HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

7 Bedroom, 7 bathroom house, 5 on the ground floor. Sauna, Hot Tub, Wifi, Sky

People16
Bedrooms 7
Bathrooms7
Space 0 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

5 ground floor bed & bathrooms + 2 triple bedrooms.

Foldyard House has recently been converted from a small cottage and outhouses into a bright and airy house that sleeps up to 16 guests.

There are 5 ground floor bedrooms and 2 bedrooms located on the first floor. The house offers plenty of entertaining space. Both the sitting room and dining room are large, the sitting room has patio doors leading to the garden and the dining room has bio folding doors also opening into the courtyard garden and patio.

Ground Floor: -

Spacious Kitchen with a double oven and 6 ring ceramic hob, large fridge and freezer and dishwasher. There is also kitchen table which seats 6.

The utility room is located next to the kitchen and has a washing machine and tumble dryer.

A shower room with w.c is located next to the utility room.

The dining room has large table and chairs to seat 16. Internal patio doors between the dining room and games room can be opened up to create a large entertaining space.

Leading from the games room is the sitting room; both rooms share the fireplace with a wood-burning stove. and courtyard garden, ideal for summer entertaining.

A large double bedroom with king-size bed is located at the end of the sitting room, it also has patio doors onto the garden.

There are a further 4 en-suite bedrooms on the ground floor as follows: -

2 Double rooms both with en-suite shower rooms and king sized beds overlooking the courtyard garden.

I king sized double or twin bedroom with en-suite shower room.

1 king sized double or twin with en-suite bathroom with bath and overhead shower. This room has an external door. Both these rooms overlook the front of the house.

First Floor: -

I triple bedroom with 3 single beds and en-suite bathroom with shower over bath.

1 triple room with 3 single beds and an en-suite shower room.

Outside: -

There is an enclosed courtyard garden to the rear of the house with patio tables and chair and Charcoal BBQ .

There is a 6 seater hot tub and outdoor sauna.

Please note the driveway is not gated.

2 pets welcome

More Details

Property Manager
Helen Thomas
Speaks English
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within a few hours
Calendar last updated:
21 August, 2017

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Driffield in East Riding of Yorkshire

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 0 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 16
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • near the sea
  • rural
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 16 people
Bathrooms:
  • 7 Bathrooms
  • Triple Bed 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Triple Bed 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    House Shower - Shower Enclosure
    Ground Floor Twin / Double 1 - Shower Enclosure
    Ground Floor Double / Twin 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Courtyard Bedroom - Shower Enclosure
    Courtyard Bedroom 2 - Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 7 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Ground Floor Double or Twin - Or twins
    Ground Floor Double or Twin 2 - or twins
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Game Room
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
Outside:
  • Barbecue
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub
  • Sauna
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • horse riding
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(13 traveller reviews)

53% Complete
38% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
7 Bedroom, 7 bathroom house, 5 on the ground floor. Sauna, Hot Tub, Wifi, Sky
average rating of 4.4615383 based on 13 reviews
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
4

A COUPLE OF PROBLEMS AND BIBLICAL AMOUNT OF FLIES TOOK THE SHINE OFF A LITTLE

  • 4 of 5

WE ARRIVED AND WERE MET BY LYNDA THE CARETAKER WHO WAS LOVELY, LOCAL AND COULDN'T HAVE BEEN MORE HELPFUL. THE SPACE, LAYOUT AND FACILITIES WERE PERFECT FOR OUR 4 GENERATION GROUP OF 11 ADULTS, 4 CHILDREN AND TWO DOGS. THE LOCATION IS RURAL BUT ONLY A SHORT DRIVE TO ANYTHING REQUIRED. THE GARDEN AREA IS SECURE, PRIVATE AND WELL EQUIPPED. HOWEVER, THE BIFOLD DOORS OFF THE DINING AREA TO THE GARDEN WERE NOT FUNTIONING WITH A NOTICE TO THAT EFFECT. IT DID MAKE TRAFFIC OF OUR GROUP IN AND OUT OF THE GARDEN AWKWARD AT TIMES. THE SMALL BRICK BBQ WAS IN NEED OF REPAIR AND NOT USABLE, HOWEVER WE WERE SUPPLIED WITH A LARGE FIRE PIT BBQ WHICH WAS ADEQUATE IF A LITTLE LOW AND AWKWARD TO COOK WITH AND EMPTY THE ASHES. THEN WE COME TO THE FLIES. THOUSANDS. WE SWEPT UP HUNDREDS IN EVERY PART OF THE HOUSE EVERY MORNING, USED SEVERAL CANS OF SPRAY AND USED HANGING FLY PAPER TO TRY AND KEEP THEM AT BAY, BUT THEY WERE A REAL PROBLEM DAY AND NIGHT, LANDING ON US AND MAKING FOOD PREPARATION CHALLENGING. THE CLEANING CREW THAT ARRIVED AS WE WERE LEAVING INFORMED US THAT THEY HAD SPECIALISTS COMING THE FOLLOWING WEEK TO ATTEMPT TO RECTIFY THE FLY PROBLEM. IT WAS A REAL SHAME BECAUSE WITHOUT THESE ISSUES THIS PLACE IS THE PERFECT VENUE FOR ANY FAMILY OR GROUP GETAWAY.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 9, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: House Parties
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
London, United Kingdom
5

A perfect venue for a reunion of family and friends returning to my East Yorkshire roots

  • 5 of 5

I chose Foldyard Cottage for a house party mega-celebration of various anniversaries as well as "Hull UK City of Culture" in a countryside setting - and was not disappointed. The house is extremely well designed and equipped with plenty to appeal to all generations. The managers and local caretaker went out of their way to meet our requests. The hot tub and sauna were very welcome additions and my guests were impressed with the spaciousness and comfort. Tho only slight downside was the persistence of the fly population, which we gathered was a general problem in the area. There were brave attempts to keep them at bay but perhaps a stock of light muslin cloths to put over food during preparation would help. The installation of ensuite facilities in the seventh bedroom would be a huge benefit, but if it is technically not possible, the provision of bathrobes for that room would have been appreciated as it is a bit of a walk in the middle of the the night! But minor disadvantages compared with the general high standard of accommodation and great location in easy reach of the coast, the delightful market towns and the cultural offering of Hull.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 31, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: House Parties
Owner's Response: Dear Susan, I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. There does seem to be a problem with flies in the area and we now have a "fly man" scheduled for a few days time and he will also make regular visits throughout the year which we hope will solve the problem. Kind regards Helen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Purley, United Kingdom
4

Stay from 30th June to 2nd of July

  • 4 of 5

Very special and clean. The kitchen was well equipped with everything we needed the for our stay. We were able to make use of the hot tub and well maintained garden. It was great not having to check out until 4pm too.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 12, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: House Parties
Owner's Response: Dear Penelope, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at Foldyard. We are always trying to improve our service to guests and notice you gave a 3 for service and value, if you have any suggestions as to how we can improve on these please do let us know, it is important that our guests are happy with all aspects of their stay. Kind regards Helen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Malton, United Kingdom
3

Could do better

  • 3 of 5

The house itself is lovely and we enjoyed the space and facilities such as the hot tub and games room. The rooms were nicely decorated and spacious, the kitchen well-equipped. We also appreciated the gesture of the complimentary Prosecco.

However I have scored 'OK' rather than good or excellent on account of a number of niggles, as follows:

Firstly the bathrooms were only patchily equipped with toilet rolls and soap so upon arrival we had to go out and purchase these items - which we had anticipated would be provided as standard in a property of this calibre - ourselves. Overall the cleanliness and condition were good, however when we arrived we found that the dishwasher hadn't been emptied and the items in it hadn't washed well; we found broken glass and lumps of pasta in the bottom of the dishwasher too. We also had to contact the owners on account of odours in the bathrooms - seemingly emanating from drains due an issue with the pump to the septic tank.

Two elderly members of our party experienced challenges going up and down the steps on the ground floor; a handrail might have helped. Likewise grab rails in the showers would be a good addition. Presently the house is definitely not disabled-friendly.

I would recommend this property conditional upon those issues being resolved as it is great for a large party and has many attractive elements.

  • Review Submitted: Jan 17, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2017
  • Source: House Parties
Owner's Response: Dear Ann, Thank you for your review. I am sorry about the dishwasher and lack of loo rolls and soap, we have informed the caret king staff. A plumber is also going in to look at the problem with the drains. We do not advertise Foldyard house as a disabled friendly house, merely that it has many ground floor bedrooms, therefore it is not necessary to put up grab rails and handrails. Kind regards Helen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Driffield, United Kingdom
4

Lovely weekend at Foldyard Cottage

  • 4 of 5

16 of us stayed for the weekend and we didn't want to leave!! Luxurious and spacious yet with a homely feel, the cottage has everything you need for a great stay and we couldn't fault it. Many thanks. We may well return!

  • Review Submitted: Nov 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: House Parties
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Halifax, United Kingdom
4

Family birthday celebration weekend

  • 4 of 5

We had a lovely stay at Foldyard house. All the bedrooms and living rooms we all felt were comfortable.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: House Parties
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Photos

Prices & Availability

Notes

  • Contractual booking deposit: 33.00% rent
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable