HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Mountaintop Views:, Hot Tub, Fishing Rafting:Hypoallergenic1 Rating w/ canoe

People12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Property type lodge
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview


Details
Property
lodge
People
12
Bedrooms
5
Bathrooms
3
Minimum Stay
3 - 5 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 5 bedroom holiday lodge in Almond - Big Sky II: Cabin in the Sky

5 Bedroom, 3 bathroom, sleeps 12: Within minutes of rafting-boating-hiking.

This ridgetop lodge is the largest on the mountain. This cabin is among the finest rental available, when you combine the custom nature of the construction, the detailed level of detail, and the ridgetop views location of the cabin, which borders 11,000 acres of US Forest/Park land, and is directly accessible. Private trail (with no motorized vehicles allowed) leads down to the Tsali mountain biking area.

This home has all the amenities, appliance, and comfort one would expect in a modern well appointed home. Post and beam construction with a cathedral ceilings give this home the views and feel reminiscent of a great Western Canadian lodge. The great room features a towering stone grand fireplace surrounded by leather furniture, cathedral ceiling with a walk around rail loft balcony, and massive picture windows overlooks the mountains and stars. Enjoy an evening in front of the gas fireplace, or outdoors, under the stars with a campfire or Jacuzzi.

Bedroom layout:

-Master bedroom with queen bed and master bath and soaking tub on main floor

-2nd and 3rd bedroom have queen beds, with a bathroom between on main floor.

-4th bedroom upstairs has queen and 2 single (possibly for small children)

-Loft 1600 sf: 1 queen, 1 double, 2 singles, full bathroom, fireplace, sitting room, two high - balcony decks.

Walk out semi-finished basement is a great play room for kids, and features pool table, and ping pong table.

Big Sky II is a new 4900 sf rental cabin sited on a mountain top with long range views of the Great Smoky Mountains of North Carolina. Centrally and conveniently located to the Nantahala River, Lake Fontana, kayaking, white water rafting, swimming, Bryson City, the Cherokee Indian Reservation, the Tsali mountain biking and horse riding trails, and the Great Smoky Mountains Railroad. If you are looking to just relax or prefer the excitement of whitewater rafting, kayaking, fishing, water sports, mountain biking, horseback riding, or motorcycling the 'Tail of the Dragon.', you have come to the right place. This cabin is located in the center of it all. Check out our website for nearby activities such as whitewater rafting and kayaking, mountain biking, boating, and horseback riding

Long range mountains views. Cabin has all amenities including cooking, barbecuing, television, and available internet with 4g connection. Backs up to mountain trails and bike paths. Perfect for family gatherings, Groups of friends, or a romantic getaway. Babysitting services available. This cabin is located in a secure, gated, private mountains.

No hunting is allowed. Not unusual to see wild turkeys, deer, cardinals, hummingbirds, whippoorwills, quail, and an occasional fox.

This property grows grapes, rhubarb, blueberries, raspberries, apples, plums, and peaches. You are welcome to pick what is ripe. Please do not pick the rhubarb yet in that it is not past the non picking 1 year mark (rhubarb must be plucked from the root, for it stops growing it cut)

Age requirement: 30+

*** The hot tub from Jan 3 to April 1, due to the possibility of winter power outages and freezing of pipes. ***

MAXIMUM SLEEPING CAPACITY IS DIFFICULT TO ACHIEVE AND IT IS STRONGLY ADVISED AGAINST LARGE GROUPS MADE UP OF MOSTLY ADULTS. As the number of adults increases the realistic functionality and comfort of this cabin significantly diminishes. It is recommended that groups with large numbers of adults look into combo options and add more units to their selection as the number of sleeping spots in this cabin alone is very high in proportion to the overall space and functionality of the cabin.

Please note that the Google Map provide to us is not entirely accurate. The USFS road called "Horse Branch" (visible if you zoom in adequately) is a non-vehicular road so is excellent for hiking and biking, but does not allow motorized vehicles. The map shows it connecting to and terminating at Birch Rd, which is incorrect. Horse Branch Trail will lead you all the way down to highway 28N and terminates about 1/4 mile north of the entrance to the Tsali Recreation Area. One can mountain bike all the way to the Tsali trails directly from this cabin.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm

Owner
Charlie
Member since: 2009
Speaks English, Spanish, Russian
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
18 November, 2016
Call Owner

What makes this lodge unique

This is a hypoallergenic cabin. That means we wash all bedding and bed spreads before you arrive. That means the hot tub is drained and water replaced between all visitors. (that is unheard of, at most cabins) That means we heat and air condition the cabin year round to eliminate mold and mildew. That means there is no mold and no drywall to hold mold.

