HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Paul Somers

Member since: 2007
Speaks English, French

Luxurious, bespoke, eclectic & private. A vacation home your way.

70 Reviews
People7
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview

Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday cottage in Union Pier - Fiddlehead Cottage: Charm+Lux

Secluded, original and carefully appointed. 3 Bedrooms, 2 Full Baths, Sleeps 7

Thanks to all of new and repeat guests for staying at Fiddlehead Cottage. The greatest reward is knowing that the cottage is being filled with warmth, laughter and memories. Your comments are a great source of pleasure!

March 20, 2015: A wonderful repeat guest sent this note today and I had to post it:

"Can't wait to get there. For me, it's turned into a sanctuary of laughter and healing and friendship and...ugh. I just love it there. It's a very special place...." Shannon S. - Seattle.

It's perhaps the "ugh" in that statement that best describes our Fiddlehead. When you are there, it's a special sense of place you can't put your finger on, it's the "ugh." For each of us it's different. Many guests over the years have commented on healing and others on strengthening bonds, themes that are beginning to resonate. We could all use a little time away be it alone, with friends or family. Fiddlehead is a sanctuary for all that makes each of us unique. If you happen to be lucky enough to be purple, green, white, black, a little blue, female, male, somewhere in between, gay, straight, young, middle-age, old or ancient, 1 leg or 4 paws, you are a part of the growing Fiddlehead family the moment you arrive.

Fiddlehead Cottage is named for abundance of natural ferns in the gardens & woods surrounding the cottage. Though its architecture is a nod to the past, the owner's renovation opened the layout and refreshed the decor with contemporary furnishings. The home features sumptuous furniture by Ralph Lauren, Room & Board plus original works of art, books and a high end kitchen. The 2000 square foot home is tucked into the woods in Union Pier on a private cul-de-sac, minutes from beaches.

Equipped with the latest technology including WIFI, HDTV 46' Sony Bravia w/ Blu-Ray & Bose surround sound, premium cable channel lineup & DVD library.

A 5 minute walk to the bakery and shops in Union Pier, just a few more minutes walk to the beach (3/4 mile), close to wineries, great restaurants and antique stores. Private, yet close to everything...

Cottage Features: The first floor features; a large screened-in porch, living room/dining room with fireplace and vaulted ceiling, two identically bedrooms (both with queen beds) and separate screened-in porch, a full bath and washer/dryer.

Nestled into the forest for privacy and seclusion, the luxurious hot tub has an easy lift cover, 45 therapy jets and your choice of underwater LED lights adjustable at the touch of a button. Seats 5-6 adults.

The second floor consists of a secluded master bedroom (king bed) with attached full bath (shower). The master has a separate terrace overlooking a mature forest - perfect for morning coffee.

Your vacation home is thoughtfully furnished with custom finishes and furnishings, thick towels, custom bedding and high thread count sheets. All interior lighting on dimmers creates the perfect mood.

More Cottage Features: This three bedroom cottage will comfortably accommodate a family of seven. But it’s also perfect for three couples traveling together, or as a romantic and extra-spacious getaway for two, or even one looking for solitude.

All this in a private forest setting amongst century old trees wildlife, a bubbling fountain and naturalized gardens. Quiet and secluded, yet minutes to local shops, the Red Arrow Roadhouse and much more.

The cottage is located on a private cul-de-sac lane on the east side of the Red Arrow Hwy. It offers privacy and seclusion in a safe environment away from busy roads and far from train lines.

*******************************************************************************

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Paul Somers (Owner)
Member since: 2007
Speaks English, French

About Paul Somers

Expatting for 12 years: Paris, Dublin, London and now Singapore. The cottage is filled with interesting things and certainly not cookie cutter. I am guessing you don't do cookie cutter either. :-) Fiddlehead is expertly watched over by Shannon and has been for the past eight years. In addition to property management, Shannon is the owner of Ranebow Hills Farm in Buchanan's gorgeous wine country about 15 minutes from Union Pier. She produces the most delicious organic eggs anywhere used in some of the finest restaurants and homes in the area.

Paul Somers purchased this cottage in 2005

Why Paul Somers chose Southwest Michigan

It's about the ancient trees and the stories they tell; if you stop long enough to listen...

Reviews

5
based on 70 holidaymaker reviews

Luxurious, bespoke, eclectic & private. A vacation home your way.
average rating of 4.9857144 based on 70 reviews
Chicago
5

Exquisite cottage in the woods

  • 5 of 5

We just returned from 4 nights at Fiddlehead cottage. My husband, two-year-old twins and I had a fabulous time. The cottage is exquisite from top to bottom. It is beautifully decorated and equipped for a comfortable and convenient stay of any length. The front yard is beautifully landscaped and contains a fire pit where we made S'mores one night. The side screened-in porch is perfect for lazy afternoons listening to the birds and wind blowing through the trees (which is what we did each day at nap time for our toddlers :) The beds are super comfortable and the kitchen has everything you can imagine you would need (including high end appliances and dishes). Our kids loved feeding the fishies in the small pond in the back yard Oh, and the hot tub was a wonderful treat after the kiddos were in bed. The baby monitors worked just fine from the hot tub which is only steps from the house. It truly was a retreat from the city while only being 1.5 hours away! The only drawback for some may be it's distance from the lake. You need to drive as the streets do not have sidewalks and it would be quite a distance unless you wanted to ride your bikes. Otherwise, the house is very conveniently located (short drives) to New Buffalo and St. Joseph's where we went to the beaches and restaurants. If you are looking for a wooded retreat in a gorgeous, spacious home, Fiddlehead Cottage is just the place for you!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful home

  • 5 of 5

We had a lovely two weeks at Fiddlehead. The home was in impeccable shape at our arrival and it's clear the owner spared no expense in the furnishings, cooking tools and items, and garden upkeep. Each bedroom had its own personality that contributed to an overall cozy and homey feel to the house. The small touches (the fish pond, the screened porch, the fire pit design) are what makes this home special. Everything worked as it should (especially the a/c as it was beastly hot during one of our weeks) and I would've felt comfortable living in this home forever. In fact, I asked the caretaker, Shannon, to please get me the paint colors used in the house so I might use one or two in my home.

A special place, lots to do nearby, great support.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 20, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful, private wooded home.

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful week with family in this very private, lovely wooded home close to Lake Michigan, 10 minutes from New Buffalo and near a multitude of wineries and other attractions. Definitely one of the most relaxing vacations we have ever had. We would definitely return again!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Chicago
5

Perfect stay with wonderful friends

  • 5 of 5

This was our first stay at Fiddlehead and it was perfect from the moment we walked in. Lifelong friends came together here from Illinois, Wisconsin and Iowa and it was just the right amount of space and wonderful amenities in a sweet, secluded area. We walked to the beach each day, grilled each night, enjoying the fantastic screened in porch. We did not try the hot tub as it was actually too hot in the evenings so maybe next time! Had some trouble operating the TV/Electronics but that mattered very little. Thank you for everything. We can't wait to come back!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful Ladies Weekend

  • 5 of 5

The home was wonderful, and very charming, for a small group of women for the weekend! There was plenty to do outdoors and there is a great winery tour group nearby that facilitated an all day wine tasting for us. The home accommodations exceeded everyone's expectations!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 21, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Jackson, Michigan
5

Beautiful serene location

  • 5 of 5

The home is located in a wooded quiet area, very peaceful. The home is very well decorated as well as being very clean. While we didn't use the hot tub or the fire pit in the front (I wish we had) these are nice extras. The TV and sound system are amazing and the instructions for use clear (although it took us a few times to figure it out). It's a short drive to the beach, New Buffalo, the wineries, and an easy hiking trail.

I would highly recommend this home at any time of year. As you'll see it's usually rented out. Get your reservation in early.

Enjoy!!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 7, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is wonderful to read these reviews and think that autumn is settling in there. The crisp air and the scent of a neighbour's first fireplace being lit for the season... Frost in the morning on the fallen leaves.... I am so far away from the seasons I used to take for granted here in the equatorial swelter of Singapore. Another weekend jaunt to Phuket or Krabi could never take the place of an October day in Union Pier. Thank you, another wonderful guest, for keeping memories alive and Fiddlehead warm until we return.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Chikaming Woods
Nearest Train
3 Miles
New Buffalo Amtrak
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Red Arrow Roadhouse
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
Lake Michigan
Car: recommended

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Union Pier, Southwest Michigan

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Indian Summer 2016
22 Aug 2016 - 30 Oct 2016
2 night minimum stay
£650
for 2 nights
From
£286
From
£389
Fri,Sat
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£691
for 2 nights
From
£307
From
£389
Fri,Sat
 

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £386
Cleaning £77
Tax Rate 6.0%

*****Seven night minimum stay from mid-June to the 3rd week in August***** If partial week is available due to previous customer taking more than 7 nights, the reservation must be book for the remainder of the week. Saturday to Saturday booking encouraged.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates to see total
Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Union Pier in Michigan

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • beach ...
  • village ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 7 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Great Room - 1 Single Bed , twin daybed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck Chairs
  • Terrace ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Veranda
  • Conservatory
  • Small Cooler
  • Terrace
  • Wood Decking
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • pond
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • sailing
  • diving
  • ski
  • snorkelling
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties