HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Charming Schroon Lake Boathouse Rental

Bedrooms 1
Space 476 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

1 bedroom, 1bathroom, sleeps a single or couple

Private, serene, one bedroom boathouse getaway on Beautiful Schroon Lake. Just renovated-includes full kitchen, bath, living area, large windows, fireplace with gas insert, nicely furnished, wireless access, satellite TV, DVD, etc. The mountains and lake views from the boathouse property are fabulous. The owner of the property has the right of way to use this area to get into the lake etc.. This is one of the nicest properties on the lake. Just 45 minutes from Saratoga, 45 minutes to Lake Placid, 20 minutes to Gore Mt. Whether you want to sit back and relax, or get into the Adirondack outdoors, this is the place to be! Weekly, monthly or seasonal rental available.

I prefer weekly rentals during the summer , but I will book 2-3 nights ,if my calendar doesn't fill up the week

Best setting on Schroon Lake!: When you look out from the living area of this bome,you are in awe your surroundings.

More Details

Mary Ann White
Member since: 2008
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
22 July, 2017


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Schroon Lake in Schroon

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 476 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • not suitable for children ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • lake
  • Lakefront
  • mountain
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Mobile Phone
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Large Vanity
  • All new
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • Bedroom has good closet space, lighting and furnishings.
  • Audio Tape Player
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Beach Towels
  • Binoculars
  • Boat with Paddles
  • Canoe
  • Terrace
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Barbecue
  • Walkway to Water
  • Wood Decking
  • 8 garden chairs
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
  • not suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • forests
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • ski pass optional
  • ski
  • snorkelling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
The kitchen is new as is the bathroom. The view is great and the location is very peaceful and enjoyable. There are 2 kayaks,1 row boat and a canoe. If you bring a boat, it should be used by the tenants only. The drinking water is provided by a 280 ft. well and is the same as is delivered to the main house.


Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(10 traveller reviews)

60% Complete
20% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
10% Complete
Charming Schroon Lake Boathouse Rental
average rating of 4.2 based on 10 reviews

Very pleased!

  • 5 of 5

Clean space with wonderful view of lake. Mary Ann was very kind and attentive. We really enjoyed the place and area. Had great meal out one night. Only gap - which from some perspectives might be positive - is that there was not any access to internet unless close to main house. Otherwise, very pleased. We would definitely return.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 11, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I was not aware that there was no internet access. If I had known, I would have told them how to connect to it. I wish I had been told about it. I have had 4 renters earlier and they had a good connection. Mary Ann
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
St. James, NY

Immaculate Interior

  • 4 of 5

Mary ann the owner is a sweetheart of a person. She recommended a great restaurant right down the road., which was a BYOB. The interior of the boat house was Immaculate, which was my main concern, Very comfortable & cozy, what an awesome view right on the Lake. I used her kayak & paddles & life vest. She lent me butter that i ended up not using. The only reason i didnt give it 5 stars was the outdoor furniture on the deck was really tired. i sat in the chair & it broke. There are built in seats in the deck so it didnt bother me. Great Place & Great Owner!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 19, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

I made a friend...the owner Mary Ann is awesome...this rental was perfect.....a great view of the lake.....kitchen was perfect and the bed was just right....the cabin was very clean....fully stocked...TV...DVD player..wifi...coffee maker...everything I needed..I was a happy camper..Mary Ann recommend local restaurants....she just made us feel like family...I would SO recommend the boat house for vacation...great location...great rental....thanks for giving me a awesome memory :)

  • Review Submitted: Jul 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Perfect and Relaxing

  • 5 of 5

Second stay at this delightful location. Peaceful surroundings - Beautiful lake view. Deck for morning coffee by the lake.

Crystal clear water. Boathouse is charming and Mary Ann is most helpful. We forgot salad dressing and she brought us hers.

Made a friend for life and hopefully, a summer vacation for years to come.

Thanks !

  • Review Submitted: Jul 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Quiet, Beautiful Setting!!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful 5-night stay at this property, and will definitely return.The owner took great pains to make sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. We were traveling by motorcycle, and Mary Ann even brought our bike covers to us one night when we returned. The house was well-stocked. We found the bed to be very comfortable, and slept well. We saw loons and duck families from the big picture window, and had a great time kayaking in the peaceful surroundings. I would highly recommend this property to anyone who loves being near the water, and who wants to be in a beautiful, relaxing setting.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice location but NOT WORTH THE HASSLE!

  • 1 of 5

My husband and I were excited to spend 5 nights at this lovely setting. The trouble began almost immediately when I had to call and email the owner over and over to try to get a response on availability for the days we wanted. I persisted because the location was ideal (close to a wedding we were attending in the area) and it looked so nice from the photos. The owner finally called me back and said the dates were free and I should send her a check for half the total rental cost. I had to insist on some sort of contract or at least an email stating the dates and terms. She was surprised that I wouldn't simply send a check for $$$! It took another couple weeks to get the "contract" (a typed paragraph that I could barely read it was scanned so small).

Several months went by.

As the date of our vacation approached, I again emailed the owner to find out the exact address and other check-in details. Again, no response. So I called and left messages. She finally called me back one evening and had no idea who I was. She said she had my name down for another set of dates. She even read me an email that she thought was from me... I had to respond simply with, "I have no idea who sent you that... that's not from me. We booked the trip months ago and have a signed agreement."

She reassured me all was well and we arrived on our pre-arranged date. The house was cozy and well appointed with one glaring exception: the bed was horrible. Old, ancient springs, sagging mattress... we were miserable and even checked out a day early because we both couldn't sleep and were tired and cranky from tossing and turning. The day before we left, I emailed the owner about this asking if she'd even consider refunding us one night's stay. No response. I called and texted. No response. After we got home, I tried again to reach her... I hoped she'd be understanding and offer some compensation. I asked her to let me know one way or another. No reply.

Note that there is not, in fact, any WIFI you can access. The password she gave us didn't work and we were so burned from trying to communicate with her about other details that we didn't bother trying further to get her to double check if the password had changed or something like that.

Also, the very first morning we awoke (true... we were half awake from the dreadful mattress anyway) to her grandchild opening the door to the cabin at 7 am. We both leaped out of bed and scrambled to pull on clothes! Very alarming and unsettling.

  • Review Submitted: Nov 16, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I had a lot going on this past spring and fall due to a family illness and I had to be away from home often. While away, I was unable to access my e-mails etc. along with the lack of a computer. To make things more confusing, I had requests from 2 renters with similar names (Kristen and Kirsten). There was a time when I got the dates for each of the 2 mixed up due to the situation I was in at the time and not having access to a computer.( Hence the conversation I had with “Kirsten”. ) I was asked to send her a contract. I sent a small form of the contract and I assumed she would enlarge it before printing it out. As for the pillow top mattress, I have never had any negative responses from any of my renters in the past. I pride myself with keeping everything stocked with the amenities included in the rental, and I realized I forgot to include something. I disagree with the time Kirsten stated about the abrupt interruption my granddaughter approached the Boathouse. I believe it was closer to 9 A.M. and she was to leave the article outside the door. The cottage does pick up my wireless connection and I gave the password to them. I also said to let me know if they had any trouble. I assumed everything was okay after I didn’t hear from them. The day they left I was not here because I had to go drive my 2 grandchildren home and I didn’t arrive back until later in the week. I do not ask my renters for reviews but I can assure you that I have had many positive letters etc. filled with wonderful reviews. I was remiss in not responding to Kirsten’s e-mail but I was tied up with going back to Long Island once again. To make matters worse, my home computer was “hacked” and I was unable to regain a lot of past information. At no time did I get the feeling that the couple was unhappy with their living quarters and I was surprised to see such a negative review. I am sorry that Kirsten had such a terrible stay and that she saw it necessary for me to return her last night’s stay. I have returned rental money in the past but I didn’t think that this was a warranted complaint.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0


Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Albany, NY
Nearest Barpub
3 Miles
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Nearest Ski
5 Miles
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Car: recommended


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Schroon Lake, USA

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
Summer and Fall
6 Jul 2017 - 31 Oct 2017
3 night minimum stay
for 3 nights
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
for 2 nights

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £46.16

I live in the main house and the Boathouse is closer to the lake and I respect your privacy.I will provide all necessary linens, paper, and normal soaps etc.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now