Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Portscatho at Helford Passage, sleeps 6, overlooking the River Helford.

Bedrooms 3
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights


About the property

Portscatho, Helford Passage. Sleeps 6. Stunning views of the Helford River.

Portscatho is a beautiful first-floor apartment at Helford Passage, just moments away from the Ferryboat Inn. From the courtyard, pop up some steps and you're home. Step through into the lounge and you'll have a beautiful view of the Helford River. Throw open the window and listen to the chatter from the Kiosk and the gentle lap of the water.The living room, decorated in a pale pink, is warm and inviting. There are two large comfy, suede sofas, and a unit full of DVDs and games to keep the little ones occupied. You'll find the dining table, with two long bench seats, large enough to serve a banquet. And the kitchen is well-enough equipped to prepare one! You'll find all the essentials here, plus a few extras you might only find in your kitchen at home.

The master bedroom also has stunning views of the river. There's a king-size bed and a large built-in wardrobe. You'll find a full-length mirror tucked behind the door - ideal if you're having a bad-hair day and just don't want to look! There's a vanity unit in here and also a heated towel rail. The second bedroom has a set of twin beds and another built-in wardrobe. The third bedroom, decorated in warm yellow, has two sets of bunk beds, and yes, another built-in wardrobe!The family bathroom, tiled in gleaming white, and with rich, earthy floor tiles, has both a bath and an overhead shower. There's a second, separate toilet, and both of these rooms have heated towel rails to keep all those beach towels warm and dry. And if that wasn't enough, you'll find another walk-in shower cubicle, so plenty of hot water in the mornings. As an added extra, we are now supplying each guest with one bath and one hand towel, at no extra charge.

There's also a hidden gem in Portscatho... Unfold the wooden staircase and upstairs, in the beautifully converted loft space, you'll find the den. It's got a sofa, squashy bean bags, a flat-screen television, DVD player and a Playstation. It's a space tucked away from civilisation and ideal for the big kids in the family. Around the corner, you'll also find an office space with a large desk and computer with WiFi access. Perfect if you're forced to bring work away with you, or if you just want to check Twitter.

And for bookings of one week or more, we'll have a welcome pack ready for your arrival - a bottle of locally made Helford Creek fruit juice, Cornish filter coffee, Smugglers tea, Cornish biscuits, a few sugar sachets and a pint of milk.

You'll have shared use of the heated outdoor pool, and uniquely, there are two spaces for Portscatho in the residents' car park. You will need to leave your car in the car park, and walk down one flight of steps, and then up one more to gain access to your property. You can, however, drive through the complex and pull up outside the apartment for unloading your luggage or shopping. There is a returnable £100 deposit against damages on this apartment.

More Details

About Us

Holiday Cornwall
Holiday Cornwall Ltd
Holiday Cornwall Ltd., Helford Passage
TR11 5LB Falmouth
VAT Reg No

Property Manager
Holiday Cornwall
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within a day
Calendar last updated:
11 August, 2018


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday apartment in Mawnan in Cornwall

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • Internet
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Family bathroom - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Shower room. - Shower Enclosure
  • One family bathroom with bath and overhead shower. One separate toilet and hand basin. One shower room.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Master bedroom - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed
    Twin room - 2 Single Bed
    Bunk room. - 2 Single Bed
  • Oe master bedroom with king-size bed. One twin room. One bunk room.
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
Portscatho is a spacious first-floor apartment at Helford Passage, just moments away from the Ferryboat Inn and beach. It has 3 bedrooms and sleeps 6 in total. There is one family bathroom, one shower room and a separate loo. The lounge and master bedroom have super views of the river. You'll find a den upstairs with a TV, DVD player and Playstation, plus a PC with Internet access. Shared use of the heated outdoor pool. There is a returnable £100 deposit against damages on this property.


4.3/5 -
(4 traveller reviews)

50% Complete
25% Complete
25% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Portscatho at Helford Passage, sleeps 6, overlooking the River Helford.
average rating of 4.25 based on 4 reviews
Guildford, United Kingdom

Great accomodation, beautiful location

  • 5 of 5

We find the flat very comfortable, clean and tastefully furnished. We have been coming for a week's holiday on the beautiful Helford Estuary for numerous years and have been renting this flat for many of these. We have always found the flat very well maintained and the occasional minor problem has been promptly dealt with by the management. The kitchen is both thoughtfully and generously equipped for self-catering including inspiring cookery books sitting in the shelf. The beds are very comfortable. Two showers are very useful for using after one of the many water sporting activities on offer. In the past the upstairs room has been a wonderful 'den' for the younger generation. Being on the first floor there is no terrace to sit out on but the sitting room is very light and provides stunning views down the estuary and there is always the beech and pub within a stone's throw. We hope to be back next year.

  • Review Submitted: 12-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: Holiday Cornwall
Owner's Response: Hello Mr Norman, What a succinct and positive review. I couldn't have put it better myself! You have given a great account of a week in Portscatho which will, I'm sure, benefit future guests. Thank you for taking the time to write so thoughtfully. We look forward to seeing you next year. Best wishes, Sara
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Pilning, United Kingdom

Prime Location

  • 4 of 5

As a family we love staying in L6. We have been visiting Helford Passage for many years and have stayed in L6 for the last four. It is in a prime location and comfortably accommodates 6 people if 2 don't mind sleeping in bunk beds! For the first time this year we felt it wasn't as clean on arrival as normal, but this was quickly dealt with by Holiday Cornwall. I would have no hesitation in recommending L6 to others.

  • Review Submitted: 18-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: Holiday Cornwall
Owner's Response: Many thanks for your comments and are really sorry that the cleaning wasn't up to our normal standards - we have since had a change of cleaning staff so things will be improving. We are pleased you had a good holiday and look forward to seeing you next year. Best wishes Julie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
United Kingdom

Fantastic holiday

  • 5 of 5

This is our second year at Portscatho. The accommodation is perfect for our family of 5. It's clean, comfortable, very well equipped and ideally situated to allow the children to join in all the fun and activities that take place in Helford Passge. The views over the beach and water are stunning. Holiday Cornwall are very friendly and efficient. They made it very easy for us to book and they ensured everything was ready for our arrival. We couldn't ask for more.. We look forward to next year..! Chris Monks

  • Review Submitted: 28-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: July 2017
  • Source: Holiday Cornwall
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for such a positive review. It has always been a pleasure seeing you and your family over the years. I can imagine we'll be seeing your children with their families down here in the future! And yes, we'll probably still be here... See you next year! Best wishes, Sara
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Hoghton, United Kingdom

We loved our stay, BUT

  • 3 of 5

I have never reviewed a holiday before, however as changes are being made at Holiday Cornwall now seems to be a good time to start.

It was unfortunate that the freezer needed defrosting on arrival, but as the office let us move in before 3pm I can't complain. I do think the fridge/freezer needs a check over as I believe it is meant to be a frost free freezer and it could not have got so frozen up by just leaving the door open a short while, it is also relatively new.

The hob had serious burnt on food despite cleaning materials in the flat and there was a mirror on the hob!!!

The filter in the dryer was quite full which left unchecked is a number 1 cause of dryer fires.

The table was not clean and had sellotape stuck on it

  • Review Submitted: 30-Jun-2017
  • Date of Stay: June 2017
  • Source: Holiday Cornwall
Owner's Response: I'm so sorry you experienced these problems, Mr Seddon, but in all fairness, you went into Portscatho early, knowing we were in the middle of defrosting the freezer, and before we had check-cleaned the property where we might have picked up some of these issues. Having stayed with us for many years, in the same apartment, you know how hard we work to try and resolve any problems as soon as we are aware of them. However, we are grateful to you for highlighting a serious problem, and we will, in future, be sticking to our 3pm check-in time to ensure we have have adequate time to properly prepare our apartments for guests. We’re sorry you didn’t take anything positive from the lovely flat and superb location. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and helping us to improve our service. With best wishes, Sara
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Nearest Barpub
15 Metres
Ferryboat Inn
Nearest Train
5 Miles
Nearest Beach
15 Metres
Helford Passage
Other Activities:

Trebah and Glendurgan gardens are just a few minutes away, and stunning at any time of the year. Falmouth is our nearest town, where you'll find the National Maritime Museum and Pendennis Castle, pubs and restaurants.

We've got fishing trips nearby, golf, cycling, horse-riding, seaside fish and chips, coastal walks, art galleries and stunning beaches. A perfect base for family breaks.

Helford Passage is about a mile from the village of Mawnan Smith. It's on the river - the Helford, of course, with a lovely sandy beach, and direct access onto the coastal path. We've got the Ferryboat Inn on site, which specialises in local seafood dishes and exquisite hot chocolates with Baileys Cream. It hosts regular music nights, quizzes and other events during the year, including the Helford Passage Regatta in early August.

You could hire a rowing boat or kayak for the day at the Helford Passage kiosk, or book some paddle boarding lessons. If, like me, you're a lazy sun-worshipper, then stretch out on the beach with the latest blockbuster and a locally made Roskilly's Chocolate Brownie and Marshmallow ice cream, or a bag of warm, buttery popcorn. Browse through Sarah's Shop @ the Beach, for locally made jewellery, quirky gifts, and the children's all-essential, beach-side bucket and spades.

We've got an outdoor, heated swimming pool on site too, with poolside loungers, chairs and parasols. It's in a secure area behind a coded gate, so it's safe for the little ones.

From the kiosk, you can catch the foot ferry across to Helford Village, meander up the leafy path to the Shipwrights Arms and enjoy a homemade pasty and a glass of cold, Cornish cider. If you fancy something a little more energetic, you could wander along the river shore and explore Daphne Du Maurier's Frenchman's Creek. The ferry runs into the evening during the season so there's no rush back - take your time, relax and enjoy.


Prices & Availability

Ask Manager a Question


  • All bedroom,kitchen and bathroom linen included, plus one bath sheet and one hand towel per guest.

    Free Wifi.

    Access to out door heated swimming pool.

    Welcome pack included. If you have a food intolerance please let us know and we will do our best to supply a suitable alternative.

  • Contractual booking deposit: 20.00% rent
  • Damage deposit: £100.00