HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.

Send this page to a friend

Thank You

You can send this page to up to five email addresses. Please separate each email address with a comma.

check navigate-up

Tricia Gerum

Member since: 2005
Call Owner
Speaks English

'Koi Palms Luxury Cottage' Short Walk to Kailua Beach

Bedrooms 1
Property type cottage


Photos and Description of this 1 bedroom holiday cottage in Kailua - Koi Palms Cottage

1 Bedroom, 1 Bath (Sleeps 2)

Come and enjoy our island home with us. Koi Palms Cottage is located within our gated property alongside our lovely Koi pond, in the quaint town of Kailua. The owners live on the property in the main house.

The cottage is a 600 square foot 1 bedroom unit. The kitchen is equipped with 2 induction hot plates with stainless steel cookware and a convection oven / microwave oven suitable for baking. A full size refrigerator, dishwasher and a large granite island complete the kitchen space. The bedroom has a king sized bed with luxury linens and a flat screen TV. The living room area is comfortable and inviting. With a 40 inch LED Smart TV and a small library of books from titles we've read to books guests have left behind. Feel free to take one for the plane ride home.

Stroll two blocks to the white sands of Kailua Beach with your morning coffee or tea to see a breathtaking sunrise or through Kailua town at night. Relax and enjoy the tumbling waters of our pond and its colorful Koi fish dancing below your windows. The vacation cottage has one parking space and a private entrance.

This is a non-smoking property.

More Details
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
Tricia Gerum (Owner)
Member since: 2005
Call Owner
Speaks English


based on 40 holidaymaker reviews

'Koi Palms Luxury Cottage' Short Walk to Kailua Beach
average rating of 4.85 based on 40 reviews

Great location! Spotless and well equipped cottage.

  • 5 of 5

I had such a relaxing time at the cottage. The description was exactly as I found the property. I appreciated that you ( host ) were available but didn't 'hover' during my stay. Thanks for the absolutely comfortable and spotless cottage! Enjoyed the beach accoutrements: chairs, towels, umbrella. And an added bonus of a washer and dryer!

Great stay and thanks for opening your beautiful cottage as a rental!

  • Review Submitted: May 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Clean and updated cottage in a great location

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed at many rentals over the years and the Koi Palms is one of the best places we have ever rented. This rental is in a great neighborhood, short walk to the beach, clean and very comfortable.

The bed was very comfortable. We both have bad backs, so it was a plus to have a good mattress. This unit had AC in the kitchen/living area and the bedroom. We didn't need the AC most days, but having the option to use the AC in the bedroom at night was an added plus.

I can't think if anything we needed while staying a Koi Palms. We made use of the grill, beach chairs, umbrella and cooler that were provided for our stay.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Review Submitted: May 20, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Excellent property, new, clean, well furnished and decorated, with good private space.

  • 5 of 5

Best place we stayed on our vacation. and not the most expensive. Would definitely stay there again. Great location close to both town and beach.

  • Review Submitted: May 8, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

This cottage is lovely, convenient, perfect size and so comfortable!

  • 5 of 5

We have stayed at Koi Palms for many years and will continue to do so. Our hosts are terrific, the cottage is lovely, very close to beach and town, has everything we need, very clean and neat. We could not ask for a better place to stay in Hawaii. It's just perfect. A great gem of a place in every way!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Fantastic! Just right!

  • 5 of 5

This charming cottage has everything anyone would need for a great vacation: perfect size, clean and nicely decorated, accessible to town and beach in minutes by foot. Our hosts are wonderful people who attend to any need but also are tremendously respectful of privacy. We have stayed here for several years and will continue to come back, hopefully staying more and more time each visit. The cottage is up to date with great appliances, a private outdoor seating place, and a giant and comfortable bed! We love it here!

  • Review Submitted: Mar 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Heavy Construction Noise

  • 1 of 5

From 7 am to 4pm we heard the loud sounds of jack hammers, power saw and sanders so that we were not able to use the outdoor table for breakfast and lunch. The unit is close to the street and there are lots of trucks going back and forth. In addition there was an enormous dumpster which was noisy and an eye sore. We were expecting a quiet residential neighborhood and were NOT told of this major project in advance. In addition the BBQ grill was dirty and one side did not work at all. I asked the owner, Trica how long the noise would persist and she said until June 2016 which was a shock. We stayed for 5 weeks and wished we could have cancelled and got our money back to stay some place quieter and nicer. The photos did not reflect the age of the unit or the condition of the bed linens and lack of cleaning (mildew and dirt under rugs and occasional cockroach in the living room. The Master bedroom is near the owners office and we could hear their phones ringing and conversations which made us wonder how much they could hear us. More insulation between the units is definitely needed. Our hotel in Honolulu was much quieter, nicer and less expensive than this unit Over all our experience was very disappointing. I could not recommend this unit

  • Review Submitted: Feb 26, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear guests, I am very sorry your stay was not satisfactory and I am sorry that we were not given the opportunity to address the issues while you were here. Both my husband and I visited with you on several occasions and I don’t understand why you never mentioned any of this when we asked how things were going and if you needed anything. Many of our guests are out and about during the day so I hadn’t realized you were so affected by the construction. Of course I would have returned your money if you wanted to stay somewhere else. When you arrived I apologize to you because construction had started across the street the day before. Unfortunately, we had no advance notice that the job was starting, scope of the work or placement or the dumpster until it arrived. Indeed the beginning was the demolition faze and it was noisy, I understand your frustration and anger in regard to the construction. Please accept my apologies. Future guests have been notified of the situation in advance. I appreciate you telling me about the grill, we have replaced the damaged control knob that was stripped. I wish I had known it was broken so I could have replaced it while you were here. The rug in the living room is not moldy, the glue on the underside is coming off due to the humidity. I have purchased a replacement from Pier One imports. Linens are new so I am not sure what I can do there, but I will make sure our standards of cleanliness are adhered to. We have a professional exterminator treat the entire property every 3 months. Coincidentally he came the afternoon you checked out. Lastly I am sorry about the noise coming from our office. We will need to work on that, I will start by turning the phone ringers off and keeping our windows closed. I take great pride in the cottage and we have many satisfied guests who return every year for long stays, so I am very disappointed to read your review and I take all of your complaints and suggestions to heart. I wish I had known of your unhappiness, so I had an opportunity to correct any problems or offered you a refund. I have emailed you privately about this matter, however have received no response. Sincerely, Tricia
Did you find this review helpful?
2 2


Car: not necessary

Koi Palms Luxury Cottage is conveniently located within walking distance of world famous Kailua Beach and Kailua town restaurants and shops. We love to scroll the beach at sunrise and then walk to town in the early evening for a fantastic meal at Sangs Sushi Bar and Thai restaurant .


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Kailua, Oahu

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
for 1 night

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £68
Tax Rate 13.96%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Kailua in Oahu

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 600 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • near the sea ...
  • Water View ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
  • If travelers prefer separate sleeping quarters the living room futon sofa converts to a queen sleeper.
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Deck Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Terrace
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 2 garden chairs
  • 2 deck chairs
  • non smoking only ...
  • not suitable for children ...
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • luaus
  • Miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • Parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • Racquetball
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Koi Palms is air conditioned and furnished with beautiful teak and bamboo imports. The cottage has a large kitchenette including a full size refrigerator, dishwasher, and microwave/convection oven. Enjoy family style meals at the over sized granite island in the center of the kitchen. Stainless steel appliances, granite counters, a king-size bed, and a queen-size sofa bed are all featured at Koi Palms. Two flat screen TV's, stereo system with I-Pod dock and wireless internet access allows for plenty of in-house entertainment. Koi Palms and its surrounding gardens are a smoke free environment. Smoking is not permitted on the property. Maximum occupancy is two.

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

Contact the Owner

Tell us about your trip, then book it

Enter dates to calculate a quote