HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Relaxing, beautiful walking and biking trails

People9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,480 sq. ft.
Property type cabin

Overview

About the property

3 bedrooms, 2 full baths, sleeps 8 plus plenty of parking

1480 sq foot A-frame, real hardwood floors. Three Percheron horses!! Property is on 23 acres. Fishing, boating, swimming, jet skiing nearby. Snowmobiling, snowshoe and ice skate in the winter. Tons of wildlife including moose, deer, elk, black bear, eagles, hawks, turkeys etc. Minutes from Priest Lake, Pend Oreille Lake and Sandpoint (with a city beach). Pets are welcome. It's great for weddings, family reunions, retreats, etc.

Plenty of parking for large family reumions and other types of events. Places to pitch tents. Fenced yard - pets must be in house, yard or on leash. May smoke outside.

Wildlife is various and abundant. 4 sets of eagles have built their nest in close proximity to the cabin; we feed the deer and elk in the winter. We have refurbished the entire house so the inside is virtually brand new. Close to Priest River, Hope, Sandpoint, Coeur D'Alene, City Beach, Pend Oreille Lake and River. On 23 acres.

More Details

Owner
Cathy
Member since: 2008
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
19 September, 2017

About Cathy

My husband Rocky and I bought the land in 1996. Rocky built the home himself in 1997; in fact he built almost every home around us. We love animals. We have five German Shepherds and three Percheron Draft Horses. We have 3 "babies." We rescued their father, Gus, the stallion in 1998 when he was 13. He crossed the rainbow bridge 3 years ago. We rescued the mother, Ebony, in 2007. We lost Ebony last year (2015). We are left with their three "children" - Blackjack (boy - foal) - born May 1, 2009; Pepperjack - (girl - filly) born April 30, 2010 and Hijack born April 30, 2011.

Cathy purchased this cabin in 1996

Why Cathy chose Lake Pend Oreille

In 1996, my daughter-in-law and I were sent on a trip to buy property in Idaho, Washington, Montana or Oregon. The very first place the realtor took us was Sandpoint. After we drove across the Long Bridge into Sandpoint, we knew we were home and we looked no further. My husband built their home. On our property, he built the A-frame and later a state-of-the-art dog kennel for me to breed and train German Shepherd dogs. We trained for police, protection, search and rescue, cadaver, companion, obedience (you can't always tell it with my 3 "pups" who are 3 years old. My husband changed the dog kennel into our current home in 2011. We live on the property but can't hear or see you unless you want or need something. We try to give you as much privacy as we can.

What makes this cabin unique

The list is too long. The house itself is comfortable and has tons of storage places and room for sleeping bags if needed. Wildlife is everywhere. We have 4 pair of nesting bald eagles nearby. Moose and deer are abundant along with black bear, geese, ducks, wild turkeys and more. We've fed the deer through the winter of 2015-16 and have up to 30 now hanging around.

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin on Sandpoint on Bonner County

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1480 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • pets considered
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • city centre ...
  • mountain ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • rural ...
  • Ski-In ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Firewood
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Shampoo
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , Huge deep jacuzzi tub - no jets - great bubbles though
  • It's a jacuzzi tub downstairs - the motor no longer works but it's a great size and gives perfect bubble baths for one or two adults and children as well.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 2 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Other - 1 Double Bed , 1 Sofa bed/Futon , You can bring air mattresses/sleeping bags
  • Sleeps max of 8 comfortably. However we rent by the night - not by the person so sleeping bags, air mattresses etc. can be used if there are more in your party. It is okay to bring a crib. If you want a family reunion, call us about camping sites and winnebego parking on site.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Bicycles ...
  • Terrace
  • Fully Fenced Property
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Wood Decking
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Whirlpool
  • Jacuzzi
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • festivals
  • forests
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • horse riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • ski pass optional
  • ski
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(24 traveller reviews)

66% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
8% Complete
Relaxing, beautiful walking and biking trails
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 24 reviews
5

Wild Wild Life

  • 5 of 5

My kids never saw deer walking by so close you could hit them with a frisbee. Our family made memories, took a billion pictures, and everyone wants to go back next year.

My daughter is turning 13 and wants to bring her best friend. My wife is now actually pricing kayaks online.

Beautiful setting, more amenties than expected, and overall I was not just comfortable - I felt like I belonged.

I live in Phoenix but we are seriously considering living up north part of the year now.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 5, 2009
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
1

Refusal to stay at Northern Exposure

  • 1 of 5

When we arrived, the house was full of flies. There are several loose boards on the deck that present a trip and fall hazard. There were only two bedrooms, not three as advertised. This was a problem for us as we were travelling with my daughter and her boyfriend. The house is located in the middle of nowhere. It is at least an hour from Priest Lake, not minutes. The laundry room was locked and not accessible to us. The musty, moldy smell coming from the downstairs bedroom was overwhelming and immediately set off my husband's allergies. At this point we decided it would be a health hazard to stay here. We attempted calling the owner as well as texting (as per the instructions on the welcome letter). We have never received a response. As we then had to rent two hotel rooms, it would have been nice to at least receive a partial refund but it doesn't appear that this will happen.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 28, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: 1. I received exactly one text from you stating you left the key on the counter 2. Homeaway doesn’t refund money unless you cancel before two weeks in advance – when you got here they moved your funds, not me 3. You stayed exactly 35 minutes (in the early afternoon) I know because we live in that home you passed by the Aframe – that was my husband you smiled and waved at when he went by 4. Homeaway shouldn’t even post this review – it is clear what you have done. You arrived as a couple yet you just had to rent 2 motel rooms. The upstairs is a divided loft –each with a bed and a closet so there are, in fact, 3 bedrooms 5. The home was professionally cleaned and there were no flies, no odors etc. ZERO health hazards – no truth at all to your complaints. It sounds like you are writing about the home in the Amityville Horror. 6. I had guests before and after you with zero problems 7. Secluded mountain get away is in your words in the middle of nowhere – you had the gps address when you first inquired (10 minutes from Sandpoint, 20 minutes from Priest River) - it's only 22 miles all on highway but you say it was at least an hour. It's only 30 minutes to Newport, WA 8. The note inside clearly told you that the laundry room was being remodeled (it was locked for insurance purposes and your stay was only for 2 nights. This is not an area that attracts flies - yellow jackets would be more likely Too bad you didn't stay for the beautiful night sky, the deer, elk, turkeys, eagles and our horses. Again you were here for 35 minutes. You did not have time to drive from here to Sandpoint or from here to Priest River. We had these dates reserved for you and passed up other inquiries due to your booking. You probably tried to cancel on the website and found out Homeaway would not allow it. Hope you enjoyed Sandpoint and your motel. God bless
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Spokane valley
4

Nice Retreat

  • 4 of 5

Spacious. Thanks for opening up your cabin to us

  • Review Submitted: Aug 21, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: You are so very welcome. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. God bless.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Where do you live?
5

Beautiful, private, nicely appointed and peaceful. Perfect for a romantic weekend away.

  • 5 of 5

Thoroughly enjoyed 3 days at this lovely home. Owners were very accommodating, yet we actually never even saw them. Saw a doe with twin fawns & several wild turkey, just steps from the porch. Stars looked close enough to touch. The fireplace was wonderful. We are likely to return to this true gem nestled in the woods.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 29, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you - we enjoyed having you stay here. Yes we like to give our guests total privacy while they are here.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

A wonderful week in the woods

  • 4 of 5

Cathy’s vacation home is off the paved road in a quiet and relatively secluded area in the forest. It is an ideal place to watch deer and turkeys in the front yard in the early morning or as the evening light fades.

This comfortable home is open and stocked with enough dishware to prepare and serve a variety of meals. We cooked an entire Thanksgiving dinner at the house. The beds and bedding are comfortable and warm providing a great sleeping environment.

Areas of interest (Schweitzer and Lake Pend Oreille) are easily accessible from the home. Trails along the lake and pedestrian bridges can be reached in minutes.

The house was as advertised and we enjoyed ourselves.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you - you were five-star renters and if you come back, remind me because I always give repeat visitors a discount.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great for families and dogs

  • 4 of 5

Stayed here in February. Great experience. Fenced in area for pets. Not luxurious but the jacuzzi tub is a treat! Cold in the bottom level but there are heated blankets on the beds!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 21, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Yes, we used to live in the house and that huge bedroom downstairs was ours - during the hot months, that's the best place to sleep :) We hope to be doing upgrades this coming year We enjoyed having you. Remember, repeat visitors get a 10 percent discount
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Lake Pend Oreille
Schweitzer Mountain Resort Trails
Starbucks
Grouse Creek Falls
Joel's Mexican Food
Sandpoint Marina
Mountain Horse Adventures
Nearest Airport
90 Miles
Spokane International Airport
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Several
Nearest Ferry
10 Miles
City Beach
Nearest Golf
12 Miles
Country Club
Nearest Train
11 Miles
Amtrak
Nearest Motorway
1.5 Miles
Highway 200
Nearest Restaurant
10 Miles
Several
Nearest Ski
15 Miles
Schweitzer
Nearest Beach
10 Miles
City Beach
Car: necessary

Our A-frame is about 8 miles from Sandpoint, 11 from Schweitzer Mountain Ski Lodge, 10 from Priest Lake and Priest River. Close to the Pend Oreille River and Lake. Plenty of fishing.

Other Activities: Something is always going on - the Festival at Sandpoint, Lost in the 50's just to name a couple. We have several repeat renters like the one below:

We were guests at the cabin in 2007 and again in 2008. It is relaxing, and secluded. We saw several moose and a black bear during our second visit. We plan on visiting again in 2009 - it's like a home away from home.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cabin on Sandpoint, Northern Idaho

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Skiing hiking snow season
7 Sep - 8 May
1 night minimum stay
£185
for 1 night
From
£111
From
£111
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£740
£2,294
 
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
£241
for 1 night
From
£167
From
£167
Thu,Fri,Sat,Sun
£1,184
£3,034
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £74
Pet Fee £18.5

We will consider a negotiated fee if the other property you have found is comparable to ours.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable