HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
HomeAway uses cookies to improve your site experience. Learn more. By continuing, you consent to our use of cookies.
check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag

Stunning Lakeside Property On Private Estate

Bedrooms 5
Separate WC's1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 0 - 4 nights


Minimum Stay
0 - 4 nights


Photos and Description of this 5 bedroom holiday home in Somerford Keynes

House, 5 bedrooms, 10 people

Contemporary glass fronted lakeside home with exclusive unlimited use of Spa and leisure Facilities (charges apply for treatments). Broadband included. Contemporary glass fronted lakeside home with exclusive unlimited use of Spa and leisure Facilities (charges apply for treatments). Broadband included. The property is located within the Lower Mill Estate, over 450 acres with beautiful walks together with Sites of Scientific Special Interest. For keen walkers, you will find the Thames footpath winding its way along the edge of the Estate. With plenty of facilities both on and off site, you will be sure to have to keep you busy. A great location for exploring the local Cotswold towns and villages.


Bedroom 1 with double bed, Bedroom 2 with double bed, Bedroom 3 with double bed, Bedroom 4 with 2 x 3' single beds, Bedroom 5 with 2 x 2'6" single beds (more suited to children).


En-suite bathroom to bedroom 2 with shower, WC and basin, En-suite bathroom to bedroom 3 with bath (shower over) WC and basin, family bathroom with bath (shower over) basin and WC.


Large, modern and well equipped kitchen with 5 ring gas hob, single oven and grill, dishwasher, built in microwave, built in larder fridge and freezer and a washer/dryer.

Living Rooms:

1 x 3/4 seat & 1 x 2/3 seat sofa, 2 x large bean bags, log burning stove, 37” flat screen TV with DVD player - Sky, all channels. Dining table with seating for 6, breakfast bar with seating for 4. Sliding doors to enclosed balcony. IPod docking station.

Cleaning/Towels/Linen/Maid service:

Towels and linen are included. Property is cleaned prior to arrival and upon departure. Additional cleans and change of linen can be arranged at an additional charge.


Shared Pool, Parking.

Dishwasher, Fridge/Freezer, Hob/Stove, Iron, Microwave, Oven, Tumble Dryer, Washing Machine.

Central Heating, Internet Access, Satellite, TV.


South west facing sun deck, fully enclosed with lovely rattan deck furniture.

Table with seating for 6 and 2 additional chairs. Membership to exclusive onsite Spa which has the following: Two large, luxury slate-lined, heated swimming pools together with the UK's first Eco-Pool; a freshwater swimming pool purified entirely by water lillies! With a fully equipped gymnasium, a steam room, Scandinavian sauna, library, treatment rooms and a wonderful restful resident's lounge, the luxury health spa facilities will leave you spoilt for choice. The beautifully landscaped private gardens provide a peaceful haven to relax, chill out and watch the world go by, complete with sunbathing decks and hammocks! The spa is literally just a few minutes stroll from Howells Mere. As part of your holiday package, you will receive a temporary membership to the spa, so that you can take full advantage of all of the amazing facilities during your break.

More Details

Property Manager
Mark Thomas
Member since: 2005
Speaks English
Calendar last updated:
9 December, 2016
Call Manager


Very Good! 4.2/5 -
(6 traveller reviews)

Stunning Lakeside Property On Private Estate
average rating of 4.1666665 based on 6 reviews
Saundersfoot, United Kingdom

Lovely weekend

  • 5 of 5

Lovely property overlooking the lake . A great place to recharge your batteries in a tranquil environment .Even in November we could enjoy a drink on the balcony ! We will be back !

  • Review Submitted: Nov 17, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Nov 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your great review and glad that you will be back!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Solihull, United Kingdom

A good property, but expensive and lacking in some features

  • 4 of 5

The property was good, very clean, tidy and well supplied with kitchen, bedroom and bathroom requirements. I felt it could do with somewhere safe close by for the grandchildren to run around and play. Also, the top bedroom needed an en-suite. Thanks and regards, Keith Nutter

  • Review Submitted: Oct 27, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Oct 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review. I have noted your comments and will feed back to the owner, however, I was surprised at some of your comments as you did actually view the property prior to confirming your booking, therefore, you would have been aware that there was no en suite to the master bedroom and limited space for the children to run around. I am also sorry that you felt it wasn't good value for money.... The property does accommodate 10 (8 adults and 2 children) and is priced accordingly. Again, I was slightly surprised by this as you had viewed the property so I would have thought that you wouldn't have confirmed the booking if you felt it wasn't value for money, added to which, we did agree to let you stay as long as you liked on Monday rather than leave at the normal time of 10 am. All that said, on balance, it appears you did enjoy your stay and would stay with us again as well as recommend us to others so I am pleased about that. Thanks again for taking the time to submit a review and I hope we will see you again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Pershore, United Kingdom


  • 4 of 5

Great house. Spent the weekend chilling out with friends. Lovely location. Well equipped. Gorgeous spa , access to which is included. Thanks Nb:Mattresses on twin beds ( 1st floor) need to be replaced with proper mattress as they are currently futon style and uncomfortable.

  • Review Submitted: Oct 7, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for taking the time to submit a review and glad your enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your comment regarding the mattresses to the owner.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
London, United Kingdom


  • 4 of 5

We had an amazing weekend at Howells Mere. It was for a friends and family gathering and it was a perfect location, easy for all to get to. I could not have improved our stay in anyway, although I wish we could have stayed longer as there was lots to do!!

I think for my next visit I would perhaps go for one of the properties with a hot tub, and it would be great to have the large decking on the same floor as the lounge.

I will definitely be back!!

  • Review Submitted: Sep 23, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your great review and glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Lilliput, United Kingdom

Beautiful location but property needs a little TLC

  • 3 of 5

Great property in beautiful location but the condition of the property was disappointing. See following feedback.

- The carpets on the ground floor and stairs were extremely dirty.  It didn’t create a nice feel for the bedrooms.  

- The furniture in the living room area was very scruffy, the leather was ripped on the sofa and the cushions and blankets all looked very worn out and were also extremely dusty.  We ended up putting them all away as they felt so grubby.

- In the bedroom on the top floor, there is a mirror stood up against the wall, it would be useful to have this put on the wall so that it could be used rather than trying to look at yourself from a difficult angle.  The blinds in this bedroom were filthy and also very poor at keeping light out for such a bright bedroom.

- In all of the bathrooms it would be useful to have hooks on the back of the bathroom doors as there is nowhere to put clothes and towels.  

  • Review Submitted: Sep 20, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review and I'm really sorry the property didn't come up to your expectations. We normally receive excellent reviews/scores on cleaning so I'm really not sure what happened; I will be discussing this with our housekeeper to ensure that standards are maintained to our normal very high level. The normal carpet clean, following the end of the main season, had already been booked, so I'm sorry you saw it at its worst. With regards to the ripped sofa, this is actually brand new and was damaged during delivery; we are waiting for a replacement to be delivered. Thanks for the feedback on the other items, which I will pass onto the owner. Although your expectations clearly weren't fully met with this property, I am glad that you would recommend us to family/friends and stay with Orion Holidays again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Pulborough, United Kingdom

Fully equipped property in a great location

  • 5 of 5

This is a tranquil setting and the property is very well equipped with a good kitchen, plenty of crockery, cutler, pot and pans. The Dishwasher and washing machine were in high demand with a large group and were both most welcome!

It is incredibly spacious and the location is great for the Cotswold attractions including places like Bourton on the water, Stow on the Wold and the Cotwold Wildlife Park (well worth the visit!)

Our only gripe was the shading/curtains. The lounge/dining area only has blinds on the lower half of the (very high) windows and hence it was difficult to keep the area cool on sunny days and the bedrooms only have blinds that act as shades so are impossible to get dark at night. Fix this and it would be perfect!

  • Review Submitted: Jul 9, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for your review and really glad you enjoyed your holiday with us. I have noted your comments regarding blinds and will discuss this with the owner to see if we can find something that will address the issues you raised. Thanks again for taking the time to submit a review and hope to see you back again soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Car: necessary

How to get there

Your own transport is essential.


Closest town is Cirencester which is approximately 8 miles away. Closest village is Somerford Keynes.


Prices & Availability

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival


Accommodation and facilities for this holiday house in Somerford Keynes in Gloucestershire

Property Type:
  • house
  • Self-catering
  • Housekeeper Included
Location Type:
  • rural
  • village
  • Family
  • Holiday Complex
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Fitness Room / Equipment
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Tumble Dryer
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Hob
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Separate WC
  • Bathroom 1 - Toilet , Shower Enclosure
    Bathroom 2 - Toilet , Bath with Shower
    Bathroom 3 - Toilet
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 2 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 3 - 1 Double Bed
    Bedroom 4 - 2 Single Bed
    Bedroom 5 - 2 Single Bed , 2'6" single beds (more suited to children)
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Tennis
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Sauna
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
  • Private Chef
  • churches
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • mountain biking
  • swimming

Partner Offers

Portable wifi hotspot

You might like these similar properties