HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Stunning Luxury Georgian Penthouse: 'Hopetoun Grande'

People9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,937 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

'Hopetoun Grande' is a bright, spacious and fully refurbished three bedroom apartment with great big Georgian windows and high ceilings right in the centre of town. Within walking distance to the Playhouse theatre, high street, Botanical Gardens, train station and tram.

An elegant apartment with a vast area of 180 sq.m/2000 sq. ft. situated on the third floor of a beautiful Georgian building located in the heart of Edinburgh City. Completely refurbished in 2015, this large penthouse offers 5-star self-catering accommodation in one of Europe's most visited cities. All the common areas and rooms are generously proportioned with large windows that bring in a lot of light giving a sense of space and brightness all around.

Two of the three bedrooms have superking-size beds and the third bedroom is a special handmade four poster king-size bed. The bathrooms have been done in Italian Marble with heated floors, granite worktops and provide a feeling of real luxury to the senses. The larger bathroom has a jacuzzi bath and a walk-in shower and the smaller bathroom has a power shower within an enclosure with a skylight. The quality of toiletries, bedlinen and towels match that of any five star hotel.

The kitchen is large with earthy wooden kitchen cabinets and granite work surfaces and state of the art fridge, freezer, gas hob, grill, oven, inbuilt dishwasher and washing machine and microwave. It is a pleasure to spend time in the kitchen either to cook or to gaze out of the window at the twinkling lights of Fife across the sea at night.

The beautiful dining-drawing room with its large windows yet private space is a wonderful place to relax, chat and have a meal. Whilst the dining table seats 8, there is also a cosy seat of 4 at a round Mahogany table in the hall/reception room.

At this apartment you will find yourself in a place full of character, surrounded with period charm yet decorated tastefully in modern style.

By choosing our penthouse you are choosing five-star self-catering accommodation in an excellent location that is close to tourist attractions, great shopping, restaurants and theatre. Its a great place to enjoy a holiday with family or friends alike and will undoubtedly add to your experience of this incredible city.

Please note that check in time is from 3pm and checkout time is 11am.

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
15 August, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

Fantastic place - great places to eat nearby, warm and spacious apartment with lot of light throughout. Absolutely delightful with great hosts who were very helpful throughout our stay!
Jan 2016
  • 1 of 5

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Edinburgh in Scotland

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 3
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1937 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • city centre
  • near the sea
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Jacuzzi , Bidet
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Second Bedroom - Songbird - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Super King size bed can be split as singles if required
    Four Poster Bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed , King Size four poster bed
    Master Bedroom in Lilac - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , 1 Cot , 1 Sofa bed/Futon , Master bed can be split as singles. Sofa Bed can be prepared
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Garden ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • gambling casinos
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • hiking
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(12 traveller reviews)

58% Complete
41% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Stunning Luxury Georgian Penthouse: 'Hopetoun Grande'
average rating of 4.5833335 based on 17 reviews
5

Apartment was centrally located in Edinburgh

  • 5 of 5

Really enjoyed this apartment. The owners were very accommodating and helpful with instructions and directions to the flat. I knew we picked a good apartment when the taxi driver said, "At least you're right in the middle of everything."

The apartment was great because it had that Georgian architecture feel to it but also included all the modern amenities. The location was amazing, we were a short walk from Waverley Station and the Scott Monument. From there all major attractions were a short walk or taxi ride. I recommend walking to really catch the flavor of old Edinburgh...Beautiful city!

The apartment was also warm which was important for those chilly Edinburgh nights. The neighborhood was quiet and safe too. Also there was plenty of good places to eat or just get a coffee, tea, or drink.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 1, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

Great place to stay. Lots of room. Owners are helpful and accommodating. Stairs give you a good workout but location is worth it.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 20, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely flat

  • 5 of 5

Lovely flat. Smooth/easy check in and out. Was a great place to stay for our family of three generations. Short walk to sights & shops. You'll leave with stronger legs, and in better shape from the walk up and down the stairs to the flat!

  • Review Submitted: Jun 17, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Nice property, easy to get to and near the town

  • 5 of 5

We stayed as one of us was completing the Edinburgh Marathon. This property was around the corner from the start.

The property was a 10 minute walk form the Station and Princes Street.

Would recommend and will stay again next time we come to Edinburgh.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 7, 2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Weekend in Edinburgh

  • 4 of 5

Amazing property. Great location...but several things didn't work. Hot water troubles day one (which went away); a pilot light that was out on the hob; cable that was "out." Sigh. Anyway, still a pleasant place to call home for a weekend in Scotland.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy that t you enjoyed your stay at the apartment, in response to the couple of points you noted in your review the issue that affected the hot water supply was a problem unrelated to the actual apartment and was a temporary issue affecting large parts of the city due to major pipe burst. We made you aware of this problem which was also widely reported in the news as it actually closed some major attractions. I can confirm that the is no issue with how the hob works as I tested it today. It could be that may be that you are not familiar with how it operates or the spare manual lighter which is provided. Lastly the TV is a new smart TV which we did not have written into our house manual when you stayed. We are updating the manual so anyone not familiar with smart TVs can operate it. Best regards Martin
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Lovely. Roomy. Well equipped. New bathrooms.

  • 4 of 5

We were uniting with family and we enjoyed the space to share meals and relax together.

We recognize that the flat is in midst of renovation however the lack of light in the master bath over the vanity was a little inconvenient as was the inoperable heated floors and towel warmers. Since there is no clothes dryer and the towels took over a day to air dry, an extra bath towel per person would have been appropriate for a week long stay.

Thank you for kindly arranging to leave keys for us when we locked ourselves out. Learned our lesson.

We would definitely come again.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Merle, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at the apartment and Edinburgh and want to come back and stay again. I did want to clarify that there are no renovations going on or planned at the apartment. I think you misunderstood when we said we are always looking to make improvements. The improvements we mentioned are things like addition of decorative lighting in the bathroom or some kind of kitchen gadget that might make guests' stay more comfortable. We explained how to operate the heating, the towel rails were cold because you had manually switched the heating off. Thank you for your appreciation of regular communication from us, quick responses to your emails and phone calls and for helping you get back into the apartment late at night when you had locked yourselves out.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Car: not necessary

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Edinburgh, Scotland

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
Festival 2017
4 Aug 2017 - 3 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
£990
for 3 nights
From
£300
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £40 per night, per additional guest
 
Sep 2017
4 Sep 2017 - 27 Sep 2017
3 night minimum stay
£717
for 3 nights
From
£209
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £25 per night, per additional guest
 
Oct - Nov 2017
28 Sep 2017 - 23 Nov 2017
3 night minimum stay
£735
for 3 nights
From
£215
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £20 per night, per additional guest
 
Nov end - early Dec 2017
24 Nov 2017 - 15 Dec 2017
3 night minimum stay
£537
for 3 nights
From
£149
£990
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £15 per night, per additional guest
 
Xmas-Hogmanay 2017
16 Dec 2017 - 6 Jan 2018
5 night minimum stay
£1,190
for 5 nights
From
£220
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £25 per night, per additional guest
 
Jan 2018
7 Jan 2018 - 8 Feb 2018
3 night minimum stay
£537
for 3 nights
From
£149
£2,790
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £15 per night, per additional guest
 
Feb - Mar 2018
9 Feb 2018 - 29 Mar 2018
3 night minimum stay
£687
for 3 nights
From
£199
£1,290
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £20 per night, per additional guest
 
Easter 2018
30 Mar 2018 - 15 Apr 2018
5 night minimum stay
£1,190
for 5 nights
From
£220
£1,580
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £25 per night, per additional guest
 
Apr - May 2018
16 Apr 2018 - 31 May 2018
3 night minimum stay
£837
for 3 nights
From
£249
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £25 per night, per additional guest
 
Jun - Jul 2018
1 Jun 2018 - 26 Jul 2018
3 night minimum stay
£957
for 3 nights
From
£289
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £30 per night, per additional guest
 
Festival 2018
27 Jul 2018 - 2 Sep 2018
5 night minimum stay
£1,835
for 5 nights
From
£349
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £40 per night, per additional guest
 
Sep - Oct 2018
3 Sep 2018 - 3 Nov 2018
3 night minimum stay
£750
for 3 nights
From
£220
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £25 per night, per additional guest
 
Nov - Dec 2018
4 Nov 2018 - 13 Dec 2018
3 night minimum stay
£627
for 3 nights
From
£179
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £15 per night, per additional guest
 
Xmas - Hogmanay 2018
14 Dec 2018 - 6 Jan 2019
5 night minimum stay
£1,190
for 5 nights
From
£220
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £25 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£390
for 2 nights
From
£150
From
£200
Fri,Sat
 
Notes: Rates are based on 6 guests; add £50 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £90
Additional Guest Fee £45 per person per night
Damage Deposit £300

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
Available
Unavailable