HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Large Town-house within a Central Location in "Las Americas" near the Beach

Bedrooms 3
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 - 14 nights


Minimum Stay
7 - 14 nights

About the property

Two / Three Bed With Three Baths, Dining & Living Rooms, Kitchen and Terrace

A large two / three bedroom modern town-house suitable for six, two double and one twin bedded, (circa 110 sq metres) with excellent modern features and furnished to a high standard for the owners who use this apartment during parts of the year. The apartment is architecturally laid out in an interesting way in that none of the rooms are truly square more trapezoidal in shape with quality features.

The sitting room has plaster ceiling mouldings and a granite top to the feature fireplace (non-functioning and only decorative). The house has a range of original oil paintings and watercolours around the apartment. The house has been a family home and is just on the rental market for the first time in July, 2015. The house is located within a secure apartment complex close to a thriving and very busy multicultural entertainment location with many restaurants, bars, nightclubs and of course the beach and sporting and water based activities. A private security firm monitors the Complex on a regular basis. Excellent shopping facilities within a two minute walk.

The bedrooms have large wardrobes, chairs and incidental tables with drawers and lamps. The three bedroom areas also have electric fans. The two double bedrooms have en-suite bathrooms whilst the open area bedroom has the main bathroom as an en-suite. Main modern bathroom with large fitted bespoke shower with WC and handbasin. Large linen cupboard. All bedrooms are fitted with quality drapes and blackout curtains.

Separate but open plan kitchen including all built in functions and amenities one would expect - built in under-counter cooker, worktop microwave, electric ceramic hob and refrigerator. Fully equipped kitchen with cutlery, knives, accessories and electric appliances including toaster, kettle, sandwich maker etc. The kitchen worktop is in black granite.

A large separate sitting room with fireplace and TV / stereo equipment, stereo centre, DVD and TV. The apartment is connected to an English language TV service and from 19th February a Broadband wi-fi service has been installed for enhanced guest comfort. There are quality side lamps, large tasteful coffee table and quality leather settees. Feature light fittings and original watercolour, artist drawings and oil paintings. There is a small side area separate from the main sitting room with a small table and armchair.

There is a large separate dining room area incorporating dining table and four matching chairs, feature nook and modern staircase. The table can accommodate six and there are several other chairs which can be used to supplement.

The top floor opens to a large sun terrace. Two sun loungers and two sun-chairs are provided. The terrace is not overlooked and is completely private with a stupendous vista to the sea. An open air shower to cool off after sunbathing on the terrace is provided. One can see the adjacent four star "Troya Hotel" in the distance, palm trees and of course the sea. A retractable clothes line is fitted to the terrace. There is a locked utility room with clothes airer, ladder and stacked washing machine and air dryer.

The apartment complex is laid out in a very interesting way with walkways through well developed gardens with many flowers and palm trees.

It is regretted that the Community Pool is presently closed as it did not meet recent European safety requirements. There is presently no date for completion as the work is yet to start.

More Details

Mr James McConway
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
5 January, 2017

Why Mr James McConway chose South Tenerife

This townhouse / apartment is situated in an attractively laid out and secure gated community in "San Rafael" pretty close to pretty well all amenities and sports. The apartment Complex is monitored by private security personnel and entry is permitted if one has a high security resident's key.The apartment is fitted out to a very high standard with excellent decor including original oil paintings and watercolours and has excellent functionality. The location of San Rafael is one of the most popular "night time" locations in Playa las Americas, Tenerife and is extremely busy and very multicultural. There are beautiful views from the large roof-top terrace facing due West towards the setting sun with direct sunshine from midday to sunset. Spectacular sunsets and occasional firework displays.

What makes this house unique

Excellent indoor facilities. Proximity to shops, pubs, restaurants and the Troya beach a five minute walk away, and the famous "Geranium Walk" to Puerto Colon in one direction and Los Cristianos in the other direction.


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Arona in Tenerife

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 110 m²
Location Type:
  • beach
  • near the sea
  • resort
  • town
  • waterfront
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Holiday Complex
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Fireplace ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 6 people
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom - Main - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Handbasin; - a private bathroom for the open third bedroom
    Master Bedroom Ensuite - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Handbasin and linen press
    Double Bedroom 2 Ensuite - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Ensuite to second double bedroom with Handbasin
    Shower on Sun Terrace - Shower Enclosure , Outdoor Shower , External open shower on terrace. Cooling after sunbathing
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 3 - open access - 2 Sofa bed/Futon , Large open access on 1st floor serves as a third bedroom
    Bedroom Master with Ensuite - 1 Large Double Bed , Independent casual sitting area + chairs, tables & wardrobe
    Bedroom 2 with Ensuite - 1 Large Double Bed , Ensuite bathroom, chairs, wardrobes and chest of drawers
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only
  • not suitable for children
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • bay
  • churches
  • duty free shops
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • volcano
  • water parks
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • snorkelling
  • bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
This property is located in the heart of a thriving and busy multicultural entertainment zone in Playa Las Americas suitable for the young at heart. The range of bars, restaurants, night clubs and adult entertainment is awesome. This apartment is truly in a central location in Playa las Americas, South Tenerife, and is a suitable base to do whatever you want to do. You do not need a car but if you do you can explore the entire Island visiting many places of interest. Car parking is on-street and is good. The "Tenerife Pearl" shop is worth a visit. Teide, the volcano and the Parador (Hotel run by the Spanish State) are worth a visit as is also the harbour at Los Gigantes. Sunday lunch in the main restaurant at the Teide Parador is truly memorable. On the economic side, locally a large beer can cost from Euro 1.50 and a large English breakfast from Euro 3.50. T- bone steaks from circa Euro 14.00.


3.2/5 -
(6 traveller reviews)

Large Town-house within a Central Location in "Las Americas" near the Beach
average rating of 3.1666667 based on 6 reviews

Not recommended!

  • 1 of 5

This townhouse complex is close to the beach and the action in Playa de las Americas, and the unit itself is clean, comfortable and in generally good repair.

There are a few problems, however. The first is security. Apparently, for security reasons, the complex gives out very few keys. This means that most of the people who live in the complex don't have keys, so people gather on the street around the outer gate and when someone opens the gate they all go in. Do all these people live in the complex? Who knows? Sometimes there is a security guard at the gate, sometimes not. I certainly didn't want to have a confrontation with any of these people, so I, too, let them in.

The second problem is the complex itself. It's really run down. There are units with broken windows, and the grounds are not clean. I saw piles of discarded items outside one of the units, and trash strewn on the walkway, including a dirty diaper.

The third problem is parking. The owner said there is ample street parking, but on three occasions I drove around for over an hour trying to find a place to park. I ended up parking in a very rutted empty field about 500 meters away. Annoying.

The fourth problem is the nightclub next door that blares music until 4 a.m. Even with earplugs and my head sandwiched between pillows, I couldn't sleep at all.

The fourth problem is the owner's local agent. He didn't answer phone calls or texts. He is very difficult to reach and you need to reach him to receive and return the keys.

The television did not work, there was no bedding on the third bed and no spare bedding at all.

I would not recommend this rental.

  • Review Submitted: Apr 12, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We as owners have a policy of listening to guests. It is recognised by us though that many issues may be outside of our direct control but we can try and positively influence the improvement of these issues. Communication is of course paramount at all times. If a guest has a problem – real or perceived, unless it is communicated little can be done to correct the fault. The apartment complex is clearly advertised and is situated a few minutes’ walk away from the Troya beach and the famous “Veronica’s strip” which is a popular and busy nightclub area with late night discotheques, bars and restaurants. Unfortunately close proximity to such an area brings a level of noise particularly on a Friday and Saturday nights and security issues. In order to protect the residents from the volume of local visitors, the standard of security is high. The main gate of the complex is controlled by security guards and the complex is patrolled. The main gate lock is a high security lock and the keys provided to the residents and owners are limited and cannot be copied. The Residents Committee are responsible for the maintenance, cleaning and improvement of the complex and in particular the regular cleaning of pathways and the bin areas. Free “Parking” is a problem across all of Playa de las Americas. There is a good level of free parking locally outside this apartment. . At certain times of the day parking can be difficult as beach-goers park their cars all day. If one wishes to guarantee parking there is ample “paid” parking facilities locally e.g. the four stars Gala Hotel next door but a few metres away. Contrary to what has been stated, there is no nightclub next door to the apartment complex The local Tenerife agent is available during the daytime and into the early evening and for emergencies 24/7. The local agent spent time in setting up the Guest’s wi-fi connection at the apartment because of the total lack of familiarity of the Guest with this simple process. The TV was working at this time and has continued to work since this guest’s stay and afterwards. There were three guests booked to stay at the apartment. The apartment was prepared in advance for them. This guest party wished to use a separate bedroom for each guest. Spare bedding is locked away and is not routinely available to guests as a norm.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Good experience

  • 4 of 5

Ho trovato l'appartamento bello e pulito, la spiaggia vicina ed una bella vista mare dalla terrazza. "Vicini di casa" un po' strani, bisogna adattarsi ma non abbiamo avuto alcun problema. Nel complesso io ci tornerei

  • Review Submitted: Mar 14, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are very happy that you liked our townhouse and found it nice, clean and presentable on your arrival. As you have positively noted, the location is indeed in very close proximity to the beach and there are indeed beautiful sea views from the sun terrace. We note that you would like to visit again in the future and look forward to welcoming you when you next stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

felt unsafe.

  • 1 of 5

The complex is awful. Groups of youths on every corner, within the gated compound. We did not feel safe. We were the only holiday makers within the complex. The other residents were of unsavoury and unusual appearance. I did not feel we could safely open the curtains at any time of day or night. We did not feel safe entering or leaving our apartment at any time. Pool is closed, we would not have felt safe sunbathing by the pool if it had been open. Key security for main gate is a joke as the " security" guards allowed every one through once the gate was opened by a delegated key holder ( ourselves, and we never saw any one else with a key). Large amount of unsavoury people entering and leaving complex at all times of day and night. Spoke to owner who did not seem to be aware of the situation, we asked for refund and were offered % 50 which we accepted and found alternative accommodation as quickly as we could. We wish to stress that these comments relate to the complex itself, and not the surrounding area of The Veronicas.

The house itself is nice and as described, but we could never recommend for any one to stay here.

  • Review Submitted: Feb 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jan 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: As owners, we take every review seriously and do try and understand the guest experience. We are however somewhat disappointed with the balance of this review. The heading of the review “Felt Unsafe” is a personal and emotive feeling and in the review it is not based on any direct negative personal experience, personal interaction or confrontation of the guests with any of the residents - just their appearance. It is however quite clear that these guests felt uncomfortable in surroundings with a mix of many cultures and ethnicity within the resident population. The apartment is located within a short walk of the very busy area of Veronicas where there are many bars, restaurants and night-clubs. It does attract many people from a multi-ethnic community, numbers of recreational drug users and also a number of transsexuals and gay people. The area is not a quiet area at night particularly Friday and Saturday nights. Arising from the location of the complex, the Community management do provide a private security presence. Most residential complexes on Tenerife do not have any security. This security has been put there for the benefit of the residents and their security and safety. This review suggests that the security personnel are not carrying out their duties responsibly and in a professional manner. I have referred this observation to the Community Resident’s Association for their attention and resolution. The townhouse property itself is described by these guests as “nice and as described” and as advertised on the Homeaway website. These guests clearly did not like the appearance of the residents in describing the Complex as "awful" and giving the property only one star. In the last week we have had a strong Broadband wi-fi facility installed for guests. We are also actively considering the installation of an air conditioning system with a view to completion before the summer. During their time at the apartment, I was contacted by them concerning the discomfort with the resident population and that the female guest had tripped and fell and was in need of a motorised scooter. The apartment and grounds are quite unsuitable for a disabled person and so I offered a refund of 50% of all rental charges. At the time of this booking the Community swimming pool was closed as it did not meet the latest EU standards concerning safety and security and this was clearly identified on the property listing prior to their booking.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Vies, kakkerlakken en lawaaierig

  • 3 of 5

We zijn 2 weken in dit huis geweest. Wat in de omschrijving van de advertentie staat klopte geheel met de woning, alleen in het contract wat we toegezonden kregen nadat we de woning hadden uitgekozen stonden allerlei zaken die niet in de woning aanwezig waren o.a. wifi. Dit vonden wij wel een beetje vreemd.

Het huis was volgens ons lange tijd niet bewoond geweest, behalve dan door vele kakkerlakken en ander ongedierte wat ons in grote getale verwelkomden toen wij binnenkwamen. Hier waren wij ook niet heel erg blij mee... Wij hebben veel geld betaald om het huis schoon te maken, dus verwachtten wij ook in een schoon huis te komen. De deuren van de badkamers zaten vol bruingele vlekken, te smerig om over na te denken!

Het dakterras was geweldig, dat maakte veel goed. Helaas was het geluid 's nachts dat van de vele discotheken uit de omgeving kwam, verschrikkelijk. Het was onmogelijk om de ramen open te zetten, wat heel jammer was gezien het feit dat het ook 's nachts heel warm bleef. Uit nood deden wij de fan aan die bij ons bed stond, die maakte een ruisend geluid wat enigszins het lawaai van buiten overstemde en waarop wij ook in slaap konden vallen. Pas na 5 uur in de ochtend werd het buiten stil en konden wij de ramen open zetten.

De zee was heerlijk, het uitzicht vanaf het dakterras was ook mooi. Wij zouden dit huis niet aan anderen adviseren.

de 3 sterren die wij geven zijn dan ook alleen omdat het strand dichtbij was en de zee heerlijk was om in te zwemmen. Tenerife is een aanrader, dit huis niet.

  • Review Submitted: Dec 17, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We thank you for your comments and please note that we take all feedback very seriously even those which are written in languages other than English. We find your review heading to be both unhelpful and mis-representative. We are somewhat perplexed that you chose not to raise any of your issues with our Tenerife Agent during your stay and have then only communicated by means of your review some considerable time after. If a guest finds that something has been overlooked or have any concerns or issues we strongly encourage our guests to contact or agent “at the time” who can then assist or be in a position take appropriate action. It is our aim to maintain the property to a very high standard in both cleanliness and up to date guest facilities. In this regard, the house is thoroughly cleaned between each rental and at weekly intervals throughout longer stays. The house is “spring cleaned” annually and painted and decorated to ensure the house is always clean and crisp. We do consider additions to our guest facilities at regular monthly intervals. It is of note that insect life within the residential complex is controlled by the Residential Community. Drains and u-bends are fumigated twice per year to ensure that insect life prevalent on the Island is controlled. To find a cockroach or other insect within the many residential complex areas throughout the Island or on the public footway is not that uncommon across Las Americas, insect life being a function of heat and environment. Our house did not have a wi-fi connection at the time of your visit but please note that the website which advertised the property and that you booked through did not claim to have this facility at the time of your booking. It is our intention to provide this facility in the imminent future. Please note that the website observes that the house is situated in a vibrant “night-life” area in Playa de las Americas and it is not claimed to be located in a quiet area. The house is situated in close proximity to two four star hotel properties, the Gala Hotel and the Troya Hotel which would both suffer from the same or similar noise levels although it must be said that most “hotel” guest rooms are fitted with air-conditioning. It is acknowledged that if guests prefer to sleep with the windows open the noise level can be intrusive. Having listened to our guests we are presently evaluating air-conditioning system options for early 2016.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Superb Central Location near the Beach

  • 5 of 5

My wife, I and two teenage children stayed at this house in August for our annual summer holidays. It was a most pleasant experience there and it did not disappoint. The house was very big for a holiday rental but nevertheless it was extremely comfortable.

This property is superbly equipped, furnished and tastefully decorated and so central ! It's furnishing and décor are quite remarkable for a rental property and not what we have usually experienced . We didn't think that we could afford a property such as this but we found the price very reasonable for the facilities and quality offered.

The house is quite near the Troya beach and the centre of night-life of Playa de las Americas. Everything was within a short walk and no need for cars or taxis save for the occasional longer trips. Taxis were in abundance. We enjoyed a very active and enjoyable holiday without travelling too much. Everything we wanted to do was close by and just a few steps away. We really liked the walk along the sea front and beach each morning. Many inexpensive restaurants and bars are within a three minute walk. There are many live music bars and nightclubs and surprisingly many cater for families such as ours.

It is a large property and is very impressive in size, décor and the bedroom accommodation was very good with en-suite bathrooms. The kitchen and sitting room beyond our expectations. The architecture of the rooms are a feature in themselves in that they are not just boxes of differing sizes.

We think that the top floor terrace is a fantastic feature and is also very private. The views of the sea are to die for. It did get very hot and we found the terrace shower a real bonus as we cooled down very quickly.

Our holiday was made more enjoyable by staying at this property and we will definitely be back subject to budget. We found a real gem of a place that situated us very well.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 29, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your excellent review and constructive comments. Your family must have really liked our property. The property is in a very central location and is very comfortable we think and you obviously agree. We look forward to being able to help you with your future accommodation needs. Jim
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Superb House in a central location

  • 5 of 5

I, my wife, brother and two teenage children stayed at this house in July 2015 for three very enjoyable weeks. On arrival it was clear that this property is right in the centre of things in Playa de las Americas near the Troya beach and a short walk away from the main nightlife centre in Tenerife. We were “blown away” with the quality of this house and its central location. Its furnishings and equipment were way above the average rental. Although not a problem for us we noted that the complex was not very suitable for disabled visitors.

The complex was very secure as one needed a key to get in or out of the complex. Although it was quite near a very active night-time venue it was not noisy. The grounds of the complex are very pleasant. The swimming pool was unfortunately closed when we were there. At first we thought that this would be a problem but as the Troya beach is only a few steps away it turned out better for us than the poolside.

It was a great base for an enjoyable and active holiday. Everything we wanted to do is in walking distance – sports, beaches, pubs, restaurants and night-clubs and we found that our hired car was rarely used except when we made occasional day trips to the volcano or Los Gigantes. There was no parking available for us within the complex but there was a plentiful supply of parking spaces on the road outside the complex.

The house is laid out over three floors and is truly very impressive in size, décor and furnishings. Moulded plaster ceilings and chandeliers – we never expected that. We were impressed with the separate kitchen with black granite worktop, large dining room and sitting areas on the ground floor. The black leather settees were very comfortable and the quality much better than we expected. It became clear to us that this property was furnished for the owners use and not as a typical rental property. Several original oil paintings and drawings are hanging in the rooms.

The kitchen was fully equipped and had more appliances than we expected. We didn’t use the kitchen facilities much as we dined out locally virtually all of the time.

The sitting room is truly impressive. Granite topped fireplace with over-mantle mirror with bright curtains, central chandelier. The dining room had a large table and comfortable chairs. There is a Flat Panel TV with a DVD player and a music centre with CD / radio. The TV had a piped signal and one could watch English channels and keep up with the news.

The bedroomhhhh

  • Review Submitted: Aug 27, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for a very thorough review. I agree with you that the complex and the House are not suitable for disabled guests as there are a few changes in level in the grounds and the House has three floors. The pool is closed for renovations as it did not conform to the latest EU regulations. The unsuitability of disabled access and the current closure of the pool is highlighted on the Homeaway site. I am glad you really liked our house and look forward to you staying again in the near future. Jim
Did you find this review helpful?
6 1


Nearest Airport
8 Kilometres
Airport Reina Sofia
Nearest Barpub
0.1 Kilometres
Irish Pub
Nearest Ferry
2 Kilometres
Los Cristianos Port
Nearest Golf
6 Kilometres
Golf del Sur
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Kilometres
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Kilometres
Several within 2 mins
Nearest Beach
0.25 Kilometres
Troya Beach
Car: not necessary

This townhouse is situated in a location with many bars and clubs within a few minutes walk of the best "night life" in Los Cristianos and Playa las Americas. A couple of minutes walk to the beach, bars restaurants and sports and water based activity. The Casino is also within a few minutes walk. The apartment is located close to the "Geranium" walk which is popular for evening strolls etc.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Arona, Arona

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
Standard rate 2017
7 Jan 2017 - 7 Dec 2017
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £8 per night, per additional guest
Christmas / New Year 2017/8
8 Dec 2017 - 5 Jan 2018
14 night minimum stay
for 14 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £10 per night, per additional guest
Standard Rate 2018
6 Jan 2018 - 6 Dec 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £10 per night, per additional guest
Christmas / New Year 2019
7 Dec 2018 - 11 Jan 2019
14 night minimum stay
for 14 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £10 per night, per additional guest
Standard Rate 2019
12 Jan 2019 - 6 Dec 2019
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £10 per night, per additional guest
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add £8 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £300
Cleaning fees £110

Rates are subject to change until the booking is confirmed

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties