HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44 (0) 800 917 5992


Bedrooms 4
Property type villa
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights


About the property

Four bed, three bath villa with westerly facing pool located on Southern Dunes.

A luxury four bedroom, three bath room villa located in the beautiful gated Southern Dunes Golf Resort.

The villa consists of a downstairs queen size bedroom, with a bathroom located conveniently next door. This bedroom has patio doors that open out onto the pleasant westerly facing pool area.

What a way to wake up to the glorious Florida sunshine!

As well as the ground floor bedroom and bathroom there is also a well equipped open plan kitchen and dining area, which has patio doors that also lead out onto the alfresco dining area and pool.

The living room includes two comfortable sofas, a large flat screen television and DVD player with a choice of DVD’s for you and the family to enjoy after a day at the theme parks. There is a telephone located in the living room, which enables you to make local phone calls free of charge. There is also the added bonus of Wi-Fi throughout the entire villa.

The ground floor utility room consists of a washer and dryer. This leads into the newly refurbished games room, which has many items for the entire family to enjoy. We have taken the time to ensure that this room is interesting and fun and we believe this has been achieved by the exciting array of signed memorabilia for you to see.

On the second floor there is a large king size bedroom with spacious en-suite and fitted wardrobe / closet with a safe installed for your convenience.

There are a further two bedrooms which consist of twin beds and both share a bathroom. All rooms include cable flat screen televisions.

The outside pool area has a dining table and chairs. There are also sun loungers for those days when you wish to just chill by the pool and soak up the Florida sun.

More Details

Michael and Lisa Terkowski at Candycane Villa.
Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
21 May, 2018

About Michael and Lisa Terkowski at Candycane Villa.

My wife and I visited Orlando for the first time in 2007 with our youngest son for a once in a life time holiday. We instantly fell in love with the place and have returned every year since. It has been our dream to buy somewhere in Orlando for a number of years and this dream became reality in 2014 when we purchased our villa on the Southern Dunes Resort. We want you to enjoy our home and have a magical stay whilst in Disney and make many magical memories. If there is anything that we can do to make your stay more enjoyable then please do not hesitate to contact either the management company or myself.

Michael and Lisa Terkowski at Candycane Villa. purchased this villa in 2014

Why Michael and Lisa Terkowski at Candycane Villa. chose Southern Dunes

We chose to buy the property on the Southern Dunes Resort, as it was important for us to have a villa within a gated community. The excellent views of the golf course as you walk through Southern Dunes to the property and Lake Joe were a reason for wanting to buy this beautiful villa.

The size of the villa is a benefit as extended families and friends can travel as well. The villa is also conveniently located to all major attractions and Orlando International airport. Local amenities such as Walmart, a hospital and eateries are located nearby which was of great importance to the both of us.

What makes this villa unique

The views of the estate is what we both fell in love with and found breath taking. The houses are all well maintained and Candycane Villa will be an idyllic setting for your Orlando vacation.

Our belief is that Candycane Villa will bring sweet memories to you and your family!!!!

Guestbook comments from the owner

We stayed at Candy cane Villa from Jan14 to April 1 2017 and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Th house has very comfortable couches and every channel you could possibly want on the tv plus on demand should you want to catch up on shows. The kitchen was well outfitted and we managed fine at the kitchen table when our daughter and 4 grandchildren came. New appliances were great and the washer and dryer worked out great

We all enjoyed the pool which we arranged to heat and it was a very comfortable and lovely 88F. The older grandkids enjoyed playing with the gaming system in the garage. Lots of room for all 8 of us for the 10days they were there. My 90 year old mother came for a week and the main floor bedroom and close proximity of the washroom was great for her.

Southern Dunes is lovely and the area is kept up very well as was the yard and pool at the villa. Weekly visits by Michael the manager of the pool company and gardening done every other week helps keep this home looking great.

Winn Dixie and Walmart are within walking distance from the villa and just outside the gate house of Southern Dunes . We tended to walk everywhere even Aldis and the 2 pharmacies that are close by.The mature trees in the area are beautiful and yet the pool was in the sun the majority of the day. We ate at the restaurant at Southern Dunes three times and the food was great .

Visits to Universal (40 min) and Disney’s Blizzard Beach (30min) and Legoland (20min) make this an ideal location to go places though the traffic on Hwy 27 and Interstate 4 tends to be heavy most times.

Thanks again Michael and Lisa sorry we weren’t able to get it for 2018 but hope to be there again soon.
May 2017
  • 1 of 2


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday villa in Southern Dunes in Sud-Est Department

Property Type:
  • villa
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Optional
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 16:00 / Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
Location Type:
  • resort
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Ground floor bathroom located next to bedroom.
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , Second floor bathroom shared by twin bedrooms.
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Bath (no shower) , Shower Enclosure , Ensuite to the master bedroom.
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 Extra Lg. Double Bed , Second floor bedroom with en-suite
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Large Double Bed , Ground floor bedroom.
    Bedroom 3 - 2 Single Bed , Second floor bedroom
    Bedroom 4 - 2 Single Bed , Second floor bedroom
  • All bedrooms have flat screen televisions and large closets. The master bedroom is equipped with a safe for your convenience.
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Terrace ...
  • Golf ...
  • Barbecue
  • Tennis ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair accessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool ...
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • playground
  • pond
  • recreation centre
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness centre
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • golf
  • golf pass optional
  • swimming
  • tennis
There is a communal playground for children located within Southern Dunes.


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(19 traveller reviews)

89% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
average rating of 4.7894735 based on 21 reviews
Amherst, Ohio

Average house

  • 2 of 5

This is the fifth house we have rented 2014 - 2018.

Overall the house was nice but could use some improvements. We stayed there 38 days and had only 16 days with the pool heated. The heater broke and the owners have no control over mechanical break downs but it took 22 days to have the new pool heater installed. We did receive a prompt refund of the pool charge for the lost 22 days. The pool area is very compact but the new table and chairs was nice. The web site says we would have a gas grill but the only thing I found was the manual in a drawer.

The following are suggestions and not complaints.

The front door would be better with a digital lock so we would not have to fool with the key in the lockbox.

The switches need labels on the plates because it was difficult to tell what lights they controlled.

Main TV had 4 remotes and VERY HARD to operate. Local maintenance was out and replaced the main remote but WRITTEN instructions are needed because it is hard to get the TV back on even after a loss of electricity.

  • Review Submitted: 18-Apr-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback. We apologise for the problem that you had with the pool heat during your stay. We were in continuous communication with the management team until the problem was resolved, as it is always important to us that any problems that our guests have are dealt with. As we live in the UK, we were doing our upmost to get the problem resolved with the management company. Therefore, as you were without pool heat for a number of days we refunded the cost of this promptly. We are sorry to hear that you feel that our villa is an ‘average house’. We are proud of our home in Orlando and each time we visit we are continually changing elements, as for my family this is a ‘home from home’. We have invested a considerable sum of money into Candycane Villa and feel this is shown throughout the property. We apologise for the miscommunication with regards to the BBQ, we felt that it was necessary to have this removed as guests were leaving this in an untidy state and was having an impact on the surface of the grounds within the pool area. Therefore on our last visit to Orlando we decided to invest in the new outside pool furniture. The BBQ has now been removed from the listing. We have taken your suggestions into consideration and believe that the lockbox for the key is an appropriate method in order to gain access to the property. Having stayed in a number of properties across the USA this has been the most frequently used method in order to gain access and feel as though this method is highly effective. Furthermore, in response to the labelling of light switches, we believe that this would make the home look untidy with labels stuck everywhere. We will be in contact with our management team with regards to providing instructions on how to use the television. Once again, thank you for your feedback. Michael and Lisa Candycane Villa
Did you find this review helpful?
1 2

Candy Cane Villa

  • 5 of 5

Our stay at Candy Cane Villa was exceptional. The house is beautiful and met all our needs.

It was clean, comfortable and perfect for our stay. Southern Dunes is so well maintained, a secure complex and close to all the attractions. My husband loved the golf course. So hoping to return next year.

  • Review Submitted: 26-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Sebree, KY

Everything was nice, only three things was needed couldn’t get on WiFi, need chairs for seating .

  • 5 of 5

Perfect house very nice would recommend to all.

  • Review Submitted: 10-Feb-2018
  • Date of Stay: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


  • 5 of 5

Lovely villa loved all the personal touches.great location with plenty of shops and restaurants near by

  • Review Submitted: 24-Oct-2017
  • Date of Stay: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind comments. It's great when we hear our guests have enjoyed their stay at our home. You and your family are always welcome at Candycane.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Really spacious comfy home

  • 5 of 5

We were visiting Florida for a wedding and 6 of us stayed at candy cane it was more than big enough and had everything we would need. The owners were attentive and really easy to contact. The house itself was beautifully presented and was a real home from home. We especially loved the Harry Potter room and the huuuge master suite! If we could add anything it would just be we didn't realise there was only a small quantity of loo roll but Walmart is literally at the top of the road so it didn't put us out at all. Really enjoyed our stay will definitely visit again and recommend to friends and family.

  • Review Submitted: 24-Aug-2017
  • Date of Stay: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Jade for your kind comments. It's great to hear you had a great holiday. What a great place to get married! You and your guests are always welcome back at Candycane.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Family holiday first time in villa

  • 5 of 5

Had a great stay here at Candy Cane Villa with my family. All the home comforts that you need, clean and welcoming. Swimming pool was fab and family had a great laugh as well as enjoying the BBQ area. Felt safe and secure in villa. Very quiet and peaceful area away from the hustle and bustle. So was really nice to come back to after long days at the parks etc. On chill days we enjoyed the games room playing pool and darts as well as enjoying the board games provided.

I would recommend staying in this lovely wee villa. The owners were great to deal with from start to finish and we had no problems what so ever. Thanks again for a pleasant stay.

The Armstrong Family from Scotland.

  • Review Submitted: 09-Jul-2017
  • Date of Stay: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind comments. We are always happy to hear our guests have had a stress free holiday and enjoyed their vacation at our home. It was a pleasure to have you stay at Candycane and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
39 Miles
Orlando International
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Southern Dunes Golf Resort Bar
Nearest Golf
Southern Dunes Golf
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
Mannys Original Chop House
Nearest Beach
92 Miles
Daytona Beach ,Cocoa Beach
Car: necessary

This vacation home is set within the idyllic Southern Dunes Golf Resort and Country Club. The award winning golf course consists of 18 holes and welcomes people of all golfing abilities to enjoy a memorable experience.

Haines City has many local amenities including a Walmart for all your everyday essentials and a number of restaurants for you to enjoy if you wish to stay local to the area.

Fantastic attractions for all the family such as Disney and Legoland are located a short drive away from the Southern Dunes Resort.


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday villa in Southern Dunes, Disney / Orlando

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event Price
16 Apr 2018 - 20 Jun 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
21 Jun 2018 - 5 Sep 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
6 Sep 2018 - 31 Oct 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
1 Nov 2018 - 15 Dec 2018
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights
16 Dec 2018 - 7 Dec 2019
7 night minimum stay
for 7 nights

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees
Refundable Damage Deposit £200

Pool heating is charged at £120.00 per week.

Please note a 25% deposit is required and is non-refundable if the the booking is cancelled
within 2 months of the arrival date. Final payment is required no later than 2 months before arrival date.

Tourism and sales tax (12%) is included in the total cost of the villa rental.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund for cancellations more than 7 days before check-in date.
  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 14 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question

You might like these similar holiday rentals