We do not allow dogs, cats or pets to provide a allergen free environment for our guests. The cabin is fresh and clean.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(12 traveller reviews)

Mountaintop Views:, Hot Tub, Fishing Rafting:Hypoallergenic1 Rating w/ canoe
average rating of 4.75 based on 12 reviews
3

Nice top floors, amazing view, unfinished basement was not comfortably usable

  • 3 of 5

I am posting my email to the owner and his response after our stay:

Everything was ready when we got there and we did have a good time. However I wanted to email you before I put a review on VRBO. The top two floors of your cabin are very nice. I was significantly disappointed however that there is no mention of your unfinished basement on vrbo, with the concrete floors & undone walls, and was overall too uncomfortable to even use. We traveled an extra hour to find a cabin with amenities that my parents and I wanted with a basement and game tables.

Other things I feel compelled to mention: pool sticks were not in usable condition, and we had to buy our own paper products including napkins, paper towels, and ran out of toilet paper after the first day; no shampoo anywhere but there was soap. We've rented cabins before and understand that this should be taken care of by your management. We called the management company multiple times to get area information and there was never an answer and no voicemail. I'm also very surprised that there is no mention of your unfinished basement on VRBO reviews, seems very odd. Thought I should let you know our thoughts.

Monica

Thank you for your feedback on Big Sky II. I sorry to hear that your experience was not as expected.

Charlie

  • Review Submitted: Nov 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sorry to hear your experience was not as expected. I am surprised that you ran out of toilet tissue on the first day. We put 2 large rolls of toilet tissue in each of the 4 bathrooms. We believe that 8 rolls would be sufficient for a group of 7. We do not supply an unlimited amount in fear of overwhelming the septic system. I am also surprised that you could not reach us via phone to get area information. Our website, VRBO/Homeaway, and the welcoming email we sent, all have contain an activities list. My phone, and phone call history did not show any calls. I must agree that the basement floor is unfinished concrete. It is set up with a pool table, ping pong table, TV for playing GameCube, and a fireplace. We keep it that way to make it a playroom for youngsters. And no. We do not provide partial refunds for the above reasons.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great house, spacious, well appointed, all expectations exceeded.

  • 5 of 5

This was our first time visiting the Smoky Mountains and if we return, we will definitely book Big Sky again! We had ten adults in our group with four couples. Each couple had their own private bedroom and there was plenty of room for our other two guests. The house is even better than the pictures and provided great places to relax both indoors and outdoors. The property was just about perfect for our group with room for more.

The road to the house is paved which I found to be difficult to find when researching properties. A definite plus for our motorcycle toting group.

The location of the home was also ideal for our motorcycle vacation as it is centrally located between the Maggie Valley, Tail of the Dragon, Cherohala Skyway and the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. Absolutely riveting riding experiences for sure.

The owner Charles was accessible, instruction for the rental were easy to understand and support from the owners repair folks was just a call away. Not that we had any issues with the house but the grill didn't seem to want to heat up correctly. One call and they were there before we got back from our ride. Very polite and courteous people to work with.

A+ rental property at a reasonable price.

Thanks Charles!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Didn't want to leave this beautiful place!

  • 5 of 5

The home is spacious with plenty of room for everyone to do things together or in smaller groups. From ping pong and pool in the basement, to badminton, corn hole, and bocce in the back yard (bring these 3 games with you) to sitting around the fire pit, eating smores, or relaxing in the hot tub, this is the place to kick back, relax, and enjoy family time. We had 4 generations (from 6 yrs to 81 yrs) and had a wonderful week. It was hard to leave the property to go see other things. The kitchen (well stocked...it just lacked a candy thermometer for peanut butter fudge and a rolling pin for homemade biscuits) was great and smooth flowing with several preparing meals at a time.

We were fine, but regular mattresses rather than futon mattresses on the the 3 beds upstairs in the loft area would have been a plus, so if you require a softer mattress, make sure to get one of the four actual bedrooms. There was plenty of hot water We had a small maintenance issue and the owner was very prompt in taking care of it. Charlie is awesome to work with!

There was plenty of parking. We had 4 cars, and there were room for 2 more easily. This location was very quiet and peaceful. The view from the back decks was fantastic. Stay here and enjoy!!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 5, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Look forward to having you return
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Mountain Retreat

  • 5 of 5

This was the most relaxing vacation we have ever taken. The Mountain view was beautiful morning, noon and night. It was so quiet ....the only sounds we heard were the birds singing. WE enjoyed rafting, taking a pontoon boat out on Fontana Lake, which is the most beautiful water I have ever seen in a fresh water lake. The hot tub was a big hit. It was always cool enough to enjoy reading on one of the porches.

Everything we needed was furnished .....the kitchen was especially well furnished. We hope to go again

  • Review Submitted: Jul 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

This place is AWESOME!! The ads do not do it justice

  • 5 of 5

There is tons of room for the entire family and extended family. We stayed for the weekend and had our family Christmas Celebration as well as went to Bryson City and rode the Polar Express. It was only 10 minutes to the train and shopping. The Cabin is Very well equipped from the kitchen right down to the board games. The kids ranged from 4-20 in our group and there was never a dull moment, when we first arrived some of the teens complained about the lack of WiFi, but then found family to entertain themselves, it was Wonderful!! Hide and Seek was a Favorite, lots of cool spots were discovered. We had plenty of room for everyone to do their own thing or play and spend time together. The views were stunning and the cabin was clean and beautiful. If I had to pick one thing that was not perfect it would be the road up the mountain, that is only because I get very car sick. The road was only wide enough for one vehicle and very windy and steep, fortunately it is only a couple of minutes and you are on a main highway. The weather was perfect for our stay but I would assume that road would be a problem in the slick winter weather. I would HIGHLY recommend this property to anyone looking for a great family getaway!!

  • Review Submitted: Dec 28, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Windermere
5

5 star property, Excellent location!!

  • 5 of 5

We love the Bryson City area and have been visited almost yearly for the past 15yrs, the area is beautiful, so much to do and it never gets old. Staying at Big Sky II made this vacation the most memorable we've ever spent in Bryson city. This mansion/cabin it's spacious yet cozy, everything on the listing was very accurate and all the amenities listed are in perfectly working order, the house was spotless and well maintained; definitely a plus on my book on the cleanliness.

My husband and me are very happy to have found this property and we will definitely book "Big Sky II" for our future vacations.

Thank you Charlie for trusting us with your amazing house and an A+++ for the great customer service.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 11, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

Nantahala Outdoor Center
Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Atlanta 3 hours Knoxville 1.5 hrs
Car: necessary

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday lodge in Almond, Bryson City Area

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Christmas/New Year
19 Dec 2016 - 2 Jan 2017
5 night minimum stay
£2,129
for 5 nights
From
£393
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
£1,212
for 3 nights
From
£349
£2,304
 

Additional pricing information

Property Damage Protection £62
Refundable Damage Deposit £158
cleaning fee £102
Tax Rate 10.75%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday lodge in Almond in North Carolina Mountains

Property Type:
  • lodge
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 4900 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • mountain
  • rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Security System
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • Master bath has shower and soaking tub, Main bathroom is on the main floor and between bedroom 2 and 3 on main floor. Upper loft has complete bathroom.
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Master Bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Large Double Bed , 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 5 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Double Bed , 2 Single Bed
  • ·Master bedroom: with master bath soaking tub, full shower and cedar walk in closet. Bedroom 2: Queen Bed, Bedroom 3: Queen Bed, Bedroom 4: Queen Bed and single Bedroom 5: Loft: a queen bed, and a triple bunk bed that folds out from a bottom couch to a double and the upper single .
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books - Fiction / Non-fiction
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Toys
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Gated Community
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Terrace
  • veranda
  • Wood Decking
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • forests
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • Babysitter
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • ski
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
The property is on the border of the National Forest. Behind the house is an emergency fire trail, and is a great mountain biking trail, in that it is 99% downhill for about 5 miles. Cars are not allowed on trail, and the Trail ends up within 1/4 mile of Tsali State Bike and Horse Park. We have a canoe available which is great for the lake and less turbulent area of the rivers.

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties