HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Large Holiday Home Close To Sea and Mountain In Snowdonia

People14
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms4
Space 2,583 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Sleeps 14. 6 Bedrooms. 4 Baths.

Capel Tanrallt is a large comfortable self catered holiday home based in the beautiful surroundings of Snowdonia in the scattered hamlet of Tanrallt and only a few minutes drive from great beaches, castles and other tourist attractions. Based in a converted Welsh Chapel spread across two floors and boasting stunning views of Mount Snowdon and the surrounding area. Capel Tanrallt offers comfortable accommodation in six bedrooms, two of which may be used as family rooms.

Capel Tanrallt is available to rent for groups up to 14 and available on a weekly basis, with our changeover day on Friday. Capel Tanrallt is also available for shorter weekend and midweek breaks by arrangement.

On the ground floor are four comfortable bedrooms. Also on the ground floor are four well appointed bathrooms three with shower, toilet and hand basin and one with shower, small bath, toilet and hand basin. A large drying and laundry room with washing machine and tumble dryer is also located on the ground floor.

On the first floor are two further bedrooms, a large kitchen and dining room and a large lounge. The lounge is comfortably adorned with many sofas, colour TV (with basic Freeview), Playstation 2 (Small selection of games provided on request), DVD, video, radio/CD player, folding pool table with mini table tennis.

The kitchen is fitted with 2 range cookers, each with 5 gas hob burners and electric ovens. There is a microwave, one large fridge/freezer, one large fridge, one small freezer and one small fridge, dishwasher, plus plenty of pots, pans, cutlery and crockery.

Outside is parking for up to five cars or up to two mini buses, a sheltered picnic bench area with BBQ and access to fields for playing games etc.

Heating is provided by electric heating in every bedroom and throughout the property.

Free Wi-Fi available to guests, please ask for activation key upon arrival.

All bedding included.

Electricity usage is charged per unit for the duration of your stay. This is part of our environment policy to try to make guests aware of their usage and environmental impact.

Bedroom Layout:

Bedroom 1: Kingsize Double. (Sleeps 2 max.)

Bedroom 2: Two x Bunk. (Sleeps 4 max.)

Bedroom 3: 2 x single or Kingsize Double + Bunk (Sleeps 4 max.)

Bedroom 4: 2 x single or Kingsize Double + Bunk (Sleeps 4 max.)

Bedroom 5: Twin or Kingsize Double. (Sleeps 2 max.)

Bedroom 6: Two x Bunk. (Sleeps 4 max.)

More Details

Owner
Deborah Owen-Smith
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
16 September, 2017

About Deborah Owen-Smith

Andy and Deb moved to North Wales in September 2000 with the intention of opening and running an outdoor centre. The Tanrallt Mountain Centre opened in early 2001 and has now become a huge success, based wholly on Andy and Debs approach of ensuring that the customers experience and expectations come first.

Capel Tanrallt and ‘Activites In Snowdonia’ has been the natural progression from a residential based activity provider enabling us to upgrade our accommodation and offer it out to family groups and bring our unique approach to outdoor activities to a larger audience.

Deborah Owen-Smith purchased this house in 2000

Why Deborah Owen-Smith chose Gwynedd - Snowdonia

We fell in love with The Nantlle Vally on a previous visit with friends away for an adventure weekend when we discovered Dorothea Quarry and the Nantlle Ridge. It just felt like home.

What makes this house unique

The property offered so much flexibility for our growing business. We now live in the building self contained on the top floor, such a beautiful place to live with amazing views of Snowdon and surrounding mountains.

Location

Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Halfway Inn
Nearest Ferry
36 Miles
Hollyhead
Nearest Train
15 Miles
Bangor
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
Cwellyn Arms
Nearest Beach
3 Miles
Dinas Dinlle
Car: necessary

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Caernarfon in Gwynedd

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 2583 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:30
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:30
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Max. adults: 14
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • mountain
  • near the sea
  • rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 4 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , Can be two singles
    Bedroom 2 - 4 Single Bed , 2 x Bunk beds
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Large Double Bed , 2 Single Bed , King size double + 1x bunks or 2x Single + 1x bunks
    Bedroom 4 - 1 Large Double Bed , 4 Single Bed , King size double + 2x bunks or 2x Single + 2x bunks
    Bedroom 5 - 1 Large Double Bed , Can be 2x single beds.
    Bedroom 6 - 4 Single Bed , 2x bunk beds.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Pool Table
  • Television
  • Video Games
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • forests
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • diving
  • snorkelling
  • caving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(12 traveller reviews)

66% Complete
16% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
8% Complete
Large Holiday Home Close To Sea and Mountain In Snowdonia
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 12 reviews
5

Best Family Christmas Ever!!!

  • 5 of 5

There were 14 of us staying at Capel Tanrallt from 23rd to 27th December 2016 for a family birthday on Christmas Day! 7 adults, 7 children and 1 small dog. During booking for Capel Tanrallt Deborah and Andrew were great and kept me updated on where we were up to with the booking and answered any questions I had. On arrival both Deborah and Andrew were there to show us round and answer any questions we had and then after making sure we had everything they left us to explore the massive house! First impressions of the house was that it was much bigger than the pictures on the website and it reminded me very much of a large house that you would stay in as a child for school trips. The house was very well equipped with 4 bathrooms and 4 bedrooms on the ground floor with a big hall for hanging all your coats and for leaving any muddy boots! Then upstairs was a huge kitchen / dining room and a large lounge with plenty of couches and a few throws in case you got chilly! There was a pool table in the dining room which was an excellent addition for the competitive amongst the group and was well played with. The kitchen was huge and there were ample pots, pans, trays, cutlery, crockery and bowls etc for us all and even for Christmas dinner! We stayed in most days but all ventured out one day for a lovely walk in the hills which was really enjoyable! I would definitely recommend Capel Tanrallt for a group getaway and we are hoping to book again some point this year! Thank you Deborah and Andrew we will be back!!!!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 7, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect for a large group

  • 5 of 5

I stayed here with a group a 10 friends and it was absolutely perfect for us. We were very comfortable here and had lots of space. The big kitchen was ideal for cooking group meals and we could all easily fit round the big kitchen table and eat together which was nice. The location is very scenic with lots of walking and activities nearby. The pool table offered great entertainment when the weather wasn't nice enough for walking. Andrew and Deborah were very welcoming and happy to offer us advise for walks as well as lending us maps and sending us mountain weather forecasts. I would definitely recommend this property to any large groups planning a get away to Snowdonia.

  • Review Submitted: May 15, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic base and incredibly warm hospitality!

  • 5 of 5

Capel Tanrallt is situated in a beautiful area surrounded by stunning scenery and provides the perfect base for a whole host of activities in Snowdonia.

Unfortunately we only did one and that was hiking Mt Snowdon on the Saturday of our stay. I'd had a call with Deborah and Andy before we arrived to plan for the trip and get some expert advise on preparing for the hike. Andy also sent a very detailed and very appreciated breakdown of kit and equipment we'd need and offered to loan us anything we didn't have. When we arrived Deborah also sent me a detailed mountain weather forecast with tips on what to expect on the day which again helped us be as prepared as we could.

Deborah and Andy were both very flexible and very accommodating both before and during our stay. We had 14 people staying, all of whom were hiking a sponsored hike organised by myself to raise money for a volunteer trip abroad in summer, we raised an incredible amount of money and summited Snowdon and back in an incredibly fast time that on Saturday evening it's fair to say we celebrated maybe a tad louder than we should. Even though Deborah had received noise complaints on our behalf she was extremely understanding and kindly came in to ask us to close the windows and have fun.

Overall an incredibly handy, comfortable, warm and large accommodation, owned by 2 very genuine and caring individuals who enabled a group of 14 excited novice hikers to have the most amazing weekend away.

Thank you!

Sam

  • Review Submitted: Apr 25, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Amazing weekend soured by narrow minded and nasty host

  • 1 of 5

I hired this place for a large work group travelling up from London for the weekend to climb Snowdon and go caving. The weekend itself was amazing and the place worked well for keeping us all together. It’s very basic accommodation (it smelled like a pet shop and there were a few dirty plates but nothing too calamitous)and functional for such a large group as we were barely in the property given our busy timeline.

What soured the weekend and motivated the 1 star was the host; narrow minded, nasty and unpleasant. After leaving the property I’d emailed (They’re poor communicators too. Slow responding to enquiries) saying how great the weekend had been and mentioning we’d left a few items in our rush to leave on Sunday morning (the clocks had gone forward and we’d an early start for caving). After a couple of days I received a response saying the house had been left in a horrible mess, that we’d needed to give them (I'm not allowed to say exactly how much in review but it was quite a lot of money) to cover the cleaning and that she felt ‘used and disrespected’! Given we’d been in the property so little and made an effort to tidy up before we’d left I was shocked. We’d loaded the dishwasher but apparently missed some crockery, one of the sofa had been shifted forward slightly, we’d not recycled food (Wasn’t even aware there was the option given no signage) and we’d left some food in the fridges (Unopened food stuff which couldn’t be taken all the way back to London and we were happy to pass on or for the hosts to have). Although surprising, I had got an uneasy feeling from the host before we left. We’d a big and very mixed group of people and I got the sense this made her uneasy.

What was even worse was she was essentially holding our forgotten items hostage until we paid up. Having replied to her email as such I was shocked by the nastiness and just how narrow minded her responses were. A huge polar opposite to what you’re expecting including personal insults and insinuations. She referred to ‘my own insecurities and inadequacies’; all I’d said was the place wasn’t in that bad a condition when we left!

I’ve experienced a lot in London and I didn’t think a small holiday rental in North Wales would be the place I’d see the most genuinely vicious, narrow minded, nasty and heinous behaviour.

Utterly gobsmacked. I’d avoid this host like the plague!

  • Review Submitted: Apr 10, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow - Just wow. But to be expected after dealings with this holiday maker. This review is a disgruntled individual who left the property in a disgusting state and was held to account for it. Once we had paid the postage to return the left items we barely recovered £6 per hour for the extra time required to return our property to a habitable state. It was also our choice to pay the maximum insurance available when returning the items due to one being a very expensive jacket – we could have gained an extra £10 had we stuck with basic postage! Our mistake - being far too trusting by not ensuring the security bond was collected upon arrival - hampered by the group arriving 5 hours beyond the agreed arrival time and being too late to get things properly organised beyond their going to bed! Not taking a bond enabled them to “run away” without our knowledge and prior to our checking before they left. Policy is the property to be left as found, we expect to perform basic cleaning once a group has left but this was way beyond basic cleaning. The review is full of half truths and absolute fabrication. The food left in the fridges and freezers was the remains of the groups cooked meals, uneaten sandwiches and other left overs - not the unopened food products he would have you believe. This is not to mention a mountain of washing up, dirty cups and crocs left all round the building covered in half eaten food. All surfaces, including the floor, covered in the remains of their meals. The mess around the bin where it had been "missed" was particularly disgusting. Recycling: Information is provided in the homeaway app and in the “check out” info provided prior to staying. There is even a poster alongside the refuse, recycling and food waste bins to ensure it is obvious to everyone! Reviewer would have you believe it was just food recycling that was missed – it was the majority of recycling that was not completed requiring us to sort through their bin bags to sort it for them, made especially disgusting with all the food intermixed with it! The clocks did go forward this particular weekend and the group organised a very early start on their day of departure – interestingly it appears this is somehow our fault! When viewed in the context of our previous reviews it should become apparent that something is very wrong with this review – including many reviews stating how accommodating and helpful we are and not the nasty, narrow minded portrayal of this reviewer!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Big place and comfortable. Perfect base for hiking in Snowdonia

  • 4 of 5

Big place and comfortable. Perfect base for hiking in Snowdonia

  • Review Submitted: Sep 18, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Beautiful location

  • 3 of 5

We enjoyed our stay. The owner was very friendly and helpful suggesting ideas for days out. It's a basic but well equipped accomodation which is fine if you are out all day. There was a damp / musty feel to the ground floor.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Caernarfon, Wales

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Low
15 Sep 2017 - 12 Oct 2017
2 night minimum stay
£470
for 2 nights
From
£235
£815
 
 
High
13 Oct 2017 - 26 Oct 2017
7 night minimum stay
£1,175
for 7 nights
£1,175
 
 
Low
27 Oct 2017 - 21 Dec 2017
2 night minimum stay
£470
for 2 nights
From
£235
£815
 
 
Christmas & New Year
22 Dec 2017 - 2 Jan 2018
4 night minimum stay
£1,040
for 4 nights
From
£260
£1,175
 
 
Low
3 Jan 2018 - 1 Feb 2018
2 night minimum stay
£470
for 2 nights
From
£235
£815
 
 
High
2 Feb 2018 - 22 Feb 2018
2 night minimum stay
£470
for 2 nights
From
£235
£1,175
 
 
Low
23 Feb 2018 - 22 Mar 2018
2 night minimum stay
£470
for 2 nights
From
£235
£815
 
 
High
23 Mar 2018 - 19 Apr 2018
2 night minimum stay
£470
for 2 nights
From
£235
£1,175
 
 
Low
20 Apr 2018 - 3 May 2018
2 night minimum stay
£470
for 2 nights
From
£235
£815
 
 
May Bank Holiday
4 May 2018 - 10 May 2018
3 night minimum stay
£780
for 3 nights
From
£260
£1,175
 
 
Low
11 May 2018 - 24 May 2018
2 night minimum stay
£470
for 2 nights
From
£235
£815
 
 
May Bank Holiday
25 May 2018 - 31 May 2018
3 night minimum stay
£780
for 3 nights
From
£260
£1,175
 
 
High
1 Jun 2018 - 5 Jul 2018
2 night minimum stay
£470
for 2 nights
From
£235
£1,175
 
 
High
6 Jul 2018 - 30 Aug 2018
7 night minimum stay
£1,175
for 7 nights
£1,175
 
 
High
31 Aug 2018 - 13 Sep 2018
2 night minimum stay
£470
for 2 nights
From
£235
£1,175
 
 
Low
14 Sep 2018 - 11 Oct 2018
2 night minimum stay
£470
for 2 nights
From
£235
£815
 
 
High
12 Oct 2018 - 25 Oct 2018
2 night minimum stay
£470
for 2 nights
From
£235
£1,175
 
 
Low
26 Oct 2018 - 20 Dec 2018
2 night minimum stay
£470
for 2 nights
From
£235
£815
 
 
Christmas / New Year
21 Dec 2018 - 2 Jan 2019
4 night minimum stay
£1,040
for 4 nights
From
£260
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£470
for 2 nights
From
£235
£815
 

Additional pricing information

Electricity charged at 14p per unit used. Bed linen provided.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals