HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Amazing Location & Great Decor for Ground Floor flat in Abbey House

Bedrooms 1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


Minimum Stay
2 - 3 nights

About the property

Unbelievable location next to the Roman Baths, this apartment is full of charm.

Enchanting period apartment in the very centre of historic Bath.

The Abbey Studio is a cosy, but gracious studio apartment on the ground floor of Abbey House, in the very VERY centre of Bath - next to the Roman Baths themselves!

It comprises one spacious and high ceilinged Georgian room, with original period features, which doubles as bedroom and living room, but it also has a separate country style dining-kitchen with a view up to the Bath Abbey, which is right behind us. The kitchen is fully equipped, but we do not expect you to do much cooking with so many excellent restaurants surrounding you.

The beautiful main room has 2 tall windows overlooking Abbey Green, with fascinating views of the buildings around the ancient square. This room has the pretty double bed, as well as living room furnishings, sofa and television.

There is a separate bathroom with tub and old fashioned Victorian hand-shower.

The entire flat is furnished in a pretty period style as befits this listed building.

Of course it also has TV, DVD & stereo and WIFI and everything you could require, from towels to tea is provided in the flat.

More Details

Property Manager
Laura Dunlap
Member since: 2014
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
19 January, 2017

About Laura Dunlap

I am an American who has lived in Bath for 20 years. I just love it. In the beginning, I owned a hotel, but now I merely manage 5 pretty flats, all in amazing locations and all furnished in period decor. I am also a former lead singer and writer of pop fiction.

Laura Dunlap purchased this apartment in 2007

Why Laura Dunlap chose England

Well, it is on the ground floor of Abbey House and has plenty of storage, if you have lots of luggage. It is pretty as a picture and has a comfy kitchen to hang out in as well as the living room, which doubles as a bedroom. Sitting inside, you get to look out at the ancient square, while you watch a DVD from my eclectic collection. The location is ridiculous, practically inside the Roman Baths!

What makes this apartment unique

Lots of Storage. Ground Floor. A stroll away from every tour, walking or bus tour, or the Abbey, or the Roman Baths, or the Spa - and close to the train station, too. Oh and I forgot, close to the Tourist Information Centre. Good Views, Good reviews - and me!


4.5/5 -
(2 traveller reviews)

Amazing Location & Great Decor for Ground Floor flat in Abbey House
average rating of 4.5 based on 2 reviews

Great location!

  • 4 of 5

Great location right in the heart of Bath! The apartment is small, but has all the essentials one needs for a short visit. However, it does have its quirks; some are unavoidable, due to the age of the building, but some are avoidable, such as a broken toilet seat, moldy window blinds, and dusty floors. (I discovered a lot of dust and dirt under the bed as I attempted to recover an item that I dropped on the floor, which may explain the unusual coughing episodes that my wife experienced whilst in the bedroom.) Still, despite all its quirks, we thoroughly enjoyed being right in the center of Bath!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the kind words, but not the words about the under the bed! This gives the wrong impression, because this bed touches the floor - it is a divan bed, so there is no "under the bed" space - as you would imagine reading this. There is no way to sweep or hoover under the bed, because there is no space under there! That is, unless we slide the bed across the room, which I will do today, and check for "dust" and I shall make certain it is tidy and dust free.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location. Clean and convenient. Quirky old apartment with modern upgrades.

  • 5 of 5

We just spent a few nights here. Laura was a pleasure with the arrangements, the booking, meeting us at the apartmentment with the keys, and the introductory tour of the building. The building is a few hundred (300+?) years old and is now apartments, but was once a guest house of the abbey. The apartment is basically an entryway plus 3 rooms - (1) the bedroom / studio room with a couch, TV, good wifi, beautiful rooms overlooking the square, and lots of closet space, (2) a large bathroom, and (3) a large kitchen with a view of the abbey tower. The only drawback to the bathroom is no standing shower - only a handheld. That was fine with us for a few days. We didn't use the full kitchen oven, stove, etc., but we did use the brand new modern clothes washer and dryer. That was unexpectedly convenient. We would have made use of the full kitchen had we stayed a week.

The Huntsman, The Ale House, The Abbey Hotel, and other restaurants and pubs are just like 100 steps from the front door. The local tour buses (Cotswolds, Stonehenge, etc) leave from that location. The Roman Baths are just a few steps in the other direction. The location on this quiet little square could not be better. We arrived by train at Bath Spa Station and it was just a few minute walk with roller luggage.

The building does have some quirks. The skeleton key takes a little practice. There is some outside noise from the occasional load group passing by. The bath only has a hand held and not a full shower. We expected all of this when booking, so the 5 stars means it fully exceeded our expectations and we loved our stay (not that this is a 5 star resort). We considered the Hilton and an apartment in the Crescent, but we had no regrets here. Location! A charming apartment in the heart of Bath.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 5, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you David, That was a really warm and wonderful review, just as you were warm and wonderful guests. I hope you have a splendid year, Yours in Bath, Laura
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Bristol Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.01 Miles
Crystal Palace
Nearest Ferry
60 Miles
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
all around Bath
Nearest Train
0.25 Miles
Bath Spa
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
0.01 Miles
All Around the flat
Nearest Beach
40 Miles
Weston Super Mare
Car: not necessary

The Roman Baths Georgian Architecture and Jane Austen are the most signature highlights of Bath and all of these things are steps away from this apartment.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Bath, Somerset

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
Deep Mid Winter
3 Jan 2017 - 13 Apr 2017
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
14 Apr 2017 - 16 Apr 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
17 Apr 2017 - 15 Jun 2017
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
May Day
28 Apr 2017 - 30 Apr 2017
3 night minimum stay
Last May Holiday
26 May 2017 - 28 May 2017
3 night minimum stay
17 Jun 2017 - 24 Aug 2017
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
August Bank Holiday
25 Aug 2017 - 27 Aug 2017
3 night minimum stay
Fall Season
29 Aug 2017 - 19 Oct 2017
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Shopping Season
20 Oct 2017 - 23 Dec 2017
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights
Holiday Season
24 Dec 2017 - 2 Jan 2018
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Bath, United Kingdom

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • building
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 500 m²
Location Type:
  • city centre
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Bath tub with Victorian hand shower. All towels supplied and the Bathroom is also quite charming looking.
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Pretty decor in ancient building with all period detail: high ceilings, cornicing, tall windows and views to Abbey Green. Bedroom is equipped with double bed as well as sitting area, TV and DVD and WIFI. Large storage closets also.
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • not suitable for children ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
City Centre alert: Please remember: this is an ancient building with ancient building quirks. It is also in the very centre of Bath and the square can be quite lively on weekend nights. The Abbey is right behind us and the Bells ring out at all hours. It is extremely romantic and special.

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties