HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Cozy Log Home in the Woods

Bedrooms 3
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights
Popular Features
  • Washing Machine
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Air Conditioning
  • Barbecue
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Hot Tub


About the property

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed, 3 Baths, (Sleeps 8)

This hand-crafted, custom built log home sits on 17 heavily wooded acres, yet is conveniently located between Bloomington and Nashville. At Back to Nature Cabin you will experience year round spectacular views of the State Forest and an abundance of wildlife.

For the outdoor enthusiasts, there are neighboring horse trails and hiking trails through Yellowwood State Forest, and Lake Monroe and Lake Yellowwood are nearby for you to rent a boat or go fishing. Back to Nature Cabin is the ideal place for your honeymoon, family vacation, girls' weekend, or for a vacation with friends.

Come "Back to Nature!"

Keywords: Log Cabin

More Details

Suzanne Sharp
Member since: 2008
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
27 May, 2017

About Suzanne Sharp

Designed and hand built by the owner

What makes this cabin unique

Nestled back into the woods...very secluded! Bordered by the Yellowwood State Forest. A 15 minute drive either way from the village of Nashville or the city of Bloomington, IN. Also, 15 minutes from Indiana University, Bloomington.

Guestbook comments from the owner

"We had the best time, and I'm not

exaggerating when I tell you it was the best Thanksgiving I've had since I was a

kid. I feel nice and relaxed and wonderful. I was so pleased at how well kept and

supplied the cabin is. I brought half my kitchen with me, just in case, and didn't

need most of it. We had a lovely meal and my whole family is grateful for your

Nov 2013
  • 1 of 2


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in Bloomington in Monroe County

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • rural ...
  • village ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Video Player
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • Miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • Hot Air Ballooning
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • Parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • Racquetball
  • sailing
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • caving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing


3.7/5 -
(6 traveller reviews)

Cozy Log Home in the Woods
average rating of 3.6666667 based on 8 reviews

Great cabin!

  • 4 of 5

Had a great time in this cabin during a wedding weekend recently! Easy to navigate to, just remember to take it easy on the winding back roads that lead to the cabin and you'll be a-ok. Very spacious with multiple decks and common areas to hang out in with a well equipped kitchen. The hot tub was our only disappointment as the jets only half work.

Great price and friendly owners! We enjoyed it so much we're thinking about staying again in the late fall.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 16, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind comments, Beth! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and would welcome you back in any of our cabins. We are looking into the problem you mentioned with the hot tub jets. Thanks for the heads up!
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Nice cabin, not great amenities, owners seem to not be interested in guests

  • 2 of 5

This is a review of "The Lake House", not the other cabins, as I think they are all different.

If you don't want to read a long review; this is a nice cabin for a decent price. There are some good activities, but not a lot. Its not on a lake and there are a number of things that could be upgraded to make the stay stand out.

my two star review is based on a nice cabin, that was pretty much as advertised, but that could have a number of improvements (many of them being free or very cheap), that would bring it to a 3 star experience. I would have appreciated a little more timely responsiveness from the owners. I also wish I had a bit more secluded and "back to nature" of a cabin. That being said, with internet, 2 couples and 3 days in the winter and some more options for TV, this could be a very nice little retreat.

Random thoughts: you are only about 15 minutes from the nice downtown with places to eat and shop. There is a place for a fire outside, but where do I get firewood? That would have been nice to know. As well as let me know a little bit more (from a personal perspective) about where to go and what to do in the neighborhood.

  • Review Submitted: May 23, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: JUST A FRIENDLY CLARIFICATION...this reviewer did not stay at the Back to Nature Cabin, the property where he posted his comments. And to avoid confusion to our guests...the Back to Nature Cabin is very secluded (.25 miles off a country road into the woods, to be exact!) and traditional Internet service is not available there. Our guests are welcome to gather loose wood from the property (17.5 acres!) for their camp fires. This cabin is 15 minutes from Lake Monroe, 10 minutes from the Brown County State Park, and 15 minutes to either Bloomington or little Nashville. There is so much to do! Our guests usually look at the list of suggested attractions on our website or contact us via email or phone for further suggestions. We are proud to share our little bit of nature with those who truly enjoy being "back to nature!"
Did you find this review helpful?
4 10
St. Louis


  • 5 of 5

We traveled with 2 other couples and found the cabin to be a wonderful place to relax and enjoy the beautiful surroundings. The cabin is spacious, clean, and comfortable. It exceeded our expectations.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 17, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 2

Great Property and Great Owners!

  • 5 of 5

I am the best man in my friend's wedding and we decided to get a cabin right outside of IU's campus where we all went to school. I cannot speak highly enough of this cabin or the owners of this cabin. The places was everything we could've asked for and more. Suzanne and her husband were absolutely incredible as well. We saw them one time and it was right at checkout time. We were a little behind on getting out of there, but they were more than happy to leave us alone for an extra hour or two to get our stuff together and leave. For the cost of this cabin, I am confident that you cannot beat it. I will absolutely be back if I'm ever looking for a weekend getaway in Brown County, and I would HIGHLY recommend this to anyone else as well.

Thank you so much Back To Nature!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 23, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1
Sarasota, Fl.

Great Family Weekend at Back to Nature Cabin

  • 5 of 5

Our family spent a wonderful four-day weekend here. It could not have been better. The house was clean and had everything we could want, including dinner settings for 10 people. We loved the fact that every room opens to a deck with a fabulous view and seating. It rained for two days but that didn't matter because many of the decks are covered and there is a game room with pool table, dart board and cd player. The BBQ is also terrific.

The road to the house is winding and becomes dirt at the end, which just added to the adventure and the seclusion. It also made for great walks through the woods.

We have rented many vacation homes and this one ranked as one of the most accommodating, comfortable and fun.

  • Review Submitted: May 10, 2013
  • Date of Stay: May 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Forest Park, IL


  • 1 of 5

The road leading to the cabin was a one-lane gravel road with a huge drop-off and it was full of pot holes and a raised center. Our car bottomed out a few times. If you're a biker, forget it! The yard was littered with beer cans, plastic bags, etc....

The grill was nasty dirty. No grill brush, no scoop for the ashes, ashes overflowing the bucket and our contract said that the grill should be clean and scooped out. I guess they don't bother to check.

The cabin was very dirty! The kitchen had dirty, moldy dishes in the dishwasher (as if someone waited weeks to run it), the cabinets and drawers were filthy and everytime I pulled up a chair or opened a cabinet, or touched a drawer-pull, it was sticky. I found myself washing my hands several times and then just gave up and cleaned everything myself. I also rewashed the dishes in the cabinets and drawers, because there was dirt and grease in the those receptacles as well.

The blinds in every room were caked with dirt and I began to wonder if these people EVER clean the place! I felt yucky sleeping in the bed....the sheets were thread-bare. We had the added pleasure of killing three wasps that were flying around our room in the morning. When we removed the sheets from the bed at the end of our stay, there were yellow stains on the mattress and pillows. Yuck.

The fireplace didn't work at all. I called the owner about this and didn't receive a call back till the following afternoon (after several calls and a couple of emails). He was argumentative and condescending. Not good customer relations!

The hot tub wasn't working properly on the second night. The temperature wouldn't go past 92 degrees and we froze. (It was 40 degrees outside.) It was warm enough for us to climb in, but then we realized that it wasn't warm enough to stay in. ugh. It was awful!


  • Review Submitted: Apr 25, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear KR...We appreciate your input and are very sorry that you had a poor experience when you rented one of our cabins recently. If any of our guests are not satisfied, we try to make things right.... as we attempted to do with several emails and phone contacts to you during your stay, and the credit we applied to your account for the inconveniences you expressed. In our defense, we feel that many of your comments have been exaggerated due to your apparent frustration with the situation. We take pride in our cabins and attend to their amenities and cleanliness with great concern for the well being of our guests. Back to Nature Cabins has been serving guests for 7 years, and most of our customers are very satisfied and often return again. Indeed, as with any other small business, sometimes it is good to hear about things upon which we might improve. Thank you for your feedback.
Did you find this review helpful?
8 9



Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cabin in Bloomington, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
Spring 2017
1 Mar 2017 - 31 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £26 per night, per additional guest
Summer, Fall, Dec. 2017
1 Jun 2017 - 31 Dec 2017
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £26 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights

Additional pricing information

Tax Rate 12.0%


Stay two week nights and get your third week night FREE! (Pertains to Sunday through Thursday; excludes weekends, holidays and the month of October.)
WINTER SPECIAL: Stay one night during the week in January or February, and get next night FREE! (Excludes Friday and Saturday nights.)
Stay 6 nights and get the 7th night free!

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now

Special Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar holiday rentals