HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

BEST location for yoga and the beach. In between Bodhi Tree & Playa Guiones

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 10 nights


About the property

SPACIOUS House, 3 Bedrooms 2 1/2 Baths, (Sps 6) large salt water pool, bali bed

This beautiful house combines a short walk to Playa Guiones, or the Nosara Yoga Institute, with internet, phone, pool, a large pool deck and fully equipped kitchen in the residential K section, considered the most prestigious area in the American Project. The master (king bed) bedroom has an ensuite bath,with a large shower enhanced with Balinese river rocks to massage your feet. The second bath is a separate room with another large shower and sink. In addition there is another half bath. One bedroom has a queen bed, and the third can be twins or a king. All the bedrooms have large glass doors opening onto the pool deck and views of the treetops as well. The is a security alarm system and a separate safe in each bedroom, as well as individual ac units. Balinese furniture, beautiful textiles, upgraded linens, maid service once a week, daily pool service, very attentive owner and manager. Let us take care of you!!

Heartwaves has been a long term rental for the past two years, and we are excited to have upgraded the linens, towels, fans, kitchen items : all new for our return to the rental/ vacation market. Which has been going really really well. Thank you!!

Keywords: House

More Details

Jane Fryer
Member since: 2005
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English, so sorry, just english!!
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
5 April, 2018

About Jane Fryer

My love of yoga and the ocean brought me to Nosara and Heartwaves is my home which expresses that love. I teach at the Nosara Bodhi Tree Yoga Resort up the street, and the Harmony Hotel Healing Centre,

and live locally.

Jane Fryer purchased this house in 2007

Why Jane Fryer chose Playa Guiones

Nosara and Playa Guiones are the best of Costa Rica with an unspoiled beach and an incredible community of surfers, yogis, nature lovers and others seeking a special experience. We have gained a global reputation as a conscious sustainable community, and love hosting people from all over the world. With recent mention in the New York Times, CNN, and National Geographic, Nosara is on the map!! this piece only continues to expand as Nosara and especially Guiones beach gains momentum and visibility around the world. This little town has indeed changed since we arrived here 20 years ago. However, the beach, which is the reason to choose us ( well, the underlying reason), is still protected. Still divine, and still 3 km of the most gorgeous waves, and sunsets you can imagine. Perfect for surfing, strolling and merging with what is Mother Nature's finest. And, we have monkeys that visit in the trees surrounding the wrap around deck.

What makes this house unique

This house is in K section, which is quiet yet close to the beach. It is a short walk to the beach, 5-7 minutes, and has telephone and internet to stay connected. It is 5 minutes from the Bodhi Tree Yoga Resort, if you are taking classes there, and is a perfect space for socializing and entertaining. There is an 'energy' at Heartwaves that is like a luxurious tree house. The monkeys chat all day long, the birds grace the skies with sweet songs. Heartwaves gardens are spectacular, and the house is always surrounded by lush greens and vibrant colors. Since the two decks surrounds the big pool, the invitation to lounge outside is ever present. A large Bali Bed sits on the porch , and it's one piece that everyone wants to take home. The furniture is mostly Balinese, and we have a lot of comfy morroccan pouffes for extra seating and more lounging options. The beds also have extra pillows for reading and your total comfort.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Playa Guiones in Canton of Nicoya

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Included
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • near the sea ...
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Broadband Access
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Catering Available
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Dining Area
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • the master bath is a full one ensuite. The second bath is split. One room has a sink and shower. The other has a toilet and sink. Bedrooms 2 and 3 share this.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (2) King bed in master bedroom, Queen size Beds (1) Queen bed in second bedroom, Twin or Single Beds (1) two twins in third bedroom can be made into King
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Private Pool ...
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • Miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • roller blading
  • diving
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • caving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
jacuzzi in pool


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(18 traveller reviews)

88% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
BEST location for yoga and the beach. In between Bodhi Tree & Playa Guiones
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 18 reviews

Peaceful and welcoming!

  • 5 of 5

So much to say about this beautiful property, the welcoming owner, and friendly staff! This house is as beautiful, if not more, than depicted in the pictures. It is spacious, yet cozy. Gently sloping stairs lead to a covered terrace that overlooks the beautifully kept grounds and pool. There are multiple fans that help cool the terrace, a comfortable Bali bed for relaxing, a large grill, and a table and several chairs for al fresco dining or socializing. Inside, the house is clean and well equipped with kitchen items, towels, linens, etc. There are fans throughout the house and large screened doors and windows that allow the breeze to keep the temperature at a comfortable level. There is a/c and privacy roller shades in all of the bedrooms. The house is located in a more quiet part of Playa Guiones. The sound of monkeys, birds, and other jungle chatter woke us up for early morning surf sessions. The house is just a short walk to the beach and we made our way back to the house late morning to cool off in the pool and plan our day's adventure.

Jason, the grounds keeper, has an easy smile and manner. He tended to the property daily, made sure the pool and patio were clean, and checked in to ensure we were doing okay. The owner, Jane, and her sweet dog Charlie put us immediately at ease when she welcomed our family upon arrival. The owner stays on the grounds, but gave us plenty of space and privacy. We actually wished we would have seen her more because she has such great energy. This house provided a wonderful home base for our group of five (three adults and two teens) and we hope to come back soon!

  • Review Submitted: 12-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! so delighted that you had such a wonderful vacation at Heartwaves. Although i do stay on the property when i am in Nosara, my wonderful management company, Mango, takes care of everyone when when i travel this great wide world, which is often :*) Jason loved speaking Spanish, and remarked what a nice family you have ! All the best, Jane and Charley ~ the waves will be perfect for your return....
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Excellent location, beautiful house!

  • 5 of 5

House was just as described. It has an amazing layout, location was excellent, and outdoor space designed for comfort and flexibility. The pool was the perfect place to spend the hot afternoons.

The home owner, Jane, was quick to respond to all communications and was very organized. The housekeeping service/gardener were friendly and kept the house pristine.

Thank you for an amazing stay at Heart Waves!

  • Review Submitted: 04-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Toronto, Ontario

Perfect Home in the Jungle!

  • 5 of 5

My family and I recently stayed at Heartwaves, and it was perfect! The home was clean and spacious surrounded by the large trees that made it seem we were high up in the treetops. The privacy of the trees surrounding the house was an added bonus and one of the few homes in the area with this landscape. The gardener Jason and the property manager Virginie were quick to respond to anything we needed and were very friendly. The pool was always clean, and the house was in excellent working order.

The location was perfect! Minutes to the Bodhi Tree for daily yoga one way and then minutes walk to the beach for surf the other way. We would absolutely visit Nosara again, and definitely stay here again as well!

  • Review Submitted: 06-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

Nosara is a beautiful place!

We are a family of 5 (kids of 13, 16 and 18) and we stayed 10 days in the house.

The house was perfect for a family with kids. It was clean and well equiped. We all had our own space, the rooms were organized for us to have space for our clothes, and we slept well. We ate a lot outside on a covered terasse which was really nice, because we could hear all the sounds of the jungle. Also, the pool surrounded by big trees is magnificient, and really comfortable after a day at the beach!

Everyday (except Sunday) someone comes to clean the pool and the outside part of the house, which contributes to keeping the place clean and relaxing.

Furthermore, the house is really well located, in a quiet but dynamic « neighborhood ». It is easy to go to the beach walking, biking, riding, etc. Playa Guioned is indeed a big beach on which it is easy to walk, with nice waves, that are perfect for learning how to surf.

Jane, the hostess, is really welcoming. She made sure all through our stay that we were comfortable and was really pleasant.

We recommand you this house!!!!!

  • Review Submitted: 20-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Poor rental for the price, well below expectations

  • 1 of 5

There were a number of problems with this rental.

The AC was not working properly and made loud sounds (as noted by a previous reviewer), there was no hot water in the master bathroom, and the house was not clean when we arrived with hair in the bathrooms. The swimming pool area was being repaired with a chemical smell that forced us to leave the house for a whole afternoon.

The customer service was also inadequate for such a rental. The owner said we left the AC on and would charge us for that since the upper windows were left open. But we checked and made sure the AC was off before we left the house. She seemed to want to make a few extra dollars off the rental.

We have rented from VRBO around the world and have always had a great experience so this was a pretty disappointing experience. I would definitely advise against renting this home.

  • Review Submitted: 28-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Peter and potential renters reading this ~ Peter, you wrote me an email on day 3 of your 6 day vacation at Heartwaves, in response to my inquiry...." Are there any problems or issues at the house? Hope you are enjoying Nosara!" Hi Jane All is good at the home. Enjoying it very much. Sent from my iPhone I want to now address Peter's issues. Cleanliness of Heatwaves upon arrival. If it was in the state you suggests, why didn’t you tell me, I would have sent a cleaning crew up to do a better job immediately. Eeeuwww. Not on my watch is the house anything but pristine. Ac making noise. …. Have purchased a new one which is/was on the property and could have installed it right away if I had known it was an issue for you. Again, no complaints until you were gone. Owner has problem with running AC while windows are open. How would you react if someone did this in your house? Leave the windows open and run the AC? The point is, as you mentioned, the windows were open!!. And, the cool air was in the living room area where the large doors were open as well. I am definitely not looking to create an issue to get $$. To the contrary, I am responding as any owner/manager would do under the circumstances. NO HOT WATER? The day before your family was leaving I sent someone to fix it (as that was when we knew it was a problem,) and he was told that the lady was sleeping and not to worry about it , as they were leaving the next day and she could use the other shower. Nobody loves a hot shower more that I do, so I appreciate being able to explain. POOL INCONVENIENCE As I mentioned to you, the pool is cleaned once a week, they test what needs to be added. In the rainy season, it takes more to keep the scum from developing!! The real issue here is your daughter leaving the windows open while using the ac. There are consequences to this lack of consideration. Your review will possibly hurt my business, but, dear reader, this is the truth. Heatwaves is a fabulous option and we do literally everything we can to provide excellent customer service in as timely a manner as possible. Always. Peter, please accept my sincere apologies that your experience was not our usual 5*s. Kind regards, Jane and the Heartwaves team
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Acceptable but not outstanding

  • 3 of 5

My mom and aunt, and I rented this property for 7 nights, we left 3 nights early. I will give a quick list of Pros and Cons for our stay.


~Price - off season rate for a 7 nights in a 3 bedrooms house was quite affordable for the area.

~Beach was about a 7 min walk away.

~Private Pool, above street level.


~We left to go have breakfast and planned to come back for a swim, However, we came back to find half a tree in the pool. I thought maybe the tree had broke. But no, Jason, the gardener/pool guy, said he just needed to cut it because he could not keep the pool clean. A strange time to do this on the first morning of new guests and no notice. Anyhow, we had to wait 2-2.5hrs for them to finish cleaning up the mess.

~The living room furniture is not comfortable or functional for more than a single person or maybe a couple. Nor was the furniture under the covered patio, it does not work for 3 adults to just hang out for very long. Two people could use the outdoor bali bed but anyone else has to seat in one of the upright chairs. The furniture became an issue for us in the evenings after it was dark when we wanted to relax and hang out. We just could not get comfortable. Not an issue for us as we didn't go there to watch TV, I will note there is only one TV and it is in the master bedroom.

~There is a washer/dryer but it was kept locked up so we could not do laundry. We tried to ask the maid if we could do one load while she was there. She said no.

~Maid service, not sure if you want to call it that. I will say I don't believe the woman who 'cleaned' during our stay was the usual person. Nonetheless, a maid is still suppose to clean. She did sweep and take out the trash. We mostly stayed outside while she was there. However, 2 of us come inside twice to get something and found her just sitting on the couch in the living room. I thought maybe she was just killing time laundering the linens. Nope, nothing was washed. She did not change our sheets, only remade the beds. No fresh towels, in fact I had a dirty towel on the bathroom floor she folder and rehung on the towel bar as if it was a clean one, even though there was clearly a dirt mark on it.

~ The A/C unit in the middle bedroom makes a loud weird noise everything 10-15 mins, a bit annoying when you are trying to sleep.

~ The window blinds have metal end caps that tink against the wall when the a/c is going.

Anyhow, we decided to find somewhere else to stay and left 3 nights early

  • Review Submitted: 21-May-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hey Liz, Thanks for your comments. I will address them. But first, I gave you a five star review as a guest ( there were no problems you shared with me); and i was happy to expedite the return of your damage deposit as you requested. The pool. Jason said the pool was filled with flowers which made it hard to clean. He saw you leave for breakfast and thought you were going to the beach and he would have time to take care of the problem by trimming the tree. When you returned, he told you what was happening, and said you were fine with it, and enjoyed a clean pool after that. The maid. You are right. She was not our regular cleaning person. So, I regret that your experience with her was less than expected. The towels. Heartwaves has lots of towels for guests. Two per person in the house, one pool towel, and one beach towel. They only are laundered once a week. Same with the bed linens. In Nosara we have a consciousness around sustainability; on the beach, recycling plastic and glass, composting, and at Heartwaves that is important to us. We are not a hotel, and when you leave a towel on the floor it gets picked up. The maid should have done your personal laundry. As i mentioned, she was not our regular person. Again, you did not tell me this happened and was an issue for you and your Mom and Aunt. The furniture. Sorry it is not to your taste. In many years of sharing Heartwaves with groups of everything from six adults, to families of all sizes, we have never had one complaint. And, since your review is slightly nit picky.... I will add that the extra chairs on the deck are not "straight backed" at all. And, since our furniture is from Bali, it does require lots and lots of pillows so you can arrange them to your comfort. No, we do not have traditional sofas and loungers like perhaps your older ladies prefer. The bali bed can easily fit three people. It is the size of a queen bed, and has 15 pillows of all sizes with slanted sides and back for your comfort. The living room sofa is as wide as a single bed and as mentioned, has lots of great, newly recovered throw pillows as well. We also have a rocking chair there, and Moroccan pouffes for extra options. And, the three bar stools at the kitchen counter. The pictures reflect exactly what is available. We take great care and pride in our service at Heartwaves. If you would like to give it another try, happy to offer you a 10 % discount. Be well. Jane, Jason and Mango Property Management.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: recommended

Abundant yoga and massage, Nosara is all about surfing, the beach, and the overall gorgeousness of Nature. The Bodhi Tree Yoga Resort up the street has nice bikes for rent. Heartwaves is halfway between Bodhi Tree Yoga Resort and Bakers Beach entrance on South Guiones.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Playa Guiones, Costa Rica

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
High Season '18
1 Jan 2018 - 30 Apr 2018
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
1 Jun 2018 - 31 Aug 2018
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
1 Sep 2018 - 31 Oct 2018
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
1 Nov 2018 - 21 Dec 2018
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
22 Dec 2018 - 5 Jan 2019
10 night minimum stay
for 10 nights
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £357.65

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Included: Maid service twice a week. Laundry once a week. AC, etc. Will send contract and prefer payment via Pay Pal or ach transfer to Welles Fargo, US Bank. Sometimes discounts are available... please inquire!!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question

You might like these similar holiday rentals