HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Well Located St. Paul Upper Duplex

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,200 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Apartment, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

This 2nd floor spacious, 2 bedroom duplex is located in the Crocus Hill area of St. Paul. Trendy Grand Avenue is 1 block away with its cafes, bakeries, restaurants and shopping.

A grocery store is within walking distance. Historic Summit Avenue is 2 blocks away. Summit Avenue was named one of the '10 Great Streets for 2008' by the American Planning Association.

We are located 15 minutes from the St. Paul, Minneapolis airport, 10 minutes from downtown St. Paul and 15 minutes from downtown Minneapolis. Both are accessible by bus.

We are near St. Thomas, Macalester Universities as well as William Mitchell law school. Augsburg, Metropolitan State University, St Catherine, Concordia, the University of Minnesota, are all under 20 minute drives.

The Megamall is a 20 minute drive.

We are located near Minnehaha Park and Como Park. The Mississippi River, with walking and bicycle paths, is 2 miles from us.

Complimentary coffee.

Wi-Fi included.

Laundry on site.

Owners are on-site for any questions about the area.

Keywords: 2nd Floor Duplex

More Details

Member since: 2009
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
29 August, 2016

About The Owner

I grew up in St. Paul and love the city. I love the city, the history, the wonderful old architecture. I never tire of walking through the old sections of St. Paul.

The Owner purchased this apartment in 2006

Why The Owner chose Minnesota

It is a great area with lots to do, public transportation, restaurants. It is centrally located and within walking distance of many fine restaurants, cafes, grocery stores. We love living in an area filled with historic homes. Although we are located between 2 downtowns, it is quiet here and full of many mature trees.

What makes this apartment unique

Everyone loves the large front porch. You feel as if you live in the Maple trees surrounding it. The kitchen is also very usable.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you for providing a homey, comfortable place while we settled our son at college. We are grateful that we got to spend time getting to know the area. We hope to be back within the four years he will be here.
Aug 2012
  • 1 of 37


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Summit Hill in St. Paul

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (0) Single Ikea trundle bed bed.
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • Horseshoes
  • Miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • Racquetball
  • sailing
  • ski
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
Large screen porch.


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(15 traveller reviews)

Well Located St. Paul Upper Duplex
average rating of 4.6 based on 52 reviews

Lovely apartment, fantastic location

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful time in St Paul and enjoyed staying at your lovely apartment on Lincoln Avenue. The apartment was clean and comfortable. The kitchen was more than completely equipped for cooking and we loved eating on the screened-in porch above the street. What a terrific area--we were able to walk to restaurants and shopping, and had easy access to bus routes. We even met and enjoyed the neighbors! And you, the owner, were available immediately when we had any questions. Thanks again.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Boone, IA

Great stay!!

  • 5 of 5

Spent the weekend in MSP. The location was great! Plenty of room for my family's stay, as well as hosting a dinner party on the porch. Gerry was very gracious about accommodating our earlier check in time.

  • Review Submitted: May 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Location

  • 4 of 5

This apartment was perfect for our family of 4. As others have said it was a perfect location in terms of walking distance to all the great shops/restaurants but it was off the beaten path so the street was very quiet. We found the apartment to be exactly as shown in the pictures and it was very clean. Prior to our arrival we had a few questions and the owner was very communicative and always responded promptly. The kitchen was very well stocked with dishes, cutlery, pots/pans etc. so I wish I would have had time to cook more! A few basics would have been nice (tissues, paper napkins, etc) but everything else we needed was there. The weather in St. Paul was very chilly but the apartment was very comfortable-- not at all drafty or cold. The owner also refunded our deposit to us very quickly after our stay ended. We would definitely consider staying here again next time we are in the area.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 9, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

St Paul Upper Duplex

  • 1 of 5

The apartment was filthy. The rug in the kitchen - I'm assuming originally blue and white - had dark brown stains on it. We killed a roach in the dining room. While she stated she had a well stocked pantry, it was odds and ends left from past renters. We found a pan of potatoes still in the oven on our arrival. We washed all the dishes prior to using them as they were sticky. There were stains on all the furniture in the living room. My two year old daughter and I slept in the back bedroom and we both had bites on us. I washed all our laundry on the hot sanitizing cycle before moving it from the garage to the house and I sprayed our suitcases with insecticide and placed them in plastic bags and left them in the garage to kill bugs. While it supposedly is a duplex, one upstairs and one down stairs, you can hear someone coming downstairs from the attic every morning. We actually took pictures of how bad everything was because we couldn't believe it. The location is nice and there was a patio with a porch, but I wouldn't stay here again. I have stayed with VRBO in many places and this was my first bad experience.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 24, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Shannon, I am sorry you had a bad time at my place in St. Paul. I wish you would have notified me and I would have tried to rectify any problems. If you disliked it so much, I would have let you break the lease and refunded the remaining money. I am surprised you never contacted me. We were out of town, but not until late in the week of your stay. I was always available by telephone. I have to say yours is the first to say the place is dirty. All other reviews have commented on its cleaness. Would you please send me the photos you took showing problems? My husband and I have stayed there ourselves and there has been no signs of bugs. AS far as a well appointed kitchen, it means the plates and pots and pans, etc. I do not supply food. I am very sorry you had a bad stay there. Regards, Gerry
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Plymouth, Wisconsin

Clean, spacious and charming.

  • 5 of 5

Our stay was perfect in this delightful apartment. It's in a perfect location, close to great restaurants (we can highly recommend Everest), boutique shopping and a neat grocery store. It's spacious enough for 2 couples or a couple with several children. It's got character, is very clean, has a well-appointed kitchen and even an iron and ironing board. If the temperature is warm enough the screened porch floating in the treetops is a great place to relax! We'd love to be able to stay here again.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 23, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Clean with an excellent location

  • 5 of 5

I love staying in this neighborhood and would definitely book it again. The apartment is clean and very spacious. It is equipped with everything you may need. There has been some nice renovations done to the apartment but it isn't super high-end like some of the other vrbo's in the area. But if you don't need that then this is a perfect place.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 16, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
6 Miles
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
many bars on Grand Ave.
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Highland public
Nearest Train
3 Miles
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
0.4 Miles
D'Amico Cucina
Nearest Ski
20 Miles
Afton Alps
Nearest Beach
4 Miles
Nokomis Lake
Car: not necessary

This is located in a very walkable area. Grand Ave. has coffee shops, bars, shops close by. Summit Ave. is historic and a great place to walk. The Mississippi River is 3 miles away with its bike trails. Minnehaha Falls Park is an easy bike ride plus other River Parks such as Fort Snelling State Park, Crosby Farm Park. There is the Grandview Movie theatre 1 and 1/2 mile away. Two large grocery stores, Kowalskis (within a half mile) and Whole Foods, are near by. Either downtown (Minneapolis or St. Paul) are an easy bus ride or light rail ride away.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Summit Hill, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights

Additional pricing information

refundable damage deposi £156.47
cleaning fee £58.68

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. More than 3 people an additional $35 per night per additional person.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Enquire Now Enquire Now

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar holiday rentals