HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Ginori Apartment - Luxury property in the heart of Florence

People6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Separate WC's1
Space 1,291 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 4 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

2 bedrooms, 2 full bathrooms, 1 half bathroom, sleeps 6

This charming apartment is located on Via dei Ginori, in the historic centre of Florence, in a 15th century building which belonged to the Ginori family, a noble Florentine dynasty. 

If you wish to live in a historical and classic Florentine house with all modern amenities, this is an unique opportunity: wooden ceiling beams, Florentine “cotto” (terracotta) floors, “pietra serena” stone doorposts, a 15th century frescoed frieze in the master bedroom and a noble stone emblem in the living room where there is also a wonderful fireplace. 

This apartment is located on the 2nd and top floor (without a lift) and is composed of a living room (with two sofas that can be set up as two single beds), a kitchenette, a bedroom with a King bed (180 x 200 cm, it can be split and set up as two single beds) and an en suite bathroom with a jacuzzi tub, a bedroom with two single beds and an en suite bathroom with a shower, and an half bath off the living room. Finally there is also a small terrace with plants and flowers.

The property overlooks large and sunny courtyards.

The size of the apartment is about 120 square meters (1300 square feet).

The apartment includes air-conditioning and heating system, fully equipped kitchenette, free WiFi Internet connection, 3 satellite TVs, telephone (local and incoming calls only), CD and DVD player, a washing machine, a clothes dryer, iron and board, 2 hairdryers and a safe.

You will be able to enjoy a little music and video library and to consult many art and guide books about Florence and Tuscany during your stay.

The property is provided with top quality features like Frette linens and towels, Simmons mattresses, DaunenStep duvets (in winter), a just renovated silent Teuco whirlpool tub, Dr Vranjes home fragrances, Nespresso coffee machine.

We’re proud to have been reviewed by “The Times”, on November 26th 2011, as one of the 20 best apartments in Europe.

'Twenty best winter apartments in Europe'

“For a glimpse of traditional Florentine life and decor, book a stay in the Ginori apartment, which has retained its wooden beams, “cotto” (terracotta) floors and a 15th-century frescoed frieze in the bedroom. Centrally located, with all the big draws just a short walk away, the apartment also has a small terrace for post-sightseeing apéritifs and a luxury whirlpool bath to soothe aching feet.”

Minimum stay: 4 to 6 nights depending on the season.

The rates include: all the utilities consumptions (water, gas and electricity), WiFi Internet connection, linens, towels, final cleaning and all taxes including Florence Tourist Tax.

Only one set of keys is provided.

Account is required to confirm your reservation.

Balance must be paid by credit card 30 days prior to check-in.

Cancellations will not receive a refund.

Security deposit of 300 € is required. This amount will be refunded in full upon check-out if there’re no damages.

The photocopies of yours passports are required at check-in.

Check-in and check-out time: unless otherwise stated, the earliest check-in time is 14:00 (2:00 p.m.) and the latest check-out time is 10:00 a.m. However, if possible, you may check in and check out at the time which is more convenient to you, just ask us.

To check in after 20:00 (8:00 p.m.) or check out before 07:30 a.m., you will be asked to pay 30 € extra.

Website: For conditions, detailed prices and more informations, please, visit our website below!

More Details

Owner
Rita
Member since: 2008
Speaks English, Italian
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
15 November, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

This apartment was the perfect final stop during our trip to Italy. It was finished with beautiful artwork, and lovely amenities were everywhere! Our group of 4 women found it very comfortable and the absolute perfect location for all the must-sees in Florence. It was truly a delightful surprise. Maria and Rita were the best to work with. Thank you for making our visit in Florence even more special. We would love to return!
Oct 2015
  • 1 of 1

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Duomo in Centro Storico (Quartiere 1)

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1291 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 14:00 / Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • city centre
Theme:
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Basic Soaps
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Paper Towels
  • Safe
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Telephone ...
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Jacuzzi , Bidet
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Bidet
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet
  • Master bathroom: jacuzzi tub Second bathroom: shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed
    Living room - 2 Sofa bed/Futon , The green and the violet sofas can be set up as beds
  • Master bedroom: King bed, can be split and set up as 2 single beds. Second bedroom: 2 single beds.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Terrace ...
  • Terrace
  • 2 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Jacuzzi
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theatre
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(92 traveller reviews)

93% Complete
5% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Ginori Apartment - Luxury property in the heart of Florence
average rating of 4.923913 based on 93 reviews
Greensboro, North Carolina, USA
5

Florence at its Best

  • 5 of 5

We are well traveled and luxury hotels are the norm for us. Even with that background, this apartment impressed me more than even the best hotels in New York. A combination of great space, perfect location, and a luxurious décor is just the beginning. There was an element of professionalism that exceeded even my high expectations. Every detail was considered by these owners, yet it is oddly very affordable at the same time. If you double your prices, I’ll still be back. It was truly an experience of a lifetime. I have never had a better experience….anywhere. Brenda, North Carolina, USA

  • Review Submitted: 22-Jul-2009
  • Date of Stay: June 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Your review gratifies me so much because, beside my care in the things that can simplify the stay in Florence, I put my personal passion in the décor hoping to exite an emotion in the guest. Thank you very very much for your wonderful feedback, I really hope that you will come back soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
31 0
5

Second time I've stayed at Via dei Ginori 16 apartment in tne past sixteen months.

  • 5 of 5

The Via dei Ginori, 16 apartment is, at a minimum, an excellant accomodation. The apartment is spacious, fully stocked, quiet, has a Florentine feel, half a block from San Lorenzo in the quiet direction and the staff is more than accomodating as Rita arranged a taxi for me for 5 am. If climbing three flights of stairs is a concern, it should not be as the apartment is well worth the schlep (47 stairs). If you can climb the Duomo (465 stairs) via dei Ginori is a piece of cake. Grocery store nearby as are many restuarants and, cconventally a small gelato shop across the street. My friends and I have talaked about a one month stay in Florence. If we do, Vai dei Ginori, 16, will be the place for our month stay. Thank you ritya and Maria.

Dan F

  • Review Submitted: 21-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Seattle, Washington
5

Elegant spacious apartment in amazing location

  • 5 of 5

This was a perfect location with lots of high quality restaurants/cafes nearby. It is right in the middle of the tourist area but you can't hear all the bustle of the streets below. We came with our kids and they loved having their own wing to spread out in. Morning coffees on the patio were sunny and warm.

  • Review Submitted: 19-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Silver Spring, MD USA
5

Beautiful apartment in Florence

  • 5 of 5

Our family of 4 had a great stay in the Ginori Apartment! It was very clean (especially the bathrooms, an important detail for me) and beautifully decorated, with lots of space to spread out. It was also centrally located and within walking distance of most areas visitors would be interested in. One thing we wish had been explained to us was how to get in and out of the apartment building, but we eventually figured it out ourselves. To get out, there are certain buttons which open the locked gate and front door. To get in, the outside door key doesn't work for the door itself--you use the key on an access panel mounted to the wall outside the front door. We also wish there was more than one key, so that our family of 4 could split up and come and go from the apartment at separate times. One more tiny flaw was that the jets in the jetted tub didn't work. But, all in all, a fabulous place to call home in Florence for a few days!

  • Review Submitted: 08-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your review. We'll check the jets of the jacuzzi tub. I'm sorry that you didn't use it, if you had told us during your stay we maybe would have been able to fix it for you.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Recommended

  • 4 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay here! Quaint apartment, very clean, great location and plenty of bathrooms! Only issue we had was the key is connected to the electricity and you only get one key. If someone stays in the apartment at night they will not have electricity or they will need to buzz you in when you return. Not ideal if someone goes to bed early.

  • Review Submitted: 11-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review. Yes, is provided only one set of keys connected with electricity, as clearly stated in the rental agreement. This is necessary to avoid energy waste, save money and respect the environment. Several times happened that disrespectful guests kept all lights on, air conditioning working and windows opened all day long while they're outside. Our potential guests can judge if this condition fits their needs, or in case ask for a second set of keys but you didn't ask about.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Alpharetta, Ga.
5

Mia amore Ginori!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed in this glorious apartment for 6 nights with our student daughter. It was a joy!!! The decor in the apartment is lovely. The location is perfect....it is quiet, yet easy to walk to all of the attractions in Florence...the plaza del Duomo, the Mercado, the museums, and the train station.

We had an evening of heavy rain during our visit that kept us indoors...

I made myself an expresso and I sat and enjoyed the art books and collection of music that belongs to the owner. We were very comfortable and entertained staying in during bad weather.

One of the coolest cafes I have ever seen is right next door to the apartment. I highly recommend La Menagere for breakfast, cocktails, food, and flowers! There are many amazing restaurants in the area.

The beds are very comfortable with lovely bed linens. The shower in the second bedroom has a nice shower with lots of hot water and great water pressure....something a girl with a lot of hair appreciates. The master bath has a nice jetted bathtub with a handheld shower feature.

The washer and dryer was very nice to use as well.

We all were able to work off all of the pasta and pizza that we enjoyed in Florence with the flights of stairs leading to the apartment. This is very typical for apartments in Florence...but, one should know that it can be difficult carrying heavy baggage up and down stairs. It may also be a problem for the elderly or someone with a disability.

We didn't mind the stairs....it's all part of the charm of Florence!

I would absolutely stay in the Ginori Apartment again! I highly recommend it. The owner was very nice, speaks English and was very responsive....

I look forward to my next visit.

  • Review Submitted: 12-May-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
7 Kilometres
Florence (FLR)
Nearest Train
700 Metres
Firenze Santa Maria Novella
Nearest Motorway
7 Kilometres
A1
Car: not necessary

The apartment is located in the heart of Florence: just next to Palazzo Medici Riccardi, at the corner San Lorenzo Church complex. 

This is an area with a lot of shops, restaurants and grocery stores including the Central Market (Mercato Centrale).

It takes less than 5 minutes by walk to the Duomo, the Mercato Centrale and the Accademia Gallery, less than 10 minutes to the Palazzo Vecchio, the Uffizi Gallery and the Ponte Vecchio. Finally, it takes about 10 minutes by foot to reach the Santa Maria Novella railway station, the central and most important in Florence.

This excellent location will allow you to discover by walk our beautiful city and its historic centre, Unesco World Heritage since 1982, which is mostly a quiet pedestrian area.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday apartment in Duomo, Florence

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
EUR
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Winter
5 Nov 2017 - 22 Dec 2017
4 night minimum stay
£714
for 4 nights
From
£178
£1,124
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £13 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas & New Year
23 Dec 2017 - 13 Jan 2018
5 night minimum stay
£1,071
for 5 nights
From
£214
£1,374
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £13 per night, per additional guest
 
Winter
14 Jan 2018 - 3 Mar 2018
4 night minimum stay
£714
for 4 nights
From
£178
£1,124
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £13 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
£857
for 4 nights
From
£214
£1,374
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £13 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Refundable Damage Deposit £267.67

Rates for 14 days or more: 20 € per night lower than 7 nights or more rate.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Ask Owner a Question
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals