HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

The Owner

Member since: 2005
Speaks English

8 BR / 4 BA Spacious Ocean View Home with Pool - Perfect for Groups and Reunions

31 Reviews
People16
Bedrooms 8
Bathrooms4
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 - 10 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview

Photos and Description of this 8 bedroom holiday home in Niu Valley - Halemana

House, 8 Bedrooms + 4 Full Baths, Lots of space (Sleeps 16)

Aloha, half of the home will be undergoing wonderful improvements from October 2016 to March 2017 which will give it a brand new fresh look and make it larger with a new 2nd story and grand entrance added. The King and Queen bedroom sizes are also pretty large. Be among the first to get into the new house! You can see the pictures included and each picture tells what will change and what will stay the same. Pictures listing what will stay the same are shown first.

The home was already getting great reviews before the new improvements and now it will be even better. When completed, the home will have 8 bedrooms (1 King, 6 Queen and 1 bedroom with two twin beds) along with 4 full bathrooms, a brand new large kitchen and living areas. There are also two single couches for extra beds and a futon couch in the upstairs Queen bedroom that turns into a bed for extra guests and I have the extra bedding. There is a drawing in the photo section which shows the new outside view of the home with the soon to be brand new grand entrance and newly added 2nd story. Book now!

This home is a large 5,500 square foot 8 bedroom / 4 full bath ocean view paradise centrally located in a prestigious neighborhood in Honolulu. You can have multiple families and not feel crowded with lots of space. It is located across the street from the ocean and there is room for three to four cars in the driveway and free street parking. The home has an ocean view from the second story and it is just a short 5 to 15 minute drive to the best beaches because of the great central location.

We include towels, bath soap and basic needs to get you started. There are some boogie boards, beach chairs, beach toys, DVD's and board games as well. There are 2 washer/dryers and free Wifi access.

The drive from the Honolulu International Airport to the home is around 20 minutes, Waikiki is around 10 minutes, Hanauma Bay (a must see for fish and snorkeling) is 5 minutes, Sea Life Park (to see the dolphins) is 10 minutes and Hawaii Kai Golf Course is 10 minutes away. There are three shopping centers 5 minutes away with restaurants, a Costco, supermarkets, drug stores and a multi-plex movie theater. You can also have fun with water sports like jet skiing, jet pack, scuba diving and para-sailing at Koko Marina Shopping Center at H20 Sports Hawaii, 5 minutes away. The entire house sleeps up to 14 guests comfortably. Sorry no pets. This is a non-smoking rental, but smoking outside is okay.

Like most homes and hotels in the tropical climate of Hawaii, our large private pool is not heated and will occasionally be colder in the few winter months as is usual in Hawaii. The private neighborhood dock that sits on the ocean is just a beautiful view see since the water is shallow and isn't good for diving or swimming. It's best to just take the short 5 to 15 drive to some of the best beaches in the world. Book Now!

Keywords: Ocean View, Vacation Home, House, large home, large pool, second story, home

More Details
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
The Owner (Owner)
Member since: 2005
Speaks English

About The Owner

Please have a wonderful stay at this large ocean view home.

Why The Owner chose Honolulu

Beautiful central location. Close to Waikiki and beaches up the coast like Hanauma Bay.

What makes this house unique

Spacious home with ocean view and pool. Two shopping centers 5 minutes away with restaurants, a Costco, supermarkets, a drug store, and a multi-plex movie theater. Jet skiing, diving, and parasailing tours 5 minutes away at Kokio Marina Shopping Center at H20 Sports Hawaii.

Reviews

4.6
based on 31 holidaymaker reviews

8 BR / 4 BA Spacious Ocean View Home with Pool - Perfect for Groups and Reunions
average rating of 4.612903 based on 31 reviews
5

Beautiful home in a great location! Perfect for multiple familes

  • 5 of 5

We just returned from our week stay in the home in Honolulu. We had plenty of room for the 12 of us in this home. It was nice to have room to spread out and not feel cramped like a hotel can make you feel. We were very busy on this trip and it was also helpful to have the linens, towels, laundry detergent, paper goods and kitchen condiments all ready there. We used the grill a few times for dinner and almost every day used the pool. The rooms have individual air units and were comfortable. The main kitchen and bathrooms were warm but if you used a fan, it was fine. This house is so close to many things including a Costco! Go there and get the fresh pineapple and Poke bowls. The pier is also pretty for pictures and watching people fish. Overall, great trip! Rick and Cynthia were very easy to work with and we would stay there again! We miss it already! Mahalo

  • Review Submitted: Aug 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

In town for a family wedding

  • 5 of 5

Our group of 16 (3 generations aged 1-76; from 2 countries/2 states/5 cities) congregated for a local relative's wedding in Waikiki. This home was a perfect fit for us; we felt welcomed the minute we walked into the home, it is very convenient to a lot of amenities, and a quick drive to points of interest like Koko Head, and Hanauma Bay. The home has a lot of communal space yet enough privacy when we needed it. We ate most of our meals in the home and even had some other relatives (both local and staying at other rentals) come over for a large family dinner and we didn't feel cramped. The pool was great too! The driveway had enough space to comfortably park our rental and there is lots of street parking. We made good use of both fridges but only cooked in the downstairs kitchen. We only used the indoor washer and dryer and we had them going a lot. The barbecue got a lot of use too. We all enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again. Mahalo to Cynthia and Rick for making our trip so enjoyable!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Nice for Large Group

  • 4 of 5

This property is wonderfully located half-way between the beaches and resorts of Waikiki and the great snorkelling, boogie boarding and sites of Hanama Bay and the South and East Coasts. Costco and shopping centers were conveniently located for necessities. The owner is wonderful to work with and highly responsive. The house is somewhat dated and not actually on the water, but the pool is wonderful, and the house well furnished with good beds and everything you need for a great family vacation. Each room is furnished with window air conditioners, but for most days the trade winds maintain a comfortable temperature without need to use them. Boogie boards, beach equipment, and pool play toys are available in the house. The house comfortably accommodated our party of 16 and was a wonderful base for our excursions.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great family reunion

  • 5 of 5

Review

We chose this home to have our family reunion the week of May 14, 2016. We are a large family and this home had enough rooms for us. The family/living room was spacious and the bedrooms were comfortable except for one of the single beds. It is a little worn out but still okay. I would have loved to have more pillows for some of us with back pains but everything was good. Some of us use the pool when we got there and had much fun. We used the grill to cook Texas steak and enjoyed the togetherness. The kids enjoyed the pool all throughout our stay. We put our niece with a toddler in the second floor bedroom and they were able to use the kitchen to cook some kiddy stuff. But we mostly used the kitchen downstairs as we liked its layout. Having 2 washers was great and having supplies readily available was very convenient. The bathrooms were in fine condition although it was a bit challenging as two of them are en-suite. We had a really great vacation and we loved the house. Everyone had fun and we created lots of memories.

Cynthia and her son were very helpful and kind. The detailed information and recommendations were very useful and the home location was the best for us.

I would not hesitate to rent this house again if in the future we decide to go back to Oahu.

Thank you Cynthia for opening your home to us. And please thank your son for us.

  • Review Submitted: May 24, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Vangie for the nice review! Half of the home will be going under a rebuild later in 2016 with a new second story added and the two newly built bathrooms will be outside of the bedrooms leaving only one bedroom with the twin beds en-suite. I will be adding more pillows and getting new twin beds during the rebuild.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Graduation Celebration with family (May 7-14, 2016)

  • 5 of 5

We have been to Honolulu many times over the past few years and have always stayed in hotels.(our daughter attended Hawaii Pacific University) She graduated with her Masters on May 12th so we decided to invite family and booked this wonderful, big house for our vacation/celebration. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and found it so relaxing compared to the craziness of Waikiki. The house is in a peaceful,quiet, upscale neighborhood- the pool and backyard were private and there was plenty of room inside for all of us to have our own space. The kitchen was well stocked with everything we needed (including many condiments) and the barbecue was brand new! The owner graciously allowed our daughter to check it out a few months prior to our arrival (and send me pictures ) and also to drop off groceries, etc. earlier on the day of our arrival. The house is not new and the bathrooms could use updating (which I understand will be happening soon) but it is clean,comfortable and well maintained. The location in Honolulu is perfect with easy access to highways, beaches and many attractions. The owner always got back to me quickly with any questions I had prior to our arrival. I would highly recommend this property if you are visiting Honolulu with a large group of people!

  • Review Submitted: May 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha Elaine, thank you for the nice review! It is true that the home will be undergoing a rebuild for a few months later this year on half of the home with an additional second story.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Mill City, Oregon
4

Family Vacation

  • 4 of 5

We took a family vacation in April 2015 and stayed in this home. There were 16 of us ranging in age from 22-67. The bedrooms were all very nice and comfortable. I will note that one of the bedrooms upstairs is not enclosed, and as stated in another review, is not private. However, they did have panels that you could have put up if that is a concern for you. My parents stayed in that room and they are early risers so that was not an issue. The balcony upstairs did have a nice peek-a-boo view of the ocean which was beautiful. We had coffee up there most days. The kitchen upstairs is more dated than downstairs and we did not use it much other than the refrigerator to keep drinks in. The shower upstairs is also kind of interestingly shaped and most people did not prefer to use it, however, it is functional. The living area is perfect for large groups, we had plenty of room. The pool is not warm but we did get in it several days and that was in April. Cynthia and her son were very great to work with. The pool light was not working and her son came over and replaced it while most of us were gone for the day. Having two washers was great! The bathrooms were in fine condition for what we needed and there were plenty of towels. The house is an older home and is a little more dated than the pictures show. You will need a car if you stay here. All in all we had a very nice stay.

  • Review Submitted: Mar 22, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Hanauma Bay Marine Preserve
"Great for family snorkeling."
Sea Life Park
"Fun to see and swim with dolphins. Also has a great luau at night."
Bellows Field Beach Park
"Great family beach for boogie boarding. Only open Friday afternoon and the weekend."
Chief's Lu'au at Sea Life Park
"Great luau at Sea Life Park. www.ChiefsLuau.com"
Foodland Farms Aina Haina
"Nearby supermarket 5 minutes away and shopping area with McDonald's."
Hawaii Kai Shopping Center
"Shopping center 5 minutes away with restaurants, Costco, a supermarket, and a drugs store."
Koko Marina Center
"Another close by shopping center 5 minutes away with restaurants, 8 plex movie theater, Koko..."
Kahala Mall Shopping Center
"A shopping center 10 minutes away with restaurants, multi-show movie theater, and shopping."
Nearest Airport
14 Miles
Honolulu International Airport
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
A few different bars and restuarants
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Hawaii Kai Golf Course
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Kalanianaole Hwy
Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
A few different restaurants
Nearest Beach
4 Miles
Hanauma Bay (Great for family snorkeling)
Car: recommended

In Hawaii everything is relatively close by. You won't have to go very far to do almost anything you want!

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Niu Valley, Oahu

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Winter 2017
22 Sep 2017 - 17 Dec 2017
7 night minimum stay
£8,893
for 7 nights
From
£1,227
 
 
Christmas
18 Dec 2017 - 28 Dec 2017
10 night minimum stay
£13,453
for 10 nights
From
£1,315
 
 
New Year's
29 Dec 2017 - 7 Jan 2018
7 night minimum stay
£9,508
for 7 nights
From
£1,315
 
 
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
£7,046
for 7 nights
From
£963
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning £305
Refundable Damage Deposit £232
Tax Rate 13.96%

To reserve there is a 50% initial payment. The 50% initial payment is refundable if you cancel 60 days prior to your arrival.

*For Christmas and New Year's dates I book them separately at $1,495 per night. I have a 10 night minimum over Christmas from December 18th to 28th or 19th to 29th and New Year's dates are from from December 28th or 29th with a 7 night minimum. To reserve holiday dates there is a 50% initial payment. The 50% initial payment is refundable if you cancel 90 days prior to your arrival for holiday dates.

Payment by check or credit card is accepted.
Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates to see total
Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Niu Valley in Oahu

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 5500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • near the sea
  • Ocean View ...
  • town
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone ...
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Upstairs bathroom
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Downstairs bathroom
    Bathroom 4 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Downstairs bathroom
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Upstairs bathroom
  • There are four full bathrooms.
Bedrooms:
  • 8 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • 1st Floor Queen Bedroom #1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    1st Floor Queen Bedroom #2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    2nd Floor King Bedroom - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    2nd Floor Queen Bedroom #1 with Futon Couch (Can use as bed) - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon
    2nd Floor Queen Bedroom #2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    2nd Floor Queen Bedroom #3 - 1 Large Double Bed
    2nd Floor Queen Bedroom #4 - 1 Large Double Bed
    1st Floor Bedroom #3 with 2 Twin Beds - 2 Single Bed
  • There are also two single couches for extra beds and a futon couch in the upstairs Queen bedroom that turns into a bed for extra guests and I have the extra bedding.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Deck Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Golf ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Wood Decking
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • bay
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • forests
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • volcano
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • luaus
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • paragliding
  • Parasailing
  • Rock Climbing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Plenty of space and Free Wifi. There are some boogie boards, beach chairs, beach toys, DVD's and board games as well.

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties