HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Lake Rescue Chalet-6 Bedroom Ski House w/Hot Tub

Bedrooms 6
Space 2,500 sq. ft.
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights


About the property

6 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, 2 kitchens, hot tub, 3 boats, sleeps 16

Lake Rescue Chalet – A Large, Cozy Ski House Minutes from Okemo and Killington

This house has it all – a glorious outdoor hot tub to sink into after a hard day skiing nearby Okemo or Killington. Six bedrooms. Two kitchens, two living rooms and two dining rooms. Plenty of room for your group of up to 16! The house is just 3 miles from Okemo’s Jackson Gore area and 12 miles from Killington’s Skyeship! Lake Rescue Chalet sleeps 16 people on two levels that each feature full living areas – including a kitchen/living/dining room – and three bedrooms apiece! Upstairs and down are connected by a wrought-iron spiral staircase, and each level has its own bathroom, fireplace, TV and VCR. It's a terrific home for families and friends who want to spend time together but also cherish their privacy. When not skiing, families and groups enjoy our many videos and games.

Winter Brings Awesome Snow, Skiing

The snow is thick and the winters are cold -- perfect for skiing! With nine ski areas within 40 miles, you have plenty to choose from. In other seasons the mountains are the greenest of green and a string of pristine lakes is the bluest of blue. The fish are always biting in the summer; feathery flakes fall on red-gold leaves in October; and flowers burst into a jumble of audacious color in May. The only thing that beats taking a canoe out on a misty summer morning is screaming down a ski slope after a fresh snowfall.

More Details

Member since: 2002
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
19 March, 2018

About Lisa

We're a family of four who love the mountains and the outdoors. We lived in New York for two decades before relocating to Colorado. We get back to Vermont as often as we can!

Lisa purchased this chalet in 2000

Why Lisa chose Ludlow

We love Lake Rescue Chalet because of its access to Okemo Ski Resort in winter -- just five minutes down the road -- and to Lake Rescue in summer for swimming, boating and fishing. We like its homey, woodsy feel, and the flat yard for volleyball and other fun activities. We love to sit around the fire pit toasting marshmallows at the end of the day.

What makes this chalet unique

We love that the lake is just a two-minute walk, so we never had to worry about the kids stepping outside and drowning when we weren't looking. We added two huge decks in the front and the back so that we could truly live outdoors. The hot tub feels like a wonderful luxury. We also love the two living areas so that we can send the kids downstairs to watch their movies while the adults hang upstairs sometimes.

Guestbook comments from the owner

I just wanted to thank you again for letting us rent your Lake House. We all had a great time. The house was very comfortable and clean, and well stocked. Getting in and out was a breeze, and we left everything as we found it.

Mar 2012
  • 1 of 3


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday chalet in Ludlow in Windsor County

Property Type:
  • chalet
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 16
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • lake ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • mountain ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • rural
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Firewood
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Grill
  • Kitchen ...
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed , 1 Cot
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 5 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 6 - 1 Double Bed
  • One room has a bunk bed. There is a new sleep sofa on each level. The house also has a pack-n-play, a highchair and a booster seat to accommodate babies and small children.
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Deck Chairs
  • Boat ...
  • Boat Dock
  • Canoe
  • Child's Swing
  • Terrace ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Garden ...
  • Barbecue
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Terrace
  • Walkway to Water
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Wood Decking
  • 12 garden chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • forests
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • sailing
  • ski
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Okemo is just three miles down the road. Killington Skyeship is 11 miles north. Nearby you can go to the Jackson Gore Spring House and enjoy a health club, racquetball, swimming and more! You'll also find XC skiing, sledding and ice skating nearby.


Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(26 traveller reviews)

53% Complete
26% Complete
7% Complete
11% Complete
0% Complete
Lake Rescue Chalet-6 Bedroom Ski House w/Hot Tub
average rating of 4.230769 based on 29 reviews

Great property

  • 5 of 5

Great property

  • Review Submitted: 05-Mar-2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for visitig us!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Comfortable, Good for big groups, close to everything, hot tub!

  • 4 of 5

This house is a great setup for groups or a large family, with two identical floor upstairs and downstairs, and the living room/kitchen area emphasized for space. This leaves the bedrooms a little smaller, but still enough space for your things! I liked that design.

The fireplaces were great, and hot tub was awesome! It is certainly one of the best places we've stayed, and seems to be ideal for any season (winter=mountains, summer=on a lake)!

There were small annoyances (Hot tub cover was heavy and designed to hang off side of deck, making it tough to lift. And one of the downstairs beds was very cheap and uncomfortable, the rest seemed nice though!), but nothing serious. The owner is great to work with and is responsive!

Would absolutely stay again!

  • Review Submitted: 08-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jared's group was friendly and easy to communicate with, and they left the house clean and well cared for. Bcause of his comment, we replaced the downstairs mattress and box spring. The hot tub cover has a lift to the side to help with putting it on and taking it off, but I guess he didn't notice it!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Good Place for a Large Group

  • 4 of 5

Nice place that accommodated a large group rather comfortably. Wasn't quite as close to water as we had anticipated (short walk down to the dock). Overall though, certainly satisfied with our stay. Recommended.

  • Review Submitted: 11-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The house is, as we describe, a two-minute walk to the dock, on a rural dirt road.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Did not meet expectations

  • 2 of 5

In a short summary: the pictures on the listing and description of the property are out of date and misleading. Do not expect what you see or read until it is updated to reflect the current condition of the property.

In detail: The house is severely outdated, the pictures of the interior and exterior are from when it was first built/redone. The deck is close to falling down, every time we walked it moved and the railings were bowed out bad. There is only one grill, not two as listed. All three sliders are a workout to open and close. There was no wood inside (despite the description) and what was under the tarp was too damp to use. The dock is much further away than it shows/explains in the pictures and was not put into the lake upon arrival despite the owner knowing we were bringing our boat. The property manager did come and put it in, but only after he and the owner made us feel bad as the lake was still chilly. There are ants everywhere! In the beds, all over the house - do not leave any food on the counters, even during dinner as they will run all over it. The smoking policy is a joke as we spent the first hour of our stay cleaning up the property of butts so our pups didn't eat them. If you are planning on a large group, draw straws for the internet as it is very very slow and a younger crowd needing their tech fix will find it super difficult. The only good thing I can say is the kitchens were fully stocked with utensils and cookware which you don't often find in rentals.

We tried to express our concerns to the owner during our stay but when she did respond to us, she was hesitant to accept that her cleaning lady, property manager and herself were at fault for any of it. Had we known the shape the house was in, we wouldn't have paid as much as we did. Super disappointed as we have properties of our own and have rented several others and have never had an experience like this nor have our renters with us. Will not stay again.

  • Review Submitted: 29-May-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This renter was determined to find everything wrong about the house that she could because when she arrived on Memorial Day weekend, the dock hadn’t been put in the water yet. It was the first time in 16 years, because it had been an unusually cold spring and the water was still icy. Only two homes on the entire lake had their docks in. When she called the property manager, he was very responsive and put the dock in within two hours, despite the frigid water. In addition, it seems a previous renter had smoked by the fire pit, which is against house rules. This is the sort of issue our house instructions tell renters they can call the cleaning service about, but they didn’t. They just complained. (They did tell me the rest of the house was quite clean.) They also report an ant problem -- we have a regular exterminator, but sometimes in early spring, when nights are cold and days are warm, ants go into the house when they can’t get into their frozen homes. This happens because the house is in the woods and nature happens. Rather than telling staff, this renter chose to suffer silently and then publicly complain later. We sent in the exterminator immediately after seeing this review, and the house is now ant-free. On the internet speed – it’s a rural area, and the Wifi is this limited by infrastructure, but we have changed to a different, faster provider. The deck is not falling apart. It is solidly built. One railing has a little wiggle, but it is not falling off or a danger to anyone – it just leans to the left in one spot We did reinforce it since her visit and have painted it as well. We offered this renter a significant refund and remedied every problem we could, yet she still wasn’t satisfied. Some people never are. We put a lot of time and money into this house and we feel we give families and groups a warm, comfortable vacation. The other reviews reflect this.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

A great property in a great location

  • 5 of 5

We spent a weekend in the chalet in April, before boating season, and still had an incredible time because of the beautiful property. This chalet is perfect for a large group, with two kitchens and several rooms as well as pull out beds for extra space. I seriously recommend renting this property and especially through HomeAway.

  • Review Submitted: 24-Apr-2017
  • Date of Stay: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Everything we hoped for

  • 5 of 5

The place was amazing, with ample space as well as parking. And the 2nd kitchen came in handy when cooking for 12.

It was also extremely helpful that Lisa spelled everything out clearly, both in email and with a binder in the home to help us know all the workings of the cabin.

  • Review Submitted: 17-Jan-2017
  • Date of Stay: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
26 Miles
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Okemo Golf Course
Nearest Train
25 Miles
Nearest Motorway
25 Miles
91 and 103
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Echo Lake Inn
Nearest Ski
3 Miles
Okemo Mountain Resoirt
Car: necessary

The house is located on a peninsula with about ten houses.

Other Activities: Skiing, ice skating, sledding, snowshoeing in winter. Dock, boats, fishing in spring, summer and fall.

Golf: Golf nearby at Okemo, Chester, Springfield, Stratton, Woodstock, Killington and more! There's also mini-golf up the road.

Ski: Choose from nine ski areas within 30 miles -- the closest are Okemo, just three miles down the road, and the six-mountain Killington (12 miles to Skyeship) with sister Pico (18 miles). Stratton, Bromley, Magic Mountain, Mount Snow, and others are a stone's throw farther. Prefer cross-country? Step outside onto the frozen-over lake, or drive to some terrific XC areas nearby (Okemo Golf Club, Hawk Mountain Resort, mountain meadows, local parks). You'll also find hunting, snowmobiling, horse-drawn sleigh rides, snowshoeing, and more.


Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning and hot tub £144.42 + Tax
Property Damage Protection £42.6
Tax Rate 9.0%

Holidays (non-winter) -- Sundays considered weekend nights; $200 surcharge.
Weekend rates 12/24 & 25.
Pets--$79 CSA travel ins. pmnt.
Summer rentals--Sun-Sun. Check-in 4PM; check-out 11AM
Linens & bath towels provided.
WINTER SEASONAL rental-$16K plus util. Plowing included. No tax.
SCAMMER ALERT: DO NOT send wire transfers. Pay thru this website only.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar holiday rentals