HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Suwannee River Escape - Cozy Cottage on the River

People6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview


Details
Property
cottage
People
6
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
2 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday cottage in Mayo - River Song Cottage

Cottage, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-6) 4 adults max w/ total of 6 guests max

Leave the city traffic and congestion FAR behind when you visit the River Song Cottage on the Historic Suwannee River. Shaded by giant oak trees this cottage features a large deck overlooking the river. Also a second large deck right on the bank of the river. This is the perfect place to escape, relax, enjoy the REAL Florida and all its wildlife.

Location is in Lafayette County, five miles north of Mayo. This is 35 miles (45 minutes) from Spirit of the Suwannee Music Park and 40 miles (55 minutes) from Stephen Foster Memorial Park.

Maximum # of guests is 6 (up to 4 adults) and is strictly enforced.

Snowbirds welcome! Check with us for deep discounts on extended stays in the months of NOVEMBER, DECEMBER, JANUARY, FEBRUARY, MARCH!

EMAIL FOR AVAILABILITY!!! We keep a master calendar on our properties and do not always update VRBO, so email with requested dates for quick availability check.

Lafayette Blue Springs State Park 1/4 mile down river, numerous natural springs nearby. Just 30 miles from the Gulf Coast beaches. 25 miles to Spirit of the Suwannee Music park. 30 miles to Steinhatchee. 35 Miles to the Ichetucknee River State Park for tubing on a crystal clear spring-fed river. This area is a diver's paradise!

45 Miles to Wild Adventures Amusement and Water Park - awesome rides, water park and live music shows included in ticket price. Loads of fun without the crowds and traffic of Central Florida theme parks.

The Cottage is completely furnished and has recently been renovated with new carpet and ceramic tile. Bring your food and fishing pole. There is a boat launch within one mile. We have two canoes and a kayak on site, with paddles and life vests. This is a great get away for couples or active families! The interior is nicely decorated.

Initial contact via email is preferred and we will send additional information on the property including a list of frequently asked questions.

Keywords: Riverfront Cottage, Cabin on the Suwannee, Kayaking, Outdoors, Deck over the water

More Details
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2003
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
6 November, 2016

Why The Owner chose Florida

This is one of the few remaining sections of Florida that are unspoiled by developers. We experience true Florida life here.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(9 traveller reviews)

Suwannee River Escape - Cozy Cottage on the River
average rating of 4.5555553 based on 9 reviews
Miami Springs
5

Nice place to enjoy nature

  • 5 of 5

I enjoy the ospreys, the soothing sounds of nature a plus is the proximity of th Lafayette Blue Springs, where you forget about the humidity and the heat,

  • Review Submitted: Jul 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

The Suwannee was awesome!

  • 2 of 5

My bride and I rented the cottage for three nights to celebrate our 27 year anniversary and do some kayaking. We arrive and everything as going good until we started down the decks that lead to the river. The top portion of the deck was okay, it had a nice view of the river. The stairs going to the next level were very unstable not real safe.WOW!!! Then we saw the part of the stairs leading to the lower portion of the deck. Boards had been nailed across it because the lower portion was almost completely gone. There was no safe way to access the river, the deck that was left was busted up with exposed nails and broken boards. We managed to carefully climb down to the river bank with our cooler and gear on this broken deck.We had to use a winch that the owner had set up to lower and raise their canoes to and from the river bank to get our tandem kayak down.It would have been less wear on our kayak if we could have carried it down. The owner states in the cottage instructions to use the winch if using canoes and to carry kayaks down using the deck. The owner also states in item #11RISK AND RESPONSIBILITY: of the rental agreement that they are not liable for incidents or injury due to unknown damage to decks. I would be okay with that but it's clear that they knew that the deck access to the river was damaged, it was boarded up. We should have been told about the deck when we talked to them to rent. We emailed them when we saw the problem with the deck thinking in good faith they would offer a little compensation for the inconvenience. The response we got was they were not responsible for the inconvenience.I guess this falls under the RISK part, you take the risk that you will not be told that the deck is damaged and there is no easy river access.

Except for the deck issue the trip was good.I think my Beautiful Bride will keep me around another 27 years.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm sorry if that spoiled your trip! Because of the rise and fall of the river and being off-site owners, it is a little difficult to detect whether or not there is damage to the bottom steps. We do repair them if there is damage, when the river goes down, but we were not aware of the problem prior to your arrival. We can't guarantee their condition, which is why we have that risk clause. There are several local boat ramps as well as alternative docks we can use if we have enough heads up to contact the neighboring owners. All of the property owners on that street work together in the event one of us finds ourselves with damage. I apologize, I thought you made out okay when I didn't hear a response to my message trying to assess the situation. Thank you for the heads up. We've sent our contractor out to make the repairs. We'll be sure to have that lined up in the future. We haven't had any trouble with it in a long time. Thank you for staying with us!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Relaxing country feel

  • 4 of 5

The view was amazing; the stars at night were breathtaking; the cottage was cozy and quaint. We loved the renovated look and furniture. The only details that I'll point out that could be improved were as follows- the A/C blows from floor vents, so it doesn't stay that cool. The stairway to the river was broken, so there was no way to get to the water. The wifi and satellite TV did not work. And there are only 2 beds and a sectional sofa (which doesn't pull out), so it's a tight squeeze for 6 people. But overall a great spot which we thoroughly enjoyed!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. I think the a/c was actually going out when you stayed because it died on us and we had to have someone go out & repair it this weekend. I just noticed your review, otherwise, I'd have sent someone out sooner. It typically stays very cool, so that would have been a red flag for me. I apologize for the internet. There was an issue during the remodel that I wasn't aware of. I was not aware there was no tv? Our other guests have not had any trouble with the tv. I will send someone out to check that, though. Thank you for the info! Hopefully, we've worked out all of the "kinks" since the remodel. I hope you'll try us out again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect 10 year anniversary getaway

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I just loved the place. Very quite and beautiful. Loved just relaxing and enjoying the area. I was tickled that I caught a fish and he didn't. Everything was perfect, so didn't want to come back home..but back to reality.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
SW Georgia
5

Another great stay at the Suwannee River

  • 5 of 5

What can I say? Another great stay. We stayed for 4 nights for part of our spring break. Our 10 year old twins LOVED the cottage, the outdoors & had a great time. We brought our corn hole game, baseball gloves, flashlights, hotdog & marshmallow roasting sticks & had the BEST time. Day trips to Mayo city park, LaFayette Blue Springs were lovely. We had LaFayette to ourselves. Springs were browned out there & at Fanning Springs so no swimming there. We went further down one day with a cooler & picnic to Manatee Springs-kids had a blast swimming in the spring run. We grilled out, baked a lasagna, grilled out some more, did fire pit every night, ate on the deck & had tons of fun. I HIGHLY recommend if your children/family are "outdoorsy" kinds of folks. It was nice to finally meet Cassie after a couple of years of renting her properties. We are still hoping to be able to find a time to rent the beach house. :) This property is centrally located to many of the local springs if people are interested in diving. We sure did have a great time exploring the area with our children. If you are on a romantic get away, we highly recommend The Great Outdoors Restaurant for a special lunch or dinner. We did not go on this trip, as we had kids with us, but it was a recommendation from Cassie that was great. The beds are so comfortable-we called the master bedroom bed "the cloud" as the mattress topper was heavenly. So different from our Cub Scout/Girl Scout/softball/baseball busy lives. We slowed down & enjoyed some family time at the river. :)

  • Review Submitted: Apr 25, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
pavillion, wy
5

fun cottage

  • 5 of 5

We spent a week in this cottage and while the weather didn't cooperate with us, we had a marvelous time. River was some 8 feet above it's normal level and each morning we would go out to see how high it had risen. We didn't get to use the kayaks but hope to return and rectify that. Beds were comfortable and all the kitchen utensils you would need were available. Even a piano which my husband made use of. Mayo was just down the road with a nice little grocery store and excellent meat. Folder in the cottage with lots of ideas and suggestions of places to visit.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 23, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Location

Nearest Barpub
45 Miles
High Springs
Nearest Motorway
15 Miles
I-10
Nearest Restaurant
10 Miles
Mayo
Car: necessary

Spirit of the Suwannee Music Park, State Parks, Natural Springs, Ichetucknee River Tubing, Lafayette Blue Springs State Park, One hour drive to Wild Adventures Theme Park in Georgia.

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Mayo, Florida North Central Gulf Coast

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Off-Season Rate (not holidays)
28 Oct 2016 - 28 Feb 2017
2 night minimum stay
£238
for 2 nights
From
£79
£556
£1,271
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£278
for 2 nights
From
£99
£675
£2,280
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £79

Please send an email with the dates you would like to stay, so we can check availability. When you are ready to make your reservation, we will send you an email via Pay Pal, where you can pay by checking account, debit or credit card. Rates and nightly minimum are subject to change without notice.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Mayo, USA

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Location Type:
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Bathroom is small with only a shower, no tub.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • King size beds (1), Queen (1) Both are very comfortable!, L-shaped sofa can sleep children.
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Player
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Barbecue ...
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • Boating
  • sight seeing
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • rafting
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • swimming
Notes:
Cable TV, Digital piano, VCR movies, Music CDs, Coffee, 2 Canoes, 1 Kayak, Paddles, Lifevests, Small firepit outside.

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties