HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

74 steps to beach - kids travel free - Last minute offers July and August

Bedrooms 4
Space 7,000 sq. ft.
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 5 - 7 nights


About the property

Villa, 4 Bedrooms + Other (See Description), 6 Baths, (Sleeps 4-8)

Voted amongst the top twenty villas in the Caribbean by Conde Nast Traveler in 2007, Ohana Villa stands apart as one of the most striking places to stay in Tobago and the Caribbean and was designed by one of the Caribbean's foremost architects.

Ohana is a Hawaiian word for family rest-house and the owners’ intention for the house was that the architecture and interior design would successfully entangle the guests in an organic and spiritual way.

The result is that Ohana is indeed ‘a very special place’, a perfect haven of peace and quiet to escape to, with family and friends from the hustle and bustle of city life. The sheer scale of the property provides just the right amount of privacy with luxury, style and barefoot elegance.

This, along with the warm and sincere welcome of our staff ensure that as soon as you arrive, you’ll find the stresses of the city slip away as easily as your shoes at the front door.

Located on the south east corner of Tobago in Bacolet, Ohana enjoys 180 degree views of the Atlantic Ocean. The house is orientated with the prevailing trade winds to keep the house cool. The garden is full of tropical and exotic flowers and fruit, and runs down to a small sandy protected cove, protected by a reef just out in the bay.

Ohana was designed with a Balinese tropical influence and resembles a small village of tiny houses perched upon a bluff. Four double bedrooms wrap around a large sun deck of two swimming pools, jacuzzi and a large koi fish pond.

Each individually designed bedroom is lavishly furnished with a four poster bed, en-suite bathroom and air conditioning with overhead fans and digital bedroom safes large enough to hold your laptop.

Humming birds, blue birds and cocricos fly around the gardens, and you can watch the ornamental koi fish from your hammock whilst sipping a home made rum cocktail. Sample our excellent local or European cooking, or try a fusion of both from our renowned cook, one of the best on the island.

So hard is it to leave Ohana, that even though the stunningly beautiful little island of Tobago is full of enticing activities and day trips, our guests find it difficult to tear themselves away from the house. In fact, many guests never leave the house and wonder why they hired a car.

Worth leaving home for are Tobago’s beautiful waterfalls; one of the oldest rainforests in the northern hemisphere; and for bird enthusiasts, there are over 210 different bird species; as well there are excellent diving and deep sea fishing. Our staff will be happy to arrange for any island activities using our preferred tour operators.

1 house manager and 2 housekeepers look after the running of the house and will do as much or as little shopping and cooking as you require. Most guests prefer to do their own grocery shopping, however for those of you that don’t, we will be happy to do it for an additional fee, saving you those extra hours for topping up that tan!

The way that cooking works at Ohana is that all ingredients for lunch and dinner are paid for by guests, and there is a cooking fee of US $10 per adult, US $5 kids.

Breakfast is included in the rate.

Excellent and highly recommended aromatherapy massages by our massage therapist can be arranged for $50 USD.

Ohana is indeed a very special place, a place that refreshes the mind, as well as the body.

More Details

Aries Brooker
Member since: 2008
Speaks English, French
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
1 March, 2018


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday villa in Scarborough in Western Tobago

Property Type:
  • villa
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 7000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets considered
  • children welcome ...
  • smoking allowed
Location Type:
  • beach
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Family
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Parking Off Street
  • Safe
  • Security System
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet
  • Fax
  • Blender
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 4 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Outside - Outdoor Shower
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • The master bedroom and its huge en-suite bathroom have shuttered windows which open out so that you can shower, take a bath or lounge in the teak four-poster bed while watching pelicans fishing in the turquoise Atlantic. Bedroom 2 has its own veranda, which seems to float over a fish-filled lily pond. It opens out to the gazebo, jacuzzi and two infinity pools – one deep and the other shallow. There is an outdoor shower area which overlooks the koi fish pond. Bedroom 3 has a small private terrace overlooking the pond, main deck and gazebo. Bedroom 4 opens out onto a courtyard, a delightful and private tranquil oasis surrounded by clumps of rustling bamboo. The kitchen is a joy to work in. It is delightfully open and breezy, with two large ceiling fans and Demerara windows on sticks which open to give a view of the perfect little sandy beach below.
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Terrace
  • Fish Cleaning Table
  • Gazebo
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Large Cooler
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Patio
  • Veranda
  • Conservatory
  • Wood Decking
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Daily Maid Service
  • Housekeeper
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • Staff
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • museums
  • rain forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • Babysitter
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • Parasailing
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
The kitchen is fully equipped with a double-door stainless steel fridge with filtered water and ice making facility, plus another large fridge for keeping drinks cool. There is also a large stainless steel gas cooker – and of course a dishwasher. To one side is an open-air barbecue area and on the other a pantry and a utility room with large washing and drying machines. The vast living room is open to the bay, allowing ocean breezes to work their relaxing charms, but simply wind down the cream canvas shutters to provide restful shade for a snooze on the over-sized teak day beds, filled with plump cushions and bolsters. Close by four teak armchairs also recline fully to allow you to relax completely. The house is stocked with board games, DVDs and a selection of CDs for times when the view alone is not enough.


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(21 traveller reviews)

90% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
74 steps to beach - kids travel free - Last minute offers July and August
average rating of 4.8095236 based on 21 reviews

love this place beautiful hideaway

  • 5 of 5

breath taking hideaway.... looking onto the sea surrounded by a tropical paradise... House has Thai inspired architecture just beautiful

  • Review Submitted: 23-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Jöelle, Always a pleasure to welcome you...hoping that you can make it back a third time next year!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not worth the money or travel time from US

  • 2 of 5

The view from the deck area is amazing and the staff were very helpful. Sunsets were gorgeous. However, the villa was in need of serious repair. One of the pools was green all week because they ran out of chemicals. The kitchen appliances were old, rusty and the refrigerator did not keep cool. The pots and pans were all broken and not many utensils. The dishwasher did not clean and we usually had to run two cycles. The bathroom faucets dripped constantly and the showers drained slowly. The oven ran out of propane and we were forced to go purchase dinner out after we had already purchased dinner to cook at a local grocery store. The floors definitely needed refinishing. Definitely will not return.

  • Review Submitted: 16-Jan-2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for giving us your feedback on your recent visit. Firstly, please accept my apologies for the jacuzzi being green during your stay. We had a new pool man start up recently and his reaction to what happened was completely unsatisfactory. There were chemicals on site, and the problem was due to a blocked impeller on the pump causing a filtration issue. We took way too long to fix this, due to him not communicating the problem to his boss for the repair. The salty blasts from the Ocean, the terrific humidity, does affect metal, wooden and fabric elements around the house. We have lost track of how many water heaters, pumps, cookers, fridges, microwaves, TV’s, lighting fixtures, etc etc that we are continually having to replace. I’ve just purchased a new selection of pots, pans and utensils. The rusty appliance you noticed was our trusty coffee machine which has now been replaced. A top of the line fridge was delivered last week…we have 2 in our kitchen. The reason we have 2 is because if the fridge is opened constantly for drinks, the temperature can rise. So we use one for food and the other for drinks. Our dishwasher was purchased only a few months ago. Tobago is a small island, impossible to buy rinse aid or dishwasher salt locally. We are now trying out kosher salt with vinegar to try and keep our dishwasher working well. We did notice that you were putting pots and pans in the dishwasher, and not rinsing the plates before loading the machine. This is a big subject of debate in my house, some people do this, others do not. My wife and I have huge discussions about this! I would suggest rinsing all plates before loading the dishwasher due to the problems we have sourcing rinse aid and dishwasher salt. After you left, we had our quarterly plumbing service to the house. Our faucets only drip when not turned to the right ‘off’ position. We will now add this to our house tour for all future guests. Our oven did run out of propane…and we had the backup tank turned on within one hour of you calling us. Our living room floors will be sanded and varnished over the next month. I hope the details mentioned above show that we are reacting to your comments. Our efforts are forever ongoing in regards to this special and lovable house that is Ohana… and we sincerely hope that you may be able to forgive us… and even perhaps, return one day to give us all at Ohana another try.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Scenic & calming. Natural & luxurious at same time

  • 5 of 5

Even though this was our 3rd stay at Ohana in 1 1/2 years, the magic of this place did not wane one bit. There is no other villa of its kind in Trinidad or Tobago, & possibly the Caribbean. It's definitely built to optimise on what the location has to offer. It's perched on a cliff, allowing for gorgeous views that you can enjoy from almost any spot. It's also quite cool & breezy. There are many overhead fans if it's still too warm for some. In addition to the sea views, the 4 rooms variously look out onto a large koi pond & 2 infinity pools (1 deep, 1 shallow), and a charming courtyard. You can sit in the shallow & and take in a nice drink & the sunset. It's clear that alot of love is poured into the care of the villa and its grounds. Everything is as advertised: air conditioning in rooms, bathtub in the master, washer, dryer, fridge, stove/oven, micro, heated water, 1 tv, wifi etc.Upon your arrival, you're treated to a lovely welcome package of various eats and drinks, including some nice wine and beer. Rena, the head housekeeper, is a very warm and affable lady & checks in once a day to make sure you're comfortable, & to have the rooms cleaned & toiletries replenished. Other than that, she is always only a phonecall away if you need assistance. There are so many unique and special touches to this villa that make it an experience and not just a stay - outdoor shower, smaller courtyard for reading or games (there are LOTS of books & magazines if you so decide), fruit trees on the grounds... You won't want to leave but if you do decide to go out & about, there are restaurants & beaches nearby, including a lovely private beach that is accessible via stairs from the property. It's also a gorgeous & increasingly popular choice for an intimate wedding...I had my reception here as well! Makes for breath-taking photos & a very relaxing honeymoon. Just google Ohana villa and you'd see images of the destination weddings held there. The owner of the villa is also a real pleasure to deal with, whether you're just staying or having an event there. You won't regret this stay. 3 stays there & I still got teary-eyed when it was time to leave. This place is truly a gem.

  • Review Submitted: 30-Jan-2017
  • Date of Stay: January 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ohana has reduced many a guest to tears...and sometimes laughter or shreiks of joy! Thank you for your review of our home, you seem to be at one with nature and the love of the outdoors. Looking forward to your Ohana visit 3.0.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Toronto, Canada

Scenic views from a beautiful Caribbean Villa

  • 5 of 5

Our trip back to the beautiful tropical twin Island Republic of Trinidad & Tobago, once called home, allowed us to spend time with family while celebrating one of my brother's major Birthday milestones. Although we were aware that we would be spending a few days in Tobago at the Ohana Villa and what the property would potentially offer having looked it up online, nothing could describe or capture the true beauty and architectural design of an Original Caribbean Villa as showcased by this stunning property. We were breathless on arrival on taking in the beauty of the property, the warm welcome of its staff and the stunning views it presented, nestled on the hilltops of Bacolet Tobago.

We all enjoyed the comfort and safety the accommodations had to offer with its many pools, ponds and the absolutely tasty meals prepared by Lisa the onsite chef. Not only would we recommend this location as a family or couples perfect destination, we would definitely make it our stay of choice on our next visit to Tobago!

  • Review Submitted: 15-Nov-2016
  • Date of Stay: November 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We've tried hard to photograph the house but nothing beats walking in and actually being at Ohana. So glad your family reunion went well...will look you up when I am in Toronto next.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Brookfield, CT

Heaven on Earth!

  • 5 of 5

This review is embarrassingly late, but shows how much this gorgeous villa continuously keeps popping up in my mind... every time I think of wanting to go someplace quiet, nothing but a pool, a beach and absolute relaxation... I think and dream of Ohana. It is architecturally beautiful. So open and airy. The two pools were just perfect for lazing the days away. Aries, the owner, was incredibly accommodating and would respond within minutes to me, with any questions I had - and I had a lot! He's very patient and very thoughtful, as well as courteous. And his housekeeper, Rena, was just a delight! She's a great cook, and masseuse, and just all-around very helpful.

We are a family of 5 - kids were 14, 12 and 8. and they had a great time.

The villa is in a great location, tucked away between two hotels so you feel safe.

My only recommendation is bring lots of bug spray! Aside from that, it is my top favorite place I've ever been, and we've been to many, many places. It certainly is the most beautiful.

Thank you, Aries, for opening your incredible home to us!


Brian and Melinda Lopp, and kids

  • Review Submitted: 20-Mar-2016
  • Date of Stay: April 2015
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Ohana on my mind...this happens often and many guests (including myself)spend many moments of the day dreaming of our holiday there. It was lovely meeting you and I hope you can return one day!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Savannah, GA USA

Amazing property! Can't wait to go back!

  • 5 of 5

Ohana is a truly remarkable home located a convenient distance from Scarborough. The pictures don't do the property justice. Everything was open and airy. The A/C in the bedrooms made sleeping comfortable. Everyone was friendly and accommodating. It was tough leaving and we certainly look forward to returning!

  • Review Submitted: 04-Dec-2015
  • Date of Stay: November 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Craig, It was a pleasure welcoming you to Ohana. The sounds of the waves and ocean breeze, is what makes most of our guests sleep like babies! I hope to hear from you soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Other Activities: turtle watching and goat racing


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday villa in Scarborough, Caribbean

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
High Season
6 Jan 2018 - 30 Apr 2018
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £95 per night, per additional guest
Low Season
1 May 2018 - 16 Nov 2018
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £50 per night, per additional guest
High Season
17 Nov 2018 - 21 Dec 2018
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £90 per night, per additional guest
Christmas and New Year
22 Dec 2018 - 4 Jan 2019
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
High Season
5 Jan 2019 - 30 Apr 2019
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £90 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
for 5 nights

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £600

Rates are based on 1-4 guests staying except for Christmas and New Year (1-8)

Cleaning charge included.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Ask Owner a Question