 - 30 Nov 2017
2 night minimum stay
£439
for 2 nights
From
£169
£1,227
£1,549
 
 
Winter
1 Dec 2017 - 28 Feb 2018
30 night minimum stay
£1,549
for 30 nights
£1,549
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£439
for 2 nights
From
£169
£1,188
£1,653
 

Additional pricing information

Housekeeping £101
Refundable Damage Deposit £201
Pet Fee £80

There is a housekeeping fee of $125.00. Also, the deposit for monthly rentals is $500.00. I DO NOT rent by the month after February or before November. My monthly rentals are available November - February 28.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Ocean Springs, USA

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1250 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Beachfront
  • Oceanfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Single Bed , 1 Bunk Bed , Bunk Bed has a trundle underneath
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Bunk Beds (1) with hide away bed underneath bunk.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
  • 4 garden chairs
  • 4 deck chairs
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • Boating
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • sailing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot