Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Beachfront Luxury on Tunnels Beach with Beautiful Ocean & Mountain Views

Bedrooms 3
Separate WC's1
Space 2,400 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6) on the beach.

'Hale O Naue' is one of two identical beachfront, luxury rental homes located at the Makua Kai property on Naue Cove. This beachfront property is just steps from Tunnels Beach with great swimming and snorkeling directly in front of the home. Both homes are beautiful plantation style homes and are located on the lush north shore of Kauai in a quiet residential neighborhood with an ambiance of 'old hawaii'. A great place to unwind and relax! You will love the covered lanai with Brown Jordan chaise lounges and table and chairs wher you can relax while watching the ocean. This pacific playground has colorful kite surfers you can watch and migrating whales. The homes are spacious and all the rooms have AIR CONDITIONING. The decor is plantantion style with Tommy Bahama furnishings throughout. Relax and enjoy these well equipped homes, each with 3bedroom/2.5baths. Rent one or both. Hardwood floors, brazilian granite countertops, SONY TV/DVD/VCR, high speed Internet, ceiling fans, dual shower heads, oversized tub and a fully equipped gourmet kitchen are some of the amenities in this well maintained property on the beach. This multi-million dollar luxury home is immaculate and each home has a large covered lanai facing the ocean in a lush,tropical setting.

'Hale O Naue' house (sleeps 6) is perfect for you and your friends when visiting the Garden Isle of Kauai. You'll be just steps away from Tunnels Beach and you will witness some of the fabulous views on of Bali Hai and the Pacific Ocean. (10% discount when both homes are rented and a 10% discount for all repeat guests). Located just a short drive to world class hiking trails, golf courses, zip lines, surfing, and other fun activities.

Relax and enjoy a walk on this pristine beach or simply sit on the lanai and take in the beauty of Kauai. We look forward to having you as our guests. Mahalo nui loa. Owner

Keywords: Beachfront Vacation Home

More Details

Property Manager
Property Manager
Member since: 2008
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
23 May, 2018

About The Owner

We love Kauai and bought a gorgeous beachfront property that we could build on. Today the property has two identical vacation rental homes facing the ocean and one cottage. The landscape is very tropical with tall trees, heliconia, ginger, poinsietta and manilla palms.

The Owner purchased this house in 2002

Why The Owner chose Haena

Alealea Street in Haena is quiet and relaxed with a touch of Hawaii you won't find anywhere else. It reminds us of an quieter, older time on Kauai and we love the plantation feeling of our homes in 'Old Hawaii'.

What makes this house unique

Relaxing on our lanai and watching the ocean is one of our favorite activities. We always come with family and friends and bbq fresh fish at night while we watch the sunset. Snorkeling in front of the house and visiting our resident turtle is a must!

Guestbook comments from the manager

We had a great time snorkeling and swimming the beach in front of the houses and the kids saw all kinds of fishes around the shore. The house was quite spacious and really comfortable. The lanai was a dream to lounge on and watch the kite surfers riding the wind and waves!
Jul 2010
  • 1 of 3


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Haena in Wainiha

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2400 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Main bathroom has tile shower with dual shower heads.
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Second bathroom has tub and shower combination.
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Toilet and sink in the half bathroom.
  • Extra deep Kohler bath tub in one bathroom with travertine marble tile shower enclosure and the second bath has a dual head shower and marble top vanity. Half bathroom located in the entry hallway. Restoration Hardware towels.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Main bedroom with a king size bed, ocean view & AC cool.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed , Queen size bed, garden view & AC cool.
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed , Queen size bed, garden view & AC cool.
    Convertible bed(s) - 1 Sofa bed/Futon , Sleeping sofa is located in the living room area & AC cool.
  • Three bedrooms with a king size bed (1) in the main bedroom, Queen size Beds (2) in the other two bedroom, Sleep Sofa (1) located in the living room.
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Player
  • Video Library ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • 1 bicycles
  • 6 garden chairs
  • 6 deck chairs
  • Senior Adults Only Community ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • luaus
  • Miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • Rock Climbing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
This beautiful property is one of the best beachfront vacation rentals on the north shore of Kauai. High regard is taken to make sure the homes are clean and well maintained in addition to providing all of the essentials to an unforgettable vacation!


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(10 traveller reviews)

80% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Beachfront Luxury on Tunnels Beach with Beautiful Ocean & Mountain Views
average rating of 4.8 based on 13 reviews

Tranquil house in a gorgeous setting

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I spent a lovely week at Makua Kai with our two young daughters and my parents. The location of the house can't be beat. It's right on the beach on the lush and beautiful North Shore in the town of Ha'ena. Although Ha'ena is close to the end of the road and far from other areas of the island, it's our favorite place to stay in Kaua'i. At Makua Kai, we loved the covered front porch, with its view of the ocean framed perfectly by trees. We spent many happy hours on the porch eating breakfast, watching rain storms move through, and reading in the comfortable lounge chairs. (Note for families with crawling babies or wandering toddlers: there's a set of stairs connected directly to the deck that could be closed off with a baby gate with some advance planning.)

Tunnels Beach with its amazing snorkeling is walkable if you turn left down the beach out of the house. We enjoyed strolling to Tunnels around sunset for the beautiful skies to the west. We were lucky enough to see a couple of endangered Hawaiian Monk Seals resting on the sand one evening.

The interior of the house is nicely appointed in island style, with comfortable furniture and beds, high ceilings, and pleasant spaces throughout. The master bedroom is wonderful - on the oceanfront side of the house, it enjoys the same ocean views and sounds as the deck. The other two bedrooms on the back (non-oceanfront) side of the house are also very nice, but have smaller beds (both doubles, I believe) and share a bathroom. For multiple couples staying in the house, this is a factor to consider beforehand; one couple will end up with a substantially nicer bedroom and bigger bed than the others.

The house is very well equipped with sand toys for the kiddos, beach chairs, beach towels, and other items you might need. The grounds, including the front yard shared with the sister house next door, are immaculately maintained and full of lovely native vegetation.

Overall, we had an amazing week of beaches, snorkeling, hiking, and relaxation at Makua Kai. We look forward to returning!

  • Review Submitted: 08-Dec-2017
  • Date of Stay: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
SF Bay Area

Amazing Property

  • 5 of 5

My family had an incredible stay for 12 nights here. The location is our favorite on Kauai. The home has high-level furniture and other amenities. It's great having AC in case needed. Everyone was friendly and helpful.

We would definitely return!

  • Review Submitted: 21-Aug-2016
  • Date of Stay: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 1

Could have been perfect

  • 4 of 5

We just got back from staying at this house. The location on the North Shore was great and the house was pristine. It is well stocked and the supply room has chairs, snorkeling equipment, boogie boards and shoes to walk on the lava flats. My only negative comment and the reason why I could not give the location five stars is that the internet was horrendous. The speed was less than .25 MB/sec. I could not remotely access my office. Living on the east coast, one of the reasons why I like to vacation west is that the time change allows me to get up very early and work several hours before I start the day. This was impossible and unfortunately, like most people, my business requires a few hours of work per day. What was interesting is that the house had Cable TV. I called the cable company and they stated that they offered speeds of up to 50 MB/sec. I found it odd that a multi-million dollar house would have such terrible internet in this day and age.

We were at the house for one week and we had 4 good days of weather. I would come back in the early summer for better weather. The water temperature was about 75 degrees when we snorkeled.

  • Review Submitted: 25-Mar-2015
  • Date of Stay: March 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Philip for your review. We are always happy to find ways to improve our guests experience. Based on your review we just upgraded to the fastest internet service available here which is through Time Warmer Oceanic Cable. On your next visit, you will have a much improved internet experience. Thank you! Aloha Nui Loa.
Did you find this review helpful?
12 1

It's Still Paradise!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I returned to Makua Kai for our third time. We hadn't been back in six years so we were concerned that the place might be a bit tired from the years of use. Not so. The place looked exactly as it did six years ago. It is still beautifully maintained and immaculate. Steps out your door and you are on your own private beach (OK, it's not private, but we were often the only people on it). We enjoyed many a cocktail on that beach watching the sun set. And, we spent many an hour lounging on the lanai in the most comfortable chairs alternately reading and staring at the ocean. The store room has everything you could possibly need, including beach chairs, umbrellas and a big beach bag. The home, which looks like something out of a Tommy Bahama catalog, is also stocked with everything you could possible need. Yes, I could live there. We have stayed in both houses on the property and love them both. If you go, enjoy the clicking of the geckos at night!

  • Review Submitted: 10-Oct-2014
  • Date of Stay: September 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Los Angeles, California

Fab Vacay

  • 5 of 5

My family and I stayed at this wonderful home for a whole week, and we wish it was longer. The property is located on a fairly secluded part of the beach that is a short walk from the main part of Tunnels Beach. The house is very well-maintained and clean. We cooked every night and found that it was well stocked with cooking supplies (pots, pans, blender, etc.). The view from the balconies was incredible and it was very pleasant to sit outside and just take in the beautiful view of the beach. Everyone loved it!

The snorkeling right outside the house was fantastic, as was the snorkeling at the main part of Tunnels. We also ventured to Ke'e Beach, which was close to the house but probably not a place that you want to walk to. The snorkeling at all of these beaches was awesome and we saw many varieties of fish and lots of turtles.

Our family also went hiking on the Kalalau Trail. The trailhead starts a couple miles away from the house. The views from the trail were breathtaking. We hiked up to the Hanakapiai waterfall, which is totally worth the hike. It's also a bonus to cool off in the water once you get there.

There is a great coffee shop less than a mile down the road called Na Pali Art Gallery and Coffee Shop that some of us would walk to in the mornings. The next closest town is Hanalei where you can rent kayaks, paddleboards, and also take the Catamaran boat cruise. We also made a stop at the St. Regis Resort, which is worth going to for a view of the sunset and an evening cocktail.

Overall, we would recommend this property to anyone who is looking for a relaxing and fun-filled vacation on the north shore of Kauai. We will definitely be back!

  • Review Submitted: 20-Aug-2014
  • Date of Stay: June 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Property under previous ownership / management during this stay
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Almost perfect

  • 4 of 5

The house was lovely, well-stocked, and on a gorgeous beach with a fantastic view of the water from the lanai. What made our stay less than perfect was the following:

1. One burner of the stove didn't work

2. One toilet flushed itself every 10 mins

3. Mattresses were uncomfortable and wooden bed frames squeaked whenever you'd roll over

4. Two days after we departed we were told by rental company that the property manager assessed "damages" due to us. We were shocked because we took pride in how we left the home, and they provided no immediate details. More than a week later they said they found 3 towels that were stained and claimed we left a water mark on a table (but didn't say what table). Fortunately the assessed amount was fairly modest ($167), but we are certain that the damage was from a previous renter and inaccurately assigned to us. There was no means to dispute the claim, no photos/evidence provided. They simply deducted the amount from our security deposit. We felt this was poorly handled, it was offensive/demeaning (we were a group of four 40+ individuals, not Aerosmith trashing a hotel room), and we felt nickel and dimed.

My recommendation to anyone renting this home in the future, is to do a walk-thru of the home with the property manager, Ginny, and note any pre-existing damage so there is no dispute later. Unfortunately, a brief walk-thru may not uncover everything (like a discolored towel in the stack of linens in the closet). So good luck!

  • Review Submitted: 27-Feb-2013
  • Date of Stay: February 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for this information! We have taken care of the items you mentioned and we always appreciate feedback. The experience for every guest is important to us and we strive to keep the property in top condition for each and every guest. Mahalo!
Property under previous ownership / management during this stay
Did you find this review helpful?
17 1


Nearest Airport
35.2 Miles
Lihue Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Mediterranean Restaurant
Nearest Golf
7 Miles
Princeville Golf Course
Nearest Train
27 Miles
Kilohana Estate
Nearest Motorway
0.1 Miles
Kuhio Highway
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Mediterranean Restaurant
Nearest Beach
0.01 Miles
Tunnels Beach
Car: necessary

Just a 10 minute drive from shopping, restaurants and beaches in the Hanalei area. There's a great swimming beach directly in front of the house (safe during certain times of the year) with a beautiful white sand beach running for miles along the ocean. Also excellent snorkeling, kite surfing and surfing sites are also found in this area.

A fun Art Gallery and Expresso Coffee House are located within walking distance from the houses. Also, there's a great Mediterranean restaurant and bar is located next to the coffee shop!


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Haena, Hawaii

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
Summer 2018
15 May 2018 - 15 Sep 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Thanksgiving 2018
15 Nov 2018 - 30 Nov 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Holiday 2018/19
15 Dec 2018 - 15 Jan 2019
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Spring Break 2019
15 Mar 2019 - 30 Apr 2019
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Summer 2019
15 May 2019 - 15 Sep 2019
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Thanksgiving 2019
15 Nov 2019 - 30 Nov 2019
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Holiday 2019/20
15 Dec 2019 - 15 Jan 2020
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £1,116.45
Housekeeping £465.19 + Tax

Rates are for rental of one house. We offer a 10% discount when both homes are booked by the same party for the same dates. 10% discount for reservations of 10 days or longer. Only one discount applies. TRAVEL INSURANCE IS HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Ask Manager a Question

You might like these similar holiday rentals