Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance +44-800-085-3815

Exclusive home within the walls of the Medina

Bedrooms 3
Property type villa


About the property

3 bedroom house in the Medina with great views from terrace

Dar-Lek is in the centre of the ancient Medina in Fez; an oasis of calm set against the bustling alleys, we are a 2 minute walk from Bab R'Cif. This house is your private retreat within the old town of Sais. This traditional house has been has been lovingly and sympathetically restored to offer good value accommodation.

It sleeps a maximum of 6 people in three double bedrooms. Two of the bedrooms are en-suite with showers, there is an addition family bathroom with bath-tub on the ground floor. The house has a salon with a kitchen-ette which allows you to prepare your own snacks.

You should note that, as with all traditional houses in the medina, we have very steep stairs.

More Details

Member since: 2015
Speaks English
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
17 August, 2018


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday villa in El Mokhifa in Fes El Bali

Property Type:
  • villa
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Included
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 14:00
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Smoking allowed ...
  • When departing, please leave the keys next to the wi-fi hub and ensure you close the front door securely.
Location Type:
  • city centre
  • Budget
  • Historic
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Towels Provided
  • Wireless Internet
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Hob ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , This is en-suite for bedroom 1. It is a wetroom.
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure , This is en-suite for bedroom 2. It is a wet room.
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet , Bath with Shower , This bathroom is on the ground floor.
  • Two of the bathrooms are en-suite and have a shower. In addition there is a family bathroom on the ground floor with a bath-tub.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 3 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
  • There are 3 bedrooms each with a double bed. Two are located on the first floor and the Third on the top floor. Two bedrooms have en-suite bathrooms with a shower.
  • Terrace ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility ...
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • horse riding
  • sight seeing
  • walking


3.2/5 -
(5 traveller reviews)

20% Complete
20% Complete
40% Complete
0% Complete
20% Complete
Exclusive home within the walls of the Medina
average rating of 3.2 based on 5 reviews

Fes Medina , 19 Gzira

  • 4 of 5

WE enjoyed our stay at the house in the Fes Medina, "street" number 19 Gzira.

It was quite large, quiet, easy to find once one is led to the front door, has

all necessary equipment, and the couple to guide and clean are good.

IT could use a few lamp-the 2 on-site have improper plugs.

It is quite an experience, living within the Medina.

terry kita

  • Review Submitted: 27-Sep-2017
  • Date of Stay: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great Location, staff, interior needs upgrade

  • 3 of 5

Spent five nights at Dar Lek. We loved the location in the old medina, near cafes, shops and restaurants. The staff (housekeeper and guide) were welcoming and extremely helpful. We appreciated the home baked pastries. The riad itself was extremely spacious and could be beautiful if better attention were paid to upgrading the furniture, rugs, and fixtures. The "kitchen" wasn't conducive enough for us to make a cup of tea!

  • Review Submitted: 25-Aug-2016
  • Date of Stay: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review, our staff try hard to make our guests feel at home and will make sure that I provide them with your feedback. We have tried to provide accommodation which is good value for money for travellers and as such keep our furnishings simple but functional. Our kitchen has a kettle, microwave, small induction hob and fridge; it is designed for our guests to prepare snacks rather than prepare full meals; this is because there are many opportunities nearby to eat out ......from high end restaurants to street food ......sampling genuine Moroccan food is one of the attractions of the Medina; I am sorry that our kitchen did not meet your expectations.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Cockroaches galore. Filthy.

  • 1 of 5

The kitchen area and bathrooms were dirty. The 'cooker' was broken. Rubbish was not removed from our stay or from previous guests. The ground floor and disgusting hammam (also not working) were infested with cockroaches which jumped at us. There were cigarette ends on the floors throughout the property. The villa itself had some charm, but beware there are a lot of very steep stairs and every room felt unloved and neglected. The sunny roof terrace has great views, but needs shade to be of any use during the day. Overall, we would rather pay more and have the place maintained properly.

  • Review Submitted: 19-Jun-2016
  • Date of Stay: June 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Let me apologies that Dar-Lek did not meet your expectations, it is a shame that you did not contact us during your stay (there is free wifi in the house) so that we had the opportunity to addressed your issues immediately. We take feedback from our guests very seriously and although we have not had any previous reports regarding the standard of cleaning, there is no excuse for the house being dirty, and so, following your comments we have regretfully let the cleaner “go”. We will be replacing her prior to our next guests arriving. We have checked the cooker since your departure and it is functioning, it is an induction hob (works through magnetism) you must have a ferrous pan on the hob for it to operate, we do explain this in the “Things you should know” literature which is emailed to you prior to your stay. We use induction technology for safety reasons so that it cannot be left on accidentally if there is no pan present. Regarding the Hammam ......I did email when you booked to explain that the steam generator in the hammam was malfunctioning; we did try hard to get this rectified (and in fact had workmen in the hammam up until an hour before you arrived) but unfortunately this was not possible; I’m sure that you will appreciate that mechanical failures do happen from time to time. On a more positive note ........we provided wine for you to enjoy with your evening meals as it is virtually impossible to purchase alcohol in Fez at this time (ie. the month of Ramadan), I do hope that this went some way to helping you to enjoy your stay with us.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Fantastic place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

Absolutely amazing place to stay, authentic Moroccan riad, could not recommend it highly enough!

  • Review Submitted: 12-Jun-2015
  • Date of Stay: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0

Jolie riad

  • 3 of 5

Très jolie riad bcp de charme très propre mais accueil pas très chaleureux personne souriante .

Dommage déranger à deux fois part accès à la terrasse et le plombier plus le bruit des jeunes qui sont rester là moitié de la nuit devant notre porte à parler obliger de descendre à deux fois pour le dire de partir .

Sinon logement tout confort très agréable et échange de renseignements avec la propriétaire parfait .

  • Review Submitted: 27-Sep-2016
  • Date of Stay: September 2016
  • Source: Abritel, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
30 Kilometres
Car: not necessary


Prices & Availability

Prices for this holiday villa in El Mokhifa, Fez & Middle Atlas Mountains

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rental Period Minimum Price Additional Nights Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event Price
My Standard Rate
1 night minimum stay
for 1 night
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add £10 per night, per additional guest

Additional pricing information

Fees No additional mandatory fees

The house is for your exclusive use ie. you will not share the house with other people during your stay.
To make it as economical as possible we charge accordingly for the number of people in your party.

One bedroom (up to 2 guests) - £25 per night
Two bedroom (up to 4 guests) - £45 per night

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund for cancellations more than 60 days before check-in date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.
Ask Owner a Question

You might like these similar holiday rentals