HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Private Family-Friendly Vacation Home on Roundout Creek

People8
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Recreation and relaxation await you at our private 1.75 acre pet and family-friendly home in High Falls, NY on the Roundout Creek. High Falls, NY is located less than 2 hours from NYC near the town of New Paltz in the Shawangunk Mountain range at the foot of the Catskills (“The Gunks”).

Our home is perfectly located just minutes from the area’s most awe-inspiring attractions, the Mohonk Preserve and Minnewaska State Park. Local back routes allow you easy and scenic access away from traffic and potentially crowded parking.

Outdoor enthusiasts will appreciate the nearby rail trails, hiking and biking paths, rock climbing, water-hole and pool swimming, tennis, golf, cross country skiing, downhill skiing, and snow mobiling. The area is also known for fantastic antiquing and tasty dining, given its proximity to the Culinary Institute of America located just across the river.

Kids of all ages will have fun apple picking, petting animals at the nearby family farm and nature center, romping in the local playground, roller skating and skateboarding at the indoor rink, bowling, ice skating, and visiting the Mid Hudson Children’s Museum.

But you don’t even need to leave the house for fun-filled adventures. Canoe or kayak from your own backyard on the wide and scenic Roundout Creek. (You can even canoe right into town or drop a line and fish for trout and bass). Step right next door to the Stone Dock Golf Course to golf, sled, or cross country ski. Play basketball in the driveway. Take a dip in the hot tub. Swing on the hammock. Or lie back and relax on the deck with your burgers on the grill and do nothing but enjoy the farmland views.

Our house is stocked with virtually everything you and your family will need for a comfortable stay, including many items for babies, toddlers, and kids including a pack and play bed, high chair, and many books and toys. An excellent grocery, pharmacy, liquor store, and video store are less than 10 minutes away along with an ATM and gas.

Keywords: House

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2009
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
29 October, 2017

Why The Owner chose High Falls

Unparalleled scenic beauty and peace so close to NYC; year-round activities and fun; all the conveniences of a big town with village charm

What makes this house unique

Canoeing and kayaking from your back yard public golf course right next door hot tub, hammock, and basketball child friendly; stocked for kids pet friendly back routes to popular destinations that avoid traffic

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in High Falls in Marbletown

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Noon / Check-out: Noon
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front
  • Golf Course View
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Garage
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2), Baby Cribs (1) Pack and Play, Bunk Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • Miniature golf
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • Rock Climbing
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
Central heat and air conditioning, wrap-around deck, hammock, picnic table, Adirondack furniture, canoe and kayak, life jackets, paddles, basketball hoop, high chair and toddler chair, children's books, children's indoor and outdoor toys

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(27 traveller reviews)

92% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
Private Family-Friendly Vacation Home on Roundout Creek
average rating of 4.814815 based on 27 reviews
Westminster
3

Beautiful setting, musty house with uncomfortable beds

  • 3 of 5

The house is on a beautiful piece of property. It has a large well stocked kitchen. However if I had know how uncomfortable the beds are we never would have stayed here. One of the twin beds was so worn out we had to take a futon type of mattress from a downstairs bed and put it on the twin bed to be able to sleep. The kids room with 2 twin beds is cluttered with hundreds of kids toys and books. If you don't have kids this isn't the place to stay. The house, linens and bedding had a musty smell. There was dust on the ceiling fans a quarter inch thick. If this house had a thorough DEEP cleaning and new beds it would be a great place to stay.

  • Review Submitted: 17-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Rural Retreat

  • 5 of 5

What a great getaway retreat. Peaceful ,quiet setting within minutes of the most beautiful parts of the Mohonk Mountains. 3 bathrooms, 4 bedrooms including a spacious master. Modern amenities. Wifi and good phone reception . Fully stocked kitchen. We saw deer crossing the rear lawn and loved the hot tub on the deck. If you have kids, there's a trampoline and enough toys, games, sports gear and books to keep everyone occupied and happy. For us, the Rondout Creek adjoining the yard was more a scenic backdrop than a recreational option. And be ready to lug your gear upstairs when you park in the garage.

Greg's user manual is full of great info. Be sure to read it. Before arriving we booked a day package at the stunning Mohonk Mountain resort only minutes from the house and for $70 apiece got a carriage ride up breathtaking Eagle Cliff , choice of menu lunch on a rear porch overlooking the mountains and full run of the grounds except the beach for the day. Wow. We also recommend the cavernous Widow Jane Cement mine on Rt 213 in Rosendale. Watch for the Snyder Estate sign. For pure whimsy, Gnome Mountain also on 213 in High falls near Mohonk Rd and 6A. Multi colored, translucent gnomes adorn the ledges above the road and are lit by the sun during the day and lights at night and look like large gummy candies. Be sure to catch all the whimsical artwork around the adjacent Emporium Building but dont park in their lot . And one final 213 attraction, the old abandoned rail trestle in Rosendale, now a fully rehabbed walkway 1000 feet long and 150 feet above the creek. A great family walk with excellent views. We enjoyed it more than the well known Walkway Across the Hudson. Closer, shady and a lot less crowded. Park in the lot next to St Peters Church at 1017 Keator St (not during masses) and walk in front of the church. Turn left and follow the driveway which becomes a dirt road along the river until you get to some stone steps on the left leading to the trestle. After your walk, turn right on 213 into Rosendale and stop at the Stewart Shop on the left for a tasty inexpensive ice cream treat. Enjoy all the many local attractions.

  • Review Submitted: 22-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Toronto, ON
5

Neat property, comfortable bedrooms, fully stocked kitchen, enjoyable deck and hot tub

  • 5 of 5

We were delighted by the thoughtful touches provided in the kitchen, and the availability of toys and other gear to enjoy our stay. Greg was a great communicator, and the house guide provided terrific information about local must visit spots. We went to a recommended swimming hole and hiked several of the recommended trails. We would stay here again happily!

  • Review Submitted: 13-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Cheap, unaccomodating

  • 2 of 5

Although our stay was fun, the problem we had as guests was how we were treated. The hot tub had been broken by a previous guest and we received no notification of this prior to me emailing the week before our stay to ask if we needed to know anything (I think he could have been more gracious by emailing us first, but that's beside the point). The whole reason we booked this property was to have a hot tub and to find out it would not be available was extremely disappointing, so we asked for a small break on the price (considering that was a major selling point and there was no where else at that time to book since it was so close to our arrival). He was not very accommodating with this and only offered a VERY small sum off the ENTIRE bill of our 3 night stay. The house, although large and appearing to be clean, had many cobwebs and dead bugs in areas which was unpleasant.

Anyway, overall our experience could have been better. Hope this helps!

  • Review Submitted: 07-Dec-2016
  • Date of Stay: November 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This guest received an email 2 weeks ahead of their stay letting them know of the broken hot tub. They asked for a dollar amount as a make good and I complied. They broke the house rules by smoking in the house - the entire upstairs stank of marijuana smoke. I held back their make good dollar return in return, but given no damage to the house, I returned their deposit in full. This review is in retaliation for me holding back the make good. In my 8 years on VRBO I've never had to experience a guest like this - very unfortunate.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2
5

Perfect for families

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay at this property. We have small children and they had a blast with all the toys provided. Location of the house is great too with a number of hiking trails close by. Greg is a fantastic host responding to our questions right away and providing lots of good recommendations for things to do on the area. We will certainly consider this house again for a future stay.

  • Review Submitted: 12-Sep-2016
  • Date of Stay: August 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely!

  • 5 of 5

The house was the perfect location to be with our 3 generations family. Very comfortable and exactly as described. The kids loved the ot tub and all the toys. The deck was for everybody the place te be!! if possible we all come back once....

Thanks, Greg

  • Review Submitted: 29-Aug-2016
  • Date of Stay: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Damage Deposit £225.15

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals