HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Ground Level Luxury Resort Condo with A/C, Pool, Free Fitness Club - 5 min walk to Poipu Beach!

People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,246 sq ft
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Mala Pua ~ Kauai Vacation Condo, Vacation Rental Near Famous Poipu Beach, Free Fitness Club Membership.

* Easily accessible ground floor condo with Central Air Conditioning

* Fitness Club Included: Workout - Waterslide - Sports - Games & More

* Steps away from the resort pool - BBQ at poolside

* 5 minute walk to Poipu Beach ~ great for adults and small children alike

* Beach gear in the condo for your use

* Short walk to the Grand Hyatt

* Base rate is for 4 people, maximum 5. Please view "RATE NOTES"

MALA PUA CONDO ("garden" in Hawaiian) is nestled in abundant tropical greenery with two lanais to relax and enjoy the island pace. This easily-accessible ground floor condo has all the comforts of home including central air conditioning, plus it is just steps to the pool and a short walk to wonderful beaches.

ACCOMMODATIONS:

With generous natural light and verdant foliage, the living room offers two sofas, a wicker desk and entertainment center.

Dine comfortably at the fanciful "pineapple" pedestal table; plus casual seating at the breakfast bar.

Central A/C throughout the home plus ceiling fans in each room for maximum comfort.

The deep rich granite counters make an inviting stage for whipping up culinary creations in the fully-equipped kitchen.

The master suite has a king bed, TV and private lanai. The luxurious marble bath with twin sinks boasts a large walk-in shower and deep jetted tub.

The guest bedroom has 2 twin beds that can be converted into a king-sized bed. A full bath with tub/shower combo is across the hall.

Premium channel TV service, high speed wireless internet, DVD/CD players and private phone are provided.

Beach towels, mats, beach chairs, cooler and assorted gear are available for your use.

Complimentary Play N' Pack for babies provided upon request.

FREE FITNESS CLUB AMENITIES INCLUDE: cardio workout room, weight lifting equipment, exercise room (and classes), poolside table and chaise lounges, restaurant and bar and pool/hot spa with waterslide! Lots of games to play for young and old alike - 4 tennis courts, 3 pickleball courts, basketball, badminton, volley ball, shuffleboard, ping pong, and more lawn games (all equipment provided!!).

The prestigious POIPU-KAI RESORT situated on the South Shore of Kauai, features 70 acres of tropical gardens. It is just a short walk through the resort grounds to Shipwreck beach or Poipu Beach Park (a snorkeler's paradise). The resort has nine tennis courts. There is a shop for all your tennis needs, including rentals. After the game relax in one of the Jacuzzi spas or swimming pools. You can barbecue your "catch of the day" in one of the well maintained grills near the pool.

KAUAI BEACHES: Poipu Kai resort fronts on two well known beaches... Shipwreck Beach and Brennecke Beach, each an excellent bodysurfing beach. Next to Brennecke beach is Poipu Beach Park, rated the best beach in North America for four years running. It features a sheltered "baby beach" for toddlers and parents, a fully equipped children's playground, and a great snorkeling and swimming beach with every variety of tropical fish usually only seen in aquariums. Surfing is also an excellent option at Poipu Beach with a surf shop and board rentals just across the street from the beach.

ISLAND ACTIVITIES: For the shoppers there are some very nice boutiques in the Poipu Village shopping center just West on Poipu Road. There are also boutique shops at the surrounding resorts, e.g., Hyatt, Sheraton and the Marriott. Food shopping is nearby at the Big Save supermarket in Koloa, just a couple of miles up the bypass road. If you are energetic and want some exercise Kauai offers a great series of hikes and drives, some with breathtaking views. Try the hike along the beach and cliffs east past the Hyatt. It is about 4 miles and the reward is a wonderful white sand beach. Also refer to the Kauai Guide Book located in the house for more fun things to do.

More Details

Property Manager
Ala Muku Vacation Rentals-Juliana & Jim Cherry
Member since: 2006
Premier Partner

This partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
17 April, 2018

About Ala Muku Vacation Rentals-Juliana & Jim Cherry

Juliana and Jim own 2 homes in Kauai and manage a number of other beautiful homes and condos. They began visiting the Garden Island in 1997 and now are permanent residents. Juliana is a licensed real estate broker in Hawaii. Her special enjoyment is gardening. She loves to share the many wonderful features of Kauai with her visitors, especially the great beauty of the local botanical gardens. Jim is a builder of many years and now enjoys semi-retirement while keeping his hands busy with the occasional remodel.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday condo in Poipu in Koloa

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
Floor Area:
  • 1246 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • near the sea
  • resort
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Golf
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Barbecue
  • Tennis
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • luaus
  • Miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • Kayaking
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
•Tastefully Decorated With Tropical Flair •Marble Baths- Walk-In Shower & Jetted Tub •Full Kitchen With Granite Counters •Only A Few Steps To The Pool •Comfortable Air-Conditioning •Tennis Courts & Lush Grounds •Hi-Speed Wireless Internet Access/Cable TV •Short Walk To Beaches •Non-Smoking / No Pets

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(41 traveller reviews)

97% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
Ground Level Luxury Resort Condo with A/C, Pool, Free Fitness Club - 5 min walk to Poipu Beach!
average rating of 4.9268293 based on 41 reviews
5

Lovely Condo in Poipu

  • 5 of 5

This was our favorite of the three condos we rented in Hawaii. Two full bedrooms and two full baths with the master having a spa tub and walk in shower. It had central air conditioning which is difficult to find in the islands. The washer dryer was full sized . Sunken living room. Kitchen very well equipped and both bar stools and a table for eating. Pool view bottom floor with a lanai off the living room and the master bath. The owners were the easiest to communicate with because they clearly let you know their direct cell phone number and you don't have to communicate through Home Away which is a total pain. Poipu is a great place to stay because it is the sunniest. Nice beach a short distance away. Highly recommend the taco shack called DA CRAC and the luau at the Grand Hyatt. Wonderful stay with wonderful and friendly reps for the condo.

  • Review Submitted: 21-Dec-2017
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the visit and we look forward to your return! aloha, Juliana & Jim
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Great place! Clean and comfortable.

  • 5 of 5

I am a clean freak when staying somewhere, and this condo was very clean. Great location by the pool and nice centralized location in the Poipu area. If we go back to Kauai, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Review Submitted: 12-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Palo Alto, California
5

2nd Time at Complex

  • 5 of 5

This is the 2nd time we've stayed at the complex - location is great and we need a/c. This unit was extremely clean, kitchen was well stocked, lots of linens, hangers in the closet, luggage rack, night lights - they take care of a lot of the small things that make the difference in your stay. Although it faces the pool, it is still very quiet. We would definitely stay here again. You do get some noise from the upstairs if they are heavy walkers. This is the only downside of this complex.

  • Review Submitted: 25-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Clean, but needs new mattresses, pillows and sofa

  • 2 of 5

The location and cleanliness of this condo were very good. It looks just like the photos and is quite spacious. It’s an easy walk to the beach, and the pool and Jacuzzi are just outside. However, the mattresses and pillows made for rough sleeping (which then made us tired during the day). They are lumpy and hard — need to be replaced. Same goes for the living room furniture; the seat cushions on the sofa, in particular, have no “life” in them, so you sink down to the frame. Note: We learned after we booked that unlike some of the other condos, you do not receive a complimentary membership to the athletic club with this particular unit. If those items were corrected — mattresses, pillows, living room furniture, athletic club — I would give this condo an enthusiastic 5 stars. As it is now, I can’t recommend it, unfortunately.

  • Review Submitted: 12-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the visit and for your comments! We were surprised about the mattress and sofa comments and sorry to hear you were uncomfortable. Pillows are on the list to replace (although we try to keep a variety of types since everyone has a different preference). The master king mattress is only about 3 years old and the sofa is 3-5 years! We will definitely look into these points you have made since we strive to provide an excellent and comfortable "home away from home". I would like to clarify the athletic club amenity. The owner of this condo originally chose not to participate in offering this optional amenity. At our other properties, guests choose to pay a fee for the fitness club (not complimentary). We are in the process of offering this amenity with all of our properties. Aloha and we hope you might consider another stay, Juliana & Jim
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful spot

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful spot, all the amenities you need and more! Great location

  • Review Submitted: 27-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect location, unit, and setting

  • 5 of 5

We had the best family vacation we have ever experienced, and I’m not just saying that as an expression.

First, location: the pool is right outside the door, and not used much at all, we were almost always alone, and our kids loved the access to the pool. The situation of the unit is the best in the whole resort in my opinion, secluded and surrounded by tropical plants and foliage, and quiet, no road or traffic noise. The lanai off the master suite is amazing, feels like you are in the middle of the jungle. You can walk to several great meals, Brenneckes (highly recommended this was our go to place), Tidepools, Kalapaki Joes, Brenneckes deli (great sandwiches and breakfast) and just a very short drive to the shopping center with Puka dogs and sushi, or a bit further to the Beachhouse for a sunset dinner (this is a must!) walking the green belt pathway to several of the beaches in the immediate area is lit at night, has a variety of wildlife, frogs (don’t touch them they excrete toxins!) kids enjoyed lizard hunting, without much luck, all kinds of birds and beautiful landscaping and flora. We loaded up the provided beach gear, which was awesome, chairs, umbrella, mats, sand toys, cooler, and took the short 5 minute drive down to Poipu Beach many days, it’s an awesome beach! Snorkeling, you can see tons of fish in the very protected section of water. Sometime the kids and wife would walk back, and I would haul the gear. Our very first day we walked to the beach before dinner and got to see sea turtles sleeping on the beach! It was an amazing experience.

The condo: everything we needed was provided. The ac was a god sent, even set at 75 it felt amazing coming home after a day at the beach and 85 deg temps. The slat blinds were great. Everything you could need in the kitchen, ice maker (enough capacity to fill the beach cooler) and blender, key pieces of equipment. The unit was very clean upon arrival which isn’t always the case with these bigger condos. The painless self check in/out and keypad door lock were great as well. The unit is beautifully and thoughtfully decorated. The unit managers were great, even after leaving there was a slight issue with some damage to a cabinet that we were not aware of, and it was handled wonderfully by them.

I could go on and on but am limited by characters! Great unit, we will return next year unless we can drag more family members along with us, we will look for a bigger unit in the same resort next year!

  • Review Submitted: 04-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the lovely review. Juliana and I and so glad you had a memorable time at the condo and this magical island. Please do come back some day. We have homes and condos to accommodate up to 14 guests. Have a wonderful holiday season. Jim and Juliana of Ala Muku Vacation Rentals
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Wailua Falls
Sleeping Giant
Kukui'ula Village Shopping Center
Great shopping experience! Upscale boutiques, fun restaurants, gift stores, local art work,...
Car: recommended

The prestigious Poipu-Kai resort situated on the South Shore of Kauai, features 70 acres of tropical gardens. It is just a short walk through the resort grounds to Shipwreck beach or Poipu Beach Park (a snorkelers paradise). The resort has nine tennis courts. There is a shop for all your tennis needs, including rentals. After the game relax in one of the Jacuzzi spas or swimming pools. You can barbecue your “catch of the day” in one of the well maintained grills near the pool.

Beaches: Poipu Kai Resort fronts on two well known beaches: Shipwreck Beach and Brennecke Beach, each an excellent bodysurfing beach. Next to Brennecke beach is Poipu Beach Park, rated the best beach in North America for four years running. It features a sheltered “baby beach” for toddlers and parents, a fully equipped children’s playground, and a great snorkeling and swimming beach with a multitude of tropical fish.

Other Activities: Great zip line tours!

Golf

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Manager a Question

Notes

  • Above rates are for up to 4 guests.
    $400 refundable deposit is required; standard outcleaning fee and 14.42% Hawaii state taxes will be added to all reservations. The full amount plus security deposit is due 90 days prior to arrival.

    Our holiday season extends from Dec. 17- Jan. 6 with a one week minimum stay (2 week minimum if the stay includes both holidays). We divide the season into two periods with some flexibility on dates and length of stay. For the first week (Christmas) we ask our guests to arrange their departure date to fall between Dec. 26 and Dec. 28. For the second week (New Year's celebration) we ask guests to arrive around Dec 27-29. This gives the option of 7-10 days for either holiday segment.

    Tax info:
    TA-017-840-1280-01
    GE-017-840-1280-01

    Juliana is a licensed real estate broker in the state of Hawaii, Lic# RB 20080.
    Ala Muku Vacation Rentals is a dba of Momi O Mo'o Inc., Lic# RB 20905.
  • Damage deposit: USD400.00
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals