HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

A sanctuary on the edge of Exmoor

People2
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
cottage
People
2
Bedrooms
1
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
5 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 1 bedroom holiday cottage in Tiverton - Stone Quarry Cottage

1 Bedroom,1 Bathroom semi-detached cottage set in stunning rural setting

Stone Quarry Cottage is a spacious one bedroom cottage located close to Exmoor. With accommodation on two floors, it has an open plan kitchen/dining area, a large living room featuring a woodburner, a bathroom with a bath and powerful shower. Upstairs a comforatble double bedroom overlooks the countryside. The cottage has been converted recently and is light &spacious. There are all the conveniences you would expect including a dishwasher & washing machine, flat screen TV, DVD player and WiFi access. There is underfloor heating which is fuelled using our own wood and in the summer we use solar panels to heat the hot water. A travel cot and high chair are available

There is a secluded garden behind the cottage backing onto our woodland and a terrace to the front with parking beside the cottage.

Nearby Dulverton and Bampton have excellent restaurants and pubs with plenty of shops. As well as Exmoor National Park there are several National Trust Properties, walking and watersports

Located on the Devon/Somerset border our cottages offer a perfect setting for exploring Exmoor National Park & the North and South Devon Coastlines. Stone Quarry cottage sits in the Exe valley overlooking our woodland and countryside. There are plenty of activities nearby including fishing and canoeing at Wimbelball Lake, surfing on the famous waves of Saunton Sands and Croyde. There are also several excellent golf courses nearby along with tennis and horseriding.

The towns of Dulverton, Bampton and Dunster offer interesting shops and great places to eat. There are several National Trust properties in the area and wonderful gardens. The localy countryside provides a host of walking and cycling routes or you can just relax with a book and watch the birds and rabbits running by!

PLEASE CONTACT US FOR RATES FOR STAYS OF LESS THAN 7 NIGHTS AS THOSE DISPLAYED AUTOMATICALLY BY THE WEBSITE ARE INCORRECT BUT THERE IS NO WAY OF CHANGING THEM! WE ARE SORRY FOR ANY INCONVENIENCE.

More Details
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • wheelchair accessible

Owner
James
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
28 November, 2016
Call Owner

Reviews

4.4/5 -
(5 traveller reviews)

A sanctuary on the edge of Exmoor
average rating of 4.4 based on 5 reviews
5

Wonderful countryside retreat...in a forest!

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful week at Wonham Oak. Beautifully presented cottage and our 2 dogs were welcome. In a very good position to visit lots of Devon and Somerset sights. Highly recommended.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Idyllic get-away to the country

  • 5 of 5

This is a lovely part of the country and this stylish and charming cottage is the perfect way to enjoy it.

James and Erica were super friendly and went out of their way to make us feel welcome throughout our stay. Our twin babies and labrador also appreciated the walks and the surrounding nature.

We very much enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it whole heartedly.

  • Review Submitted: Sep 1, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Not quite what I expected

  • 3 of 5

The property pictures give you the impression that it's a detached private dwelling surrounded by lush green fields, woodland and a long sweeping drive down to it. However, the property itself is split into two small apartments that are reasonably furnished and equipped with most thing you may need during your stay. The drive in is bumpy with stones and flint and not ideal if you have low suspension. My first impression was of slight disappointment. I think I had pictured a lot more of a luxury sanctuary than what it turned out to be. I am not saying it is not a good or nice place to stay, it is, but I was not as taken in by it as I had hoped. The property is nice enough but it is very small and you would be on top of each other if there were more than two of you. I was really disappointed that there were no local walking maps in the property nor were there any cycle routes provided either which I found rather frustrating as I have always ended up staying in accommodation where there's plenty of maps and opportunity for walking straight from the front door. The owner's were pleasant and did not make any real contact unless you requested help or advice however, on one particular day I was asked if I minded that the plumber turned up at 5pm to sort out the system for the solar panels. I did not particularly want to be interrupted whilst on holiday especially with the things I generally deal with whilst at home but rather than ask if they would wait until change over, I ended up agreeing. The plumber turned up on time and the owner just left me to look after them and between the plumber and I we found where the system was that needed their attention. I had not reported any problems with hot water so I wasn't sure why it was being dealt with whilst I was paying for my holiday stay. I asked how long they would be and they said about 40 minutes. They ended up taking over 90 minutes and eventually we agreed that it was not going to be a straight forward job and I asked them to leave. They also agreed that it was not right for someone paying for their accommodation whilst on holiday to be interrupted and to take care of the plumbing issues with the plumber. This combined with my dog being poorly and the lack of decent walking straight from the accommodation lead me to leave after just 4 days, even though I paid for a full week. Overall I was disappointed and felt a little misled by the photography. I'm sure it will be a winner for many though.

