HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Luxury Condo in Historic District Close to Convention Center

People4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview


Details
Property
condo
People
4
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
2 nights

Description

Photos and Description of this 2 bedroom holiday condo in Center City - The Chestnut Lofts

1 queen bed in Bedroom, 1 full bed in 2nd bedroom , Sleeps 4

Welcome to the Chestnut Lofts. Located at 2nd and Chestnut.

A boutique condominium building centrally located 3 blocks from the Liberty Bell, Independence hall and 1 block from Penns Landing and the waterfront. Step out your door to dine at cafes and restaurants or explore Old City in a horse drawn carriage. If visiting for a trade show, we are just a short walk to the convention center as well.

PLEASE DO NOT USE THE BOOK IT NOW BUTTON FOR STAYS LESS THEN 4 NIGHTS BEFORE CONTACTING US

Our 900 square foot condo has granite counter tops, brand new stainless steal appliances, exposed brick walls and beautiful exposed wood beams. This condo also has Wifi. The building is a certified historic landmark and is a unique blend of both new and old. If you’re coming to Philadelphia to experience the history or enjoy the fine dining you could not ask for a better location. As we do own 2 apartments in this building one facing north towards chestnut and one facing south. This unit faces south toward a parking garage. Please see notes below for pros and cons of each unit.

***There are pluses and minuses to each of our properties and we want to make sure you select the one that you and your group will enjoy the most. Please see short summaries below with the pros and cons of each of our properties below.

The Chestnut Lofts ...HomeAway # 179041 (faces rear of building)

The Chestnut Lofts is located is located in Old City which although is steps away from the liberty bell and independence hall also has a very lively night time scene with cafes and restaurants and bars. The pros of this unit is that it is located on the top floor of a 5 story building and oriented facing south toward a parking garage not facing chestnut street so it's much much quieter. Drawbacks being there isn't a waterfront view as you have in the front unit, it doesn't have those huge 20 foot ceilings and the main bedroom is a platform style (the second bedroom is fully enclosed). Please see link here for full listing. https://www.vrbo.com/141917

The Chestnut Lofts ...VRBO # 477685 (faces front of building)

This unit does have a water view, has soaring 20 foot ceilings and gets great sunlight. The drawbacks being it's located on Chestnut St so noise can be an issue especially on a weekend night. Please see link for full listing. https://www.vrbo.com/477685

(Panama St )Cozy Home in Historic Washington Square ...HomeAway # 3165419

This home is located directly next to our other home listing #583380 (Townhouse in Washington Sq) on a quiet cobblestone walking street. Both homes are nearly identical although "Townhouse in Washington Sq" was recently remodeled with a new kitchen and new bathroom. On the upside it has a washer and dryer where the other does not. You can not be more centrally located than this, very easy walk to Rittenhouse Square, Washington Square, 13th and Sansom as well as Old City. The location is hard to beat. Drawback wise these places are small and they have very challenging stairs.

(Panama St) Townhouse in Washington Square ...VRBO # 583380

Please see above summary

Charming on Historic Street ... VRBO # 619713

My personal favorite of all our properties. This home is located 258 S. Quince street, if you google images of "Quince street Philadelphia" you will see it has been the subject of many a painting and photograph. The street with all it's cute little walking streets and off shoots is very European/ Old World. It's very tough to drive a car down, more of a cobblestone walking street, making it very quiet, almost an oasis in the middle of the busy city. It's still not too far from the historic sites but certainly not as close as The Chestnut Lofts are. It also has a private back patio with table and 4 chairs. Although it is a trinity, its much larger than the ones we have on Panama st. Drawback wise, Id say it has a lot of stairs and could be an issue for a toddler or someone that has any sort of mobility issue. Please see link for full listing. https://www.vrbo.com/619713

****Very Important

Please read our notes about 2 and 3 night stays in the rates section. We take them on a case by case basis and rates can be much higher. Please do not use the book it now button for 2 or 3 night stays before contacting us.

More Details
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Owner
Josh Russell
Member since: 2007
Speaks English
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
16 November, 2016
Call Owner

About Josh Russell

My grandfather purchased this building in 1930 using it as his furniture store. My father developed the building into 20 offices and 16 condos selling off several while keeping this penthouse unit for himself.

Josh Russell purchased this condo in 1990

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(50 traveller reviews)

Luxury Condo in Historic District Close to Convention Center
average rating of 4.82 based on 50 reviews
5

Thanksgiving at the Chestnut Lofts

  • 5 of 5

Had a wonderful stay at Chestnut Lofts on our trip to Philadelphia with our family over Thanksgiving, 2016. Josh and Miranda have provided everything one needs for a perfect vacation-very clean property, great beds and bedding, and easy to follow directions to enter the property and to operate the TV and wifi. The location is superb-we parked our card in the parking lot across the street; and, we were able to walk to the historical sites. Josh promptly answered our emails and gave us good advice about our car. Thanks for a special time!

  • Review Submitted: Nov 25, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Birthday Weekend

  • 4 of 5

Apartment was clean and well located for Old Town Touring.

A rowdy, bustling night life on the street but quiet in the apartment.

Naturally quiet in the day.

Apartment on the 5th floor and thankfully there is an elevator.

My only problem was with the reservation people at Home Away. I was assured by two Home Away people that parking was included, so I booked with them. When the contract came from the owner it stated that NO parking was included but there were near by public lots.

Addressing my concern with Home Away I was told to contact the owner as they only did the booking. The misinformation did not come from the owner but from the people at Home Away. I was told to file a complaint which I did, but again I was told to contact the owner.

The error was at Home Away and of course now I could not cancel the reservation because of time constraints.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Im so glad you enjoyed your stay with us that really makes me angry that HomeAway gave you misinformation about our home. Parking is not included in any of our properties and runs roughly $25/night in the local garages. Im very sorry that happened. Safe Travels, We hope to have you back again soon. Best, Josh & Miranda
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome home, awsome location!

  • 5 of 5

You cannot beat this location in Philly! The home was perfect and had all that we needed on our 5 day trip! Penn's Landing and so many historical sites, good restaurants and nightlife all within easy walking distance! Josh was readily available with communication and very accommodating! We will stay here again if we ever get the opportunity to return to this great city!

  • Review Submitted: Oct 10, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location for seeing the sites!

  • 5 of 5

I stayed in Philadelphia for two weeks at the Loft. The location was excellent for site seeing and We were able to walk every where. The loft was very quiet and I felt safe in the building even by myself with the security door on the outside. Josh is excellent in communicating with his renters and helping make any necessary adjustments and answering questions. Without knowing him personally I feel he is a person of his word and good character. We liked the character of the old historic loft. The property was clean and the bed is comfortable. The Continental restaurant was our go to on several occasions when we were tired or needed a good quality meal.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 2, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Greatly appointed condo in a great location in the heart of Philadelphia

  • 5 of 5

We stayed 4 nights in this condo and really enjoyed staying there. It was quiet, very clean and had lots of little things like books about Philadelphia, plenty of Klennex and a kitchen with salt and pepper and storage containers, etc. The neighborhood is filled with great restaurants, a super ice cream parlor and even a bar with >150 kinds of Belgian beers. It is a short walk to Independence Hall and the subway. It is not that close to 'museum row', where we hung out a lot, but it was easy to catch a cab. Overall, we had a great stay.

  • Review Submitted: Jun 20, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Poughkeepsie
5

Perfect stay in Philly!

  • 5 of 5

My daughter, granddaughter, and I stayed at Josh's condo last week and everything was amazing! My daughter was in town for a conference and was able to use the shuttle that went to the Sheraton (a two minute walk) and also walk to the convention center (about 20 minutes). The location is excellent, we were a short walk from delicious restaurants (some just across the street), interesting shops, and tons of tourist destinations. We loved the neighborhood and, after spending hours walking around Philly, we were thrilled that we were staying in Old City.

Getting into the condo was a breeze and it had everything we needed. The place was very clean and well decorated. And as a bonus they have white noise machines, which came in handy for my granddaughter :) When we come back to Philly, we will definitely be staying here!

  • Review Submitted: May 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Location

The Hipstoric™ Old City District (OCD) is a place of unique people, significant history, charming shops, intriguing night life, and just loads of entertainment. Come and find out why it's a great place to visit, work and live. We look forward to seeing you in the neighborhood! Independence Hall, Independence Visitor Center, the National Constitution Center, the Liberty Bell Center are but a few of the countless historical attractions the OCD has to offer. Learn about our important history and the Old City of today, while eating and shopping at fun and interesting places!

Photos

Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday condo in Center City, Greater Philadelphia

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
7 Dec 2016 - 27 Dec 2016
2 night minimum stay
£361
for 2 nights
From
£131
From
£135
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
28 Dec 2016 - 29 Dec 2016
2 night minimum stay
£444
for 2 nights
From
£172
From
£172
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
30 Dec 2016 - 1 Jan 2017
2 night minimum stay
£530
for 2 nights
From
£215
From
£215
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
2 Jan 2017 - 4 Jan 2017
2 night minimum stay
£398
for 2 nights
From
£149
From
£149
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
5 Jan 2017 - 6 Jan 2017
2 night minimum stay
£459
for 2 nights
From
£180
From
£215
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
7 Jan 2017 - 10 Jan 2017
2 night minimum stay
£357
for 2 nights
From
£129
From
£189
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
11 Jan 2017 - 13 Jan 2017
2 night minimum stay
£357
for 2 nights
From
£129
From
£135
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
14 Jan 2017 - 17 Jan 2017
2 night minimum stay
£357
for 2 nights
From
£129
From
£158
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
18 Jan 2017 - 1 Feb 2017
2 night minimum stay
£357
for 2 nights
From
£129
From
£147
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
2 Feb 2017 - 3 Feb 2017
2 night minimum stay
£361
for 2 nights
From
£131
From
£136
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
4 Feb 2017 - 8 Feb 2017
2 night minimum stay
£386
for 2 nights
From
£144
From
£159
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
9 Feb 2017 - 10 Feb 2017
2 night minimum stay
£357
for 2 nights
From
£129
From
£137
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
11 Feb 2017 - 13 Feb 2017
2 night minimum stay
£370
for 2 nights
From
£136
From
£160
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
14 Feb 2017 - 22 Feb 2017
2 night minimum stay
£360
for 2 nights
From
£130
From
£135
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
23 Feb 2017 - 24 Feb 2017
2 night minimum stay
£387
for 2 nights
From
£144
From
£131
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
25 Feb 2017 - 10 Mar 2017
2 night minimum stay
£359
for 2 nights
From
£130
From
£151
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
11 Mar 2017 - 12 Mar 2017
2 night minimum stay
£419
for 2 nights
From
£160
From
£168
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
13 Mar 2017 - 15 Mar 2017
2 night minimum stay
£384
for 2 nights
From
£142
From
£142
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
16 Mar 2017 - 17 Mar 2017
2 night minimum stay
£363
for 2 nights
From
£132
From
£170
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
18 Mar 2017 - 19 Mar 2017
2 night minimum stay
£378
for 2 nights
From
£139
From
£183
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
20 Mar 2017 - 26 Mar 2017
2 night minimum stay
£357
for 2 nights
From
£129
From
£137
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
27 Mar 2017 - 28 Mar 2017
2 night minimum stay
£370
for 2 nights
From
£136
From
£135
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
29 Mar 2017 - 30 Mar 2017
2 night minimum stay
£530
for 2 nights
From
£215
From
£215
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
31 Mar 2017 - 2 Apr 2017
2 night minimum stay
£378
for 2 nights
From
£139
From
£215
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
3 Apr 2017 - 24 Apr 2017
2 night minimum stay
£358
for 2 nights
From
£129
From
£145
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
25 Apr 2017 - 28 Apr 2017
2 night minimum stay
£428
for 2 nights
From
£164
From
£207
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
29 Apr 2017 - 5 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
£359
for 2 nights
From
£130
From
£160
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
6 May 2017 - 7 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
£426
for 2 nights
From
£164
From
£172
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
8 May 2017 - 17 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
£526
for 2 nights
From
£214
From
£215
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
18 May 2017 - 19 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
£450
for 2 nights
From
£176
From
£186
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
20 May 2017 - 21 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
£359
for 2 nights
From
£130
From
£167
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
22 May 2017 - 24 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
£366
for 2 nights
From
£133
From
£133
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
25 May 2017 - 26 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
£402
for 2 nights
From
£152
From
£174
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
27 May 2017 - 28 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
£380
for 2 nights
From
£140
From
£189
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
29 May 2017 - 30 May 2017
2 night minimum stay
£376
for 2 nights
From
£139
From
£139
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
31 May 2017 - 2 Jun 2017
2 night minimum stay
£456
for 2 nights
From
£178
From
£175
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
3 Jun 2017 - 5 Jun 2017
2 night minimum stay
£371
for 2 nights
From
£136
From
£201
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
6 Jun 2017 - 7 Jun 2017
2 night minimum stay
£447
for 2 nights
From
£174
From
£174
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
8 Jun 2017 - 9 Jun 2017
2 night minimum stay
£416
for 2 nights
From
£158
From
£178
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
10 Jun 2017 - 11 Jun 2017
2 night minimum stay
£395
for 2 nights
From
£148
From
£189
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
12 Jun 2017 - 14 Jun 2017
2 night minimum stay
£383
for 2 nights
From
£142
From
£141
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
15 Jun 2017 - 16 Jun 2017
2 night minimum stay
£411
for 2 nights
From
£156
From
£180
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
17 Jun 2017 - 18 Jun 2017
2 night minimum stay
£357
for 2 nights
From
£129
From
£211
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
19 Jun 2017 - 21 Jun 2017
2 night minimum stay
£401
for 2 nights
From
£151
From
£151
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
22 Jun 2017 - 26 Jun 2017
2 night minimum stay
£437
for 2 nights
From
£169
From
£181
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
27 Jun 2017 - 28 Jun 2017
2 night minimum stay
£403
for 2 nights
From
£152
From
£152
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
29 Jun 2017 - 30 Jun 2017
2 night minimum stay
£428
for 2 nights
From
£164
From
£182
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
1 Jul 2017 - 3 Jul 2017
2 night minimum stay
£361
for 2 nights
From
£131
From
£212
Fri,Sat
 
 
Wheelhouse Market Rate
4 Jul 2017 - 5 Dec 2017
2 night minimum stay
£437
for 2 nights
From
£169
From
£182
Fri,Sat
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
£410
for 2 nights
From
£155
From
£173
Fri,Sat
 

Additional pricing information

Cleaning Fee £99
Pet Fee £32
Refundable Damage Deposit £198
Tax Rate 8.5%

Important Note with regards to two night stays! With Regards to 2 and 3 night stays. We do take 2 and 3 night stays on a case by case basis. Please inquire for a quote.

Rates Subject to Change

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Enquire Now Enquire Now
Available arrival
Available
Unavailable

Facilities

Accommodation and facilities for this holiday condo in Center City in Greater Philadelphia

Property Type:
  • condo
Meals:
  • Self-catering
Floor Area:
  • 1200 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • city centre
  • waterfront
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Historic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Lift
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Large Double Bed
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed
Entertainment:
  • Radio
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • live theatre
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antique hunting
  • Boating
  • Shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • tennis
Notes:
I recently put a 47 Inch Plasma in this Condo.

Partner Offers

 
Portable wifi hotspot