HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Historic Tranquil Charming Quiet Street in NYC

26 Reviews
Bedrooms Studio
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
4 nights


Photos and Description of this holiday apartment in Upper Manhattan - Hamilton Heights Brownstone

Living room/dining area, green kitchen, full bathroom. sleeps 2-4 people

Hamilton Heights is a famous residential neighborhood that is home to the most interesting and outstanding architectural brownstone homes ever built in New York City! This fantastic stunning apartment is located on a lovely quiet tree-lined street in a brownstone community of upper Manhattan, New York City near the CIty University of New York's (CUNY) & Columbia University.. This stylish studio apartment has a living room/dining area, kitchen, loft, full bathroom, carpet, and hardwood floors. The apartment is furnished in a mixture of antique and contemporary styles. This Lovely Studio apartment which sleeps up to 4 people, is located in famous historical Hamilton Heights area of Manhattan. The apartment is centrally located to the city's most historic sites, (ie Soho, Broadway, Times Sq., Yankee Stadium, Stautue of Liberty, South Street Sea Port, Radio City Music Hall, Madison Square Gardens, ect. Five minutes walk to subway A, B, C, D & 1 trains.

This Community is one of NYC Best!: Heights Historic District, which contains some of the most interesting private house ever built in New York. The houses were built in an unbridled late nineteenth-century romantic vein. (ARCHITECTURAL DIGEST. )

More Details
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Property Manager
Augustine J or Jake Clark
Member since: 2008
Speaks English, Spanish
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
20 October, 2016

About Augustine J or Jake Clark

Brownstone Clark LLC was founded in 2014 by Trustee Jennifer Clark Harris who manages the Estate of Jake and Augustine Clark, long time respected landlords in the Hamilton Heights Community. Since then, the company has consisted of exclusively hard-working experienced professionals dedicated to the needs of their clients.

Jennifer Clark-Harris MS, MEd current Trustee/Landlord for the Estate of Augustine Clark/CEO of Brownstone Clark LLC was born and raised in New York's Hamilton Heights Community. She is a graduate of Clark University and holds a Bachelors of Arts in Liberal Arts Studies. In addition, Jennifer a Masters of Science in Human Services: Organizational Leadership and Management. She also holds a Masters of Education in Counseling Psychology with a major in Marriage and Family Therapy and Addictions. She fully equipped to manage the needs of students and residents traveling far from home. She has 15 years of experience in working with children, adolescents and the young adult population.

Jennifer obtained her certification in Property Management, as well as completed her Real Estate Salesperson education at New York Real Estate Institute.

For information regarding listings outside of Brownstone Clark LLC, Estate of Jake and Augustine Clark, please specify. Jennifer is not an Independent Broker and only list for the Estate as a landlord via this website.

Augustine J or Jake Clark purchased this apartment in 1982

Why Augustine J or Jake Clark chose Manhattan

We were in search of a Brownstone in Harlem or Brooklyn when we found this twin gem in the heart of West Harlem! We fell in love with the neighborhood and our family has resided in the home for many years. Hamilton Heights is a historical residential area of Harlem that is currently in flux and transition. The area is quiet, safe and in an excellent location as it is near most major transportation resources on the West side of Manhattan. There are two major Universities with in footsteps as City College and Columbia University are part of the district and easily assessable. We are located near Riverside park, gyms, restaurants, and other lovely attractions. We raised our daughter Jennifer Clark-Harris, nieces and nephew here as the area is safe and has a strong sense of community and neighborhood association.

What makes this apartment unique

Experience residing in the city as a resident of one of the local communities! Enjoy the classic setting of a 18th century brownstone in a neighborhood which was heavily influenced by the Harlem Renaissance.


based on 26 holidaymaker reviews

Historic Tranquil Charming Quiet Street in NYC
average rating of 3.5384614 based on 26 reviews


  • 5 of 5

Very nice apartment I like the idea it is close to subway and easy access to 95 if you are driving. I would certainly reccommend this for a vacation getaway, very clean area also.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 15, 2008
  • Date of Stay: May 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
34 14
Holland, Michigan

Charming brownstone in Hamilton Heights

  • 4 of 5

Jennifer was very helpful, kind and she replied to my emails quickly. If you love old buildings with lots of character and quirkiness, then this is the place for you. The apartment was clean. The neighborhood felt safe. There's a main metro stop about 2 blocks away. Getting downtown was easy. Lots of coffee shops and grocery stores nearby. The Sugar Hill Cafe was our favorite.