  • Review Submitted: Jul 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay and thank you for the constructive point that you made concerning maps and cycle routes – there will be a specific link on our upcoming website dedicated to information on walking and cycling. I do though however feel your review to be not entirely accurate: You mention that the photo gives the impression of being a detached building. I think you can clearly make out that there are two units there and beneath the picture at the top of the information it says “1 bedroom, 1 bathroom semi-detached cottage set in a stunning rural setting”. When you say “The property is nice enough but it is very small and you would be on top of each other if there were more than two of you” it is not advertised as being for any more than two. Regarding your comments about the drive, from memory you used the drive that is a private drive for my family and not the drive to access the cottages. It is bumpy but is ok for our purposes. The access drive for the cottages has one or two small bumps and we are currently in the process of getting quotes for re-surfacing it. I did come round and ask whether it would be all right if the plumber came in to sort out the solar. I also said that if it was an inconvenience I would ask him to come another day. With the benefit of hindsight it would have been better to have tried to arrange it for a changeover day but unfortunately he was busy. To end with you say “This combined (plumber) with my dog being poorly and the lack of decent walking straight from the accommodation lead me to leave after just 4 days, even though I paid for a full week”. Again I do not feel this to be a fair representation of what happened. When you arrived on June 12th you emailed me mentioning that you couldn’t get the tv to work but also saying “Max isn't too well so I'm not sure how long I'll be staying.” We also have just over 20 acres including woodland that all guests are welcome to walk around with no restrictions. You emailed me again on 16th June when you had got home saying “Thank you for a lovely stay but Max was sick again yesterday and I felt I should get him to the vet as he has had a liver problem for over a year and my vet knows his history.” I think that because of Max’s illness there was always a chance of your having to return home early and sadly that is what happened. I hope this clears matters up. James
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Excellent property in an idyllic setting

  • 5 of 5

We very much enjoyed our Xmas break - the quality of the property is excellent, lovely and warm with the underfloor heating and very well equipped. The location is superb and ideally situated for exploring the wider surroundings of Exmoor and locale. Thanks to James also for providing a Christmas tree!

Highly recommended!

We will be back!

  • Review Submitted: Jan 4, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Dec 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
4

A lovely cottage in a great location

  • 4 of 5

A great base from which to explore Devon and Somerset, then come back and unwind in tranquil surroundings in the lovely cottage. Very comfortable and welcoming.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 19, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Airport
35 Kilometres
Bristol
Nearest Barpub
2 Kilometres
Exeter Inn/ Red Lion Oakford
Nearest Ferry
100 Kilometres
Plymouth
Nearest Golf
15 Kilometres
Tiverton Golf Club
Nearest Train
24 Kilometres
Tiverton
Nearest Motorway
24 Kilometres
M5 J27
Nearest Restaurant
2 Kilometres
Exeter Inn/ Red Lion
Nearest Beach
35 Kilometres
Minehead
Car: recommended

The Exe Valley / Exmoor is an ideal location for both touring and exploring the local area. The North Devon Coast is just 40 min away with stunning Saunton Sands & Woolacombe. The South Coast with Exmouth & Seaton is only 45 min too.

The area surrounding the cottage boasts several National Trust properties, RHS Rosemoor and an array of wonderful gardens. For those who like to be more active there are several places to fish and cycle.

There are plenty of options for walking both close to the cottage and on Exmoor which is just 10 min drive. To the North the Quantocks has wonderful walks too including the Coleridge Way. The picturesque towns of Dulverton and Bampton are close by offering a range of places to eat and shop and host various annual events. There is plenty to do or you can just relax in your garden on the edge of our woodland.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Tiverton, Mid Devon

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
GBP
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
w/c 29 October - 10 December
29 Oct 2016 - 9 Dec 2016
5 night minimum stay
£214
for 5 nights
£300
 
 
w/c 17 december - 31 december
17 Dec 2016 - 6 Jan 2017
5 night minimum stay
£404
for 5 nights
£565
 
 
w/c 7 Jan - 11 March
7 Jan 2017 - 11 Mar 2017
5 night minimum stay
£225
for 5 nights
£315
 
 
w/c 18 March - 25 March
18 Mar 2017 - 25 Mar 2017
5 night minimum stay
£271
for 5 nights
£380
 
 
w/c 1 April
1 Apr 2017 - 7 Apr 2017
5 night minimum stay
£289
for 5 nights
£405
 
 
w/c 8 April - 15 April
8 Apr 2017 - 15 Apr 2017
5 night minimum stay
£311
for 5 nights
£435
 
 
w/c 22 April - 20 May
22 Apr 2017 - 20 May 2017
5 night minimum stay
£268
for 5 nights
£375
 
 
w/c 27 May
27 May 2017 - 2 Jun 2017
5 night minimum stay
£421
for 5 nights
£590
 
 
w/c 3 June - 17 June
3 Jun 2017 - 17 Jun 2017
5 night minimum stay
£321
for 5 nights
£450
 
 
w/c 24 June - 1 July
24 Jun 2017 - 1 Jul 2017
5 night minimum stay
£375
for 5 nights
£525
 
 
w/c 8 July
8 Jul 2017 - 14 Jul 2017
5 night minimum stay
£407
for 5 nights
£570
 
 
w/c 15 July
15 Jul 2017 - 21 Jul 2017
5 night minimum stay
£436
for 5 nights
£610
 
 
22 July - 19 August
22 Jul 2017 - 19 Aug 2017
5 night minimum stay
£507
for 5 nights
£710
 
 
w/c 26 August
26 Aug 2017 - 1 Sep 2017
5 night minimum stay
£493
for 5 nights
£690
 
 
w/c 2 September
2 Sep 2017 - 8 Sep 2017
5 night minimum stay
£400
for 5 nights
£560
 
 
9 Sept - 16 Sept
9 Sep 2017 - 16 Sep 2017
5 night minimum stay
£336
for 5 nights
£470
 
 
w/c 23 Sept - 7 October
23 Sep 2017 - 7 Oct 2017
5 night minimum stay
£268
for 5 nights
£375
 
 
14 October - 21 October
14 Oct 2017 - 20 Oct 2017
5 night minimum stay
£289
for 5 nights
£405
 
 
w/c 28 Oct - 9 Dec
28 Oct 2017 - 9 Dec 2017
5 night minimum stay
£225
for 5 nights
£315
 
 
w/c 16 Dec - 30 Dec
16 Dec 2017 - 30 Dec 2017
5 night minimum stay
£418
for 5 nights
£585
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
£400
for 5 nights
From
£80
 

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £10

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Tiverton in Devon

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 50 m²
Location Type:
  • rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
  • The bathroom is nicely spacious with a toilet, sink and bath that has a large shower. Water is from a local spring so its lovely and soft. There is underfloor heating throughout and the bathroom has a heated towel rail.
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
  • The bedroom is spacious, light and airy sitting on the first floor. It has double doors looking out over our wood and land. There is a cupboard for storage and hanging space.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Garden ...
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered ...
  • wheelchair accessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • forests
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • sailing
  • caving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
  • wind-surfing

Learn more about this holiday rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties