Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Beaches, Sand, Night Life, Great Food, Great Memories!

People8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

Look us up on Facebook (Casa Etienne Vacation Rental) for additional information.

The property was purchased on 2003 and the home construction was finished on 2005.

The property features nearly and acre of land seating near the top of a hill that overlooks the natural bay of Boquerón and its fishing village, as well as the Caribbean Sea. Great views of surrounding mountains and open green spaces are available from every room. The house features 3 bedrooms and 3 full bathrooms, a modern kitchen with plenty of cabinet space and all the utensils and appliances (all stainless steel) a good cook will enjoy. Each bedroom contains a mini-split air conditioner unit to provide comfort while sleeping in those warm Caribbean nights.

During the day, due to its location and the surrounding topography, the house is constantly surrounded by the cool breezes of the Sea. The doors of the great room open fully to allow a sense of openness that places the occupants of the house in touch with the great open spaces and views that surround the property. The house has a constantly growing Caribbean garden with many delightful flowers unique to the islands, and some young but rapidly growing fruit trees.

The house sits at the end of the street with only green open spaces on most sides. The neighborhood is composed entirely of custom homes much of which are also vacation homes to owners residing in other parts of the island, and the United States. Due to this fact, the neighborhood is very quiet and peaceful, and the few neighbors that inhabit their homes year around, are extremely friendly, courteous, and helpful.

After staying a few days in our home, you too will come to understand why we choose this very special location, why this house is so special to us, and why we want to share it with you.

Welcome to our home and to the great island of Puerto Rico!!!

Keywords: Vacation, executive, modern, beach, ocean, villa, luxurious

More Details

Owner
Arnaldo Torres
Member since: 2009
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
22 June, 2018

About Arnaldo Torres

Currently residing in the beautiful state of California, USA. Me and my wife, originals from Puerto Rico, always dreamed of owning a custom vacation home in the island. We live and work full-time in California, and enjoy traveling around the world, but every chance we get, we find our way to the warmth and the sun of Puerto Rico. Great food, great people, and nature at its best! NOTE: Map below does not show correct location. For better location info, go to: http://home.earthlink.net/~arnaldo/index_files/Page591.htm

Arnaldo Torres purchased this house in 2005

Why Arnaldo Torres chose Boquerón

Been Native to the Island of Puerto Rico and knowing real well the different great get-aways in Puerto Rico is how we decided to buy and build our vacation home in this unique part of the island. As far away as you can get from San Juan, its traffic, and the crowds, we located in an area surrounded by great green open spaces, many of the greatest beaches of the island within minutes, near many of the great seafood restaurants of the west coast, and yet, close enough to some of the island largest cities for great fun activities at night, shopping, and site seeing.

What makes this house unique

The house is located near the top of a hill in nearly an acre of land with great views of the natural bay of Boquerón, and the Caribbean sea. Great views, continuously flowing breezes year around, open green spaces all around, quiet, peaceful, and private. These are the attributes that we value and those are the attributes our home embodies.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Boquerón in Pedernales

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 8 ...
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • Travelers must submit a copy of a Government Issued ID for each Adult staying at the house. Please email the copies of the IDs after booking.
  • Travelers must follow city ordinance for trash disposal and recycling. We will email the rules & instructions after booking.
  • Travelers must read Rental agreement, and acknowledge reading it, as part of the booking process.
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Bunk Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Garden
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • Hot Air Ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • Parasailing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(44 traveller reviews)

95% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
Beaches, Sand, Night Life, Great Food, Great Memories!
average rating of 4.8863635 based on 44 reviews
5

Breathtaking hilltop view of Caribbean Sea

  • 5 of 5

You feel secluded but still just minutes away from Boqueron Beach and Cabo Rojo lighthouse and Caves. Nice spacious house, enough room

for everyone to either be together or do your own thing. Outside balconies and upper level loft spacious. Beds were very comfortable. I would definitely return and recommend to friends.

Best Pina Coladas at Los Ramos. Went back few times.

  • Review Submitted: 30-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are really glad that you had a great time on the house and the Island. The Island has recovered substantially since Hurricane Maria, and most of it is back to the normal daily routine. So far this year, our guests have experienced a restored, invigorated, warmth, happy, and welcoming Island. Some of our recent guests this year have been, among many other fun activities, deep sea fishing of our coast and having a blast at it. Fun and good times under the glorious Caribbean Sun are finally back!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Scam

  • 1 of 5

This is a nice property but beware of the security deposit scam. The owner of the property has numerous rules and regulations in order to almost guarantee the forfeiture of the security deposit. On the night of our arrival we showed up late. He has a detailed check list that a reasonable person would not have time to go through. Almost guaranteeing that we would miss something.

Shortly after we left I get an inevitable email saying that the comforters had brown burn stains on them and we would be required to pay for them. I should have known, this owner actually requires you to pay the electric bill for each day you stay at the house. Unfortunately this is not known until after you have paid for the reservation. Also there is no air conditioning in the common areas of the house. Only in the rooms and the breeze is not enough to make the house comfortable. Although the house is nice, based on the hidden fees, lack of air conditioning and the apparent security deposit scam I would not recommend renting this house.

  • Review Submitted: 13-Jun-2018
  • Date of Stay: June 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is unfortunate that this visitor did not take the time to read the clearly displayed information on our VRBO listing, and on our short term rental agreement. VRBO presents every prospective guest with a copy of the short term rental agreement that they must explicitly indicate to have read, before the online booking request and payments are accepted. This agreement lists all details about renting our home, including the fact that Electricity is not included in the cost listed. The VRBO listing clearly indicates that Electricity costs are not included as well, and that the Bedrooms are the only rooms in the house with A/C. Additionally, it also presents information regarding what historically others have paid for Electricity. Now, regarding the burn marks on the comforter, these items are cleaned and prepared for every visit. Two different people in my crew process these items, and they strongly indicated that those burn marks were not there prior to this visitor's visit. We do not have a need to charge him, or anyone else, for issues that happened with another group. Moreover, this visitor admitted that his wife makes use of a Hair straightening Iron. Here I include a portion of his reply email (after I communicated the situation to him), and I quote: "My wife has a special heat resistant pouch for her hair straightener that she uses religiously. ". This visitor paid Insurance through VRBO to cover issues like this when he booked our home. The claim will be against this insurance (as I indicated multiple times to him), and NOT against the security deposit. The only deduction to the deposit will be the charge for Electricity, as clearly indicated in our rental agreement. We have a nearly perfect record of 5 stars on VRBO because we are fair to our guests, and because the experience that our guests receive at our home compels our guests to share the rating that they provide. The reviews of their visit and of our home speak to the great care and attention that they receive when they visit this beautiful place. We immensely appreciate they visiting our home, their reviews, and their suggestions. They reinforce and validate our efforts, and encourage us to continue this work, and to strive for doing even better for years to come.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Youngsville, NC
4

We enjoyed our stay!

  • 4 of 5

The house is really nice, clean and has plenty of space. We had five adults and three kids and there was enough place for us all. Arnaldo was very helpful and responsive for any issue or questions we had. Once after the rain the water was coming out of the electric outlet in master bedroom but Arnaldo responded quickly and sent the electrician to disconnect it the next day. There’s no grill, we missed that a little, and the beach was 5 min drive (nothing close enough to walk) but still we have no regrets renting the house in this part of PR, it seemed less damaged from hurricanes and the beaches were really nice. Our favorite was La Playela (30 min drive). There is no Internet though WiFi is working fine and the water is somewhat warm but due to solar water heater it’s never hot and most times is cold, it was fine with adults but for toddlers it was cold.

  • Review Submitted: 28-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am glad that you had a great time on the Island and enjoyed your stay. As you indicated, after the Hurricane, one of the issues we faced, was water coming in through a Electrical receptacle in the master bedroom. We had an Electrician track the issue and seal the point of entry. It seems that the point of entry was not correctly found, or that it needs additional sealing. In any case, the Electrician will be back to track and hopefully solved this issue. As part of the steps taken to address this issue, and others created by the Hurricane, we had our entire roof sealed including all pipes and potential water entries on the roof itself. As you may know, we had disabled permanently the electrical outlet affected. The other issue faced after the Hurricane was the destruction of our Solar Water Heater. We purchased a new, more modern and larger capacity Solar Water Heater. It was installed back in October 2017. I have been to the house two additional times since its installation, and we have had 4 groups through the house since then, and no one has reported issues with water heating. Thank you for raising this issue as we will make sure that the Solar Water Heater gets checked as this is indeed an important issue, and fortunately, the Heater is still well within its warranty period. Regarding Beaches, I totally agree with you, La Playuela is my favorite Beach as well. It is situated in a Nature preserved next to the Old Lighthouse in a really beautiful setting. Fortunately for us and our guests, The house seats about half way between two other very popular beaches: Boqueron Beach and Buye Beach. When I do not want to do the long drive to La Playuela, I visit either one of these beaches. My boys and I walk the 2.5 miles to either one if it is early in the day, or drive otherwise. It is about a 20-25 minutes walk, and it is beautiful. We understand not everyone may want to walk the distance to either one of these beaches, but with enough time and motivation, it would be an enjoyable experience. Just before I finish my notes, I want to express to you our appreciation for your visit. Not only to our home, but also to the Island. Additionally, I want offer sincere apologies for the deficiencies that you experienced. This is a beautiful place, that my family and friends enjoy greatly. And our guest are as well beneficiaries of our attention to detail, and of the love and passion with which we take care of this beautiful home. Kind regards, Arnaldo.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Just fantastic!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time in Puerto Rico and enjoyed staying in this beautiful house. Everything was perfect! Thank you for sharing your house with our family!

  • Review Submitted: 12-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

This house is absolutely amazing from the view to the lay out and functioning. Clean and spacoius

  • 5 of 5

What a great place to stay! From the view to the layout this home takes the cake! Clean with lots of glass windows and doors to take in the view of Boquerón bay. Each level has a deck.

And the home is fully furnished. Just 3 minutes from downtown Boquerón. I will stay here again and would recommend it to any one I know whose traveling to that area in the future. The place is awesome!

HR

  • Review Submitted: 17-Mar-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
USA
5

Great house!

  • 5 of 5

A great house with every amenity you could think of. Arnaldo was attentive in responding to any questions I had. A great location and would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Review Submitted: 17-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Car: recommended

Look us up on Facebook (Casa Etienne Vacation Rental) for additional information.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £56.62
Damage Insurance £44.54
Damage Deposit £415.19

Rates do not include a charge for Electricity. Based on the past years data, guests paid an averaged of $8.00 to $10.00 a day. Electricity usage cost will be deducted from the Security Deposit.

Security Deposit is $550.00 for up to six days and 6 people. For 7 days or longer, the deposit is $750.00. Each additional person up to a maximum of 8 people will pay and additional $100.00 deposit.

The Administrative fee is reimbursed when payments are completed using Electronic Check transfers.

Read contract for details.
Deposit is refundable per the terms of our contract.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Available
Unavailable