HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992

Hartstene Pointe Waterfront Beach Cabin

People9
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Space 1,500 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Cabin, 3 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 6-9)

Located on Harstine Island, approximately two hours from Seattle or 45 miles north of Olympia, this high bank waterfront cabin has breathtaking views of the Sound and Mt. Rainier. This is a gated community with beach homes known as Hartstene Pointe.

The community has 3 1/2 miles of community beach, nature trails, picnic areas, a heated outdoor swimming pool and hot tub (seasonal, ask owner for dates the pool is open), playground, tennis & basketball courts and a clubhouse with library, ping pong tables and free wireless Internet access, although we now have wi-fi at the cabin.

The Pointe is home to many animals such as: red fox, deer & eagles frequently seen in their natural setting.

This two story cabin has an open floor plan, spacious living and dining rooms with sliders off the dining room to the outside deck with a gorgeous view of the Sound and Mt. Rainier. There is one bedroom on the main floor with twin beds, the master bedroom upstairs has a queen size bed and a balcony with a view of the Sound and a 3rd bedroom upstairs has 2 queen beds and a single, fold-out child's bed.

The cabin is fully equipped for your convenience. Amenities include a newer wood burning stove, stereo/CD player, TV, DVD player, wireless internet access, microwave and washer & dryer.

There are many things to do such as: hiking, swimming, beach combing, exploring the trails and the Olympic Peninsula, or just relaxing by the fire reading a book, or barbequeing and enjoying the view.

With the serene natural setting it is a great place for a long vacation or a weekend getaway during any season.

Keywords: Cabin

More Details

Owner
Nancy Felton
Member since: 2007
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
10 December, 2017

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cabin in Shelton in Mason County

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • NO fireworks EVER. Fires allowed on designated spit only. Wood fires in cabin ONLY in wood stove. No fires outside cabin. Call owner for more info.
  • NOT a party house - quiet residential community. HOA rules must be followed. Sound travels so please be courteous to neighbors. Quiet hrs. 9pm-9am.
  • 9 people limited on property or in house at any time. 2 car limit in driveway. 3rd car allowed on street (but NOT on grass) for 24 hrs.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Mountain View ...
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Heating
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • upstairs master bedroom has a queen bed, the second bedroom upstairs has 2 queen and a single, and the main level bedroom has 2 singles. This is also next to the bathroom for someone who can't do stairs.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Pool Table ...
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Terrace
  • Barbecue ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Shared Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • recreation centre
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • scenic drives
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Basketball Court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • Kayaking
  • swimming
  • tennis

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(27 traveller reviews)

55% Complete
37% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Hartstene Pointe Waterfront Beach Cabin
average rating of 4.4814816 based on 27 reviews
4

Wonderful gals weekend

  • 4 of 5

Four ladies who first met in college 38 years ago had a 3 day reunion in this cabin. We had everything we needed in the kitchen, plenty of bedrooms and beds for everyone and an overall cozy feel to the cabin. We especially loved having access to long stretches of cobble beaches and trails to wonder as we got caught up in each others lives. Good location and facility if looking for a quite and restful place to reconnect with yourself or others.

  • Review Submitted: 23-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Glad you were able to reconnect at the cabin. It is a great place to gather and enjoy nature together. Please come again. Nancy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

driving directions need work

  • 3 of 5

We came as 2 couples in 2 separate cars. The driving instructions were basically to cross the bridge to Hartstene Is., turn left, drive for 3 miles to the gate. We had some misadventures, getting separated and trying to find the gate down some sketchy roads in the pouring rain as it started to get dark. Cell phone reception was intermittent at best. I finally got a hold of the owner who informed me that I was "over-thinking" the directions. Here are the problems with this I would like to address:

1. The google map provided on the VRBO website places a marker for the cabin at the center of the island - about 20 miles from where it actually is.

2. The driving directions on the HomeAway app that VRBO badgered me to get, are NOT correct - the address is listed as 376 Point drive - It should have said Pointes Drive !! Google maps could NOT find Point drive, so we were forced to improvise. (I have since reviewed the email from the owner and see that she had corrected the address there, but not in the app).

3. The simple directions - turn left at the bridge and go for 3 miles. This is simply WRONG. It is 5 miles!. At 3 miles we were by Jarrell Cove and the junction of E. Hartstene Island road which heads South to where the cabin is incorrectly placed on the VRBO map!

The house. For what she is asking, it is a fine place. The weather sucked but that was my dumb luck. The view is great and the kitchen/living room were excellent. The master bedroom was fine. I would like to comment on the stairs. We are 2 active couples on both sides of 60 years old. One couple ended up sleeping in the extra bedroom on the first floor because they were worried about negotiating the stairs and night when needing to use the bathroom. These are very steep stairs with a flimsy rail on one side. Although the steepness can probably not be changed, please make it SAFER:

1. Add a better and longer rail on the wall side

2. Add some vertical posts with another rail on the side facing the living room.

3. Add a carpet runner for better grip.

  • Review Submitted: 22-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Rick, Thank you so much for your review. I am happy to hear we have a fine place, kitchen/living room were excellent and a great view. It was unfortunate that you got lost and you are correct that the distance from entering the island and the gate is 5 miles instead of approximately 3 miles. I will make sure I change that in our directions. The stairs are steep and I will make sure that is noted in the description. If stairs are hard, the bedroom on the lower level is convenient next to the bathroom. I don't think a rail on both sides is possible but thank you for the suggestion.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great quiet retreat!

  • 4 of 5

Our family had a great stay in the cabin. It had everything we needed, and is perfectly located between the pool and the beach. We had an evening deer visitor who stayed for a while, and enjoyed the best sand dollar beach we've ever seen. The only downside, which wasn't a terrible thing, was that the washer and dryer weren't available for us. Had we stayed longer, we'd probably have to do some laundry. Thanks again, fabulous rustic place.

  • Review Submitted: 11-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Kristin, Thank you so much for your great review! I love it when the deer come to visit too. I am sorry that there wasn't a washer available for your use but we actually just put in a new set yesterday (8/25/17) so it is now available to guests. I hope you will come again soon. Nany
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Cozy cabin

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time at the cabin and the clubhouse/pool!

  • Review Submitted: 21-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Kimberly, I am so glad you had a great time at the cabin. Hope to see you back soon. Nancy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

American rustic

  • 5 of 5

4 adults a 2 year old and three year old. In the woods 100 yards to beach we loved it. Clean well equipped and very spacious. Not the Ritz but all the better for it. Would definitely stay again

  • Review Submitted: 31-May-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
4

Peaceful and serene!

  • 4 of 5

Thank you for a beautiful stay. The cabin was rustic, quaint and perfect for our family get together. Waking up and looking out over the bay was quite a treat. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The beds were comfortable and the shower has the perfect amount of pressure :) Will recommend as a great place to stay.

  • Review Submitted: 19-Mar-2017
  • Date of Stay: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello Ann, Thank you so much for your great review. I am so glad you had a good stay at our cabin. I always forget how peaceful it is there and wonder why I don't go there more myself. I hope you can return soon. Thank you, Nancy
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

Nearest Barpub
6 Miles
Spencer Lake Bar & Grill
Nearest Motorway
7 Miles
Hwy 3
Car: necessary

Golf course about 30 minutes away in Allyn. Movie theater and Safeway about 30 minutes away in Shelton.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Ask Owner a Question

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £56.04
Damage Insurance £44.08

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 30 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar holiday rentals