HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar

Jim Pappas

Member since: 2007
Call Manager
Speaks English

Luxury Beachfront Retreat: Lake Michigan, Spa, Private, Decks, Dunes, Chicago

34 Reviews
People16
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms3
Separate WC's1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

Your booking will be backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee when you complete your reservation online and finalise payment on HomeAway.

Learn more

Overview

Photos and Description of this 4 bedroom holiday home in Miller Beach - Luxury Beachfront Retreat

4 bedrooms, 4 baths, 5000sq.ft. sleeps up to 16

After 2 nights, the nightly rate decreases!

We also offer DISCOUNTED weeknight pricing!

Miller Beach Dream Retreat is Indiana Dunes MOST Luxurious Vacation Rental!

Steps from the best "semi-private", sugar-sand beach on Lake Michigan

Often referred to as the "Hampton's of the Midwest"

Sleeps 22! Often rented with our Attached Guest House (additional fee) to sleep a total of 30!!

5-Star Luxury Oasis: private, secluded, spa-like quality, ultimate beach-front getaway on Indiana Dunes National Park. Commanding views of Lake Michigan and Chicago skyline--only 35 miles away!

Location:

Miller Beach, IN is the closest beach-side community to Chicago (45 minutes by train or car) and recently received a $28 million grant from the state to revamp its beach concessions, museums, parking, streets, hiking trails, and infrastructure.

Miller Beach, is the center of hundreds of attractions. Boat Launch (seasonal) for watercraft is (1/3 mile) away. Only a sliver of National Park & winding dune trails separates you from THE nicest, Semi-Private, sugar-sand beach in IN! Take the sand trail leading from our Pro Sand Volley Ball Court for a sunrise jog, catch some warm, afternoon rays on the soft beach, swim in cool Lake Michigan, or stroll in the surf at dusk & capture a snapshot of the setting sun or Chicago Skyline. No matter what the season or occasion, stay with us for the ultimate in relaxation!

Sleeps 22: 4-Queen Bdrms/4-Marble Baths, Dry-Cedar Sauna, Steam Room, Jacuzzi, Jenn-Air Gourmet Kitchen, Marvel Wine Cellars, Wet Bar w/ Marvel Kegerator, Wood-burning Stove, Poker/game Tables, Wi-Fi, Dolby Surround Smart HD TVs

Gated Outdoor Living Space:

Napoleon Gas Grills, Hot-tub, Pro-sand Volleyball Court, Fire-pit, Patio Heaters, Sunbrella Lounge Furniture, Hammocks, Outdoor Shower

Gourmet Kitchen:

- Open to Living/Dining Room with Jenn-air and Marvel appliances

- Large side by side refrigerator with automatic ice maker

- Four ovens: Electric Baking oven | Convection microwave oven | Warming oven

- Professional 36inch gas roasting oven, Six-sealed burner professional cook-top

- Professional range hood

- Dual Marvel red and white wine/champagne refrigerators

- Dishwasher and Garbage Disposal

- Huge 6ft by 8ft double island with prep sink and seating

- Custom, hand-weathered, cherry cabinetry with Pietra Cardosa (Italian soapstone) counters

- Dinnerware: place settings and flatware for 24 (indoor and outdoor), glassware (water/rocks/wine)

- Small Appliances: 2 Coffee Makers, Toaster and Toaster Oven, Blender, Crock Pot

- Supplies: Dish towels, Paper Towels, Dish-soap, Dishwasher detergent, Hand Soap, Trash Bags, Coffee Filters, various Spices

- Cookware: Mixing Bowls, Measuring cups/spoons, Strainers, Utensils, Pots/Pans, Baking Sheets, Serving Bowls and Platters

Great Room:

- Wood burning stove with blower and ample supply of seasoned oak firewood and firestarter logs (non-peak season)

- Newly updated Leather Sofa, chairs, and décor throughout

- 28ft soaring timbered ceiling creates a rustic-chic atmosphere

- 15 bulb wrought-iron chandelier add to the overall elegance

- Opens directly to main level deck (no steps), outdoor Jacuzzi, Pro-sand volleyball court (Peak Season only)

- Dining Table seats ten; additional 6ft banquet table and ample folding chairs for extra seating

- Thermal drapery panels provide comfort on those super hot Summer days and adds additional privacy

- Game Cabinets (poker, board games, puzzles, etc.)

Loft/Game Room:

- Rustic wood beamed, vaulted ceiling

- Wrap-around balcony overlooks Living/Dining/Kitchen

- 8-seat Leather sectional sofa

- Professional Poker table with rolling pneumatic leather chairs {flip side is standard game table}, includes regulation chips/cards

- 42" HDTV with combo DVD/VHS player

- Custom woven wood blinds increases ambiance and privacy

- 5 large skylights capture all the sunshine!

- Recessed can lighting with specular cones illuminates the space beautifully

- No step walk-out to multi-level decks

- Panoramic views though the "wall of windows" of Lake Michigan, surrounding dune-scape of National Park, & Chicago Skyline

Rec Room:

- 52" HD Smart TV with Vizio Sound-bar home theater

- Queen sleeper Sofa

- Huge 5' diameter Game Table

- Walk-in Wet Bar with Kegerator (available for additional fee), built-in mini-refrigerator for soda, mixers, garnishes, etc.

- Library containing over 350 movies for your enjoyment

- Full size Refrigerator/Freezer

1200 sq. ft. Master Suite:

- Sterns & Foster Queen bed

- Dry Cedar Sauna

- Steam shower with eucalyptus oil dispenser, rain shower head and hand held shower

- Jacuzzi tub for two

- Juliette Balcony with french doors overlooking Great Room and loft below

- 60” HD Smart TV

- 10' x 8' walk-in closet with windows and skylights {large enough to serve as an additional bedroom with provided queen, luxury, high-rise Aero Bed}

- Skylights throughout

- Private, wrap-around deck with unobstructed views of the Dunes, Lake Michigan, Chicago Skyline, and outdoor bistro table and built-in bench facing due East to see spectacular sun rises over the dunes

Additional bedrooms:

- 2-Queen bedrooms with space to set up Deluxe High-rise Aerobeds

- 1-Bunk room with Twin/Queen beds and Twin/Twin beds

- High thread-count linens, comforters and pillows

- Ceiling fans, stand fans, abundant closet space and hangers, alarm clocks, etc.

- HD TVs and DVD players with remote controls

- Adjacent Bathrooms are marble-tiled with custom furniture-grade vanities, rain shower heads, hair dryers, bath mats, etc

- Plush Bath Towels, Hand Towels, and Washcloths are provided for all guests

*Ask for a list of our suggested sleeping arrangements

Additional Amenities:

- Free parking for 8 vehicles in the driveway

- Fastest ATT Uverse Wi-Fi available

- 4 Deluxe High-rise Aerobeds and all bedding/extra towels, etc provided

- Dog-friendly (additional fee applies)

- Washer/Dryer complete with detergent, bleach, and fabric softener

- All basics provided: hand soap, body wash, shampoo, conditioner, laundry detergent, bleach, dish washer soap, dish soap, fabric softener, paper towel, trash bags, toilet paper, etc.

- Personal tour at check-in and binder full of useful info & local attractions provided at check-in

Weddings at the Dream Retreat:

We are in the 'memory making' business and have hosted over 12 intimate beach weddings, significant anniversaries and birthdays, family reunions, holiday parties, corporate events, and honeymoons! Our guests are mostly repeats & often book the same period each year. They too seek the ultimate spa-like-experience and finest accommodations.

Terms:

2 night minimum, Credit Cards/PayPal/Chase QuickPay accepted, 50% due at booking, remainder due 30 days prior to arrival

More Details
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • Alternative Lifestyle
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Jim Pappas (Property Manager)
Member since: 2007
Call Manager
Speaks English

About Jim Pappas

As an Engineer and General Contractor since 1995, Jim (Hilary’s husband) has a passion for designing, building, and managing large, luxury beachfront homes to accommodate large families and groups for celebrating, entertaining, and relaxing. Hilary is an accomplished Interior Designer and loves to create inviting spaces, ensuring that all the details are attended to.

Jim has been a commercial real estate investor since 2001 and built this dream home for his family to call home. We always look forward to 'our private oasis on the beach” to escape from it all...

Completed in 2009, the Miller Beach Dream Retreat and attached Guest House offer all the luxuries, premium fixtures, and custom amenities to truly have a spa-like experience. The 6 half-level floor plan layout and flow is functional, offering both large gathering spaces to entertain on a grand scale both indoors and out as well as comfortable, cozy nooks in unique spaces for solitude.

We truly hope you enjoy our home as much as we do. We fill up very fast, take all forms of payment, and operate on a first come, first served basis

See you soon!

Jim and Hilary

Jim Pappas purchased this house in 2009

Why Jim Pappas chose Indiana

We chose Miller Beach, IN for several reasons. It is THE closest beach side community to Chicago (35 minutes by car or train, 60 minutes from O’hare Airport, 30 minutes from Midway Airport), is right on the Indiana Dunes National Park, and has the BEST “semi-private” sugar-sand beach!

Our backyard and beach IS the IN Dunes National Park!

Unlike most beachfront rentals that are crowded, noisy, and offer little or no privacy, Dream Retreat is built on a quiet, cul-de-sac street, corner lot, the only house on the corner, and 350 feet from the closest neighbor!.

Your views to the North and East are Lake Michigan, the Dunes, and the Chicago skyline. We installed 6’ and 8’ privacy fences to further isolate the outdoor living spaces and Pro-sand volleyball court from the street.

Just follow our trail to the sugar-sand beach and enjoy the 150ft sand bar and crystal clear, warm water. Our beach has no rocks, no muck, and no algae. Also, because we are the Southern-most tip of Lake Michigan, the water gets the warmest fastest and stays the warmest the longest--even well into Autumn.

The choice is obvious...

become “one with nature”, have no noisy neighbors, enjoy the ultimate in luxury and privacy, and be only 35 minutes from Chicago--one of the largest and most culturally diverse cities in the world!

What makes this house unique

No other beachfront vacation rental offers this level of privacy, beauty, and luxury. Our guest list is confidential, but includes A-list celebrities on-site during filming of major movies, professional sports stars, and noted journalists.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Met with a bunch of girls who all Scrapbook. That's what we did from Thursday until Sunday in Nov. 2011. Beautiful home, beautiful location, beautiful times!! Would I do again? In a heartbeat!! Oh and did I mention the hot tub. This would be a great place for a small family reunion or maybe a New Years Eve party. Very lovely--hoping to make plans to do it again.
Nov 2011
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

4.6
based on 34 holidaymaker reviews

Luxury Beachfront Retreat: Lake Michigan, Spa, Private, Decks, Dunes, Chicago
average rating of 4.647059 based on 35 reviews
Emden, IL
4

Great week on the beach with family

  • 4 of 5

Our family of 12 with 4 children, 6 and under, were here. The property is right up against the national park and we saw deer most of the mornings. All but one of the days were spent on the beach. Unfortunately the few steps to the beach was closer to 1/4 mile and with a couple of steep dunes proved to much for our troop with supplies. But the drive to the public beach was 3 blocks away and paying the $5 day parking fee made it much easier on us. The water is shallow and clear. Great for our little ones. And the goggles we found in a box of beach toys at the house let us explore the bottom.Safety was not an issue as there were police patrolling the beaches every day and a lifeguard is on duty in the afternoons (at least the days we were there).

The kitchen is amazing! This is the first house we have ever rented that had pots/pans that would actually hold a doubled recipe. The island is huge but got a little snug when 2 or 3 were in there cooking. The 2 refrigerators, one on the 1st level, held our weeks supply of food. The 3 older children used the island for meals and those who couldn't get around the table used the chairs and sofa for meals. There are extra tables and chairs but we hated to use the floor space. Evenings were on the deck with music from the sound system but there are mosquitoes being so close to a pond.

This house has 6 levels separated by 6-7 stairs. The bedrooms are on 4 of those levels with a bathroom.We had trouble finding someplace for the bathroom towels to dry as there is only one towel rack in each. Jim was working on a door when we arrived and returned a couple days later when we were having difficulties with the cooling system. Hilary answered every email and phone call. They were both very helpful. We didn't try any restaurants locally but it was a short trip to Merriville to the Albanese Candy Factory and an evening meal. The area around the house is run down but there are pockets of revival. And a walk down to the Marquette Park Lagoon, which is lovely, was the perfect setting for a marriage proposal. The home could use a spring cleaning, bottle caps under the sofa, and repairs need to be done but considering it is peak season, we can't imagine how difficult that is to do when people are moving in and out. The many levels were difficult for me with arthritic knees and the 22mo. who is just getting the hang of navigating steps.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Valerie: We enjoyed hosting your family and are glad you had such a great time! After all, we are in the memory making business and specialize in large family gatherings. The walk to the beach is beautiful and winds through a tiny sliver of Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore, which is one of the most diverse ecosystems in the world! One cannot be any closer to the semi-private beach than where the Dream Retreat is located. Starting from our Pro-Sand Volley ball court, there is one small dune slope on the way to the beach that joins an asphalt path to the water. My extended family (ages 2 to 80 years) can make it from the court to the water in about 8 minutes with all our gear, coolers, strollers, etc. One of my family’s favorite places to hang out is around the large island in the spacious kitchen. The island is 5ft by 10ft and has a prep sink. The perimeter countertop and wine bar is over 28 linear feet long. Both of which offer plenty of of counter space for chefs of all ages to work their magic. Most of my family members love to cook so we take pride in offering a complete set of small appliances, cookware, bakeware, etc. We recently installed a Mitsubishi, auto-learning/auto-sensing, duct-less air conditioning systems that has eleven (11) independently controlled wall units so guests can customize the temperature in any room in the house. We have posted signs next to each thermostat on how to operate the units. We also offer a full set of instructions for this and almost everything in our comprehensive binder that we provide at check-in. My parents are not good with steps either, so I designed and built the Dream Retreat to be six half-levels. The maximum number of steps between landings (both inside and outside) is seven and there are double-sets of sturdy hand rails on each. Thanks again and hope to see you real soon! Jim + Hilary
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Emden, IL
4

Great Week on the Beach with Family

  • 4 of 5

Our family of 12 with 4 children, 6 and under, were here. The property is right up against the national park and we saw deer most of the mornings. All but one of the days were spent on the beach. Unfortunately the few steps to the beach was closer to 1/4 mile and with a couple of steep dunes proved to much for our troop with supplies. But the drive to the public beach was 3 blocks away and paying the $5 day parking fee made it much easier on us. The water is shallow and clear. Great for our little ones. And the goggles we found in a box of beach toys at the house let us explore the bottom.Safety was not an issue as there were police patrolling the beaches every day and a lifeguard is on duty in the afternoons (at least the days we were there).

The kitchen is amazing! This is the first house we have ever rented that had pots/pans that would actually hold a doubled recipe. The island is huge but got a little snug when 2 or 3 were in there cooking. The 2 refrigerators, one on the 1st level, held our weeks supply of food. The 3 older children used the island for meals and those who couldn't get around the table used the chairs and sofa for meals. There are extra tables and chairs but we hated to use the floor space. Evenings were on the deck with music from the sound system but there are mosquitoes being so close to a pond.

This house has 6 levels separated by 6-7 stairs. The bedrooms are on 4 of those levels with a bathroom.We had trouble finding someplace for the bathroom towels to dry as there is only one towel rack in each. Jim was working on a door when we arrived and returned a couple days later when we were having difficulties with the cooling system. Hilary answered every email and phone call. They were both very helpful. We didn't try any restaurants locally but it was a short trip to Merriville to the Albanese Candy Factory and an evening meal. The area around the house is run down but there are pockets of revival. And a walk down to the Marquette Park Lagoon, which is lovely, was the perfect setting for a marriage proposal. The home could use a spring cleaning, bottle caps under the sofa, and repairs need to be done but considering it is peak season, we can't imagine how difficult that is to do when people are moving in and out. The many levels were difficult for me with arthritic knees and the 22mo. who is just getting the hang of navigating steps.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Valerie: We enjoyed hosting your family and are glad you had such a great time! After all, we are in the memory making business and specialize in large family gatherings. The walk to the beach is beautiful and winds through a tiny sliver of Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore, which is one of the most diverse ecosystems in the world! One cannot be any closer to the semi-private beach than where the Dream Retreat is located. Starting from our Pro-Sand Volley ball court, there is one small dune slope on the way to the beach that joins an asphalt path to the water. My extended family (ages 2 to 80 years) can make it from the court to the water in about 8 minutes with all our gear, coolers, strollers, etc. One of my family’s favorite places to hang out is around the large island in the spacious kitchen. The island is 5ft by 10ft and has a prep sink. The perimeter countertop and wine bar is over 28 linear feet long. Both of which offer plenty of of counter space for chefs of all ages to work their magic. Most of my family members love to cook so we take pride in offering a complete set of small appliances, cookware, bakeware, etc. We recently installed a Mitsubishi, auto-learning/auto-sensing, duct-less air conditioning systems that has eleven (11) independently controlled wall units so guests can customize the temperature in any room in the house. We have posted signs next to each thermostat on how to operate the units. We also offer a full set of instructions for this and almost everything in our comprehensive binder that we provide at check-in. My parents are not good with steps either, so I designed and built the Dream Retreat to be six half-levels. The maximum number of steps between landings (both inside and outside) is seven and there are double-sets of sturdy hand rails on each. Thanks again and hope to see you real soon! Jim + Hilary
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect EXperience for Annual Girls Getaway!

  • 5 of 5

Just celebrated our annual "girls pilgrimage" (away from our husbands and kids) at the dream retreat that topped all others! My friends and I have been renting a different house each year for the past 14 years. This house was by far THE BEST so far. Every detail was in order: meeting Hillary at check-in and giving a tour so we knew of ALL the amenities, towels neatly folded in little baskets on the beds, house information binder with local things to do, clean kitchen (we are very picky!), well-stocked kitchen and bathrooms (so many homes don't even have the basics), we loved the grill, large Jacuzzi. We loved chatting late night around the fire pit and the views of Chicago from across the lake were amazing. Even when we had a question late at night about how to use the new ac system, Jim helped us figure it out right away. Go Jim! They created THE perfect experience for us and none of us wanted to leave at the end! Perhaps we will break our streak and stay next year at the Miller Beach house too! PS: My husband and I actually own a small vacation rental in Tennessee and know how much work is involved in maintaining it for very particular girls like us ;). Thank you Hillary and Jim for creating an experience we will never forget and inspiring us too!

  • Review Submitted: May 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect EXperience for Annual Girls Getaway!

  • 5 of 5

Just celebrated our annual "girls pilgrimage" (away from our husbands and kids) at the dream retreat that topped all others! My friends and I have been renting a different house each year for the past 14 years. This house was by far THE BEST so far. Every detail was in order: meeting Hillary at check-in and giving a tour so we knew of ALL the amenities, towels neatly folded in little baskets on the beds, house information binder with local things to do, clean kitchen (we are very picky!), well-stocked kitchen and bathrooms (so many homes don't even have the basics), we loved the grill, large Jacuzzi. We loved chatting late night around the fire pit and the views of Chicago from across the lake were amazing. Even when we had a question late at night about how to use the new ac system, Jim helped us figure it out right away. Go Jim! They created THE perfect experience for us and none of us wanted to leave at the end! Perhaps we will break our streak and stay next year at the Miller Beach house too! PS: My husband and I actually own a small vacation rental in Tennessee and know how much work is involved in maintaining it for very particular girls like us ;). Thank you Hillary and Jim for creating an experience we will never forget and inspiring us too!

  • Review Submitted: May 30, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our pleasure Cindy! See you all next year.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Chicago
3

Not Luxury

  • 3 of 5

Pros: Situated right on the dunes there was a definite feeling of being somewhere much further away. Wonderful to hear the lake waves and the frogs at night.The kitchen was very roomy and well equipped. The master suite was expansive and very comfortable.

Cons: Multiple small annoying things became our running joke for the weekend. There were loose towel rails, plenty of dust, shedding towels, wires exposed, repairs not completed, banisters loose, laminated signs EVERYWHERE, a stove linked in with multiple outlets which tripped and necessitated a visit from Jim (who managed to lecture us as to what we had been doing wrong to reset the improperly wired stove), other electrical switches that worked sometimes but not others, standing water in the showers downstairs, and in the dishwasher (leaving it unusable for the last night/morning) and the final problem as we were packing to leave, a pretty major leak thru an (obviously)previously repaired ceiling.

Neither Hilary or Jim seemed particularly perturbed about any of these issues. I get the feeling they were no surprise to them. There was no apology just a oh we dont know unless someone tells us.The place needs a significant amount of attention to many little things and a desperately thorough cleaning. Its no good having so much focus on the glam (sauna,jacuzzi) if the absolute basics aren't perfect.

There was also so much paperwork with so many instructions. It was overkill. So were the multiple threats of charges for all kinds of infractions (i.e $100 if the door was found to be left unlocked)

We had a great weekend but that was because the company was good.

I did talk to Hilary with these concerns and she did refund the nominal amount I asked. In hindsight I should have asked for more. I do think this is a very overpriced rental, esp as I see that the nights we paid for in season would have been $2700. At the price we paid I was disgruntled to deal with these issues, at peak season price I would have been furious.

  • Review Submitted: May 11, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Indiana’s Premier Luxury Vacation Rental. Since custom designing and building the Miller Beach Dream Retreat in 2009, My wife Hilary, an Interior Designer, and I, an Engineer and General Contractor, take considerable pride in our “Hampton’s of the Midwest” beach home and strive for continuous improvement. We are always updating our home with the latest conveniences, amenities, and furnishings. It is our passion and we love it! We also just completed a $128,000 renovation just in time for Peak Season. While we thank Donna for her feedback, it is obvious that her intent is a vindictive fabrication of issues in hopes of getting a refund. • During her stay, one of the two dishwashers drains became clogged. A service tech repaired the issue ASAP. • She overloaded a kitchen outlet and blew a fuse. Our Pro Kitchen has 12 outlets and 36 linear feet of custom Pietra Cardosa countertop. I promptly arrived to flip the circuit breaker which solved the problem. • There are NO leaks. She was using the Master Suite’s huge peninsula tub, let it overflow, and caused damage to the ceiling below. Security deposit captured for damages. Before each arrival, Hilary completes a 310 point, quality-control checklist of the entire compound. If anything is not 100%, it is corrected or replaced. Our professional maid staff has their cleaning of our home down to a science. We are also always on call to address any questions or issues that may arise. We recently completed a $128,000 renovation to make your stay even more enjoyable, relaxing, and entertaining: * New eight (8) person LED outdoor hot tub * Four (4) person dry-cedar sauna * Eleven (11) independent Mitsubishi A/C units * 1200 sq.ft. of new multi-level composite-decking * Napoleon Pro stainless steel burner BBQ grill * Six (of ten) new LED flat-screen TVs, two surround systems, 65in * Cushioned patio furniture: sofa, loungers, dining tables, hammocks, swings * Gas fire pit * Larger dining tables * Larger Rec Room with new furniture and Foosball table * Porcelain tile floors in Master Bath & Laundry room * Bedroom furniture and bedding * Two sets of mega-capacity washer and dryers My wife and I are in the “memory making” business and have hosted hundreds for over six years. The majority are repeat guests that we look forward to seeing each year. From large family reunions, intimate weddings, birthdays, or corporate retreats, Miller Beach Dream Retreat often exceeds expectations. Jim & HIlary
Did you find this review helpful?
6 1
5

Far more than I ever expected!

  • 5 of 5

The Miller Beach Dream House was far more than I have expected....much more, may I add. My husband and I have traveled to many destinations and must say that this house, by far exceeds them all. The place is even more beautiful than the pictures online. Every detail was met. We celebrated our 20th anniversary this year and were hard pressed to find a home to accommodate all 22 of us!  We were NOT disappointed in the least!

I was surprised and pleasantly happy with how equipped and spotless the house was. It was very spacious. We could see Lake Michigan and the sand dune hills from almost every window and just outside was a beautiful deck and well kept hot tub. 

This house was extremely safe and in a lovely neighborhood with nicely kept homes. My bed was a bliss of happiness. As soon as my head hit the pillow, I drifted off to sleep.  Items like, dishwashing liquid for both dishwasher and sink were there...and the best products. Detergent was even provided for my laundry. 

Hilary and Jim do not skimp on how to make a house perfect for their guests. The think of everything and provide it so you don’t have to run to the local store when you arrive. Bounty paper towels were supplied in abundance along with plenty toliet paper. An endless supply of shampoo/conditioner and soap were there too. Yes, I mean wow! Items like salt, peper and even Pam spray was one last thing I had to buy. The automatic ice maker came in very handy. So did the wine fridges—there are 2!

The gas range was impressive as where the baking oven and warming oven!  I love to sit in the shower while shaving my legs and was so supprised to see a bench in the steam shower. Steam Shower!   Water pressure and toliets ran perfectly.  Wood burning stove with so much wood provided sealed the deal!  Everything was conveniently located as far as groceries and local restaurants plus more. Although cold in March, the beach was beautiful to walk on and view of Chicago Skyline was breathtaking!  The neighbors were so quiet we didn’t even realize they were there.

  • Review Submitted: May 4, 2015
  • Date of Stay: Mar 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Location

Nearest Airport
30 Miles
Chicago O'Hare Int'l, Chicago Midway
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
18th Street Brewery, Brasserie, Beach Cafe
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
19 courses within a 30 mile radius
Nearest Train
2 Miles
Miller Beach Train Depot--SouthShore Line
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
I-65 & Highway US 12/US 20, 80/84
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Miller Bakery Cafe, Flamingos, Miller Beach Cafe
Nearest Ski
40 Miles
FourLakes Apline Snowsports
Nearest Beach
Beachfront Retreat--sliver of Nat'l Park in betwn
Car: necessary

Custom built in 2009, the secluded Dream Retreat will help you escape from it all! Retreat is situated on a cul-de-sac street (no traffic) and corner lot (only house on the corner). Closest neighbor is 350 feet away. Completely private compound (6' & 8' privacy fences). Pro-Sand Beach Volley ball court set to Womany's Olympic specifications (Peak Season only). Entire North (lakeside) and East are Indiana Dunes National Lakeshore. Hear nothing except the songs of birds, breeze, and waves slapping against the Lake Michigan shoreline. See the Chicago Skyline from the upper decks.

Because of our unique location, only a tiny sliver of National Park separates us (sand & asphalt trail) from the best semi-private sugar-sand beach on Lake Michigan. We are 1/3 mile from Lake St. Beach boat launch (seasonal) for all your water toys, jet-skis, boats, sailboats, etc.

We personally meet you at check-in to give keys, a brief tour, and binder full of fun and useful info and all the best attractions within a 45 minute drive or train ride.

Other Activities: Centrally located and something for everyone! All attractions are within a 45 minute drive or train ride. Shoppers and gamers paradise! grocery/liquor stores, factory Outlet malls (120 stores), West Lake two-story mall, candy factory tours, fine/casual Dining, EZ train to Chicago: (Loop, “Magnificent Mile” shopping, museums, convention center, airports), water parks, amusement parks, Amish Country, scenic drives, Fall foilage tours, flea markets, National Park hiking/biking trails and classroom discussions, winery tours, Casinos (10 min to Trump, Ameristar, Majestic, harrah's, Horseshoe; 30 min to Blue Chip), Wells Street & West Side Beaches, golf, marinas, etc.

Golf: 19 courses withing a 30 mile radius--list and contact information provided in binder at check-in.

Ski: FourLakes Apline Snowsports is in Lisle, IL approx 60 miles from the Retreat and offer a wide variety of terrain, slopes, lessons, and fun for people of all ages.

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday house in Miller Beach, Indiana

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
2016 PEAK Season
27 May 2016 - 25 Sep 2016
2 night minimum stay
£2,505
for 2 nights
From
£1,166
From
£1,188
Thu,Fri,Sat
£5,055
 
 
2016/17 NON Peak Season
26 Sep 2016 - 25 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
£759
for 2 nights
From
£293
From
£410
Thu,Fri,Sat
£2,029
 
 
2017 PEAK Season
26 May 2017 - 24 Sep 2017
2 night minimum stay
£2,548
for 2 nights
From
£1,188
From
£1,210
Thu,Fri,Sat
£5,227
 
 
2017/2018 NON Peak Season
25 Sep 2017 - 24 May 2018
2 night minimum stay
£802
for 2 nights
From
£315
From
£432
Thu,Fri,Sat
£2,073
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£733
for 2 nights
From
£280
From
£389
Thu,Fri,Sat
£1,986
 

Additional pricing information

Pet Fee £0
Ask-Early/Late Check out £0
Holiday Fees may apply £0
Cleaning £154 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.0%

**System-generated rates MAY NOT BE ACCURATE**

Dogs accepted (up to 3, treated at least 7 days in advance)--CONFIRM FEE
Early check-in 1pm CST/late check out 1pm CST for add'l fees, subject to availability
Holiday premiums for July 4th, Christmas, Thanksgiving, Memorial Day, Labor Day, Air Show, Easter

Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates to see total
Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Miller Beach, USA

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 5000 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • beach ...
  • Beach View ...
  • Beachfront ...
  • lake ...
  • Lake View ...
  • Lakefront ...
  • Monument View ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Alarm System
  • Basic Soaps
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace ...
  • Firewood
  • Gas Heating
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Area
  • Living Room ...
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking ...
  • Parking On Street
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer ...
  • Rumpus Room
  • Secure Parking
  • Security System
  • Shampoo
  • Sofa Bed
  • Split-System Heating
  • Study Room
  • Telephone ...
  • Tiled Stove
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Mini Refrigerator
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 20 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Master Suite - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , Jacuzzi
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 4 - Toilet
    Exterior - Outdoor Shower
  • Master Suite Bathroom: -Spa Quality! Luxury! Feature-rich! -Dry Cedar Sauna -Commercial-grade two-person Steam Shower with eucalyptus oil dispenser -Grohe downpour shower and pulsating massage jet shower heads -Extra-large two-person, peninsula Jacuzzi tub Other Bathrooms: outdoor shower (Peak Season Only) -Marble tiled baths with downpour shower heads, custom vanities (maple-glazed with hand-carved, claw feet) loaded with plush towel sets and bath mats. -Shampoo, conditioner, body wash, hair dryers, toilet paper provided in all bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Master Suite - 1 Large Double Bed
    2nd Bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed
    3rd Bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed
    4th Bedroom - 1 Large Double Bed
  • Top floor HUGE 1200 SF Master Suite: -Private, wrap-around decks--see Chicago Skyline, Lake, & North & East views of Nat'l Park and lagoon. Enjoy bistro table & built-in bench to catch the morning sun -Juliette balcony w/ French doors overlooks the loft & Great Room below -10'x8' walk-in-closet w/ windows/skylights, dresser, iron & board, hangars -Custom silk draperies and fine 800 Thread-count linens -Decorative travertine marble fire place En-suite bath: -Commercial-grade 2-person steam shower w/ eucalyptus oil dispenser -Grohe downpour shower head and pulsating massage jets -Extra-large, 2-person Peninsula-garden Jacuzzi -Private toilet rm Other Bedrooms: -All Queen-sized beds, custom-matched comforters, bed skirts, shams & comfy sheets will pamper you in luxury! Each bedroom equipped w/ dressers, flat screen digital cable TV, DVD player, ceiling & stand fans, closets w/ hangars, alarm clocks. Some have private balconies and decorative fireplaces
Entertainment:
  • Audio Tape Player
  • Books ...
  • Books - Fiction / Non-fiction
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Music Library
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Player
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Barbecue
  • Deck Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Boat ...
  • Child's Swing
  • Terrace ...
  • Fully Fenced Property
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Garden ...
  • Outdoor Entertainment Area
  • Barbecue ...
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Sailboat
  • Sand Pit
  • Shed
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Small Cooler
  • Terrace
  • veranda
  • Walkway to Water
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Wood Decking
  • 20 garden chairs
Suitability:
  • Events Allowed
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Alternative Lifestyle
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Indoor Hot Tub
  • Jacuzzi
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Sauna ...
  • Spa Whirlpool
  • Steam Shower
  • Whirlpool
  • Whirlpool
  • Jacuzzi
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
  • Staff
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • duty free shops
  • festivals
  • forests
  • Health/Beauty Spa
  • library
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • Boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horse riding
  • Horseshoes
  • Miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • Shelling
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • Wildlife Viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundrette - serviced
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • Cross Country Skiing
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • Kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • Parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • Racquetball
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • diving
  • ski
  • snorkelling
  • Snorkeling/Diving
  • Snowboarding
  • Snowmobiling
  • bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Leave your worries behind & bring only your personal belongings... Think of the Dream Retreat as a 5-Star, luxury hotel, loaded with fine amenities, but private, secluded, and your very own... Our nearly endless list of amenities are second to none: Indoor/outdoor sound system creates the perfect atmosphere for entertaining or relaxing Pro kitchen—serves 16, mixing bowls, bakeware, serving platters, pots, pans, and skillets, roasting pans, spatulas, serving spoons, spices, toaster oven, blender, steamer, crock pot, coffee makers, filters Towels, shampoo, conditioner, bodywash Extra pillows, sheets, beach towels (seasonal) Lanterns, flashlights, first-aid kits 4 Queen-sized, high-rise, luxury, self-inflating/deflating Aero-beds w/ pillow tops & Headboards. Linens and bedding provided. Pro-Sand Volleyball & outdoor toys (Peak Season only) Firewood, trash bags, plastic-ware, paper towel, laundry, fabric sheets, dish soap included

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties