HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Modern Original Houseboat interior with private terrace on peaceful green canal

People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house boat
Minimum Stay 1 - 4 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house boat
People
4
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
1 - 4 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday house boat in Amsterdam Oud-West - Dreamaway Houseboat Apartment

Private Houseboat Apartment with garden and terrace.

Experience Dreamtime culture on our Dreamaway Houseboat. Enter a world of art and nature surrounded by rippling water, birdlife and small boats cruising by. Dream on floating water and wake up in a wonderful tropical garden atmosphere. Then have your breakfast under an open sky.

Dreamaway Houseboat is artistically designed to create a spacious and harmonious atmosphere. Big sliding doors and an indoor garden with a glass roof that opens up when wanted. Have full contact with the water and birdlife outside. Do not be surprised if they come asking for some food. Multi colored walls and ceiling combined with Australian Aboriginal Art adds to the dreamtime experience. At night the many little dimmed lights give it a luminous colorful atmosphere with reflections of the water coming inside. The extra large TV is packed with a hundred movies and Netflix to see. Classical English style kitchen with high quality equipment. The bathroom is tiled in Italian natural stone and under floor heated venetian mosaic. Extra large bath and separate shower. The entire apartment is under floor heated with classical mosaic wooden flooring and more Italian natural stone which gives a very comfortable climate through the whole boat. ( Also very warm in Winter!! ) You can have your breakfast or a BBQ on the big 35 m2 terrace next to the boat outside.

Dreamaway Houseboat is a private apartment. Not an "entire" Houseboat. Due to a technicality of Homeaway's listing options the title does not describe the actual situation. Dreamaway Houseboat apartment is an extension of a larger houseboat. The Houseboat consists of 2 separate apartments. Dreamtime Houseboat Apartment has a private entrance, private terrace and all other facilities.

During the day you can enjoy one open space and by night one can use 3 sliding doors to create 4 separate compartments. Creating a kitchen, dining area, bedroom and one large suite/ bedroom with 2 single beds that can be constructed into a double bed. The bedrooms are created with the sliding doors. This is not a stereotype setting like in a normal house or apartment. The sliding door that is used to separate the two sleeping rooms is extremely soundproof and gives maximum privacy between the two rooms. The blue curtain hanging in the smaller bedroom can be used for visual privacy if you or one of your travel companions will open the sliding doors and walk through this smaller bedroom to go to the toilet at night.

Please look at the plan/picture seen from above for a clearer understanding. Also the pictures show the actual situation of the houseboat by day and by night.

Ideal for groups, families and everyone who loves to make there stay in Amsterdam a unique experience in an outdoor setting with a lot's of daylight and a sense of freedom.

Located very near of the old city centre. A very unique and beautiful location. There is no canal so close by all major museum, famous Vondel park and the city centre with so much privacy and peaceful atmosphere. We waited 10 years for a place on this canal! Nearby are many little picturesque restaurants, cafe's and shopping streets. A local farmers market around the corner and a public transport tram stop for all directions. Explore the city by tram, dutch bicycle or even a small motor boat if you hire one in town.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed

Property Manager
Melle
Member since: 2015
Speaks English, French, German, Dutch
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
2 December, 2016
Call Manager

About Melle

I have a gallery in town with Australian Aboriginal Art. I have this gallery for 20 years now. The paintings in the Houseboat are made by Australian Aboriginal Artists. I like to interior decorate houses and shops. I have redecorated my shop several times and this new modern Houseboat I decorated in 2010. For more details on my Gallery see www.aboriginalart.nl

Melle purchased this house boat in 2010

Why Melle chose Amsterdam City

I always wanted to have a houseboat for the freedom it gives you in Amsterdam. Most houses are very small and you always here a neighbour walking or talking above below or next to you. The privacy in a Houseboat is much better. I had to wait 10 years to buy a spot on the canal I am on now. It is one of the only canals which has the option of a Garden and terrace. It is also very peaceful and close to the park and all mayor city attractions. The neighbourhood is more diverse than the old city center part. Also a lot greener. At this moment it is one of the best places to be in Amsterdam. It is close to everything and very quietly hidden from all the noise.

What makes this house boat unique

I had the houseboat build myself and one of the most pleasant things I have build in it is the underfloor heating which makes it awesome in winter. Also the combination of colours is unique in a city with grey brick walls everywhere : ) Also the Garden with many plants is unique compared to a Houseboat without a garden. Lot's of Green and privacy!

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(17 traveller reviews)

Modern Original Houseboat interior with private terrace on peaceful green canal
average rating of 4.8235292 based on 17 reviews
Liverpool
5

Property clean tidy and the owner really helpfull

  • 5 of 5

Was 2 min from tram shops and market had a great time best place have stayed in Amsterdam by far you can feed swans and ducks from window

  • Review Submitted: Nov 16, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

A lovely houseboat

  • 4 of 5

We had a lovely stay on this very comfortable houseboat. The owner Melle was very welcoming and helpful, providing us with lots of useful information and maps about the area before we started our holiday, enabling us to make the most of the local facilities and places of interest.

Although the houseboat is not centrally located we enjoyed walking around the interesting streets and canals to find our way to some of the bigger tourist attractions.

Amsterdam is a great city to visit, there is so much to do! We will definitely return and would recommend it to friends and family.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 31, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your nice review and comments. It is much appreciated. Your always welcome to come and stay again. The ducks and swan's miss you already. All the best, Audrey & Melle
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic place to stay!😀

  • 5 of 5

We booked this weekend on the houseboat as a special treat and celebration of my daughter's 21st. The house boat is absolutely gorgeous, beautifully decorated with art and immaculately clean. All facilities you need to a high spec. The experience of staying on a houseboat was amazing, the views, the sounds of the lapping water and the calmness of the place was wonderful. It is situated in a nice, quiet neighbourhood and it's quite easy to get around the city. Would HIGHLY recommend this place. We would love to visit again!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 29, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Robert, Thank you for your kind rating and generous review and comments. Nice to hear you enjoyed the houseboat so much. That is always nice to hear. It is a very colourful boat indeed. Whenever there are no guests I like to stay there myself. A little holiday in my own town : ) Your very welcome to come and stay again. Say hi to the family from me. All the best, Audrey & Melle
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay at your houseboat, and wished we could have stayed longer. We enjoyed the size and modern facilities. It was home away from home only on the water.

Had a great time.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your nice comments and rating. It is much appreciated. Your always welcome to come and stay again. The swan's and ducks already miss you : ) Hope to see you again some day. All the best, Audrey & Melle
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Alberta, Canada
4

Quiet area great for family with nearby park

  • 4 of 5

Overall our experience was nice. The area was quiet, garden was lovely, we had all that we needed. Host was very accommodating. The only down side was that the house boat was attached to another. I didn't hear any noise from the other side, but felt I needed to keep my kids quiet as we were asked to shut certain doors at certain times to avoid disturbing the other side. I had expected a stand alone houseboat for the cost.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 15, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your nice review and rating of the houseboat. Good to hear you had a nice experience during your stay. It is always good to hear that. I looked into my listing description and I saw I can improve it by saying it is not an "entire houseboat". It is true that it is very well insulated against noise and only in the kitchen one is asked to be quiet at night because it is closer to the other apartment. When you close the kitchen door there is no need to be quiet at all. I think I must have not communicated that thoroughly. My apologies for that. There was no need to be quiet. Unfortunately the Amsterdam law does not permit me to rent out the entire boat. The photo's cover exactly what you pay for. A private apartment with garden and all facilities are private too. Your always welcome to come and stay again and I wish you a great summer. All the best, Melle Smit
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Nicely decorated modern houseboat

  • 5 of 5

Everything was nice about the houseboat. The area, the terrace with many flowers and plants, the bathroom with the mosaic stones. Very peaceful place.

I recommend it to everybody.

  • Review Submitted: May 13, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Location

Amsterdam Canals
Van Gogh Museum
Anne Frank House
Nearest Airport
3 Kilometres
Schiphol
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Kilometres
van Lennep
Nearest Train
2 Kilometres
Station Lelylaan
Nearest Motorway
2 Kilometres
Ring A10
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Kilometres
Van Lennep
Nearest Beach
25 Kilometres
Bloemendaal
Car: not necessary

The Local area has many little lunchrooms and restaurants in the neighbourhood. Also a variety of little shops a farmers market. A big foodcourt in an old Tram yard. One can also rent a boat nearby and tour the Amsterdam canals. All mayor Museum's and park are in walking distance.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house boat in Amsterdam Oud-West, Amsterdam City

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
December rate
3 Dec 2016 - 11 Dec 2016
2 night minimum stay
£155
for 2 nights
From
£77
From
£97
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
December Rate
12 Dec 2016 - 18 Dec 2016
2 night minimum stay
£219
for 2 nights
From
£109
From
£147
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
December 19
19 Dec 2016 - 24 Dec 2016
1 night minimum stay
£77
for 1 night
From
£77
 
 
New years
27 Dec 2016 - 2 Jan 2017
4 night minimum stay
£1,177
for 4 nights
From
£294
 
 
JANUARI
4 Jan 2017 - 31 Jan 2017
2 night minimum stay
£227
for 2 nights
From
£114
From
£139
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
FEBRUARI
1 Feb 2017 - 28 Feb 2017
2 night minimum stay
£244
for 2 nights
From
£122
From
£147
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
MARCH
1 Mar 2017 - 31 Mar 2017
2 night minimum stay
£256
for 2 nights
From
£128
From
£147
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
APRIL START
1 Apr 2017 - 13 Apr 2017
2 night minimum stay
£277
for 2 nights
From
£139
From
£164
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
 
EASTER
14 Apr 2017 - 18 Apr 2017
4 night minimum stay
£824
for 4 nights
From
£206
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£412
for 2 nights
From
£206
£925
 

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £84

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house boat in Amsterdam Oud-West in Amsterdam area

Property Type:
  • house boat
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 40 m²
Location Type:
  • city centre
  • waterfront
General:
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen ...
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Shower Enclosure
  • Venetian mosaic underfloor heated bathroom.Walls made of Italian Natural stone.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , 2 Single Bed , One double or 2 singles. Not both
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Large Double Bed , 2 Single Bed , One double or 2 single beds. Not both options together
  • Sleeps 2 persons on Boxspring beds. Beds can be made into one double or 2 singles.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Boat ...
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • roller blading
  • swimming
  • tennis

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties