HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Christa Cranston

Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks English

Joshua Tree El Coyote on 5 private acres set against the mountainside w/ Hot tub

55 Reviews
People6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview

Photos and Description of this 3 bedroom holiday home in Joshua Tree - Joshua Tree El Coyote

3 bedroom, 2 bath with views of JT National Park. Sleeps 1-6

This 3 bedroom, 2 bath secluded home sits at the end of a dead end street- no thru traffic..except for the bunnies and bobcats that make this their home as well. Sitting at the edge of the Batlett Mountain range, views of Joshua Tree National Park are the highlights of your sunrises and sunsets at this home. Nothing but moutains and rocks behind the home...hike for miles without seeing a soul.

Comfortable 3 bedroom/2 bath home with central air and heat. Three queen beds. Master bathroom has stand up shower and shared bath has shower/tub. Washer/dryer in home as well. Two queen beds in main house with shared bathroom. One queen bed in studio with master bathroom. Studio (20 feet from the main house) is opened when booking for more than 4 people, or you may pay extra to have the studio opened when booking for less than 4 people. Studio is never rented otherwise so you are are assured a private stay.

Big modern kitchen with dining table, bar with barstools, ice maker/filtered water in fridge, microwave, dishwasher, basic condiments and almost everything you can imagine to make most meals.

Free WiFi, large flat screen TV (Roku streaming player), DVD player, I-phone jack for music and stereo/CD player with large library of cd's and dvd's. New large sectional seating.

For more info: moonlight mesa retreats (dot) com

Pricing stated is for 2 people, nightly rate goes up $25/person after 2 people.

Complimentary whole bean coffee for all of our guests, sorry pets not allowed at this home.

Please see our other listings on VRBO # 165362, 584538, and 583449.

Keywords: House, Joshua Tree, California, Private, Vacation Rental

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Christa Cranston (Owner)
Member since: 2007
Call Owner
Speaks English

About Christa Cranston

After quitting our own business (Mark) and corporate job (me) and then selling our home with everything in it, we travelled the US in our motorhome for what came to be 6 wonderful years! We drove our motorhome to Joshua Tree in 2004 to visit friends and never left. It is a beautiful place!

Christa Cranston purchased this house in 2005

Why Christa Cranston chose California Desert

It's seclusion but close proximity to town makes this a lovely location. We love that it sits on a dead end street, never having to see or hear through traffic. Your neighbors are the rocks and mountains this home sits up against. Peace and quiet..

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you so much for letting us experience your house. You have excellent taste in everything from fence design to dishes. We felt right at home. It was so great to sit on the patio in the morning and evenings. We loved cooking in the kitchen with every gadget we could need. This house really has everything to make a perfect weekend where all you need is a trip to the grocery store and some good sneakers. We loved hiking in the park and coming home to our Joshua Tree house away from home. We loved it!
Jun 2010
  • 1 of 5

Reviews

4.9
based on 55 holidaymaker reviews

Joshua Tree El Coyote on 5 private acres set against the mountainside w/ Hot tub
average rating of 4.9454546 based on 60 reviews
San Francisco
5

Absolute fantastic property and location amid the Joshua Tree environment!!

  • 5 of 5

Excellent experience.....

I booked a week prior to our stay for just two of us; few days later I added two of our friends who wanted to come, and Christa gave me prompt replies to my questions and seamlessly added our guests to our reservation without hassle.

The property is private with a great cozy layout, and all the amenities. Great details throughout such as the hammock, hot tub, grill, claw bath tub, and wifi! I was pleasantly surprised the house sat on a bluff overlooking the valley below and the Joshua Tree horizon.

The only thing I would mention is we could not find a light over the outdoor grill, for evening cooking; but we may have just missed it, if it was there...

I have already sent details to a few friends about renting this great place in the future...

Oh, did I mention the crystal clear starry nights!!!!!!!

Best

Jayms Ramirez

  • Review Submitted: Sep 9, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words Jayms, I'm happy you enjoyed your stay. I love the location of the El Coyote home with the amazing views, I'm glad you enjoyed it as well. As for the bbq light, thank you! I see that it disappeared and we will replace it right away with another solar light. We hope to see you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful property!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I, along with our two daughters, had a fantastic stay. The house and property are everything as described. Such an amazing property with everything you need. We spent every day in Joshua Tree National Park (just a short distance away) and returning after a long day of hiking it was like coming "home". I needed to make a change to our reservations and Christa was very accommodating! Great location, great house, great experience. Would definitely rent from Christa again.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words Patricia! I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Couldn't have asked for a more perfect place!

  • 5 of 5

El Coyote exceeded our expectation and then some! The place was immaculate, very welcoming, and had everything we needed for a relaxing weekend to unplug and unwind away from the city. The photos of the house looked great online, but the place was even better in person. The location was quite amazing as there was a mountain side in the backyard which you could climb to watch the sunrise/sunset with an amazing view of the valley. With an outdoor grill, fireplace, and hot tub, it was a great way to hangout well into the night to the sounds of coyote packs howling around at night =)

The owner was very responsive and thorough with instructions/information regarding the house which made everything that much easier for us. I highly recommend El Coyote, and I'll definitely be coming back again for another session of R&R with friends! Thank you Christa!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 8, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay James! We try to make everyone's stay as stress free as possible. I'm glad you made use of all of the great things the house has to offer and we look forward to having you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Los Angeles, CA
5

an abundance of charm

  • 5 of 5

The perfect place for our group of six scramblers. Kitchen is well appointed. Plenty of outdoor eating and kick-it space. AC and sound system work great. Close to Joshua Tree. El Coyote had everything we wanted. Walk out the back door and climb a mountain. :)

  • Review Submitted: Aug 3, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Evan for your kind words. We also love all of the outdoor seating options at that house. I'm glad you and your group enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Clean and comfy in a great setting

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful house in a gorgeous setting. Has everything we needed (gas grill, laundry, fully equipped kitchen, good wifi). Very comfortable space for two couples and a baby - including a big drum full of toys. Definitely recommended.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your kind words! I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Los Angeles, CA
5

An Amazing Writing Retreat for Two/Three

  • 5 of 5

My writing pal and I visited another one of Moonlight Mesa Retreats; our first stay was at the Roca Vista (also wonderful). But this place blew our mind. A stone's throw from Roca Vista, this comfortable, well-appointed, and wired cabin provided all we needed: two bedrooms, bath, hot tub!, several outdoor sitting areas (all of which we enjoyed), not to mention the scenic surround that inspires star gazing, quiet reflection, rock-reading, and writing. (There's a dog formation in the rocks behind the cabin; can you see him?) The owners' unique touch are discernible here as in their Roca Vista property; their cabins are rustic with contemporary appointments - including just about everything you'll need to cook inside or order in, play, view, read, or listen. It's also about 5 minutes from town. I can't say enough about this place. Oh, but wait I can. A rattle snake visited us on the second day of our nine day visit! I saw it approach behind the safety of the glass sliding door. We sent a text to the owner and within 20 minutes got to witness a fearless and humane relocation of said rattler. We enjoyed our time thereafter, secure in the outside and interior spaces of this well-conditioned and appointed place (with tons of privacy). GO! You'll enjoy yourself.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: What a lovely review- thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us! I'm happy that even with the warm weather, you made yourselves comfortable. The views from El Coyote are mesmerizing and a great way to forget all of the stresses. Thanks for letting us know about the rattler- I know not everyone understands the need to humanly relocate these beautiful creatures but they were here long before us and do a great deal in keeping our rodent population down:) We hope to see you again on your next writing retreat!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Palm Springs
Car: recommended

Try something different like rock climbing in Joshua Tree National Park! In May and October is the Joshua Tree Music Festival- both are amazing fun.

For the art seekers, check out High Desert Test sites, Open Studio Art Tours, Noah Purifoy outdoor museum, JTAG art gallery, 29 Palms art gallery.

For the the open minded, try the Integratron and the Joshua Tree Retreat Center, Instant Karma yoga studio, BhaktiFest, ShaktiFest and the Joshua Tree Music Festival!

For the outdoor enthusiast there are lots of hikes in the park, the Andromeda Society for stargazing, and the Keys Ranch guided walking tour.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Joshua Tree, California Desert

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Sept/Oct
12 Sep 2016 - 31 Oct 2016
2 night minimum stay
£382
for 2 nights
From
£166
From
£191
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £23 per night, per additional guest
 
November
1 Nov 2016 - 22 Nov 2016
2 night minimum stay
£433
for 2 nights
From
£191
From
£212
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £21 per night, per additional guest
 
Thanksgiving
23 Nov 2016 - 27 Nov 2016
2 night minimum stay
£475
for 2 nights
From
£212
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £21 per night, per additional guest
 
December
28 Nov 2016 - 22 Dec 2016
2 night minimum stay
£433
for 2 nights
From
£191
From
£212
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £21 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas/NewYears
23 Dec 2016 - 2 Jan 2017
3 night minimum stay
£688
for 3 nights
From
£212
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £21 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£382
for 2 nights
From
£166
From
£212
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £21 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £46 + Tax
Refundable Damage Deposit £232
Tax Rate 10.0%

For more info: MoonlightMesaRetreats(dot)com

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in the Joshua Tree in the California

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1250 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • city centre ...
  • Monument View ...
  • mountain
  • Mountain View ...
  • rural ...
  • town
  • village
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , In main house
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , In studio
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • Three Queen beds. Two in the main house and 1 in the studio
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books - Fiction / Non-fiction
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Terrace
  • Large Cooler
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Veranda
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • Miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • ski
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties