The past centuries and the regency of Prince Reuss older line left in the city and on the surrounding mountain ranges a variety of structural and steeped in history testimonies. Discover during your visit to our former royal capital of the Upper and Lower Castle with the museums and exhibitions on the history of the City and the Principality of Reuss older line, the summer palace of the National Book and print collection and the Satiricum, the classical buildings in the historic Old Town, the Greizer Park, or scenic walks in the beautiful setting, the White cross, the powder tower or the Ida-height. In-depth and extensive details on various topics of local history can be found in the tourist information. These offer you the unique opportunity to discover another interesting in our city.
the Greizer Park: On the right bank of the Elster landscape of special cultural and historical significance and high artistic value. It originated in 1650 from a small kitchen gardens of Upper Greizer rule. In 18th Century, it was extended to a court Lustgarten rococo. After severe floods of Elster began in the early 19th Century transforming the nature park in the English style. In 1873 the major Muskauer garden artist Eduard Petzold designed the expansion and remodeling of the park and Prince Heinrich XXII. commissioned Rudolph Reinecken with the change of Petzold-plan and execution of the parking facility.
The result was a large-scale Romantic landscape park, which today covers an area of approximately 60 ha. With a variety dendrological features and a rich variety of bird life, it offers the Greizer citizens and their guests in every season of joy and relaxation.
Not to forget during a walk around the lake, the charming glances around to distinctive viewpoints that create an association between Park and landscape.
Upper Castle, oldest symbol of the city:
The Upper Castle is a well known, architecturally valuable and distinctive cultural monument, which attracts every viewer into its spell. As the symbol of past German history, there is the charming Greizer landscape in the valley of the White Elster a characteristic appearance.
Already in the years 1209 and 1225 falls the first mention of a Greizer castle on the 50-meter high cone-shaped mountain from Tonschieferfels.
As a former castle of the Reeves of Weida and Plauen the Upper Castle is still a few places remnants of the old fortifications.
Since the beginning of the 13th Century, the castle was the residence of the governors of Weida and Plauen and later the Reuss men. After a lightning strike on. 3 In June 1540 it burned down almost completely and was then rebuilt immediately.
1620 was the keep on the isolated rocky peak its present form. From 1697 - 1714 rebuilt the castle to Count residence. Numerous new and Attachments in classical style, the lower castle was built between 1733 to 1753 in its present form.
After moving the Reuss princes 1809 in the rebuilt after the fire of 1802 Lower Castle, the Upper Castle seat of government of the Principality of Reuss older line was.
In 1564, it came because of the succession to the division of the rule of the Russias in Upper and Lower Greiz. For the newly created sub Greizer line a Renaissance was built in the center of the residence. After extensions of the construction was called "New Castle", "New Castle" or "Lower Castle". 1768 died the sub Greizer of line. It was the rule "Reuss older line", which was conducted in 1778 into the hereditary imperial princes. From then chose the reigning prince, the Lower Castle as their residence.
Of particular interest is the charming building of the summer palace in Greiz Park, which was built from 1769 to 1779 in the early classical style. "Maison de belle retraite" - house of beautiful refuge - called the owner Prince Heinrich XI. (1722 - 1800) in the gable inscription his summer residence.
Since 1922 it houses the National Book and print collection, one of "the older branch of the House of Reuss Foundation". The most valuable part of this unique on the European continent collection comes from the estate of the English Princess Elizabeth (1770 - 1840), the later Countess of Hesse-Homburg.
1975 was established as a separate department of the museum, the Greizer Satiricum. A prerequisite was an extensive pool of caricatures of the past 300 years from former princely possession.
In the garden hall of the Summer Palace in the summer months, exhibitions and concerts