HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Caballete Retreat ~ Need to Relax? ~ Visit this Peaceful & Secluded Retreat.

People8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Separate WC's1
Space 1,375 sq. ft.
Property type house

Overview

About the property

3 Bedrooms, 1.5 Bathroom w/Shower & Washer/Dryer, Sleeps 8 Comfortably

Caballete is a Rustic Retreat located in one of the most beautiful ridge lines in Jackson County. It has been family owned and maintained for several generations. Highlights include: Full working Kitchen including dishes for cooking & eating and a Breakfast Nook perfect for Bird Watching. Three multi-level decks, a Weber charcoal grill, stone camp fire pit with all the charcoal and wood provided. Unique rooms include a Stone Floor Sunken Den, Music Room with tuned Piano, Library and TV Room with Two Story wall of Books both old and new.

Caballete Retreat ~ About us: ~This Rustic Retreat is located in one of the most beautiful ridgelines in Jackson County. Owned by Dan & Sara Scholze, and managed Sara, Caballete Retreat (Caballete is Spanish for 'ridge') is large enough to accommodate up to eight (8) guests comfortably. (Additional Guests by prior approval only please) The Valley and Ridges Surrounding have been kept in the family for several generations. Caballete Retreat is a 'Home' more so than a Cabin or Retreat and was lived in full time up until the Fall of 2005.

A Secluded, Private, Ridge Retreat: ~Need to Relax? You've picked the right place. Nestled into the Ridges, this Retreat offers a secluded, very quiet and private get-away. Wildlife abounds with birds, squirrels, deer, turkey, and you might even see the elusive red fox, or a Big Buck just yards from the home.

~Hiking the Ridges is allowed, but please obey all No Trespassing Signs, as we want to respect the neighbors land.

~There is a Beautiful Library with a two story wall filled with shelves of books, photos, and other unique items. Another Highlight is the Sunken Den with a Stone Floor made of Actual Stones dug from the area, and a beautiful Wood Floor. One final special room is the Music Room, where a Large Piano (and it's tuned!) awaits the right person to make some beautiful relaxing music.

Everything but your Food & Drink....: ~All Linens (Sheets), Towels, Hand Towels, and Wash Cloths are provided at NO extra charge. There are dishes available and a few pots and pans for cooking. All we ask is you treat them as your own, and please leave for the next guests to enjoy.

~No Food or Drink is provided, other than the fresh spring water from the well. Local phone service and local TV Channels are provided along with DSL Wireless Internet.

~Outside there are Three multi-level Decks, with a Weber grill awaiting some juicy Steaks (Charcoal included)! A stone camp fire pit can be found with plenty of room to relax around the fire or lay in the hammock. Once again, all the wood provided.

More Details

Property Manager
Daniel Scholze
Member since: 2008
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
20 October, 2017

Guestbook comments from the manager

This place was great, I loved the way wou made it look very classy. Don't change anything please. I will be back. Loved it.
Mar 2012
  • 1 of 152

Location

Nearest Airport
60 Miles
LaCrosse or Eau Claire
Nearest Barpub
5 Miles
In Black River Falls
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Skyline Golf Course - 18 hole
Nearest Train
32 Miles
Amtrak - Sparta, Wisconsin
Nearest Motorway
3 Miles
County Road A & County Road F
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
In Black River Falls
Nearest Ski
15 Miles
Bruce Mound Ski Hill Resort
Nearest Beach
10 Miles
Lake Wazee - County Park
Car: necessary

Ridges, Lakes, Hiking, ATV, Snowmobiling, Biking, Fishing, Hunting, Private, Secluded, Relaxing

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Black River Falls in Jackson County

Property Type:
  • house
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1375 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Firewood
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom/ Laundry - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Includes Washer/Dryer
    Bathroom Upstairs - Toilet
  • ~Large Bathroom with Rainfall Shower Head. One Sink but plenty of extra counter space. Washer/Dryer for your use along with Drying Rack. Located on Main Floor between the Kitchen and Library Room. ~New in April 2009 - Added a Half Bath upstairs! ~New in 2010 - Updated Firepit and sitting area outside. Added two electric fireplaces. ~New in 2011 - Finished Siding on Garage.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Master Bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed , Private Room
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed , Private Room
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Single Bed , Balcony Access
    Sofa Sleepers - 2 Sofa bed/Futon , Main Level
  • ~Comfortably able to sleep eight (8) Guests. May accommodate more by prior approval and using a couple sleeping bags (Not included) especially if there are children. Please contact us to confirm we can accommodate your group. ~Large Private Master Bedroom w/ Queen sized bed, Large Closet, Dresser, Three Windows, Window A/C, and Electric Baseboard Heat. ~Bedroom 2 is Private Bedroom w/ Double size Bed, Built in Desk, Two Windows. ~Bedroom 3 is tucked away between the Master Bedroom and Bedroom 2. It is not private, as you walk through this bedrom to enter Master Bedroom. Twin Sized Bed, and Exterior Door with Access to 2nd Floor Deck / Balcony has a Beautiful view.(accessed through the 1/2 bath). The perfect place for sitting and enjoying your morning coffee or reading a book. ~The main level offers two pull-out sleeper sofa's to accommodate 3-4 Guests.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books - Fiction / Non-fiction
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games for Kids
  • Piano
  • Radio
  • Television
  • Video Player
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Binoculars
  • Garden
  • Barbecue
  • Patio
  • Veranda
  • veranda
  • Wood Decking
  • 8 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • laundrette - not serviced
  • forests
  • library
  • live theatre
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • water parks
  • waterfalls
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • bird watching
  • gambling casinos
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • diving
  • ski
  • snorkelling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
Notes:
~All Linens and Towels provided. ~Large Fire Pit with firewood & Weber Charcoal Grill with Charcoal Provided. ~Air Conditioning provided by two Window Air Conditioners. ~Gas Wall Furnace for Heat with Electric Baseboard for additional Comfort ~Most all Kitchen Cooking/ Baking and Eating Utensils provided. ~Local Telephone and DSL Wireless Modem provided. ~Caballete Retreat is a multi-level home. Entry, Music Room, Kitchen, Bathroom and Outside Deck are all on same level. Two Sofa Sleepers located on main level. ~Other Levels may have one or more steps including somewhat steeper staircase to 2nd Floor Bedrooms. We recommend to keeping an eye on younger children for their safety. Safety gates are available upon request. ~Dogs are welcome. Request they remain in Entry when inside and do not enter sleeping areas or jump on furniture. Cats not allowed inside due to concern for guests with allergies. ~Monthly and long-term rentals welcome for business or pleasure.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(21 traveller reviews)

76% Complete
23% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Caballete Retreat ~ Need to Relax? ~ Visit this Peaceful & Secluded Retreat.
average rating of 4.7619047 based on 173 reviews
Holmen, WI
5

We loved it!

  • 5 of 5

What we loved most was the solitude of Caballete Retreat! There wasn't another home or cabin within a 1/2 mile. It was beautifully wooded. The cabin was very clean! The kitchen and bathroom had absolutely everything we needed. (plenty of towels, washclothes...dishes, pans, etc). We slept 10 comfortably. The fire pit was HUGE and they supplied an unlimited amount firewood. My ONLY complaint was that the firepit was on a slight hill and I would worry about youngsters or older people losing their balance around it, but the owners said they are thinking of leveling off that area. I loved the numerous decks and the numerous bird feeders. Ten different varieties of birds entertained us every morning with our coffee on the deck!There are plenty of cozy sitting rooms within the cabin if you wanted to get away from everybody and read a good book or have a private conversation. The pictures on the website really don't do it justice. We fell in love with it the moment we walked in! They even have a hammock near the fire pit! I hihgly recommend Caballete Retreat. I plan on going back! If you get tired of the peace and quiet, Black River Falls offers a LOT of activities like canoeing, kayaking, golfing, etc. There is something for everyone!

  • Review Submitted: Aug 26, 2008
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2008
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: If you’re looking for a quiet relaxing place to unwind with Family and Friends, we welcome your visit. Located on a Dead End Road and the only Cabin Rental we have, you won't be disturbed by traffic driving by or other vacationing guests. Only a short 10 minute drive from Black River Falls, we are close to most any activities you would like to do during the day, and then get back to relax for the afternoon or evening around the fire or sit out on the back deck watching the wildlife. We appreciate our guests’ suggestions and are always looking to make your next stay even more enjoyable than the last. Thank you!!
Did you find this review helpful?
8 0
5

Beautiful setting, peaceful and relaxing.

  • 5 of 5

3 deer greeted us as we drove up to the retreat. Birds were a plenty and the cabin was an architectural feast, from the stone floor in front of fireplace to the balconies and different floor levels both inside and out!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 13, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for you review. There is a great opportunity to see wildlife around Caballete Retreat. Everything from the deer, raccoons, fox, and even a bear have entertained guests. Bird watchers have a never ending flow of many varieties. Even a few flying squirrels glide past in the evenings. The rustic, but modern home, does provide character not often seen. We are very happy you enjoyed and appreciated it. We look forward to your return.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful retreat!

  • 4 of 5

Beautiful property in a gorgeous area. We only stayed one night to attend a local festival, but had everything we needed. Check in was easy, all the amenities were provided, and had plenty of space for our family. The cabin could have been cleaner which is why I could only give four stars, but everything else was great.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 24, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We apologize for not meeting your expectations for cleanliness. We strive to keep Caballete Retreat clean and comfortable. We prepare carefully for each guest. We had all the carpets shampooed a few days before your visit. The retreat is older and rustic in some areas, and there are high ceilings and bookshelves that can collect dust? We are giving the entire cabin a review for cleanliness so as to not disappoint any future guests. We do hope you return and see how we are doing.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5

Awesome owners and property very much recommended

  • Review Submitted: Aug 13, 2017
  • Date of Stay: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the nice review. We are glad to share the property and want our guests to enjoy their stay. We hope you return in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect

  • 5 of 5

I don't know where to begin! It is an absolutely perfect retreat. When all of us first walked in we were struck by the charm. We explored every room and couldn't help but feel happy! It was so cozy and relaxing. The setting is amazing as we were able to enjoy the peacefulness. We enjoyed watching the wildlife and cannot wait to return when the weather allows us to enjoy the outdoor tranquility! If you are looking for something with modernness and city action this is not the place for you. If you are looking for an escape from hectic life happenings and want to enjoy peace and quiet this is definitely the place for you! The owners are absolutely wonderful and you can tell they go above and beyond to make your visit the best you have ever had!

  • Review Submitted: Mar 24, 2014
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This review is really what we work towards for our guests. We want them to feel the calmness of the quietness of the setting and also enjoy the wild life. Besides the Retreat, there is so many nice parks and shopping, and in winter even Bruce Mound for those who want to ski. We continue to think of ways that our guests can enjoy the peacefulness. Thank you for your kind words.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Exactly what we hoped for

  • 5 of 5

Married 27 years and never had a real Honeymoon. This was it! The first time we drove down the dead end road into the woods at the bottom of the ridge, we were in disbelief that it was as beautiful and secluded as we could have imagined. (Drive very slowly; the woods are full of deer!) The house holds secret surprises inside at every turn, and a hike up to the top of the ridge rewarded us with gorgeous views of the valley tinged with the fall colors. We took advantage of the non-weekend rates and got a great deal. Sara and Dan are genuine hosts and truly want you to enjoy your stay.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 7, 2013
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are always happy to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay. We work hard to make it an enjoyable and relaxing Retreat. There is so much to see; and also that their "honeymoon gettaway" was special for them. In the area around Black River Falls right now, the Fall colors are starting, which adds to the fun.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Black River Falls, Wisconsin

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
 
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
£120
for 1 night
From
£120
From
£180
Fri,Sat
£601
£1,403
 
Notes: Rates are based on 7 guests; add £16 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Tax Rate 5.5%

Weekly Reservations during the Summer, Major Holidays and Deer Hunting are preferred but not required.

Reservation Policy - $250 Refundable Damage/Security Deposit Required within Ten (10) days after phone/ email confirmation of requested stay. Deposit is Refunded within 3-10 days after your stay. Full payment for your lodging is requested a minimum of 15 days before stay.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enquire Now
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals