HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

March 17 weekend available- Luxury House Near Slopes w/ Resort Membership

Bedrooms 3
Separate WC's2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


Minimum Stay
2 - 3 nights

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

Luxury house located on Wintergreen Mountain golf course and near ski slopes. Jan and Feb weekends sold out We still have Jan/Feb mid-week availability and some March weekends still available. Book now for the Spring and Summer. House is located on the mountain golf course.

We have exclusive Wintergreen resort passes which give our guests access to resort amenities that are closed to the public including the Spa/Fitness Center; Tennis Courts; Mountain Golf Course etc. (fees apply for these amenities). We also have a private/special Parking permit for premium parking right on slopes lots during ski season.

3500+sq ft Gorgeous/Custom Built House *** Two Master Bedroom/Bath Suites with flat screen TV's *** FREE Wi-Fi *** FREE long-distance calling in the US/Canada *** Wii & X-box/Kinect Games *** Foosball Table *** Elliptical exercise equipment ***

House located on mountain golf course and in very popular area of the resort. We offer morning check-ins and late check-outs at no additional charge as long as there are no conflicting reservations on day of arrival/departure.

Our house is located right on the Wintergreen mountain golf course. Perfect location for year round. After the last Golf tee time of the day, you can walk out a few yards to the third hole from our deck and practice a few hits or even golf at no charge (Holes #4, #5 and #6 are all an easy walking distance from our house). We even have a few golf sets at the house for our guests.

This beautiful mountain house sleeps six to eight easily: with two master bedroom suites, each with a king-size bed, large bathroom suite and flat screen TV's. Perfect for a couple who wants to have a nice spacious place for a get-a-way, and equally perfect for two families due to size and the lay-out of the house. Have an infant or toddler? We have all the basic amenities (in a separate closet) you need so you won't have to bring them - e.g. pack-n-play; bouncy seat; infant tub; high-chair; toys, strollers, DVD's etc.

The place is also appropriate for those requiring extra assistance in accessing and getting around in the house (i.e. with stairs/steps). The main level is huge and has all the main rooms/amenities on that level (master bedroom and bath; laundry room; living room; dining room; kitchen and deck).

The first master bedroom, located on the first floor, is stunning with a beautiful six piece cherry wood bedroom set. It has cathedral ceilings both in the room and master bathroom suite which includes a jacuzzi tub. This bedroom has a separate access to the deck with gazebo. The second master bedroom suite/bath, located on the second level, is beautifully decorated with oriental rugs. It has a small balcony and a sizeable sitting/reading area. The third bedroom, also located on the second floor, has two twin beds and separate bath. The beds can be joined to make it into a king bed if requested. This third room also have a flat screen TV. The second floor has a large loft area suitable for children to play around and even have a sleepover/campout.

There is also a sofa bed available on the main level to give you room for eight, if required. All bedrooms, living room and kitchen area have wood ceiling fans. The house has an enclosed garage which is perfect for winter weather. We have a very large mudroom which is perfect to store all your ski and/or golf equipment, suitcases etc.

The living area is this rental's real highlight! With a large open living room, wood burning fireplace (perfect for S'mores), entertainment center, a DVD/VHS library selection with over 100+ movies(includes a great DVD/VHS selection for children) and over 20 board games/puzzels - you'll be living in Mountain Luxury! Our book library has a selection of 'classic' books. We have firewood at the house for our guests all year round. We even have some exercise equipment and a Foosball table.

The adjacent dining area seats six comfortably. With additional bar stool chairs at the kitchen, you can acoomodate more guests. On any warm or cool evening you may also enjoy dinner on the large deck with gazebo. Our patio furniture sits up to eight people. The well-equipped kitchen offers a full complement of cookware and appliances including a microwave, four-burner stove and oven, coffeepot, waffle maker; blender and more. We also have a grill for outside cooking.

Also, don't worry about other amenities like shampoo; conditioner; soap; dishwasher detergent; hairdryers, laundry detergent etc. We have premium coffee, tea and hot chocolate too for our guests. We provide those to our guests along with 400+ thread count bed linens and white bath towels. Also provided include paper towels, trash bags, toilet paper etc. You don't have to bring any of these items.

Located on top of the mountain and on the Devil's Knob Golf Course, we are down the street from the Devil's Knob Golf Course, Clubhouse and restaurant, as well as indoor/outdoor tennis courts. It is a short distance to the ski slopes, the Wintergarden Spa and Fitness Center, and the Nature Center. Old Appalachian Trail and many other great hiking trails are also nearby.

We have been renting our place since Oct 2008 and our guests who has stayed at our place have really liked it. They say the pictures don't do the place justice!

More Details

Michael and Gina Marie Hatheway
Member since: 2008
Speaks English, German, Spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
18 January, 2017

About Michael and Gina Marie Hatheway

We live in Northern VA and have been going to Wintergreen for over 12 years. It's our escape away from the busy and stressful (at times) Washington, DC area. We first discovered Wintergreen after a very tough medical condition I was diagnosed with (wasn't sure I would be able to walk again). We visited Wintergreen after a very tough surgery/recovery and just fell in love with it. We call Wintergreen our 'haven.' Our kids have grown up going there; some of they are still young and growing! We have had great memories there with family vacations, holidays etc. With our schedules being as busy as they are now (our kids have a lot of activities), we haven't been able to go as often and so we decided to rent it out so others can enjoy the place. We have repeated guests - some who consider the Wintergreen house as their second house as well.

Michael and Gina Marie Hatheway purchased this house in 2008

Why Michael and Gina Marie Hatheway chose Wintergreen

This is our second property at Wintergreen. We first bought a condo and while it was nice, we needed more space as we would want to invite friends and family when they would come to visit. When we started to look for homes (we saw 35+ homes) this one was by far our favorite. It's a beautiful, spacious, custom built house. We love it because we can invite another family to stay with us and we don't feel cramped. We can even invite two families. Everyone has their space. It is perfect also for our aging parents when they come to visit as everything is very accessible and there are hardly any steps etc. They can stay on the first level.

What makes this house unique

It's a custom built house with a lot of space. A lot of homes at Wintergreen are smaller than you may think (small square footage and the bedrooms are small etc.). We provide pretty much everything you will need for you stay; think of it as a turn-key house where you check in and don't have to worry about items you may have forgotten. We also have the resort membership which is an added benefit.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Following comment is from one of our rental guests named Diane from Culpepper, VA.

"Outstanding Experience. This property was everything that the description said and it was definitely more beautiful than the pictures. We had an excellent experience in dealing with the home owners, they were easy to work with and made the entire experience pleasant. There is always a fear factor when renting for the first time, but I have recommended using the Home Away Rental website to several people. We had a party that ranged from 20 months to adults and everyone enjoyed this property and the amenities of the resort. We would definitely recommend this property to friends and actually hope to return again ourselves.

Recommended for: Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway"
Aug 2009
  • 1 of 1


Exceptional! 5/5 -
(33 traveller reviews)

March 17 weekend available- Luxury House Near Slopes w/ Resort Membership
average rating of 4.969697 based on 34 reviews

Beautiful House!

  • 5 of 5

We recently stayed here for the NYE weekend in Wintergreen. The house was perfect and had everything we needed. It was very close to the resort and we had no problems using the passes or parking on the resort. The house was very spacious and very cozy.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 3, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Charlottesville, VA

Open, airy home

  • 4 of 5

The house is beautiful with tall ceilings, open rooms and great fireplace. Some of the amenities were a little dated/slightly warned (carpet, couches) and some lights didn't work, nor soap dispenser in Master BR. Otherwise it was lovely, and it is located close to "everything". The summer would be nice to enjoy the large deck.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 31, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ruth - We are glad to hear you had a good stay. The house is lovely and we have received nothing but 5 stars from our guests for the past 10+ years in renting properties through VRBO. I wish you had alerted us about the light bulbs and soap dispenser as we would have addressed the issue immediately and do all possible to 'make it right' for you and your family so you have a wonderful visit. We always reach out to the guests on the day of their arrival to make sure they got in fine and to inquire if they have any questions or concerns. We were unable to reach you despite several attempts in calling the house (hopefully you/your family were out skiing or enjoying WTG). :) The Christmas/New Years week is the busiest and most popular time of the year at Wintergreen (with multiple back to back rentals). We thank you for staying at the house and we wish you the very best this new year. If we may be of any assistance to you in the future, please let us know. Take care.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great place to stay in Wintergreen

  • 5 of 5

This was our fourth trip to Wintergreen for a fall weekend getaway, and our second time staying in this particular rental... The house is lovely, spacious, comfortable, clean, well-equipped and well-maintained. We enjoyed staying here and had a great time visiting wineries and breweries in the area, and then relaxing back at this lovely home at the end of the day.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 24, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lovely mountain retreat.

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed a wonderful weekend in Wintergreen staying at this property. The owners were fantastic and very accommodating. The kids loved the activities in the house and it's perfectly located. We look forward to a return trip.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 14, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Amazing House and Easy to Communicate Owner!!!

  • 5 of 5

Reviews are exact!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 23, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Siblings Get-together at Hatheway's Hideaway

  • 5 of 5

Three couples - brothers and sisters-in-law - met at the Hatheway's lovely mountain retreat for a week. The home was perfect for us, with plenty of open space for meals, conversations, Olympics watching, reading, and also private spaces in the three bedrooms. The outdoor deck overlooks the golf course and has lots of seating, and the charcoal grill is right there for delicious barbecues.

The house was very clean and well stocked, and when we couldn't find something, a call or email to Gina Marie brought an almost instant reply.

Living room furniture shows the wear of all those people who have come and gone but is comfortable enough. Readers found extra floor lamps, so all were happy. The open kitchen and dining make cooking and eating a pleasure for all. We expected to eat out but enjoyed bringing food in and/or cooking and grilling our own. Of course we visited the Blue Ridge Pig!

For flatlanders like me, those mountain roads were a challenge, both to drive and to walk, but once acclimated, we became adept at moving around the mountain and down to the valley.

We enjoyed the nearby pool. The golfers liked having access to the courses on the mountain and in the valley. We all enjoyed the easy drive to Monticello. It took until late in the week to discover local potters; we left arts and crafts brochures in the house and hope vacationers get a head start with them.

Gina Marie was very welcoming and helpful via email and telephone and made us feel as if this were our home for our week.

As each couple left, we agreed that we had enjoyed our time together and our visit to Wintergreen and the Hatheway home. Driving away (to North Carolina, South Carolina, and Indiana), we each had the pleasure of more beauty along the Blue Ridge Parkway.

We enjoyed our week at Wintergreen.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 14, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: necessary

WPI Resort Passes available to use throughout resort - can be used to facilities that are closed to the general public.

After the last Golf tee time of the day, you can walk out a few yards to the third hole from our deck and practice a few hits or even golf at no charge (Holes #4, #5 and #6 are all an easy walking distance from our house).

We even have two sets of golf clubs (right hand and left handed sets) and two golf pull cart (with wheels) for use.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Chestnut Springs, Central Virginia

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
Winter Ski Season
17 Jan 2017 - 16 Feb 2017
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
President's Day Weekend
17 Feb 2017 - 20 Feb 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
Winter-Feb (Non-Peak Holiday)
21 Feb 2017 - 20 Mar 2017
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
21 Mar 2017 - 25 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Memorial Day Weekend
26 May 2017 - 30 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights

Additional pricing information

Departure Cleaning Fee £102
Refundable Damage Deposit £244

NOTE: There is a departure cleaning fee of $145.
$400 nightly rate apply on holiday periods (Christmas/New Year's Weeks; MLK weekend; President's weekend; Easter weekend; Memorial Day weekend; 4th July week; Labor Day weekend; Columbus Day weekend; Thanksgiving Week.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Chestnut Springs in Central Virginia

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 3500 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Golf Course Front
  • Golf Course View
  • mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • resort
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 2 Separate WC's
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Jacuzzi
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 4 - Toilet
    Half Bathroom -
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • Each bathroom is very large with double sinks.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed
  • Bedooms are very large/spacious. Two master bedroom suites have full baths inside the suites. Third bedroom has two twins and it can be converted into a king bedroom.
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Player
  • Video Library ...
  • Balcony ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Gazebo
  • Barbecue
  • Wood Decking
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • limited accessibility ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Sauna ...
  • Jacuzzi ...
  • autumn foliage
  • forests
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • Horseshoes
  • Miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • ski pass optional
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • caving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Minimum age limit for renters: 25. No Smoking; No Pets We provide amenities including shampoo; conditioner; soap; hair dryers; dishwasher detergent; laundry detergent; coffee; tea; hot chocolate etc. We provide these to our guests along with 400+ thread count bed linens and white premium towels. WPI Membership included in house which gives you access to multiple Wintergreen facilities that are now closed to the public.

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot