Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Dove Cottage, Homeleigh Farm

Bedrooms 2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

A stone and slate traditional Cornish cottage with its own garden in six acres of parkland in Chapel Amble. Walking distance to the Maltsters Arms and village shop/post office, and close to the Camel Estuary (Rock, Polzeath and Padstow) and the North Cornwall Coast (Port Isaac and Tintagel).. Two bedroomed ETC 4 star accommodation fully equipped. Bedding, towels and basics provided. Open all year. Pets welcome.

Philip Rees
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
22 May, 2018


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Chapel Amble in Cornwall

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00 / Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • village
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Television
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • bay
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • paragliding
  • sailing
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


4/5 -
(4 traveller reviews)

50% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
Dove Cottage, Homeleigh Farm
average rating of 4.0 based on 4 reviews

Lovely quiet retreat in a beautiful part of Cornwall

  • 5 of 5

The cottage was lovely, spacious and clean. It had everything you need, a real home from home. Mr Rees was very helpful and welcoming and we really could not fault anything. I would thoroughly recommend Dove Cottage and hope that we will be able to stay there again sometime soon.

  • Review Submitted: 10-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: April 2018
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday with us, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 2 of 5

The owner was extremely helpful dealing with queries via email/telephone and came across as very amiable. Upon arrival - after a long journey, I was met with some indifference and not one enquiry as to our journey. I was shown the bare bones of "need to know" and that was that! We had over a few days queries but were unable to speak with the owner. He was rarely around. When we did meet, the problems were dealt with promptly with no apology, no interest and never wanted to chat. We felt in the way!

The good points - property/bed linen was clean and the beds quite comfortable. Laundry facilities looked well-equipped. The "Welcome" folder seemed well prepared with variety of information. Good safe enclosed garden and grounds for exercising the dogs.

The poor points -

*Pillows were very uncomfortable with no support.

*Bathroom clean though the grouting to the sink was unfinished/smeared; safety shower mat had old mould stains; no grab-rail for getting in/out of bath to shower; ONLY ONE TOILET ROLL for a whole week for 2 people - do not expect to provide toilet rolls! Reluctance to provide more.

*Overall poor lighting downstairs and bedside lighting inadequate making it hard to read - switches hard to work as so small to the lights - one light switch broke whilst trying to operate.

*Tatty curtains - some of which were hanging off their hooks

*Although the bed linen was clean, but upon stripping the bed linen prior to leaving found duvet covers rather stained. I do not again, really expect to have to strip bedding - and began to wonder what the cleaner did as most of the work was expected to be done by tenants prior to leaving.

*Downstairs kitchen poorly equipped - wondered where the saucepans were - only one large frying pan with a very wobbly handle.

*Very rusty scratched old-looking electric cooker.

*Radio had leaked batteries and out-of-date PAT test label to this and Mains.

*No side tables to put down drinks, food etc. had to improvise using chairs. There was one large coffee table but that housed leaflets, magazines etc.

*The laundry facility, looked good, but not impressed with caked on soap powder in dispensers that clearly had been there for some time - therefore how clean the machines? No apparent instructions on how to use the equipment - one had to guess.

*Outside the pathway and entrance not been swept,outside doormat had not been moved in some time as lot of dust/leaves underneath. Was not as good as photos. Not 4*.

  • Review Submitted: 06-Nov-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your comments on our cottages. I would like to clarify some of your comments both for your assurance and for other potential visitors that might read your review. Unfortunately, I am not always available, which is why I mentioned on your arrival that my daughter lived across the yard and was there to help. I am sorry that you did not find me chatty, but hope you agree that I dealt efficiently and rapidly with every issue you raised. This included providing further toilet rolls, replacing batteries in the iPod docking station, helping you turn on the TV and replacing a glass. It is disappointing that you did not raise your other issues with me on the occasions I came at your request. There is a range of eight mostly new pillows in the cottage, but I could always provide more for the two of you. I could have shown you where the saucepans (a matched set of four, plus a further frying pan) are kept in the cupboard under the sink. I could have changed the bulbs in the bedroom and replaced the lamp you broke. The washing machines are standard domestic machines, but I could have explained how to use them. With regard to your other concerns. Safety - PAT testing is recommended every two years, and no equipment was out of date. There are seven lights in the downstairs area including a mobile standard lamp. It would be difficult to add more lights. I will look at putting a grab rail in the bathroom. Comfort –most people position the side table between the two sofas for ease of use. Further tables would clutter the space. Equipment – the cooker was due for replacing and now has been. A previous visitor had broken the basin; I managed to get the new basin in but not grouted. I should have explained this to you on your arrival. Cleanliness – the duvet is badly coffee stained and has been replaced, as has the shower mat. The curtains will have their annual wash during the closed season. The laundry filters are cleaned on a regular basis. Autumn gales create havoc to Cornish gardens and I agree ours did not look their best during your stay. Departure – I request that people strip the beds as frequently I have found personal possessions left in bedding. It is a request not an order. I am sorry that you were so disappointed with your stay with us. I hope that it has not disillusioned you about staying in self-catering cottages, which are inevitably different to hotels, and that you will enjoy your next self-catering holiday more than you have this one.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Delightful stay

  • 4 of 5

My husband & I stayed in Dove Cottage for a week in June 2016. We had a delightful week in part because the cottage had everything we possibly needed, & due to the proximity to activities and places of interest. We especially enjoyed the private garden, after a busy day of cycling on The Camel Trail or sight-seeing in charming villages. This is truly a place to get away from it all. You need to be able to climb stairs to stay here; bedrooms are on the second floor up a spiral stair case. Although we made many of our own meals, after shopping at the TESCO in nearby Wadebridge, we enjoyed walking to the village pub for a drink or a dinner out. Padstow & Port Isaac are very close by. I would recommend this property to family & friends. Phillip will take care of you to make your stay a special one. We hope to return one day.

Carol & Frank from Orlando, Florida, USA

  • Review Submitted: 01-Jul-2016
  • Date of Stay: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It was a delight to have you stay with us and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here in Cornwall. For clarity for our English visitors the bedrooms are on the first floor! (As ever the Brits and Americans are divided by a common language.) Best wishes, Philip
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wunderbar erholsamer Urlaub

  • 5 of 5

Das Cottage war toll ausgestattet und entsprach voll unseren Erwartungen. Es ist schön ruhig gelegen und für eventuelle Fragen oder Wünsche steht der im gegenüber liegenden Haus wohnende Vermieter hilfsbereit zur Verfügung. Der örtliche Pub ist nur 200 Meter entfernt und bietet sehr schmackhafte Gerichte. Die noch näher gelegene Post ist eigentlich ein Tante-Emma-Laden, in dem man das Nötigste einkaufen kann, wenn man keine Lust hat, in einem der größeren Orte den Supermarkt aufzusuchen.

Insgesamt war der Aufenthalt wie auch der gesamte Urlaub traumhaft schön. Wir kommen wieder!

  • Review Submitted: 19-Jul-2016
  • Date of Stay: July 2016
  • Source: Fewo Direkt, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
12 Miles
Newquay International Airport
Nearest Barpub
150 Metres
The Maltsters
Nearest Ferry
3 Miles
Rock to Padstow
Nearest Train
13 Miles
Bodmin Parkway
Nearest Motorway
70 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
150 Metres
The Maltsters
Nearest Beach
3 Miles
Various on Camel Estuary and North Coast


Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £30

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar holiday rentals