My only dislike was that the bathtub has a weird shower set-up...but hey, the building is over 100 years old so things are not going to be perfect.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 15, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Amy was a pleasure to host and we enjoyed having her stay with us in the city. She left the space clean and prepared the laundry for our housekeeper. Thank you Amy! We would be happy to host you again any time!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 1 of 5

WORST EXPERIENCE IMAGINABLE!!!! Terrible communication between the managers. They did not contact me directly nor did they contact me with any urgency. When I arrived the whole 2nd floor smelled really bad with cat urine. It was awful. There was no shower head and no ac. I arrived early (early was considered 1pm) and they didn't show up until 3 to let me in because they didn't answer calls, emails or txt's. Then they took 3 hours to get the ac and shower head to us at 6pm. During that time I found dead huge roaches in the floor and my brother ended up having an allergic reaction to the cat urine odor.

Which on the advertisement it said there was NO ANIMALS. I booked this place for 8 days, but only stayed for 2 hours due to the conditions and my brothers allergies. Regardless they still charged me for 3/4 of the stay, even though the conditions were terrible. The manager failed to communicate in an adequate time. I emailed her numerous times and she would reply hours later to just tell me to contact home away and then they (home away) would tell me that the manager had to communicate with me.. ended up paying FOR A TWO HOUR STAY..... WORST EXPERIENCE I HAVE EVER HAD!!!!!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We apologize for any concerns/misunderstandings the customer may have had. This is the first time in 40 years that we have had a customer experience such as this. I am not sure why we are being reviewed by the customer as they never stayed in the unit? The customer never notified us of their arrival time and showed up without any notice. We reside at the property so we are always available to our guest and request arrival time so we can be sure to accommodate our guest needs. We accommodated the customer as much as we could under the circumstances. Please note that we have a 30 day cancellation policy for reimbursement and provided the customer with reimbursement despite the fact that she was well past the deadline. For further clarification: There are no animals in or on the property. There were no insects in the unit and the unit has air conditioning. Sadly, it is our understanding that the customer, wanted full reimbursement on the day of arrival (arriving with a larger group than expected) and such statements were made to extort reimbursement. We are fully available face to face and by phone and email to accommodate our guest. We reside at the property so there is no concern with communication.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

If you're a college student OK

  • 2 of 5

Here's the thing...if you're a college student it's ok. the landlord is very nice but the place leaves many things to be desired. First...mice! Yep...Mice. You can see them (I saw two) you can smell them in the hallway. Unfortunately it's not the particular apartment. It's throughout the building. Second.. things are old. By things I mean furniture, bathtub, doors, etc. Everything squeaks and grunts under your feet. Third...neighbors are loud because the floors are thin. Fourth..while the street theoretically is quiet, it is at the intersection with Amsterdam Ave, a main artery where all the police, fire and medical trucks will pass by. Good luck with the sound. And finally fifth.... no curtain. So if you have a problem with the light...you'll have to figure out.

That said... the landlord is very nice! Lovely!

  • Review Submitted: Mar 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Phillip: We apologize for any disappointment during your stay with us. Our building is an 18th century Brownstone in Hamilton Heigh's Landmark community and is over 200 years old. As such there are moans and groans due to the structure. Our style is Shabby Chic and Art Deco in regards to decorating and appeal. These features are protected by the Landmark Preservation and are enjoyable to those who are seeking and have and affinity for antiquity and history. If you were seeking a more contemporary listing then we can see why this would have been a let down. In regard to the smell in the hallway, we apologize for your neighbor who has a cat and was informed during your stay to clean her litter box. The building has monthly extermination in accordance with NYC requirements as the city has been challenged with this problem since the Hurricane Sandy and during the bitter freezing months. We provided an extermination during your stay to the entire building and have not had any problems since. New York is a noisy city and never sleeps. Although this is exciting, it is less amicable during the night. Our neighborhood is actually particularly quiet and is not as noisy as Midtown and Lower Manhattan. We do have curtains in the unit and have additional drapes available but you never requested drapes? Had we known we would have obliged and assisted you in any way we could. We are planning major renovations and updates to our building and hope you will visit again. We will however, maintain the antique 18th century historical culture of the building so this feature will remain. We enjoyed having you with us and hope to see you again in the future. Sincerely, Ms. Clark
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Convenience, comfort and kindness

  • 5 of 5

For anyone interested in staying outside midtown Manhattan but keen to get there easily, this is the perfect apartment - just a block from the A train and a mere 15 minutes from 14th Street. Hamilton Heights is beautiful and this brownstone is in one of its most appealing streets. Although unrenovated, the studio apartment is perfectly comfortable and well maintained. During our month there, we felt very much at home and were sorry to leave. Melony, the building manager, is extremely responsive and efficient; what's more, she went out of her way to assist us in ways that fell outside her job description.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 3, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

It was OK but don't expect to knock your socks off

  • 3 of 5

We stayed here for 1 month exactly. There were some goods and bads. Let me start with the Good:

- Location was great. Two subway stations very near by, bus stops, a lot of small restaurants / coffee shops, etc.

- The area felt safe (despite being Harlem) and we walked around quite a bit. We never had that feeling that we "shouldn't be outside".

- The AC looks small but it does cool the apartment very well (I was so impressed by it that I made that a plus).

- The TV was nice, we watched a lot of TV while staying inside.

- The Internet was pretty fast, had no issues watching netflix or hulu.

- Melony was always prompt in her replies and very courteous.

Now the bad:

- The apartment was on a third level, had I known that at the time of the booking I would have chosen otherwise. This was a major inconvenience and stopped us from enjoying as much as we would have had we been on a first floor. I felt that not adding that in the description of the place (at the time we booked) was wrong.

- The stairway to the apartment smelled REALLY BAD the first couple of weeks. It got better in the last two (or maybe we just got used to the smell). I'm a bit hesitant to type here what it smelled so you'll need to use your imagination.

- The apartment itself is small... VERY SMALL. I'm not sure it should even be called an apartment. Might be best described as a very small studio (very very small).

- The apartment could use a bit of love. I could appreciate some of the rawness of the walls and floors but some other stuff really needs a revamp. Stuff you expect to use like the closet was extremely nasty and dusty inside.

- When we arrived we didn't have any information on the wifi, I had to contact Melony by email to get that. It wasn't a big deal since I could use my phone's internet connection for that but I figured someone without mobile access would probably need to go to a coffee shop in order to send out the email and find out. This could have been easily fixed by just leaving this in the welcome basket which was just empty.

- At the end of the month, both the internet and the cable where cut off. I had to contact melony to get that sorted.

- During our last evening we came across a rat within the apartment. Fortunately it went out the door and never came back.

Overall it was OK. I might stay again here but it would definitely not be my first choice. If the property gets a bit of love and rats are dealt with I would def. stay here again

  • Review Submitted: Sep 19, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
8 1


Nearest Airport
6 Miles
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Miles
145th Street
Nearest Ferry
3 Miles
Downtown Manhattan
Nearest Golf
2 Miles
Bronx, NY
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Interstate 95
Nearest Ski
75 Miles
Shawnee, PA
Nearest Beach
10 Miles
John F. Kennedy
Car: not necessary

Other Activities: Site seeing, dancing, and many more activities in New York City!

Please see the following press about our neighborhood!


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Upper Manhattan, Manhattan

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
for 4 nights

Additional pricing information

New York Taxes 2 per day £2
Cleaning £82
Property Damage Protection £48
Tax Rate 5.88%

$850 - $900 PER WEEK
We accept Visa, MasterCard and American Express

We only rent for 30 days or longer.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Upper Manhattan in New York City

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 3
Building Type:
  • building
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • city centre
  • Monument View ...
  • town ...
  • Water View ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , Rain Shower
  • One full Bathroom.
  • Studio, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , 1 Double Bed , 1 Single Bed , Studio Apartment with platform bed, loft bed& Pull out twin
  • One Loft bed, one Queen Platform bed and twin pull out bed.
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books ...
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Video Player
  • Video Library
  • Balcony ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • forests
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • ski pass optional
  • swimming
  • tennis
NYC Smoke Free Property. Please notify about children (We may leave them some Children Books or entertaining items in the space).

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties