HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Country home with end of the road privacy. Nearly surrounded by National Forest.

People16
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Space 2,700 sq. ft.
Property type lodge
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

4 bedrooms, 3 baths, sleeps 10-14

Whitetail Meadow! Peaceful Black Hills country home with end of the road privacy and seclusion. Surrounded on 3 sides by National Forest. Beautiful views with miles of trails right behind the house. Off the highway, secluded and quiet. Near hiking, biking, horse trails, within 3 miles from Custer and the Mickelson Trail, Golf course, fishing lake. Within 7-20 miles of Custer State Park, Needles highway, Mt. Rushmore National Monument, Jewel Cave National Monument, Wind Cave National Park, Sylvan Lake, Stockade Lake, Bismark Lake, Legion Lake.

Log sided, newly remodeled country home. : Perfect for family getaways. 4 bedrooms, 3 baths, with large central living room with floor to ceilng stone fireplace, just off the open kitchen. There is a large dining room with french doors to the wrap-around deck overlooking the peaceful meadow where whitetail deer graze in the early mornings and evenings. There is also a large family room with patio doors to the covered front porch.

This home has been recently updated inside and out yet has kept some of the original features such as the vintage knotty pine walls in the entry and family room which add a woodsy feel to the home. The large home has room for everyone with space to spread out.

Private Master bedroom and bath on main level, the other three bedrooms and 1 bath are on the upper level. Family room and 1 bath are on the lower level.

Centrally located to area's attractions. : Located 3 miles west of Custer, it is less than 10-15 minutes to Custer State Park, Crazy Horse Monument, Jewel Cave, Stockade Lake, Sylvan Lake, as well as great and hiking areas. Rocky Knolls Golf course is within 2 miles. All of the Southern Hills attractions are within 30 minutes -- Within 25-30 minutes is Mt Rushmore, Wind Cave National Park, Evans Plunge and Mammoth site in Hot Springs.

More Details

Owner
Jody Landgrebe Owner/Manager
Member since: 2004
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great traveler experience.

Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
6 January, 2018

About Jody Landgrebe Owner/Manager

I've lived in the Custer area for 13 years and am a South Dakota native. After living out of state for 18 years, I returned to South Dakota for a more peaceful life.

Jody Landgrebe Owner/Manager purchased this lodge in 2002

Why Jody Landgrebe Owner/Manager chose Custer

I vacationed in the Custer area as a child, and returned to it because I've found the Custer area to be the perfect blend of rustic country living, beautiful scenery and friendly people. The town of Custer has all the shopping, restaurants and entertainment that anyone could possibly need without the frenzy of fast food, Walmarts and traffic that frazzle city folks lives.

What makes this lodge unique

This home is very private so that at the end of the day, I can sit on the front porch and watch the deer in the meadow in front of the house. It's surrounded by National Forest with unlimited opportunities to hike and explore.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday lodge in Custer in West Custer Township

Property Type:
  • lodge
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2700 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 16
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Mobile Phone
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed , twin beds plus trundle bed that can be moved to another room
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Double Bed , small comfortable room
    Den/TV room - 1 Sofa bed/Futon , queen sofa bed in the TV room. There's an adjacent bathroom
Entertainment:
  • Air Hockey
  • Books
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Table Football
  • Games for Kids
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Player
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Deck Chairs
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Veranda
  • Wood Decking
  • 4 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • forests
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • Miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • Hot Air Ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • Rock Climbing
  • caving
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(41 traveller reviews)

87% Complete
4% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Country home with end of the road privacy. Nearly surrounded by National Forest.
average rating of 4.804878 based on 41 reviews
3

We loved the big house with huge property around it and a lot of intertainment inside!

  • 3 of 5

There was so much dust in the house( on furniture, lamps, in the corners, on the cabinets and doors:( The fireplace didn't work,the next day maintenance tried to fix it, but the same day it broke again and it spoiled my mood because I choose the house JUST because it had a fireplace! The bathroom doors didn't have locks, at least they should hang signs "vacant" and "occupied". The shed area is a very dirty and massy area, needs to be cleaned and organized( it's easy to clean it and give a modern look) so ppl could make memory pictures there, need to have a table with chairs to sit there if it's rainy day but warm day and a safe bonfire near by. That would be great to make a swing ( so much wood around to make a swing for free). Also, there's not much to do on winter time if you are an outdoor person. Many activities are closed during winter month.so what we did is hiking, going to caves, eating and staying inside...

  • Review Submitted: 03-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so sorry that the home didn't fit these guests very well. There is actually two fireplaces, one is a gas fireplace and the other is wood pellet stove with an instruction book at the property on how to operate both. I kept in touch with the guests and tried to help them. I have a very responsive repairman in the area who came out promptly the next morning and showed the guests how to operate the gas fireplace and reported that it works perfectly and still does. They did have a language barrier in understanding verbal instructions, but maybe reading the information book would have made this a perfect vacation for them. I checked the home immediately after the guest left and have not found any sign of dust as this home as it is professionally cleaned at least once a week. There was a smoky residue from their effort to burn sticks and bark in the gas and pellet stoves. These guests were unfortunately here during one of the largest forest fires in Black Hills history which was burning during a 40-50 mph wind. This was only a few miles away and created huge dust and smoke clouds. This is also one of the reasons that open bonfires are not allowed adjacent to National Forest land. The baths do have standard locks, but I may have to include instruction with them in the future, so that no one can misunderstand how to operate them. I'm sorry they were disappointed by the barn. The barn area is a real barn and has a dirt floor surrounded by a woods and pasture. It is fairly picturesque but is there to shelter livestock , not as a photo prop. It is dusty and has old straw and old farm accessories stored there. You know,. . . farm stuff. I think this home is very well suited to guests expecting a wooded country setting and have some understanding of country life and have basic ability to follow easy instructions for appliances and gas fireplaces.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic Custer Home Close to Black Hills Drives & Sites

  • 5 of 5

My wife Sandi and I would like to thank you for sharing your beautiful home on Pinto Lane. The home was absolutely gorgeous with everything a person would need for any length of stay. Centrally located near Custer and all the things everyone wants to see like Needles Highway, Custer State Park, Iron Mountain Road, and Mount Rushmore.

We had deer and wild turkeys within 6 feet of our door. All of the rooms were beautifully decorated. We would highly recommend this home to anyone who wants to vacation in style.

  • Review Submitted: 03-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
spokane,wa
3

Great Location, Great Property, House needs work

  • 3 of 5

This home is on a Beautiful piece of Land, with the greatest location to jump from for all the sights. However we were disappointed with the upkeep of the home. I'm sure Jody would have been accomadating, to fix a couple of the smaller issues, but at the price point, we felt door handles should have stayed on, and did not want to spend our time on vacation waiting for things to be fixed, with a little TLC this would be a GREAT vacation stay, as it is its just mediocre

  • Review Submitted: 14-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so sorry that the doorknob came loose during this guest's stay. The loose doorknob had been tightened by the cleaning crew/ handyman. They are the best! We are available anytime and are only minutes away if something breaks or if you have questions about how to operate something. We can usually take care of any issues or replace anything that inadvertently breaks during your stay. With your permission we can take care of it while you're out sightseeing and all will be perfect again with little or no inconvenience to you.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Long Grove IL
5

Peaceful and Beautiful

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time at this wonderful cabin in Custer. It was a perfect location for all the attractions and provided us with a peaceful and private experience. The cabin was full of all the amenities and very clean. We also enjoyed the wildlife and deer every evening and morning while sitting on the deck.

I'd highly recommend this property. Jody was extremely helpful and welcoming. Thank you for a great experience:)

  • Review Submitted: 09-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Clean and comfortable, peaceful and private, centrally located and surrounded by nature.

  • 5 of 5

Awesome location for family vacation with plenty of clean, comfortable room, access to very good restaurants and grocery store, and excellent home base for touring both local attractions and beyond. Enjoy morning coffee on the porch and late night star gazing over the front meadow with deer sightings. Owner is warm and friendly and dedicated to renters having a good time. Awesome vacation spot.

  • Review Submitted: 23-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

BIG house with lots to do for the kids!

  • 5 of 5

The adults relaxed and the kids played! The home has all that you would need. We loved the location- very close to the town of Custer (and the Purple Pie Place!) but VERY secluded with gorgeous Forest Service land surrounding the home. We flew kites and played lots of croquet and frisbee in the huge yard. We wish there had been a table on the deck for outside dining but since the dining room has a sliding door to the deck it wasnt a big deal.

  • Review Submitted: 18-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Rapid City Regional Airport
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Several in Custer
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Rocky Knolls
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Highway 16
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Several In Custer
Nearest Beach
7 Miles
Stockade Lake
Car: necessary

Enjoy the surrounding Black Hills National Forest which surrounds the property with miles of hiking trails, great mountain scenery and rock climbing. Watch the wildlife in the meadow in front of the home and wander through Custer State Park (within 10 minutes) where the buffalo roam and the deer and the antelope play. Where seldom is heard a discouraging work and the skies are not cloudy all day!

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday lodge in Custer, South Dakota

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Winter Special
4 Jan 2018 - 28 Feb 2018
2 night minimum stay
£272
for 2 nights
From
£115
From
£153
Fri,Sat
£808
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £19 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter
1 Mar 2018 - 14 Apr 2018
3 night minimum stay
£444
for 3 nights
From
£134
From
£153
Fri,Sat
£884
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £19 per night, per additional guest
 
Spring
15 Apr 2018 - 24 May 2018
3 night minimum stay
£617
for 3 nights
From
£191
From
£230
Fri,Sat
£1,190
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £19 per night, per additional guest
 
Summer 2018
25 May 2018 - 2 Aug 2018
5 night minimum stay
£1,573
for 5 nights
From
£306
£2,032
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £19 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
£1,573
for 5 nights
From
£306
£2,032
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £19 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Property Damage Protection £42.59
Tax Rate 6.0%

Christmas Dec 21- Jan 3 - $250/night plus sales tax.
Rates listed are for up to 6 guests. $25/night for each additional guest .
5.5% sales/lodging tax. $49 insurance fee.
Need to cancel? Cancellations over 60 days in advance get full refund less $50 processing fee. If less than 60 days, refunds will be made if re-booked. We will also work with you to re-schedule for another time.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable