Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Please note this cottage is no longer available

Bedrooms 2
Separate WCs1
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 7 nights


About the property

Th cottage is no longer availablexxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
9 July, 2018

Guestbook comments from the owner

Everything was lovely thankyou. I left you a little note. Cottage was cosy,the electric blanket was an unexpected luxury. We really enjoyed exploring the beautiful.
Oct 2016
  • 1 of 7


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday cottage in Penmachno in Bro Machno

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Self-catering
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 15:00 / Check-out: 10:00
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet
  • Bath mat provided, towels not provided.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 2 Single Bed
  • Bedroom 1 has two single beds. Bedroom 2 has a double bed. All beds have duvets and electric blankets. All bed linen is provided.
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Terrace ...
  • Garden ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • churches
  • forests
  • library
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • waterfalls
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horse riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundrette - serviced
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • caving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting
Lovely walks and cycle tracks from the village. Ideal for dog walking. Inland lake surfing (Surf Snowdonia) and zip wire adventures within 20 miles. White water rafting, kyaking and canoeing nearby.


3.6/5 -
(11 traveller reviews)

27% Complete
45% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
18% Complete
Please note this cottage is no longer available
average rating of 3.6363637 based on 18 reviews

Cold cold cottage a miserable stay

  • 1 of 5

Cottage was very cold. 2 heaters in lounge clearly not enough. Had to buy cosy logs and wooden logs for the fire but even that didn't warm the place up enough for a comfortable stay. We didn't use the kitchen as it was like an icebox. In contrast the towel radiator in the bathroom was glowing hot, so much so my wife burned her shoulder on it, that resulted is a burn mark! More communication to HomeAway on that incident. Because you need to run the electric heaters so much bring lots of the old pound coins, as the meter will not accept the new ones. As we are walkers spending many hours up the mountains, we found the cottage very uncomfortable because of the cold. Not recommended!

  • Review Submitted: 01-May-2017
  • Date of Stay: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Lars. The information sent to you prior to your visit states that only the first £10 of electricity is provided free and after that there is a £1 meter. Perhaps you did not read the instructions for the lounge heaters as when you left we noticed they were set on a very low setting which is insufficient to heat the room when the weather is cold. The instructions are in the cottage information book kept on the sideboard. The timer for the lounge heaters was only set for one hour per day. The towel rail in the bathroom was checked when you left and is working perfectly and did not get hot enough to burn the skin. It is fastened to the wall and is only 3 foot 6 inches high so I am sorry if somehow your wife managed to burn her shoulder on it?
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

No electricity on arrival

  • 1 of 5

The information pack stated there would be £10 worth of electricity on arrival - this was not the case and the day after our arrival the electricity needed topping up, therefore we had to use our own money during our stay. As this is the only form of heating this was poor standards as the information provided on the email clearly states £10 of electricity would be in the meter.

Also, the smoke alarm was not connected on arrival and when we connected it the battery was beeping constant (low battery) after finding a battery to replace it with the issue was the same. Therefore we had to go without a smoke detector. On the last day we put the battery back in but it was now alarming constantly - so we had to leave the battery on the stairs.

Both of these issues have been reported to the owner, but as of yet no reply has been received.

  • Review Submitted: 17-Apr-2017
  • Date of Stay: April 2017
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Guest, Than you for your review. I am sorry about the problems experienced at the stay at my cottage. I do hope this did not detract from your enjoyment of the lovely cottage and the beautiful area. Regarding the electricity, it is clearly stated in the cottage information that the first £10 of electricity is provided free and after that there is a charge. Of course the amount of time that the £10 lasts is dependent on the amount of electricity used. £10 worth of electricity was provided for you as advertised. You say that electricity is the only form of heating, however the information clearly states that there is also a solid fuel log/coal fire if you prefer to use it. Regarding the smoke alarm. Unfortunately you did not report the problem to me until the day you left. The battery was then replaced and there was no further problem. If you had reported the problem to me when it was first encountered then it would have been rectified immediately and a new battery fitted. However, as there are five smoke alarms in the cottage, if one failed the others would activate in case of a fire.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

lovely area even if a little basic

  • 4 of 5

quite ample property , cosy and lovely setting , cars can't be parked directly outside but plenty of free side of road parking within two mins walk so no issue , nice open fire - no fuel provided for it which would of been nice at this time of year and when your in an unfamiliar area as uncertain as to where to buy some from.. not much info as to walks from the cottage and footpaths aren't signed very well at all , some fail-safe routes for walks from the cottage would be good especially when you have dogs. But over all a lovely place , clean and warm ..and within an hour you can get to all of snowdonia practically , beaches - Barmouth , Harlech etc and even Anglesey .

  • Review Submitted: 01-Nov-2016
  • Date of Stay: October 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

A lovely, cosy cottage with wonderful views.

  • 5 of 5

It was cosy, comfortable and well-equipped. We loved the view and there was plenty of hot water for baths after surfing! It was also lovely to have a bit of garden in a village where I know garden space is at a premium. The cottage was really clean and the mattresses were very comfortable.

We received plenty of information beforehand and communication with the owner was excellent - thank you!

Since it was pouring with rain during both our arrival and our departure, we did find having to park a distance from the cottage an inconvenience - but it wasn't the end of the world.

Overall, it was a great experience and we would like to come again sometime. We love the area and we have visited the village twice before.

  • Review Submitted: 31-Aug-2016
  • Date of Stay: August 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review, I am pleased you found the cottage cosy and comfortable and hope to see you again sometime.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Lovely, cozy cottage. Just some things to be aware of.

  • 4 of 5

This property is a lovely cottage with great furniture, really comfy beds with lots of extra blankets should you need them, decent cooking facilities and a surprising amount of space for a family. There are just a few little things to be aware of, most of which are out of the owner's control but that I wish I had been aware of before our visit. Firstly, while the address on the listing is Betws-Y-Coed, the property itself is in a small village some miles from that well-known village, popular with tourists. This made the first journey to it a little confusing as we started to believe we had missed it. There is also absolutely no mobile phone service of any kind at the property or anywhere we could find in the village with the exception of the top of the hill. This made checking out places we wanted to visit and plan excursions a little awkward due to lack of internet but the inability to make or receive calls left us feeling a little vulnerable. There is a nice little oven, grill and hob and a decent-sized fridge but only a very small amount of freezer-space so please bear that in mind when planning your meals/shopping. As I said at the beginning, this is a lovely little cottage and we were very comfortable there. It is in a lovely part of Wales within easy journey of many great attractions. I would highly recommend this property for people wanting a quiet break or for families as long as they are aware of the slight limitations.

  • Review Submitted: 14-Aug-2016
  • Date of Stay: July 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your review, I am so pleased you enjoyed the stay at my cottage and found it cosy and comfortable. In response to your comments, mobile signal downstairs may be variable at times depending on your provider, but I do find that with O2 and with Vodaphone there is always a signal upstairs in the bathroom, in the garden and in other places in the village.Other providers are probably similar. Betws y Coed is part of the cottage postal address, but the cottage description does point out that it is approximately 4 miles from the village of Penmachno. It takes about 15 minutes to drive from Penmachno to Betws y Coed, but for walkers there is a lovely riverside walk which is a shorter distance.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great little cottage, perfect for a mountain getaway

  • 5 of 5

Brilliant cottage in a gorgeous little village very near to the heart of Snowdonia. Would definitely recommend and stay again. Thanks a lot.

  • Review Submitted: 30-Jun-2016
  • Date of Stay: June 2016
  • Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit, I hope to see you again soon. Lyn
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Restaurant
2 Miles
Car: recommended


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday cottage in Penmachno, Wales

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
My Standard Rate
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

£15.00 worth of electric is provided per booking and after that electricity is payable by a £1.00 coin meter.
Laundry charged at £20.00 up to 4 people.
Cottage to be vacated by 10am on day of departure. Cottage available from 3pm on day of arrival. Map and key details will be sent via the site on receipt of final payment, or by e mail for late bookings.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Cancelled bookings will not receive a refund.
Ask Owner a Question